Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V2, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Disucssion

maskedchan
post Oct 18 2008, 11:50 AM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(law1777 @ Oct 18 2008, 11:27 AM)
alot of weird questions coming up.. lolz!! if your ps3 wont work better with updates why would they even bother to release better firmware? OMFG
new firmware doesnt mean will always better..
new one might fix previous bug but might have new bug too..
maskedchan
post Oct 18 2008, 01:37 PM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(law1777 @ Oct 18 2008, 12:57 PM)
what about previous updates of BD profile 2.0 and DTSHD-MA? psn id list manager?(fine maybe u din use) etc etc.. previous bug u dun wanna solve is it? if u never update the latest one u will be forever missing
for me if working fine i wont update.
if force to update nothing i can do...
as a IT person..never use latest firmware...
who know wat problem might come..
this is my opinion smile.gif
maskedchan
post Oct 18 2008, 06:35 PM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(law1777 @ Oct 18 2008, 03:53 PM)
aiyo IT is IT la.. those are more to compure software's firmware like latest window got this bug got that bug. why relate it to ps3 its just a blu-ray player
i believe is same concept..
update firmware just to fix bug and giv new feature...
and the firmware is coding...might get bug too smile.gif

Added on October 18, 2008, 8:53 pmi have one question....
when i see BD..
my download doesnt work..
are this normal?
can i download while watch bd?

This post has been edited by maskedchan: Oct 18 2008, 08:53 PM
maskedchan
post Oct 18 2008, 09:31 PM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Oct 18 2008, 09:29 PM)
^when watching DVD/BD, the PS3 OS will turn off other HDD activtiy and sign off from PSN.

they say it makes watching movies a quieter and smoother experience tongue.gif
ah..what a waste of time...
if can use for download..can download alot thing
maskedchan
post Oct 23 2008, 05:58 PM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(the jazzman @ Oct 23 2008, 04:28 PM)
hi sifu.. need help here. my setup kena petir.. lucky only lcdtv n streamyx modem kaput. sharp n tm done a great job coming and replce tv powerboard n modem with no question ask. for free. but now facing 2 problem.

1) controler cant connect with ps3 via wireless
2) error in connection.. cant connect to internet/psn. my streamyx conect to router.. wifi signal good n no prob with laptop. tried both setup wired/wireless but failed. wireless scan oso not detect my wifi

help!!!!
obviously ur PS3 also kena petir..
go repair it...
maskedchan
post Oct 24 2008, 01:31 PM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(S4PH @ Oct 24 2008, 01:17 PM)
sifu's out here is there any way to get logitech rumble pad 2, 2 work on the ps3 if can work i dont have to buy dual shock 3
can buy in low yat plaza...
ALL IT Hypermarket got sell...

price i think almost the price DS3
maskedchan
post Oct 24 2008, 04:23 PM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(the jazzman @ Oct 24 2008, 02:53 PM)
mine still under waranty.. i did not tell them kena petir.. they come n change powerboard no question asked.. huhu

Added on October 24, 2008, 2:56 pm
if kena petir sure cannot switch on... i still can play offline. btw prob 1 solve. controller need some charging.. but kadang2 buat hal jugak.. hampeh..  cry.gif
nope...kena petir doesnt mean totally cannot switch on.
i think your wireless and lan port been hit by petir.. that why cannot..
might fry some of the component on the mainboard...

like my PC...always kena petir..only fry modem and network card..
but my PC still can use until now..same concept as ur PS3...
can play game but cannot online...

maskedchan
post Oct 26 2008, 09:15 AM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(dogbear1980 @ Oct 26 2008, 08:47 AM)
Hi, I'm dogbear
May I know how you register a Malaysian PSN?
I have a PSN HK ID and I'm looking for a way to register a PSN US ID, any luck

thank you much for your help~
create another user..
then got PSN and create ID using US address..
google any address and key in
maskedchan
post Oct 28 2008, 09:50 PM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Oct 28 2008, 05:02 PM)
Movie (usually anime) are encoded in either SD (640x480) or HD (720X480) resolution.
i thought HD is (1024x720)???

