130 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V2, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

chess_gal
post Aug 24 2008, 10:12 PM

1,006 posts

Try to book 2 - 3 months in advance, then you can get return ticket at S$123.

Nowadays I also try to fly 3-4 months once, so much faster and I can still meet my friend in KL to yamcha at 11pm.

Worth it for those who goes back once a blue moon.

cktwai
post Aug 25 2008, 08:49 AM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Aug 24 2008, 10:12 PM)
Try to book 2 - 3 months in advance, then you can get return ticket at S$123.

Nowadays I also try to fly 3-4 months once, so much faster and I can still meet my friend in KL to yamcha at 11pm.

Worth it for those who goes back once a blue moon.
trips are quite adhoc can't plan 3-4 months in advance haha

how are you surviving?

washabushi
post Aug 25 2008, 10:40 AM

pandu cepat mati selamat
1,678 posts

QUOTE(weirdguy @ Aug 24 2008, 02:09 PM)
Guys & Gals,

Can recommend me some worthy IDD cards to call back to Malaysia? If cheap, i would be calling home for around 1 hour on alternative day.

Currently, i using Singtel Hi!Card and the Free 019 IDD Call but the thing is I don't really get what it means. It stated that 8cents/min (wk rate) but it seems like it is deducting my global-call/SMS. Shouldn't it be deducting my local-call/sms which is accumulating to a very a lot.

Note that I purchase $128 top-up cards.
should be very cheap leh...
1 dollar can masak bubur bout 1 hr u know...
nicvoo
post Aug 25 2008, 10:54 AM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(Uchiha Itachi @ Aug 24 2008, 12:55 PM)
Is Singtel and Starhub mobile broadband still having promotion? I cant seems to find any mobile broadband promotion on their websites.
waiting for this weekend's comex for the madness

QUOTE(shanelai @ Aug 24 2008, 02:06 PM)
Anyone recommend the cheapest flight company from kl to singapore other than airasia
JAL is nice booked about 1 month b4 went back last weekend jus came back last nite sgd137

QUOTE(cktwai @ Aug 24 2008, 08:59 PM)
cheapest are usually Air Asia and JapanAirLines-JAL.

Air Asia ranges from SGD120-280. usually if u book 3 weeks in advance during normal period will be about SGD 180. JAL is usually about SGD 217. Bad thing about JAL is you need 3 days advance booking. Good thing is it lands at KLIA.

I felt jetstar is a rip off. Unless you travel without checkin luggage you should take JetStar. If not forget about it.
curreently all budget airlines r charging for check in baggage so all same la
tiny
post Aug 25 2008, 02:40 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(kumarr @ Aug 24 2008, 09:55 AM)
Ur Starhub 2Mbps good internet speed or a bit slow? Got any hang anot?
Starhub seems to purposely hang the internet when your download/upload reaches 4GB...they do this just to annoy you when you bt too much... to fix this all you need to do is disconnect and reconnect again.
I'm living and working in AMK and I'm getting full speed (2Mbps) 90% of the time, worst speed i've gotten is 0.5Mbps but this rarely happens.
Even with the high bandwidth, the latency is quite high so it's not good for playing FPS and RTS games online (biggest weakness of any wireless broadband).
peng123
post Aug 25 2008, 05:47 PM

96 posts

hi, All friends here.

Any website that I can find jobs in singapore for the accounts executive post ?
I try Jobstreet and JobDB already 2 months plus... all no answers . even interview also don have. cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

is it the economy in Singapore is bad now ?

This post has been edited by peng123: Aug 25 2008, 05:48 PM
WyjSwmW
post Aug 25 2008, 06:13 PM

862 posts

QUOTE(peng123 @ Aug 25 2008, 05:47 PM)
hi, All friends here.

