Working Life in Singapore V2, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

weirdguy
post Aug 19 2008, 09:49 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(washabushi @ Aug 19 2008, 09:37 AM)
ferdinand(washabushi)
stay at bukit batok work at toh guan(jurong east)
interested in running, bowling basketball long time no play
http://www.swingkpe.com.sg/
by the way i also know few other LYN forummer in sg...met em b4 too~
I also work at Toh Guan Road.

If you guys got any room-opening, let me know. Both Jurong and near Paya Lebar. Thanks.
weirdguy
post Aug 21 2008, 11:07 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(bluefox @ Aug 21 2008, 09:53 AM)
Ahemm , no comment but as you mentioned she will be half Malaysian soon  mwhahah
They getting married soon?
weirdguy
post Aug 21 2008, 07:19 PM

587 posts

Hey,

I got a question regarding Singtel Wireless broadband. Certain packages provide a free USB wireless adapter, right?

May I know how to share the connection with 2 or more computers?
weirdguy
post Aug 21 2008, 10:26 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Aug 21 2008, 09:49 PM)
ya.
most of the packages come with free USB modem.
you have to use another USB device to do that, it can be used as USB modem and network switch.
Can you recommend some brand and its model? Because I'm not familiar with wireless hardware.
weirdguy
post Aug 24 2008, 02:09 PM

587 posts

Guys & Gals,

Can recommend me some worthy IDD cards to call back to Malaysia? If cheap, i would be calling home for around 1 hour on alternative day.

Currently, i using Singtel Hi!Card and the Free 019 IDD Call but the thing is I don't really get what it means. It stated that 8cents/min (wk rate) but it seems like it is deducting my global-call/SMS. Shouldn't it be deducting my local-call/sms which is accumulating to a very a lot.

Note that I purchase $128 top-up cards.
weirdguy
post Aug 25 2008, 09:28 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(washabushi @ Aug 25 2008, 10:40 AM)
should be very cheap leh...
1 dollar can masak bubur bout 1 hr u know...
I don't really understand what you trying to say. Can you be more specific and detail?
weirdguy
post Aug 25 2008, 10:28 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(chess_gal @ Aug 25 2008, 09:48 PM)
If u guys are using Starhub, try to call 018 follows by 6012xxxxxx so its 0186012xxxxxx or 018603xx.

No International charges, just local charges apply.

I call home every week, and am using prepaid cause no point for me to have a fixed line since i dun have many callers in sg. sgd18 can last me a month!!!

hahaha... seriously i get a lot free smses too!

CTWAI:
Still holding on lor... work late... sigh.. sien... eh, when wanna go clubbing??

hahhaha
If Singtel, how?

In addition, I must first dial 018, then wait for the tone then dial the rest of the number, right? If I dial straight 018603xxx, then international charges applied, right?

I just purchased Starhub HomeConnect and got 5 hours Call-time to Malaysia.

This post has been edited by weirdguy: Aug 25 2008, 10:29 PM
weirdguy
post Sep 13 2008, 10:18 PM

587 posts

Is there anyone here currently subscribing for 7.2mb MaxMobile Ultimate (Starhub)?

I would like to know the performance of the mobile broadband. Also, I found out that Starhub Home broadband (the speed) is not that stable. Sometimes, able to reach over 500kb/s, and even 50kb/s.
weirdguy
post Sep 18 2008, 09:33 PM

587 posts

Just a question, is there any penalty fee or 'black-mark' if I resign from my post in 3 months or between 3-6months? I currently hold Working Permit only, not S Pass.

Also, is the Government had increase the requirement for S Pass Permit?

I am currently working as Customer Service Assistance, cashing in less than $1,500 a month. I just graduate so I took up this job first and on the look-out for better paid job. I'm holding a degree.
weirdguy
post Sep 19 2008, 07:37 PM

587 posts

Thanks for the replies

Bachelor Degree in Commerce: E-Commerce & Marketing

but I'm don't have a mindset that my future job prospect is following my Degree path.
weirdguy
post Sep 19 2008, 08:10 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(agrace @ Sep 19 2008, 07:54 PM)
most imptly is ur interest, at least u wont feel its a drag to go to work everyday.. can always treat ur 1st job in spore as a stepping stone, once u get ur PR it will be much easier to job hop tongue.gif

btw, does anyone know any transport coy go to & fro changi airport & JB? i've an early flight at 710am to bkk & will return near midnite. thought of hiring some transport coy to travel to airport..
Wah, i think it is going to take me years to become a PR with my current Work Permit status. But i understand your point.
weirdguy
post Sep 19 2008, 08:54 PM

587 posts

QUOTE(agrace @ Sep 19 2008, 08:13 PM)
if i'm not wrong, S pass holder with S$1.8k salary can also apply for PR.. so its not too far away from ur current pay too smile.gif
My salary is only $1,350 loh.
weirdguy
post Sep 20 2008, 04:55 PM

587 posts

Hai, I know I am underpaid loh. I am thinking of moving to somewhere else but waiting for offer. Hai...

1,650 is better than mine though

0.0497sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 11:31 AM