Working Life in Singapore V2, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

Annie
post Aug 28 2008, 02:38 PM

234 posts

QUOTE(JuNz-V @ Aug 28 2008, 11:52 AM)
Is there any job opening in companies you guys work for?
if do, pls recommend smile.gif
i'm looking for a job in sg.. hope get some assist from here as well..
thanks in advance
i think the food court near my place wanna hire cleaner...
valjean
post Aug 28 2008, 02:43 PM

168 posts

haha...nice one.

Junz, there are plenty of site for you to search for jobs. have the initiative to get what you want.
mrg220t
post Aug 28 2008, 07:18 PM

177 posts

I have a question for those that are familiar with Singapore immigration process.
I have been in Sg for about 2 months already looking for a job. On my renewal of my stamp, the immigration people stamped a 7 day stamp for me. Does this means that my time in Sg is now limited. What would happen if I were to go back to Msia for a few days and come back to Sg? Will I be barred from entering Sg?
JuNz-V
post Aug 28 2008, 07:25 PM

Talk to the Stars!!
2,085 posts

QUOTE(cktwai @ Aug 28 2008, 01:40 PM)
what's your line of work or field of study?  years of experience? etc?

how you want people to assist you? haha
sorry, forgot to mention.. i'm a fresh grad in finance and marketing double major..

QUOTE(Annie @ Aug 28 2008, 02:38 PM)
i think the food court near my place wanna hire cleaner...
thats not funny.. if u dont want to help u could be discreet and stay quiet..

QUOTE(valjean @ Aug 28 2008, 02:43 PM)
haha...nice one.

Junz, there are plenty of site for you to search for jobs. have the initiative to get what you want.
i didn't mention about looking for a job doesn't mean i've not started to look for a job yet..
i'm just posting here to have another source of getting what i want..
louismhc
post Aug 28 2008, 08:26 PM

466 posts

For singapore HDB = High Dangerous Building biggrin.gif
bbmars
post Aug 28 2008, 10:32 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(Find The Way @ Aug 27 2008, 11:56 PM)
Is 13th month pay really a must in SG law? I thought it is optional although I heard most companies in SG practicing it. But then at least my company does not pay 13th month...  cry.gif
For PR and locals, yes, in fact, its compulsary. However, if you are on contract, I am not sure what is in the deal. So can't comment. Locals do get that 13 month at the end of the year or as some chinese companies practice, near CNY. However, some companies will try to be do something " bit of here and there" before giving you the full 13month. My friend's company, only gives 1/2 month at year end and 1/2 at CNY. But still pay 13 month. those on contract,I believe its really in your contract, so can't ask for more.

I work in Gov sector, although not consider civil servant, company tends to follow Gov direction. year end 13month is defaulted, then end March, depends on yourself, perofrmance bonus. Private sector I don't know as I had already left ~14 yrs since joining this current company. When I was out in industry, highest, was 2 months bonus, even during recession 13 month still apply.
ilikehandphones
post Aug 28 2008, 11:19 PM

378 posts

QUOTE(mrg220t @ Aug 28 2008, 07:18 PM)
I have a question for those that are familiar with Singapore immigration process.
I have been in Sg for about 2 months already looking for a job. On my renewal of my stamp, the immigration people stamped a 7 day stamp for me. Does this means that my time in Sg is now limited. What would happen if I were to go back to Msia for a few days and come back to Sg? Will I be barred from entering Sg?
i think u will be barred from entering sg....based on my experience....i encounter the same thing...just that mine is 14 days.....u will need to leave sg before the 7 days expire and come back 1 month later....there is a 3 months limit...the count continue each time u enter sg....the 3 months is accumulate when u reenter frequently over 3 months....so when u come back one month later...the count will be reset.
nicvoo
post Aug 28 2008, 11:28 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(JuNz-V @ Aug 28 2008, 07:25 PM)
sorry, forgot to mention.. i'm a fresh grad in finance and marketing double major..
i didn't mention about looking for a job doesn't mean i've not started to look for a job yet..
i dont think she was being funny u were the one who started it wifout tellin ppl wat kind of job u r looking for u jus ask ppl to post watever job is available. n that was a simple joke u cant even take it, how r u gonna survive?

anyway this thread is to share exp n life in sg not a job market for hunting jobs. u wan sauce the 1st page ts already pasted all the available sauces
JuNz-V
post Aug 28 2008, 11:34 PM

Talk to the Stars!!
2,085 posts

its not that i can't take jokes, but obviously she is being sarcastic..
can't she remind me in a proper way like how cktwai did? at least i find his more of a simple joke..
okay since this is not the main purpose of the thread, then i'll admit my wrong n pls forget the favor i've asked..