I try Jobstreet and JobDB  already 2 months plus... all no answers . even interview also don have.  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

Don't feel upset leh and don't give up ya.. last time i sent in 20 resumes then only 1 reply leh. This is bcos we are not a PR or Singaporean, tat's why it is very hard to find a job in singapore but once you are a PR, u are like a bumi in Malaysia where you enjoy similar privilages like singaporeans, jobs will come look for you...
bluefox
post Aug 25 2008, 06:15 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(peng123 @ Aug 25 2008, 05:47 PM)
hi, All friends here.

I try Jobstreet and JobDB  already 2 months plus... all no answers . even interview also don have.  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

Hey, not to give up ...
Try Use the other job link suggested by our forumers :

It does takes time to apply for jobs.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/767942
Employments:
Job opportunities are still good. Those with higher education level/experience stand a better chance and command a higher starting pay. Good command of English in resume writing or interview is a huge benefit. The following are the list of available online job sites:
1. Jobstreet
2. Contact Singapore
3. Jobs Central

Or better still send directly your resumes to the company.

This post has been edited by bluefox: Aug 25 2008, 06:15 PM
SUSXfX
post Aug 25 2008, 06:30 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Aug 25 2008, 06:13 PM)
Don't feel upset leh and don't give up ya.. last time i sent in 20 resumes then only 1 reply leh. This is bcos we are not a PR or Singaporean, tat's why it is very hard to find a job in singapore but once you are a PR, u are like a bumi in Malaysia where you enjoy similar privilages like singaporeans, jobs will come look for you...
Ok, since you are talking about PR? I wanna ask wat is the difference between a PR and a Singaporeans in terms of privilages, rights, benefits and so on.

Izit like Malaysian bumiputera they got 7% discount, government offer more scholarships, universities quotas and if you are the boss, who would you like to employ if they have the same qualifications and experience if a Singaporean, PR and a Malaysian come for interview?
JuNz-V
post Aug 25 2008, 06:47 PM

Talk to the Stars!!
2,085 posts

will it better for me if i go there to look for jobs?
i'm in kl rite now.. pls advise, thanks
seantang
post Aug 25 2008, 08:07 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(JuNz-V @ Aug 25 2008, 06:47 PM)
will it better for me if i go there to look for jobs?
i'm in kl rite now.. pls advise, thanks
Maybe, maybe not.

bbmars
post Aug 25 2008, 09:19 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(XfX @ Aug 25 2008, 06:30 PM)
Ok, since you are talking about PR? I wanna ask wat is the difference between a PR and a Singaporeans in terms of privilages, rights, benefits and so on.

Izit like Malaysian bumiputera they got 7% discount, government offer more scholarships, universities quotas and if you are the boss, who would you like to employ if they have the same qualifications and experience if a Singaporean, PR and a Malaysian come for interview?
I think, I might be wrong, but some opinions about employing Malaysian PR. some compaines - no need NS for male employee, no need to excuse them unlike Singaporeans. advantages as can be seen. but again not all like that. PR can have better bargaining terms like locals, at least, 13month bonus is must in SG law on top of bonus if any should company do well.

If you look for SG Gov job, I don't think any difference because they employ based on qualification and requirement set. Scholarship is not an issue, only think is, should you take up any busary or so, you are requried to work for a few years.

However, PR nowadays only enjoy some form of subsidy at Gov medical clinics, not sure about hospital. Unlike in the past, PR enjoy better benefits than locals because there is no NS and whatever Singaproeans gain from Gov, they do. Of course, when it comes to Gov's assistance package to help Singaporeans to get on with living conditions, Inflation, recession, etc... PR don't get anything. SG Gov is giving out aids package again in Oct 08 to ease inflation and hardship, etc... only Singaporeans get it.

This post has been edited by bbmars: Aug 25 2008, 09:19 PM
weirdguy
post Aug 25 2008, 09:28 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(washabushi @ Aug 25 2008, 10:40 AM)
should be very cheap leh...
1 dollar can masak bubur bout 1 hr u know...
I don't really understand what you trying to say. Can you be more specific and detail?
chess_gal
post Aug 25 2008, 09:48 PM

1,006 posts

If u guys are using Starhub, try to call 018 follows by 6012xxxxxx so its 0186012xxxxxx or 018603xx.

