Working Life in Singapore V2, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

bluefox
post Aug 19 2008, 12:06 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(hoongji @ Aug 16 2008, 09:25 AM)
Let's continue our discussion here. I'm trying my best to pull out information from the first thread and summarize it here for easy reference. If you wish your posts to be added, you can PM me so I can insert here. Hopefully this thread can also be used to organize gatherings, makan/drinking sessions and sports meet-ups.

FAQs

Employments:
Job opportunities are still good. Those with higher education level/experience stand a better chance and command a higher starting pay. Good command of English in resume writing or interview is a huge benefit. The following are the list of available online job sites:
1. Jobstreet
2. Contact Singapore
3. Jobs Central
4. JobsDB

Various employment passes are available to enable you to work in Singapore depending on your skills and pay. Employers will help you in the application of passes. Your job is however pending on the approval of the pass. Information of types of passes are available through MOM's website. Do not worry of what passes you get. Eventually all will allow you to work in SG. Some do fuss about it due to "status" and extra benefits (i.e: credit card and contract phone applications). Just be hardworking and move up the passes or apply directly for PR few years down the road.

All you need to know about PR application and requirements are available here: http://www.ica.gov.sg/page.aspx?pageid=151&secid=150

Please take note that ex Singaporean PRs who renounced their status without serving the National Service will have their job and employment pass applications greatly degraded.

<Need more information on salary bracket and range in different industries to expand. Contributions greatly appreciated>

CPF and Taxes:
Malaysians working under employment/work passes are exempted from paying CPF. Singapore PRs have to contribute to CPF according to the rates found here: http://mycpf.cpf.gov.sg/Members/Gen-Info/C...es/ContriRa.htm

As for the complicated tax returns, i'll just provide the website so everyone can search under their own categories. http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/page01.aspx?id=88

Accomodations:
HDBs everywhere!  rclxub.gif  Prime and new areas should cost around SGD450-600 per room (with or without utilities). You can still find sub SGD400 per room in remote or rundown areas. If you can afford the luxury, apartments and condos are the way to go. SGD800-1200 per room is the current market price. Normally comes with swimming pool and gym facilities.

Below are some useful sites:
http://www.flatsdb.com/
http://www.hdbflat.blogspot.com/
http://singapore.roomsdb.net/
http://easyroommate.com.sg/ (looks more like a dating site  tongue.gif )
http://www.sg-house.com/

Transportation:
No need to describe any further. Been compared and discussed too many times between SG and MY. In SG, you can be anywhere in the island just by using public transport. The all too convenient EZ link card can be used in both MRT and bus (even McD yeah!). For places out of reach, taxi is the answer. Don't worry, you won't get touted with expensive fares. They are a bunch of professionals with accurate meters. First entry onto cab is SGD2.80 or SGD3.00. The rest runs on meter plus any surcharges from tolls, airport surcharge or stopping period. If you are travelling in group of 4, taxi is the cheaper option on certain routes compared to others.

SBS bus maps: http://www.sbstransit.com.sg/iris3/nextbus.aspx
MRT maps: http://www.smrt.com.sg/trains/images/tn_networkmap_big.jpg

Malaysians can drive in cars/bikes to work in SG. For SG PRs, you have to drive singapore registered vehicles. More info here: http://www.lta.gov.sg/motoring_matters/ind...oring_guide.htm

Expenses:
This is very subjective depending on the spending power of different individuals. But here are the basic breakdowns on rough estimates:
1. Accoms SGD600 (varies)
2. Food SGD500 (varies)
3. Transport SGD60
4. Entertainment SGD300 (strip it off if wanna save)
5. Shopping $$$

Forummers in SG:
1. nick (nicvoo) - work at jurong/bt merah (till end of august) bugis/lavender (beginning sept); stay at tampines
2. wen (wyy) - work at outram; stay outram/tiong bahru
3. Louis (louismhc) - work at Tampines; stay at Tampines
4. Daniel (yrh0413) - work at Jurong East, stay at Marine Parade Rd
5. saintcute - work at harbourfront, stay at serangoon
6. nameless - work at NYP Ang Mo Kio/Tanjong Pagar, stay at Commonwealth
7. jeremy (ilikehandphones) - work at clementi, stay at admiralty drive

<Greatly appreciated for those who wants to contribute as it is easier to keep in contact or require direct response from a particular member. Make a reply in this thread or PM me for your names to be up in the list>

Gathering plans:
Woohooo! I'm saving the best for this slot. Let's organize something; from makan to parties to sports.

