QUOTE(seantang @ Aug 25 2008, 08:07 PM)
ok lets put it this way.. my accommodation will be free, since i got relatives there..
so issit better for me to be there to hunt for jobs, compared to staying here and spamming resume to companies in SG?
Working Life in Singapore V2, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups
Aug 26 2008, 08:05 PM
2,085 posts Joined: Mar 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Aug 26 2008, 08:11 PM
250 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
QUOTE(JuNz-V @ Aug 26 2008, 08:05 PM) ok lets put it this way.. my accommodation will be free, since i got relatives there.. so issit better for me to be there to hunt for jobs, compared to staying here and spamming resume to companies in SG? U can ask ur relative to chekc vacancies for u. When there's interview u can always go there anytime, as u have accomodation ready. But by stayin there and look for job won't make much differences. unless u wana go there holiday as well. |
Aug 26 2008, 08:16 PM
thanks for the advise,
looks like the decision is still up to me.. what makes me think of moving there straight is because if there's interviews, then its more convenient if i'm there.. n one more thing, i believe that hiring companies will select to call candidates who's got sg address/contact.. |
Aug 26 2008, 09:10 PM
4,567 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Singapore |
if u ask me i would say stay in SG here would be better.
try get a SG number n address to put it into ur resume. well i not saying it really matter, but i did got a lot more calls after i put in a SG no. when i was looking for a job here. |
Aug 26 2008, 10:21 PM
QUOTE(Chrisky @ Aug 26 2008, 09:10 PM) if u ask me i would say stay in SG here would be better. hey, thanks alot for sharing the experience.. appreciate it very much! try get a SG number n address to put it into ur resume. well i not saying it really matter, but i did got a lot more calls after i put in a SG no. when i was looking for a job here. |
Aug 26 2008, 11:01 PM
55 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
hi guys,
who is into gathering for coffee this friday after work? Location will be decided Come! 1. saintcute 2. 3. 4. 5. |
Aug 27 2008, 01:16 AM
466 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Vtec Avenue |
Me! If time is okay for me
Aug 27 2008, 09:13 AM
57 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
OK, someone told me that if me and my fren is a PR, why not just go buy a HDB together and stay for let’s say for 3 yrs (if u intend to work here for 3 yrs) then after that just sell them-off for a profit…. instead of renting a room for $500 every mth.
Can anyone give some advice on the above statement? |
Aug 27 2008, 09:53 AM
234 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Petaling Jaya |
QUOTE(XfX @ Aug 27 2008, 09:13 AM) OK, someone told me that if me and my fren is a PR, why not just go buy a HDB together and stay for let’s say for 3 yrs (if u intend to work here for 3 yrs) then after that just sell them-off for a profit…. instead of renting a room for $500 every mth. ok..sounds easy.Can anyone give some advice on the above statement? but, in order to buy a HDB, you have to be a couple that registered (married) officially. Then....you have to have at least SGD50k cash on hand to pay the downpayment, COV and transaction fee. (SGD40k will be a bit tough now) So, if you intend to work here 3 years, maybe you just save enough to pay the downpayment, unless your salary is like SGD7k above. |
Aug 27 2008, 10:48 AM
4,707 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: where there everywhere |
QUOTE(JuNz-V @ Aug 26 2008, 08:16 PM) thanks for the advise, yeah its more convenient for u to go for interviews n higher possiblility u'll get a call. however, it all boils down to the interview. I've a fren staying wif her sis half year only found a job. 1st he's a fresh grad 2ndly his england is a bit rusty. looks like the decision is still up to me.. what makes me think of moving there straight is because if there's interviews, then its more convenient if i'm there.. n one more thing, i believe that hiring companies will select to call candidates who's got sg address/contact.. QUOTE(saintcute @ Aug 26 2008, 11:01 PM) hi guys, hmm.... i'll be reporting myself to suntec for comex haha how about next week?who is into gathering for coffee this friday after work? Location will be decided Come! 1. saintcute 2. 3. 4. 5. QUOTE(Annie @ Aug 27 2008, 09:53 AM) ok..sounds easy. thats for new hdb which u also hav to include the ablloting process which will favour sg more then prs. anyway if u got the $$ for the downpayment get 2nd hand ones which u dont need to go tru all the mentioned processes however its more expbut, in order to buy a HDB, you have to be a couple that registered (married) officially. Then....you have to have at least SGD50k cash on hand to pay the downpayment, COV and transaction fee. (SGD40k will be a bit tough now) So, if you intend to work here 3 years, maybe you just save enough to pay the downpayment, unless your salary is like SGD7k above. |
Aug 27 2008, 11:51 AM
4,414 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
For those who are working in singapore,
How do you find singaporeans in general? Most malaysians have the mindset that singaporeans think very highly of themselves and look down on others. After working in singapore, does this view still apply to you or not? I notice that alot of ppl criticize singaporeans and singapore in general but they themselves have never actually been to singapore, just that they have the mindset from conversations with other ppl who themselves have never been to singapore. |
Aug 27 2008, 01:44 PM
QUOTE(crapp0 @ Aug 27 2008, 11:51 AM) For those who are working in singapore, after working in singapore, i feel that they emphasize more on educational background rather than experience. How do you find singaporeans in general? Most malaysians have the mindset that singaporeans think very highly of themselves and look down on others. After working in singapore, does this view still apply to you or not? I notice that alot of ppl criticize singaporeans and singapore in general but they themselves have never actually been to singapore, just that they have the mindset from conversations with other ppl who themselves have never been to singapore. You can find ppl with master degree easily in the company, but not all of them are performer. People from Malaysia can perform better, but, always being suppressed due to no qualification (i mean master degree and above). One thing there are good in is presentation skill, which Malaysian lacking of. |