maskedchan
post Oct 31 2008, 12:50 PM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(ycs1218 @ Oct 31 2008, 10:25 AM)
anyone here install other OS in their PS3?
What is the use of installing other OS in PS3 ?
Is it hard to install one in ps3?
why so bother want to install OS?
game console is for gaming..
no need OS...
maskedchan
post Oct 31 2008, 07:44 PM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(Ifrits @ Oct 31 2008, 07:22 PM)
U know what ppl. My Newly bought DS3 right from sony style(times square)
rosak ady. right from the beginning the gs3 rosak ady. cant use the ds3 wirelessly. and the charging never ends. can charge all day long also wont full. Sealed box somemore. ITS SEALED!!!!! sigh. i so lucky weiii.. now hav to go thru all the trouble to claim warranty from sony. -.-
i also buy from t here...
but mine no problem..
lucky i buy early than u
maskedchan
post Nov 2 2008, 07:55 PM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(lapaq @ Nov 2 2008, 01:44 PM)
Guys...now that I got LBP..and planning to have the first level dedicated to my daughter of 1 yr old...any idea if HK/MY released Playstation Eye will work on my US console?
1 years old daughter get PS3???
so lucky of her...

maskedchan
post Nov 4 2008, 12:16 PM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(kazasho @ Nov 4 2008, 01:44 AM)
http://www.sonystyle.com.my/product/SEWchart.asp

read the bottom small print. I also dunno
i believe that not including PS3..
not even list PS3 there...
maskedchan
post Nov 4 2008, 12:59 PM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(kazasho @ Nov 4 2008, 12:36 PM)
tu lah pasal. so ps3 no extended warranty maybe. but they put de hll extended chart under ps3 for what. damn sony
haha...
no other place to put..
the even put bravia tv brochure nearby ps3..
to attract you buy the tv too..
maskedchan
post Nov 5 2008, 11:16 AM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(areankim @ Nov 5 2008, 11:08 AM)
guys... is there any free games that can be installed on ps3? hehe
demo on PSN store...
maskedchan
post Nov 5 2008, 10:28 PM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(kazasho @ Nov 5 2008, 10:04 PM)
which US state is tax free? brows.gif
none...
if i not mistaken..
u should ask which state is lowest tax...
maskedchan
post Nov 6 2008, 01:35 PM

6,022 posts

torrent = bittorrent..
to download stuff smile.gif

hope the torrent they mention same as mine..

maskedchan
post Nov 13 2008, 12:40 AM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Nov 12 2008, 11:32 PM)
Not sure. Actually, I'm also new to these PS3 stuff.  laugh.gif
I don't think its true. Even if the take out and replace, where can they buy cheap blu ray lens and where do they sold the one they take out...  hmm.gif  IMHO, the reason they can sell cheaper is due to 'tax'.  whistling.gif
blue ray lens is cheap...RM300-500
correct me if wrong...

sg.wang last time alot ppl change the fake lens to new PS3
that wat i heard
maskedchan
post Nov 14 2008, 11:28 AM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(japboy @ Nov 14 2008, 11:23 AM)
hi guys..wanna ask something...
is there any game that can't support regular tv/crt tv??
fifa09,MGS4,COD4 can play ah using crt tv??
thanks in advance...
i think MGS4 cannot play on regular tv..
correct me if i am wrong..

maskedchan
post Nov 14 2008, 12:04 PM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(huh @ Nov 14 2008, 12:02 PM)
Ahh ok...that sucks sad.gif
Thanks for the help.

Anybody know if the Poker game is available anywhere else?
can buy PSN card from alexwlh...
he got sell in here..go search his name..

Added on November 14, 2008, 12:06 pm
QUOTE(kazasho @ Nov 14 2008, 11:33 AM)
can play in what? 480? 720? but it look ugly and not full enough the screen. play at least 720 for mgs4
hmm..really?
if not mistaken i see in this forum someone can't get output when play in CRT TV..
maybe i saw it wrongly..

This post has been edited by maskedchan: Nov 14 2008, 12:06 PM

0.0209sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:51 AM