Gathering 22nd, 23rd or 24th: would-be-organiser: saintcute, interested members: wyy, louismhc

Basketball, undecided: players are chrisky and ahwai_83

Tennis: annie

Feel free to contribute and ammend any inaccuracies. THX! Let's roll.
NICE JOB!!!!
Hey can we include cycling, roller blading here? brows.gif

QUOTE(cktwai @ Aug 15 2008, 07:59 PM)
go to here http://www.ica.gov.sg/e_services_overview....d=303&secid=302

click on "Naturalisation Eligibility Tool"

if you don't get a green light chances are if u apply you will fail.
Got it, thanks dude.... e tool comes in vy handy cool2.gif .. Haha!

QUOTE(Annie @ Aug 15 2008, 08:37 PM)
i don't think it is a law. But if fail, ICA will give u a letter, tell u that after how many months u can try to apply again.
my friend apply after 5 months working in Singapore, approved
I think the most secure guideline is 6 month lo, although some say after 3 months can apply already
Hmm I see, so it's better off wif 6mths.... icon_rolleyes.gif

thx for e feedbck! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by bluefox: Aug 19 2008, 12:26 AM
bluefox
post Aug 19 2008, 02:04 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(washabushi @ Aug 19 2008, 09:37 AM)
ferdinand(washabushi)
stay at bukit batok work at toh guan(jurong east)
interested in running, bowling basketball long time no play
http://www.swingkpe.com.sg/
by the way i also know few other LYN forummer in sg...met em b4 too~
How are you!!
Long time no news.....
hmm.gif what ur doin?

Wow this looks like a huge Marathon.
http://www.swingkpe.com.sg/
Any gathering going on that day?

This post has been edited by bluefox: Aug 19 2008, 02:14 PM
bluefox
post Aug 21 2008, 09:34 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(Annie @ Aug 18 2008, 11:37 AM)
is there any tennis court for booking near Tampines area?
Hi Annie,

Are you working in Xilink Changi Business Park?

Added on August 21, 2008, 9:48 am
QUOTE(washabushi @ Aug 19 2008, 03:32 PM)
hmm...
i thought i just went to ur place last month...or 2 month?
lol...
as usual...
planning to job hop but still dont have any suitable job yet...
so just maintain low profile n keep on working hard...
any gathering can just give me call...
yeah...
still owe u...
for teaching me how to cook the stew chicken  notworthy.gif

Added on August 19, 2008, 3:36 pm

anyway i join 5km fun run
still not sure got gathering or not...
me n my girl fren will be joining...
carry lantern n walk laugh.gif
Yummie .... Chicken Stew ... woosh ... drool.gif

That's COOOL!!!
Hmm.... waiting for gathering for sometime ... hmmm
Wow Lol that's nice of ur gf ... Muz appreciate u know .. not many gals wud do that .. mwhahahhahah

Hey, but I thought u juz run off std chart marathon last year? 3++km?
Now 5km? COOL MAN thumbup.gif

Hey I think Std Chart is having their marathon soon. Any second time participation? Mwhahhaha
http://www.singaporemarathon.com/en/

Hey get ya

This post has been edited by bluefox: Aug 21 2008, 09:48 AM
bluefox
post Aug 21 2008, 09:53 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(valjean @ Aug 21 2008, 09:49 AM)
FYI Washabushi gf is KOREAN
Ahemm , no comment but as you mentioned she will be half Malaysian soon mwhahah
bluefox
post Aug 25 2008, 06:15 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(peng123 @ Aug 25 2008, 05:47 PM)
hi, All friends here.

Any website that I can find jobs in singapore for the accounts executive post ?
I try Jobstreet and JobDB  already 2 months plus... all no answers . even interview also don have.  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

is it the economy in Singapore is bad now ?
Hey, not to give up ...
Try Use the other job link suggested by our forumers :

It does takes time to apply for jobs.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/767942
Employments:
Job opportunities are still good. Those with higher education level/experience stand a better chance and command a higher starting pay. Good command of English in resume writing or interview is a huge benefit. The following are the list of available online job sites:
1. Jobstreet
2. Contact Singapore
3. Jobs Central

Or better still send directly your resumes to the company.

