Household [Home Appliances] Water Filter, for drinking water purpose

ozak
post Jul 20 2012, 08:53 AM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(craftsnknots @ Jul 13 2012, 11:51 PM)
Amway good but their salesman are lazy... Sothey lose out.. Love their uv but so expensive n salesman is inexperience. If it wasnt for the current renovation expenditure.......
Don't look for expensive thing when your budget is tight. Look for practical thing. Balance between price and quality. You can have it when everything done and settle with your new home.

ozak
post Jul 20 2012, 08:54 AM

17,013 posts

QUOTE(zheilwane @ Jul 19 2012, 03:06 PM)
Just learn something new today, wanna share it with u guys. THere are many stainless steel sand filters in the market, some cheap and some exp. Cheaper ones are using stainless steel tank imported from china. The seller will say it is 304 grade stainless steel but it could b some part of it is 304 or it is not really 304.

For perfect steel brand, here is how to differentiate CHina or Malaysia 1. As u can see, the China tank on the left has rusted
The problem is nobody know it will rust later. This take time. It look new and shinning when new.
craftsnknots
post Jul 20 2012, 10:03 AM

577 posts

You can check. The stainless steel 300 series..meaning those 3XX are non magnetic and the 4xx series are magnetic. The chromium in your stainless steel is the one that creates a protective layer that prevents rusting and corrosion, but chromium exhibits magnetic properties. Nickel is another compound that strengthens the chromium’s protective layers and is present in the 3xx series. Nickel is does not have any magnetic properties because nickel actually alters the physical structure and removes the magnetic qualities.

So if you get yourself a strong magnet and it is attracted to your filter housing that shows that it is either the housing is of stainless steel 4xx series or it is not pure stainless steel. I doubt it is the 4xx series. The 4xx series is of steel and chromium minus the nickel.

Strong magnetic qualities = high chromium low alloy

Added on July 20, 2012, 10:07 amForgot to say: stainless steel must be passivated otherwise it will corrode over time also..So maybe those housing were not passivated...mana tau..that's why its cheaper

This post has been edited by craftsnknots: Jul 20 2012, 10:07 AM
NightFelix
post Jul 20 2012, 02:59 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

Amway this month the water treatment system got free the Keruilai Evaporative Air Cooler worth rm599. I just bought one last week for my another house. biggrin.gif
stevie8
post Jul 21 2012, 12:54 AM

1,365 posts

QUOTE(zheilwane @ Jul 19 2012, 03:06 PM)
Just learn something new today, wanna share it with u guys. THere are many stainless steel sand filters in the market, some cheap and some exp. Cheaper ones are using stainless steel tank imported from china. The seller will say it is 304 grade stainless steel but it could b some part of it is 304 or it is not really 304.

For perfect steel brand, here is how to differentiate CHina or Malaysia 1. As u can see, the China tank on the left has rusted
Form your comments t is the (Malaysian) seller who said it was grade 304. I dont think the (Malaysian) buyers (consumers) spoke to the China seller, right? So who acutally cheated who? The (Malaysian) importer/seller/retailer, most likely that cheated the Malaysian consumers. As far as business is concerned you pay what you get. When you get greedy thinking that you pay less for more than you have already been cheated due to your greed not ignorant. A lot of ppl get conned when phone calls, email came said they won lottery or some huge money for them and they needed to pay for some processing fee or something, due to greed and stupidity of intelligent man/woman lawyers, doctors, teachers, profesionals, managers, well educated ppl, they pay and pay and pay until the conman get all thier money and nothing left to take from these greedy man and woman, only when the conman stoped contacting them only then they realised the real true world that they is no easy free money.

There are many difficult consumers thinking they are smart buying the cheapest and wanting the cheapest and at the end they got the cheapest and the cheap products. Good things dont come cheap, cheap things dont come good. Use your brain to think logically, you cannot be paying iron and get stainless steel! doh.gif It is as simple as that. The saying goes, too good to be true.
jack~daniel
post Jul 21 2012, 12:20 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Jul 19 2012, 06:06 PM)
Err... you copy paste from sales brochure ah?  tongue.gif
Is it NSF Certified??  hmm.gif
Over here, that is an important factor.  nod.gif

Added on July 19, 2012, 6:10 pm
Direct Marketing style. Persistance is the Key !  thumbup.gif
Tell him your time is expensive, offer to charge him (payment in advance) per minute.  tongue.gif
For this latest model im not sure, but the previous model, it was certified by NSF, almost same like espring, but the model was discontinued by philips, the price and maintenance much more cheaper than epsring,,,

http://www.philips.com.my/c/-/uv-class-a-i...p3892_01/prd/en
aliluya
post Jul 21 2012, 09:41 PM

181 posts

hi all, wondering having an offer of eSpring at rm 1800 is a good deal?

NightFelix
post Jul 22 2012, 09:12 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(aliluya @ Jul 21 2012, 09:41 PM)
hi all, wondering having an offer of eSpring at rm 1800 is a good deal?
are u sure is the real one? or fake one? of course rm1800 is a good deal.
aliluya
post Jul 22 2012, 10:59 PM

181 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Jul 22 2012, 09:12 PM)
are u sure is the real one? or fake one? of course rm1800 is a good deal.
Ok, thanks..i had bought it. By the way, for the water filter at outside, wat are the recommendation?
jack~daniel
post Jul 24 2012, 12:16 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(zheilwane @ Jul 13 2012, 10:00 PM)
It really take time and effort to study other brand water filters, lots of things to learn and i m still learning only. If you really want to convince that epsring is more worth buying than 3M, you will need to do more research and study, convince your customer with facts not price and persistent. It is amazing that there is lot to read about water filter, such as ozone, alkaline, UV light, hard water and etc, giving me headache trying to digest everything smile.gif

From what i know, 3M is using 1 micron and 0.5 micron carbon block while espring is using UV light and 1 micron carbon block. So, 3M is better in terms of filtration and removing contaminants with the 0.5 micron carbon block but espring is better in killing bacteria bcoz of the UV light. However, as our water contains chlorine which is used to kill bacteria, there wont b much bacteria left for the UV light to kill. Moreover, NSF has already certified that 3M is safe to direct drink (standard 42 & 53). I don think the extra RM 1k-2K for the UV light is worthy. Moreover, there is additional cost for replacing the UV light. With our current promotion (3M Indoor + Outdoor filter) is less than RM 2.1k whereby Espring (indoor filter) alone is more than that price.

