Jun 26 2012, 11:11 AM
923 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: KL |
Not recommended to drink directly due to the chlorine content in our water. It is added into our water at treatment plants to kill microorganisms.
If you want to drink directly from tap, best is to install a filter with carbon to remove chlorine. Me myself is using a 3M water filter (AP-Easy Complete) at home for drinking and it is working very well. If you are used to drinking boiled water, it might take a few drinks before you get used to the idea of drinking from tap. |
Jul 5 2012, 12:48 PM
We are lucky than in Malaysia we have plenty of land and most people can afford to live in landed properties. For people like me who live in apartments, no way I can install backwash filters or the 'rocket' type of outdoor filter.
But with 3M outdoor filter, it solves the problem because it is compact enough to be mounted on walls and hassle free with no maintenance (washing, etc). Sometimes I wonder about the backwash filters, why so frequent need to backwash? First thought would be because the filter inside is not high performance and cant hold much dirt. Also, keep washing and flushing, it will reduce performance? Just imagine the clothes, u keep washing the fabric also gets thinner and lubang gets bigger...no? |
Jul 24 2012, 03:27 PM
QUOTE(KIntos @ Jul 24 2012, 02:23 PM) Particulate contaminants including asbestos, rust, sediment, dirt, and scale as small as 0.2 microns (1/300th diameter of a human hair). Looking at the picture here: http://www.deltapure.net/product_images/up...size_chart5.gifok lah. similar to HEPA spec already What a 0.2 micron can filter can also be filtered by a 0.5micron size, just saying. Both still belong in the micro-filtration category |
Jul 24 2012, 06:28 PM
Lol..0.4% difference... lets hope not too big a difference there.
Heard that all the manufacturers claim for bacteria reduction is based on selected bacteria only as the tests are not carried out for all bacteria. Anyone can verify? |
Jul 25 2012, 11:52 AM
I suppose we were not comparing apple to apple as Amway and 3M uses a different technology altogether and also belongs to a different price point.
Aug 13 2012, 09:08 AM
QUOTE(dreamadream @ Aug 9 2012, 12:07 PM) HI need advise for Bacfree water filter. What type of after sales service? Not sure about Bacfree..DIY change or need to contact their support staff every year for changing?Am considering bacfree (counter top) drinking water filter model BS-1 due to the affordable cost (RM895 incl installation) and cheaper maintenance (RM180 to change filter every year). But heard that their after sales service is not good, can anyone share their experience? Called their HQ and it seems that the person i spoke to really do not hv customer service at heart, the way she answered my questions also in a not so patient way. Wondering the service of their branches (if any) will be better. all advice are appreciated, many thanks! The 3M model which I am using AP Easy Complete is only RM880 with installation, and replacement is also RM180 yearly. But one of the reasons I took it is because I do not need to engage anyone for servicing after the first installation because of the DIY cartridge replacement. If you are looking for something below RM1k, take a look at the 3M model too. Many forumers here are still alive after long period of using the 3M filters haha. |
Sep 27 2012, 11:10 AM
Oct 1 2012, 08:30 AM
For the Elekn filters, what NSF standard is there? I tried looking at your website and searching at NSF website but cant seem to find any..mind to share?
Oct 31 2012, 04:41 PM
Wow Coway prices have certainly gone up..and also need to ask what does the maintenance include?
Have seen cases where user pays for the package only to be told at a later date (during servicing) that certain parts faulty/need replacement and not covered within the service agreement. (applicable for quite a number of brands in market). Now water filters also like telco..all must sign up for long plans . Imagine you drink for 3 months then don't like it... At least telco gives discount on the phones and plans lol |
Nov 16 2012, 10:25 AM
Plenty of so-called overseas brand are actually just locally made and assembled and they just slap on a sticker saying its made somewhere else (Korea, Europe, US, etc). When in truth, perhaps only 1% of the parts are imported.