This post has been edited by bluefox: Aug 25 2008, 06:15 PM
bluefox
post Sep 5 2008, 10:57 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(xyngfei @ Sep 4 2008, 04:32 PM)
Any places can introduction for me to take the dinner buffet?
budget for each person around < SGD 25
Hey Hey,

Try this few

Budget around $25 not exactly buffet but will work out for comp's weekend meetup:nod:

hooters (with parties)
http://www.hooters.com.sg/chef_menu_1.htm
http://www.hooters.com.sg/specials.htm

Others F&B @ clarkeQ'
http://www.clarkequay.com.sg/store_blkd.htm

The tent Mongolian and grill (buffet)
http://www.thetent.com.sg/gallery02.html

New York New York - city hall mrt
Fish & Co - dhoby ghaut
Carls' junior -east coast
http://www.carlsjr.com.sg/live/sandwich.php - east coast park

http://www.flavor.sg/best-restaurants-in-s...s-in-singapore/

http://thefoodlaw.blogspot.com/search/labe...0Below%20S%2425

others
http://www.flavor.sg/best-restaurants-in-s...use-restaurant/

icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by bluefox: Sep 5 2008, 11:18 AM
bluefox
post Sep 5 2008, 04:37 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(nameless @ Sep 5 2008, 03:12 PM)
is Hooters really serve by hot girls in their website images?  drool.gif  drool.gif
hahaha, ya.
Shud be fine for comps gathering.

This post has been edited by bluefox: Sep 5 2008, 04:43 PM
bluefox
post Sep 30 2008, 01:31 PM

91 posts

Hmm... There's lots of sales going around Expo, Robinson sales and then Harvey Norman Sales just ONE more day to go!!
bluefox
post Dec 8 2008, 04:19 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(cktwai @ Dec 4 2008, 09:17 AM)
Hi... here's a step by step guide for you.. Hopefully it's useful.

General Information- You need the "Queue Ticket" to hand in your application form and supporting documents.
- There's 2 ways to obtain the Q ticket. E-appointment and on the day visit.
- It only takes less than 10 minutes to hand in your form and documents if you have everything in place.
- If you don't have all the documents in place you're screwing yourself up. You will need to visit the ICA again to hand in.
- Make sure you know what are the list of documents (photos, birthcerts, degree transcripts, etc) that you need to prepare.
- Photostate 2 copies each. Don't just take it as the documents are not required. Whether they are required or not will be based on the person evaluating your case. Means, it may differs from a person to another person. Just get ready those documents listed to avoid delays
- Most people forget these things: Letter from previous employer stating salary, nature or work and position. Photo. Degree transcript. 6 months of previous pay slips. Income tax documents.
What to do on that day: Day Visit
- If you don't have an e appointment it's alright. Not the end of the world. Go line up in the morning at 7:30 a.m. Trust me.
- When they open the doors, make your way in as quickly as possible.
- Take this route: At the entrance of the ICA building turn right quickly and look for the lift. DO NOT TAKE THE ESCALATOR. Take the lift to the 5th Floor. This is where you suppose to line up at another Queue to obtain the Q ticket for PR application. Line up ASAP and get the Q ticket.
- How fast you obtain this Q ticket dictates how long you have to wait.
- If you get this Q ticket fast enough you may leave before 10:00 a.m. However I reckon if you followed my instructions thorougly you'll probably go back at 2pm.
- The numbers doesn't come in sequence. However after awhile you'll be able to figure out how it works and roughly how long you need to wait. Rule of thumb after you've figured out the sequence, give around 20 mins for each Queue. That's how long you have to wait for each Q.

Again, remember the supporting documents. If not you'll have to go back there again.
How I know? I spent a freaking 6 hours observing what was happening at the ICA building as I'm too free and I have nothing else better to do.

