Working Life in Singapore V2, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups
siaukia
Aug 22 2008, 10:41 AM
QUOTE(tiny @ Aug 22 2008, 10:05 AM) Starhub is unlimited, Singtel has got 50GB cap. I just got myself a Starhub 2Mbps Down 512Kbps Up. 2 years contract, free modem, and 30% discount on subscription fees. Currently paying S$27.10/mo. Installation is easy, no need CD coz they store the driver inside the USB dongle. I can get a full 2Mbps download on bt if the seeds are available. No recommended for playing games coz latency is too high. really? is there a catch? like a.....unlimited 999999999999999month contract? hahaha sometimes i felt so paranoid from all those trap they caught me, damn. sign up only know kena.
tiny
Aug 22 2008, 11:41 AM

QUOTE(siaukia @ Aug 22 2008, 10:41 AM) really? is there a catch? like a.....unlimited 999999999999999month contract? hahaha sometimes i felt so paranoid from all those trap they caught me, damn. sign up only know kena. Like i said, MaxMobile - 24 months contract, 2mbps, free Modem, 30% off subscription fees for 24 months. You will get the USB modem on the spot and you can start using when you get home the same day.
eggBoy
Aug 22 2008, 01:47 PM

singtel's BBOM is 1MBps, 50GB/month cap for SGD 14+ 12 months contract. so basically u pay half to get half the speed, half the contract duration and the 50GB cap. so it is just a matter of choice imo  p/s : forgot to add. free modem and requires 1-3 working days for activation from purchase date. This post has been edited by eggBoy: Aug 22 2008, 01:52 PM
louismhc
Aug 23 2008, 12:55 AM
Bring up the post
WyjSwmW
Aug 23 2008, 02:21 AM
iPhone finally up for grab in Singapore..
faster go and register with Singtel and buy it...
then go back Malaysia yamca and show-off to ur friends... haha
louismhc
Aug 23 2008, 07:30 AM
@WyjSwmW You working with sinktel ar? Why post here for this?
ahwai_83
Aug 23 2008, 08:48 AM
i thought ppl r bringing in iphone in m'sia d? in his forum itself also got ppl doin so...i saw those threads last mnth jo la noting to show off leh~~~
seantang
Aug 23 2008, 10:01 AM
QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Aug 23 2008, 02:21 AM) iPhone finally up for grab in Singapore.. It's not really "up for grabs". It costs minimum S$1400 to a maximum of nearly S$4K over a 2 year contract. That's a hell of a lot to pay for any phone, considering basic mobile service is only S$250 a year (minimum incremental cost due to hardware S$900). It'll be cheaper when Starhub and M1 start selling it in Q4 this year, and when Samsung launches the Innov8.
louismhc
Aug 23 2008, 10:36 AM
If we working in singapore and get the plan is worth it lo... Moreover we are too far off topic, if wanna discuss iphone in singapore please visit http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/748953
WyjSwmW
Aug 23 2008, 11:01 AM
QUOTE(seantang @ Aug 23 2008, 10:01 AM) It's not really "up for grabs". It costs minimum S$1400 to a maximum of nearly S$4K over a 2 year contract. That's a hell of a lot to pay for any phone, considering basic mobile service is only S$250 a year (minimum incremental cost due to hardware S$900). It'll be cheaper when Starhub and M1 start selling it in Q4 this year, and when Samsung launches the Innov8. No if you read their ads, it costs only $500-$800 for a 2 yr plan (depending on the plan u choose) and if u register their most expensive plan (I think is $200 monthly), the iPhone is free...
washabushi
Aug 23 2008, 12:30 PM
QUOTE(bluefox @ Aug 21 2008, 09:34 AM) Hi Annie, Are you working in Xilink Changi Business Park? Added on August 21, 2008, 9:48 amYummie .... Chicken Stew ... woosh ... That's COOOL!!! Hmm.... waiting for gathering for sometime ... hmmm Wow Lol that's nice of ur gf ... Muz appreciate u know .. not many gals wud do that .. mwhahahhahah Hey, but I thought u juz run off std chart marathon last year? 3++km? Now 5km? COOL MAN Hey I think Std Chart is having their marathon soon. Any second time participation? Mwhahhaha http://www.singaporemarathon.com/en/Hey get ya oh... yeah my last marahon distance is 42.195km...thats the standard distance for full marathon i joing this 5km coz this is to break guiness record... even if its 10km...no prob for me...anyway need to take a break coz my weekly mileage too high... per day average 20km... any1 wanna join me? i already register my full M long time ago... jaja This post has been edited by washabushi: Aug 23 2008, 12:33 PM
seantang
Aug 23 2008, 09:45 PM
QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Aug 23 2008, 11:01 AM) No if you read their ads, it costs only $500-$800 for a 2 yr plan (depending on the plan u choose) and if u register their most expensive plan (I think is $200 monthly), the iPhone is free... That's only the cost of the handset. You need to include the a large part of the cost of the 2 year contract because the minimum iPhone plan is almost double a normal basic mobile plan. You're essentially paying more fees every month for the privilege of owning a iPhone.