After comparing 3M with a few common brands, i came up with a few conclusions but will only share the info here once i get some1 knowledgeable to confirm as i do not want to post wrong info here. However, you guys can PM me and we can share our thoughts.
espring using 0.2 micron...

This post has been edited by jack~daniel: Jul 24 2012, 12:18 PM
KIntos
post Jul 24 2012, 02:01 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(jack~daniel @ Jul 24 2012, 12:16 PM)
espring using 0.2 micron...
0.2 micron sure anot? you think diamond filter spec? amway only stated as small as 0.2 micron mean it's potential to filter as small as 0.2 micron.

well amway espring still the best, just the price tongue.gif

This post has been edited by KIntos: Jul 24 2012, 02:16 PM
jack~daniel
post Jul 24 2012, 02:17 PM

834 posts

QUOTE(KIntos @ Jul 24 2012, 02:01 PM)
0.2 micron sure anot? you think diamond filter spec? amway only stated as small as 0.2 micron mean it's potential to filter as small as 0.2 micron.
yes confirmed...
KIntos
post Jul 24 2012, 02:23 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(jack~daniel @ Jul 24 2012, 02:17 PM)
yes confirmed...
Particulate contaminants including asbestos, rust, sediment, dirt, and scale as small as 0.2 microns (1/300th diameter of a human hair).

ok lah. similar to HEPA spec already
NIckLJF
post Jul 24 2012, 03:27 PM

Lost Stars
923 posts

QUOTE(KIntos @ Jul 24 2012, 02:23 PM)
Particulate contaminants including asbestos, rust, sediment, dirt, and scale as small as 0.2 microns (1/300th diameter of a human hair).

ok lah. similar to HEPA spec already
Looking at the picture here: http://www.deltapure.net/product_images/up...size_chart5.gif

What a 0.2 micron can filter can also be filtered by a 0.5micron size, just saying. Both still belong in the micro-filtration category
KIntos
post Jul 24 2012, 03:48 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(NIckLJF @ Jul 24 2012, 03:27 PM)
Looking at the picture here: http://www.deltapure.net/product_images/up...size_chart5.gif

What a 0.2 micron can filter can also be filtered by a 0.5micron size, just saying. Both still belong in the micro-filtration category
some bacteria unable to be filtered by 0.5 micron thats why 3M only stated 99.5% while Espring 99.9%. look at the arrow of Bacteria which smallest up to 0.2 micron.
NIckLJF
post Jul 24 2012, 06:28 PM

Lost Stars
923 posts

Lol..0.4% difference... lets hope not too big a difference there.

Heard that all the manufacturers claim for bacteria reduction is based on selected bacteria only as the tests are not carried out for all bacteria. Anyone can verify?
KIntos
post Jul 24 2012, 07:16 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(NIckLJF @ Jul 24 2012, 06:28 PM)
Lol..0.4% difference... lets hope not too big a difference there.

Heard that all the manufacturers claim for bacteria reduction is based on selected bacteria only as the tests are not carried out for all bacteria. Anyone can verify?
Some bacteria is smaller than 0.5 micron 0.4% out of millions. its enough to make you weak if 0.4% bacteria is vulnerable specifically to your health.
NightFelix
post Jul 24 2012, 07:25 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(KIntos @ Jul 24 2012, 03:48 PM)
some bacteria unable to be filtered by 0.5 micron thats why 3M only stated 99.5% while Espring 99.9%. look at the arrow of Bacteria which smallest up to 0.2 micron.
The eSpring™ System uses a patented, multi-stage carbon block that:
- Reduces chlorine taste and odor
- Traps particulates to boost water clarity
- Effectively reduces over 140 possible health-effect contaminants

AMWAY’s patented carbon block filter:
- Traps particulates 300% smaller than the width of a human hair
- Treats up to 5,000 liters (1,320 gallons) of water in one year – enough for an average family of six
- Allows beneficial minerals like calcium, magnesium and tooth-decay-fighting fluoride to pass through the carbon block filter and remain in the water.

Source: http://www.amway.my/at-home/eSpring/technology/

Well, the 99.99% should be referring to the UV bulb in the eSpring.

This post has been edited by NightFelix: Jul 24 2012, 07:27 PM
weikee
post Jul 24 2012, 07:44 PM

12,019 posts

Amway is good, unfortunately too expensive for me during my Reno time. And 3m got promotion, is worth it.

Maybe few more years I will get it.
craftsnknots
post Jul 24 2012, 09:37 PM

577 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jul 20 2012, 09:53 AM)
Don't look for expensive thing when your budget is tight. Look for practical thing. Balance between price and quality. You can have it when everything done and settle with your new home.
Ozak, you are right. So I survey here survey there, check this that then cut this for that. Then certain thing buy mid range instead of high end. So I'm still waiting to see which air con n fridge is more value for money right now n if I can use 2.5 aircon piping for 2hp air con so that I can upgrade.

If i buy 3m do I need to modify anything if I wanna change to espring or equivalent? Piping, tap n such?

121 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0261sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:23 AM