I've also managed to observe how the evaluate. If you want you can PM me.
Edited:

Btw, for e appointment, go to LEvel 5 and then use the machine next to the normal Q at level 5. You most probably will be out of there by 9 a.m. smile.gif
Just some add on,

If you got the grey hair guy! Ur in "luck", this guy is kinda STRICT he's kind though!

Photostate - All Documents should be printed on A4 size, centered, on one single-sided page!
Print out Passport : From front to back as long as there's stamped!

Alwiz book ur E-Appointment one month ahead - cuz usually it's fully book for the mth (BE KIASU!!)
Make an e-appointment on a sat, 11pm! Nice hour- since most of them are urgent to goe off(close around 12:00pm on sat), it's quite fast! But make sure to arrive around 10:30am...

Anyway if you forgot to printout your E-appointment on dat day, just inform the customer service counter at fifth floor! Then go get ur ticket at the ticketing machine. (err, but do try to avoid this....)

@---@ cool2.gif

Added on December 8, 2008, 4:19 pm
QUOTE(cktwai @ Dec 4 2008, 09:17 AM)
Hi... here's a step by step guide for you.. Hopefully it's useful.

General Information- You need the "Queue Ticket" to hand in your application form and supporting documents.
- There's 2 ways to obtain the Q ticket. E-appointment and on the day visit.
- It only takes less than 10 minutes to hand in your form and documents if you have everything in place.
- If you don't have all the documents in place you're screwing yourself up. You will need to visit the ICA again to hand in.
- Make sure you know what are the list of documents (photos, birthcerts, degree transcripts, etc) that you need to prepare.
- Photostate 2 copies each. Don't just take it as the documents are not required. Whether they are required or not will be based on the person evaluating your case. Means, it may differs from a person to another person. Just get ready those documents listed to avoid delays
- Most people forget these things: Letter from previous employer stating salary, nature or work and position. Photo. Degree transcript. 6 months of previous pay slips. Income tax documents.
What to do on that day: Day Visit
- If you don't have an e appointment it's alright. Not the end of the world. Go line up in the morning at 7:30 a.m. Trust me.
- When they open the doors, make your way in as quickly as possible.
- Take this route: At the entrance of the ICA building turn right quickly and look for the lift. DO NOT TAKE THE ESCALATOR. Take the lift to the 5th Floor. This is where you suppose to line up at another Queue to obtain the Q ticket for PR application. Line up ASAP and get the Q ticket.
- How fast you obtain this Q ticket dictates how long you have to wait.
- If you get this Q ticket fast enough you may leave before 10:00 a.m. However I reckon if you followed my instructions thorougly you'll probably go back at 2pm.
- The numbers doesn't come in sequence. However after awhile you'll be able to figure out how it works and roughly how long you need to wait. Rule of thumb after you've figured out the sequence, give around 20 mins for each Queue. That's how long you have to wait for each Q.

Again, remember the supporting documents. If not you'll have to go back there again.
How I know? I spent a freaking 6 hours observing what was happening at the ICA building as I'm too free and I have nothing else better to do.

I've also managed to observe how the evaluate. If you want you can PM me.
Edited:

Btw, for e appointment, go to LEvel 5 and then use the machine next to the normal Q at level 5. You most probably will be out of there by 9 a.m. smile.gif
Just some add on,

If you got the grey hair guy! Ur in "luck", this guy is kinda STRICT he's kind though!

Photostate - All Documents should be printed on A4 size, centered, on one single-sided page!
Print out Passport : From front to back as long as there's stamped!

Alwiz book ur E-Appointment one month ahead - cuz usually it's fully book for the mth (BE KIASU!!)
Make an e-appointment on a sat, 11pm! Nice hour- since most of them are urgent to goe off(close around 12:00pm on sat), it's quite fast! But make sure to arrive around 10:30am...

Anyway if you forgot to printout your E-appointment on dat day, just inform the customer service counter at fifth floor! Then go get ur ticket at the ticketing machine. (err, but do try to avoid this....)

@---@ cool2.gif

This post has been edited by bluefox: Dec 8 2008, 04:19 PM
bluefox
post Apr 28 2009, 11:19 PM

91 posts

HI anyone has any experiences of setting up a stall during the F1 Race last year? Care to share etc. whom do you contact, nd any licensing for this?

0.0460sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 08:16 AM