kumarr
Aug 24 2008, 09:55 AM
QUOTE(tiny @ Aug 22 2008, 11:41 AM) Like i said, MaxMobile - 24 months contract, 2mbps, free Modem, 30% off subscription fees for 24 months. You will get the USB modem on the spot and you can start using when you get home the same day. Ur Starhub 2Mbps good internet speed or a bit slow? Got any hang anot?
Uchiha Itachi
Aug 24 2008, 12:55 PM
Is Singtel and Starhub mobile broadband still having promotion? I cant seems to find any mobile broadband promotion on their websites.
shanelai
Aug 24 2008, 02:06 PM
Anyone recommend the cheapest flight company from kl to singapore other than airasia
weirdguy
Aug 24 2008, 02:09 PM
Guys & Gals,
Can recommend me some worthy IDD cards to call back to Malaysia? If cheap, i would be calling home for around 1 hour on alternative day.
Currently, i using Singtel Hi!Card and the Free 019 IDD Call but the thing is I don't really get what it means. It stated that 8cents/min (wk rate) but it seems like it is deducting my global-call/SMS. Shouldn't it be deducting my local-call/sms which is accumulating to a very a lot.
Note that I purchase $128 top-up cards.
seantang
Aug 24 2008, 02:36 PM
QUOTE(shanelai @ Aug 24 2008, 02:06 PM) Anyone recommend the cheapest flight company from kl to singapore other than airasia There's Tiger Airways and Jetstar Asia also. All 3 budget airlines have prices from S$9.99 to almost S$200 - depending entirely on when you make your booking. This doesn't include taxes and surcharges. All 3 also have promotions all the time. So, at the end of the day, there's no "cheapest". It's a matter of how early you can confirm and pay for your booking. You also have MAS and SIA, who occasionally have good fares, depending on promotion.
bbmars
Aug 24 2008, 05:26 PM
QUOTE(Uchiha Itachi @ Aug 24 2008, 12:55 PM) Is Singtel and Starhub mobile broadband still having promotion? I cant seems to find any mobile broadband promotion on their websites. You find most of their promotions, regardless of which provider, are all over teh Straits Times especially on Saturday. Othere days too, but Saturday has the most. As for the website, the offer there isn't as attractive as the one in the press
kumarr
Aug 24 2008, 05:58 PM
QUOTE(weirdguy @ Aug 24 2008, 02:09 PM) Guys & Gals, Can recommend me some worthy IDD cards to call back to Malaysia? If cheap, i would be calling home for around 1 hour on alternative day. Currently, i using Singtel Hi!Card and the Free 019 IDD Call but the thing is I don't really get what it means. It stated that 8cents/min (wk rate) but it seems like it is deducting my global-call/SMS. Shouldn't it be deducting my local-call/sms which is accumulating to a very a lot. Note that I purchase $128 top-up cards. Only IDD calling cards to call back malaysia is cheaper rates apply. If u use prepaid singtel,M1 or stahub not cheap at all
cktwai
Aug 24 2008, 08:59 PM
QUOTE(seantang @ Aug 24 2008, 02:36 PM) There's Tiger Airways and Jetstar Asia also. All 3 budget airlines have prices from S$9.99 to almost S$200 - depending entirely on when you make your booking. This doesn't include taxes and surcharges. All 3 also have promotions all the time. So, at the end of the day, there's no "cheapest". It's a matter of how early you can confirm and pay for your booking. You also have MAS and SIA, who occasionally have good fares, depending on promotion. cheapest are usually Air Asia and JapanAirLines-JAL. Air Asia ranges from SGD120-280. usually if u book 3 weeks in advance during normal period will be about SGD 180. JAL is usually about SGD 217. Bad thing about JAL is you need 3 days advance booking. Good thing is it lands at KLIA. I felt jetstar is a rip off. Unless you travel without checkin luggage you should take JetStar. If not forget about it.