No International charges, just local charges apply.

I call home every week, and am using prepaid cause no point for me to have a fixed line since i dun have many callers in sg. sgd18 can last me a month!!!

hahaha... seriously i get a lot free smses too!

CTWAI:
Still holding on lor... work late... sigh.. sien... eh, when wanna go clubbing??

hahhaha

weirdguy
post Aug 25 2008, 10:28 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Aug 25 2008, 09:48 PM)
If u guys are using Starhub, try to call 018 follows by 6012xxxxxx so its 0186012xxxxxx or 018603xx.

I call home every week, and am using prepaid cause no point for me to have a fixed line since i dun have many callers in sg. sgd18 can last me a month!!!

CTWAI:
Still holding on lor... work late... sigh.. sien... eh, when wanna go clubbing??

hahhaha
If Singtel, how?

In addition, I must first dial 018, then wait for the tone then dial the rest of the number, right? If I dial straight 018603xxx, then international charges applied, right?

I just purchased Starhub HomeConnect and got 5 hours Call-time to Malaysia.

This post has been edited by weirdguy: Aug 25 2008, 10:29 PM
Supreme Allied Commander
post Aug 25 2008, 11:19 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(weirdguy @ Aug 25 2008, 11:28 PM)
If Singtel, how?

In addition, I must first dial 018, then wait for the tone then dial the rest of the number, right? If I dial straight 018603xxx, then international charges applied, right?

I just purchased Starhub HomeConnect and got 5 hours Call-time to Malaysia.
for singtel just dial 019 instead of 018 ex 019603xxxxx . If i remember right u get free IDD for that too so its the same thing as starhub and m1 .
louismhc
post Aug 26 2008, 12:45 AM

466 posts

Wah...anyone want to register sinktel's plan? Anyone will to be my victim? So i can get the iphone....hahahaa brows.gif
cktwai
post Aug 26 2008, 12:44 PM

NaraPikamaru
541 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Aug 25 2008, 09:48 PM)

CTWAI:

hahhaha
erm... lets talk offline...
Annie
post Aug 26 2008, 01:47 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(bbmars @ Aug 25 2008, 09:19 PM)
I think, I might be wrong, but some opinions about employing Malaysian PR.  some compaines - no need NS for male employee, no need to excuse them unlike Singaporeans.  advantages as can be seen.  but again not all like that.  PR can have better bargaining terms like locals, at least, 13month bonus is must in SG law on top of bonus if any should company do well. 

If you look for SG Gov job, I don't think any difference because they employ based on qualification and requirement set.  Scholarship is not an issue, only think is, should you take up any busary or so, you are requried to work for a few years. 

However, PR nowadays only enjoy some form of subsidy at Gov medical clinics, not sure about hospital.  Unlike  in the past, PR enjoy better benefits than locals because there is no NS and whatever Singaproeans gain from Gov, they do.  Of course, when it comes to Gov's assistance package to help Singaporeans to get on with  living conditions, Inflation, recession, etc...  PR don't get anything.  SG Gov is giving out aids package again in Oct 08 to ease inflation and hardship, etc... only Singaporeans get it.
Attached is a full list of benefit for SPR vs SG citizen. Honestly, i think SPR have better benefit than Malaysia's non-bumi.

Attached File(s)
Attached File  BenefitsPrivilegesRightsObligations_20080429.pdf ( 455.88k ) Number of downloads: 78
washabushi
post Aug 26 2008, 04:20 PM

pandu cepat mati selamat
1,678 posts

QUOTE(weirdguy @ Aug 25 2008, 09:28 PM)
I don't really understand what you trying to say. Can you be more specific and detail?
plz check this for prepaid...
http://home.singtel.com/consumer/products/...d_whats_new.asp
but da rates seems a bit different from last time...

130 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 09:54 PM