This post has been edited by JuNz-V: Aug 28 2008, 11:48 PM
myboo_1988
post Aug 29 2008, 12:13 AM

Love The Way U Lie
754 posts

QUOTE(JuNz-V @ Aug 28 2008, 11:34 PM)
its not that i can't take jokes, but obviously she is being sarcastic..
can't she remind me in a proper way like how cktwai did? at least i find his more of a simple joke..
okay since this is not the main purpose of the thread, then i'll admit my wrong n pls forget the favor i've asked..
you are right junzV i think u just want to look for job not looking for trouble...keep it work bro..i hope u will find one job suit u gan bah teh flex.gif
kumarr
post Aug 29 2008, 07:02 AM

Fast n Furious
707 posts

QUOTE(mrg220t @ Aug 28 2008, 07:18 PM)
For sure u'll be barred for a month entry as precaution frm ppl working illegally in sg. How u entering 2mths to sg looking for job til havent found one re u being very choosy??? shakehead.gif
Chrisky
post Aug 29 2008, 09:18 AM

Romanista
4,567 posts

2molo basketball session @ Tg Pagar, 8.30am, whoever interest can contact me. biggrin.gif
Annie
post Aug 29 2008, 11:28 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(JuNz-V @ Aug 28 2008, 07:25 PM)
1st => i dunno what's ur background.
2nd => the food court really hiring cleaner.
3rd => i thought your want to apply for cleaner position.
that's why i reply. sorry lo. I can't anticipate ur background ma. ok..now at least i know u got a degree.
it is easier to help you.
my company also have a long list of vacancy. i find it difficult to type everything post here. so, i just pick the cleaner position lo.
btw...dun look for trouble first before you entering a new environment. that is not the rite way

i think my company have some kind of quote centre exec, quoting customer prices and doing documentation. pls send me ur resume if you are interested. benefit not bad => stock + profit sharing + salary

This post has been edited by Annie: Aug 29 2008, 11:33 AM
Vv.SoViEt.vV
post Aug 29 2008, 11:34 AM

ToRMeNted-sOUL
1,359 posts

QUOTE(Annie @ Aug 29 2008, 11:28 AM)
1st => i dunno what's ur background.
2nd => the food court really hiring cleaner.
3rd => i thought your want to apply for cleaner position.
that's why i reply. sorry lo. I can't anticipate ur background ma. ok..now at least i know u got a degree.
it is easier to help you.
my company also have a long list of vacancy. i find it difficult to type everything post here. so, i just pick the cleaner position lo.
btw...dun look for trouble first before you entering a new environment. that is not the rite way

i think my company have some kind of quote centre exec, quoting customer prices and doing documentation. pls send me ur resume if you are interested. benefit not bad => stock + profit sharing + salary
what positions u have in sg?
Annie
post Aug 29 2008, 11:41 AM

234 posts

QUOTE(Vv.SoViEt.vV @ Aug 29 2008, 11:34 AM)
what positions u have in sg?
quote centre leader
quote centre exec
Supply Chain Executive
Senior Regional Pricing Manager
Facilities Operation Manager
Logistics Commodity Manager
IC design engineer

IC Design Engineer

Responsibilities:

* Participate in the design and development of digital logic blocks
* Design implementation responsibilities include digital circuit & logic design, behavioral and RTL coding, logic synthesis and optimization, design for test, timing analysis, place & route, timing closure, formal and physical verification.
* Developing simulation test benches and test cases for the verification of block level functionality and chip level integration.
* Development and test of functional simulation models
* Verification and characterization of devices in silicon.