Aug 27 2008, 02:59 PM
4,414 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
QUOTE(Annie @ Aug 27 2008, 01:44 PM) after working in singapore, i feel that they emphasize more on educational background rather than experience. Your not working in singapore anymore?You can find ppl with master degree easily in the company, but not all of them are performer. People from Malaysia can perform better, but, always being suppressed due to no qualification (i mean master degree and above). One thing there are good in is presentation skill, which Malaysian lacking of. |
Aug 27 2008, 11:23 PM
545 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(Annie @ Aug 27 2008, 01:44 PM) after working in singapore, i feel that they emphasize more on educational background rather than experience. I don't know how true your statement is, but in the Gov sector, having a master degree don't hold much water. Gov job pays based on 1st degree or Phd. Master is not a criteria although I don't know whether there is any preferences. However, sometimes having extra degree may or may not work against you. Education background is indeed the thing, have you also not notice that due to cost effect and outsourcing, many companies also offering 1-stop services, all in one so much so that people with degree can just talk and manage, know something but no need to be good at it, for what, because their suppliers will do the job according to their request. Well, again, it depends on your job scope. This is nothing new my friend, this is also a trend happening else where. Not just SG, even in US, many years ago, my vendor also complained to me about it. Just that SG is getting more of this now. You can find ppl with master degree easily in the company, but not all of them are performer. People from Malaysia can perform better, but, always being suppressed due to no qualification (i mean master degree and above). One thing there are good in is presentation skill, which Malaysian lacking of. Obviously, there is a mindset change here, many don't really need to hands on... all they ever do is talk and ideas, impress upon management and then they rise all the way up on other people's strength.... that's the beauty and then, someone has to do the work. but I must say, possibly, you may or may not have to meet those who are good at both hands on and with a degree. Because I am one such person... but .......... well, I am reflecting on what I experience in my company. Either you work like mad and they continue to only utilise you to your strength because you are good at it than the rest... shake leg or take on more adm type of role... .sian!!!! because they are not as good. I see myself as ... I won't say very good, but simply because you know something others don't, even if its just superficially, you are instantly the expert here... what can I do? can find a better pay job to sustain my family expenditure? else I would have left long ago. At least my immediate boss still appreciate my work although he himself is in the same stage as I am... at least I do get my performance bonus every year... This post has been edited by bbmars: Aug 27 2008, 11:31 PM |
Aug 27 2008, 11:56 PM
724 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
QUOTE(bbmars @ Aug 25 2008, 09:19 PM) I think, I might be wrong, but some opinions about employing Malaysian PR. some compaines - no need NS for male employee, no need to excuse them unlike Singaporeans. advantages as can be seen. but again not all like that. PR can have better bargaining terms like locals, at least, 13month bonus is must in SG law on top of bonus if any should company do well. Is 13th month pay really a must in SG law? I thought it is optional although I heard most companies in SG practicing it. But then at least my company does not pay 13th month... ... |
Aug 28 2008, 12:11 AM
395 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(Find The Way @ Aug 27 2008, 11:56 PM) Is 13th month pay really a must in SG law? I thought it is optional although I heard most companies in SG practicing it. But then at least my company does not pay 13th month... What type of company are you working? Normally those Tan Ah Beng chinaman company seldom pay 13 mths bonus...unless u ask or they confirm with u tat they will pay 13 mths bonus during the interview. |
Aug 28 2008, 10:41 AM
168 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Hi guys....my boss got one HDB in Dover want to rent out. 4rooms unit. 2bus stop away to MRT,walking is possible. Food Court nearby all within 5mins walk. 7-11 and clinics all are nearby. PM me for price. Thank you.
Aug 28 2008, 11:52 AM
Is there any job opening in companies you guys work for?
if do, pls recommend i'm looking for a job in sg.. hope get some assist from here as well.. thanks in advance |
Aug 28 2008, 12:35 PM
QUOTE(nicvoo @ Aug 27 2008, 10:48 AM) yeah its more convenient for u to go for interviews n higher possiblility u'll get a call. however, it all boils down to the interview. I've a fren staying wif her sis half year only found a job. 1st he's a fresh grad 2ndly his england is a bit rusty. to apply for new HDB, at least one need to be Singaporean.hmm.... i'll be reporting myself to suntec for comex haha how about next week? thats for new hdb which u also hav to include the ablloting process which will favour sg more then prs. anyway if u got the $$ for the downpayment get 2nd hand ones which u dont need to go tru all the mentioned processes however its more exp To buy resale HDB, both PR can already. New HDB = start from SGD200 Resale HDB=SGD250k above...+ COV (10k, or 20k, or 30k......depend on house condition) |
Aug 28 2008, 01:40 PM
541 posts Joined: Sep 2004 |
QUOTE(JuNz-V @ Aug 28 2008, 11:52 AM) Is there any job opening in companies you guys work for? what's your line of work or field of study? years of experience? etc? if do, pls recommend i'm looking for a job in sg.. hope get some assist from here as well.. thanks in advance how you want people to assist you? haha |
| Change to: | 0.0167sec
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:00 AM |