Requirements:

* Bachelor/Masters Degree in Electronic Engineering with 1-2 years experience. Fresh graduates with outstanding academic performance will also be considered.
* A strong foundation in electronic circuit design and analysis
* Good analytical problem solving skills.
* Strong written and verbal communication skills
* Strong interpersonal skills and a team player

This post has been edited by Annie: Aug 29 2008, 11:44 AM
SUSXfX
post Aug 29 2008, 06:47 PM

57 posts

Annie, mind I ask you, are you a recruiter working in an employment agency in Singapore?
Uchiha Itachi
post Aug 29 2008, 09:09 PM

723 posts

The COMEX PC fair seems pretty... sucks.

I want to buy computer parts and assemble to a brand new PC, but the store there mostly are selling laptop, accessories, LCD, speaker and stuff. Very few stores are selling computer hardware, or do I missed them? unsure.gif

Singtel mobile broadband 50% promotion is still available, but Starhub mobile broadband promotion seems not available anymore... Can anyone confirm this?

BTW check out Samsung chicks... awesome drool.gif
shanelai
post Aug 29 2008, 11:00 PM

MAyd@y M@ydAy!
1,820 posts

QUOTE(Uchiha Itachi @ Aug 29 2008, 09:09 PM)

I want to buy computer parts and assemble to a brand new PC, but the store there mostly are selling laptop, accessories, LCD, speaker and stuff. Very few stores are selling computer hardware, or do I missed them?  unsure.gif

Singtel mobile broadband 50% promotion is still available, but Starhub mobile broadband promotion seems not available anymore... Can anyone confirm this?

BTW check out Samsung chicks... awesome  drool.gif
Bro, I plan to apply for broadband but im unsure which plan is currently the most valuable.. My requirement is pretty easy. 1 or 2mb with unlimited is sufficient and I plan to use it for 2 pc.. Any plan from Singtel or starhub or M1 is the most 'cun'???
BTW, What is the requirement to register the plan? Can i register it even if im not holding any EP yet bcoz my course of employment just start on 1st of Sept 2008 and i just arrived singapore. Cant live without internet... rclxub.gif

Added on August 29, 2008, 11:06 pm

I want to buy computer parts and assemble to a brand new PC, but the store there mostly are selling laptop, accessories, LCD, speaker and stuff. Very few stores are selling computer hardware, or do I missed them?  unsure.gif

Bro, I plan to apply for broadband but im unsure which plan is currently the most valuable.. My requirement is pretty easy. 1 or 2mb with unlimited is sufficient and I plan to use it for 2 pc.. Any plan from Singtel or starhub or M1 is the most 'cun'???

BTW, What is the requirement to register the plan? Can i register it even if im not holding any EP yet bcoz my course of employment just start on 1st of Sept 2008 and i just arrived singapore. Cant live without internet... rclxub.gif

And also 1 more thing, Can i move my package to other place if i register the fixed broadband bcoz i may move the house in December. Thank you notworthy.gif

Added on August 29, 2008, 11:06 pm

And also 1 more thing, Can i move my package to other place if i register the fixed broadband bcoz i may move the house in December. Thank you notworthy.gif

Added on August 29, 2008, 11:14 pmThere is some problems with my replied..

This post has been edited by shanelai: Aug 29 2008, 11:14 PM
Uchiha Itachi
post Aug 29 2008, 11:28 PM

723 posts

^ I planned to register Singtel mobile broadband 1MB, with 50% promotion its $11.21 per month, 12 month contract. I am looking for a similiar package from Starhub but it seems to me that its not available anymore...

Fixed broadband is not a problem even if you moving house I think... you only have to inform the internet service provider your new address. I am not sure though, you better ask their staff to confirm wink.gif
bbmars
post Aug 29 2008, 11:54 PM

545 posts

I think you go to the wrong place to hunt for these parts, better place to go Sim Lim. this show is bigger than last year by 10% and 1st day sales already up. I went there to buy printer ink which is cheaper than usual.

130 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0260sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:41 AM