Dec 7 2012, 01:30 PM
QUOTE(sigmatron @ Dec 7 2012, 01:03 PM) Rocket type filter are only good as sendiment filtration ie 10 micron . usually cannot do a good job if incoming water is filthy , once packed brown water go all the way through . So you really need the largest capacity type & thousand litre of backwash water I don't think hilly area or prestigious areas will help in anyway if the incoming water is dirty due to piping conditions. Added on December 7, 2012, 1:07 pmIf anyone is serious on clean water- move your residence to any Hilly area , or prestigeous areas like Putra Jaya , Shah Alam. Life is never fair . I have a Rm3400 medium size Bac free system -need 10mins back wash every 2 days-water bill went up by at least Rm20 in UEP Subang The water from our treatment plant meets WHO standards, issue is the old underground piping which is contaminating our water with dirt and rust, |
Dec 12 2012, 03:46 PM
QUOTE(NightFelix @ Dec 12 2012, 11:28 AM) well, when that time you bought the water filter, everyone from the house will be borrow from you, and then you can collect montly rental usage from them and start making money. Wow you seem knowledgeable and very active in this thread haha. Do you sell water filters? If you do, pls PM me as I am exploring for a water filter system for my parents home. Well, I think Philips might be facing difficulty of global production challenge, especially the UV light, its very high costing. Also, is not easy to have NSF/WQA Certified, the water purifier in order to sell in every countries have to re-verifiy from NSF/WQA every 5years. Wow, that was very cheap. So you only replacing it every year? Outdoor filter are recommended to install its because it can provide clean water for entire house using but not for drinking purpose. Like you taking shower, washing or cleaning etc. Now a days, having indoor (POU)point-of-use water purifier is a must for every housing, because it is for drinking or cooking purposes. Outdoor (POE)point-of-entry water filter is an optional choices but also recommended to install one if you need it/your places water are too dirty filled with dirt/sands. So, conclusion, if you budget are afford to, get both, else get indoor water purifier first. Boiling technology is not as efficiency. Currently very much inclined to continue using 3M unless a better brand comes along |
Dec 20 2012, 02:46 PM
Did a quick look at Aquasana. Rather ambiguous claims regarding the NSF certification. They submit for NSF is only up to 500 gallons but they claim they test to 1000 gallons, which means its only their own claim for the additional 500 gallons.
You could end up paying RM299 every 6 months because that's what stated in the NSF data. On another note, I notice that a lot of outdoor filter nowadays uses carbon to remove chlorine at POE. Wouldn't this do more harm than good because the water in the house (pipe,s tank, etc) wont have chlorine to inhibit bacteria growth? |
Dec 21 2012, 09:33 AM
QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Dec 20 2012, 04:39 PM) If worried about that then buy the filter from Singapore and replace your self. Take Aeroline go down and back from SG also RM180 already http://www.h2ofresh.com/filters.htm 1 set SGD 79.00 only Approx RM198.00 2 set SGD 150.00 only Approx RM376.00 based on your conservative calculation, still cheap compared to other NSF 53 cert filter. Coupled together with low initial cost, sure can consider. I am using 3M AP Easy Complete filter, only RM180 per replacement cartridge. Dont need travel far far lol. |
Dec 21 2012, 11:32 AM
QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Dec 21 2012, 11:13 AM) Virtually double the initial cost of Aquasana Sorry but I dont understand your point here....Need approx 5 years before cost equivalent to Aquasana, if follow aquasana recommendation of 1000 litre then 8 years. Plus no Singapore Holiday err I am start to sound like a salesman.... |
Mar 26 2013, 11:52 AM
QUOTE(NightFelix @ Mar 26 2013, 11:37 AM) Sand Filter When you use the 3M outdoor filter, you get much better performance and cleaner water compared to sand filters, which explains why the pricing is higher too. Additionally, I noticed that sand filters tend to have activated carbon now which will actually remove chlorine from your water. This means that potentially the water sitting in your pipes and water tank does not have chlorine to prevent bacteria growth and that might cause your water quality to be even worse off. - 5-10 microns - Heavy & big vessel but durable if the body vessel is using Fibre Reinforced Polymer - Backwash function makes it more low maintaining cost (but you still need to change the filter roughly around 5years time) - Filter media are from natural resources so is easily to be available all time 3M AP902 Not sand or membrane. Using non-woven pleated media. The size is very compact (smaller than membrane). Better filtration compared to sand but not as good as membrane. Could withstand upto 8 bar of pressure and would not significantly reduce your incoming water pressure. However, maintenance cost is more exp than sand but close to membrane. - Quote by zheilwane (one of the 3M seller forumer here) Hopes help you out. For membrane filters (hollow fibre), I have heard that the membrane breaks easily inside but we cant see it due it being fully concealed. That explains why the water flow seems to increase over the years of usage as more and more water are just passing through unfiltered due to the breakage of membrane. Just sharing information and I am not using any outdoor filter at the moment (apartment mah |
Mar 26 2013, 04:17 PM
Well if you look at it, if its RM700 per year that averages out to RM60 per month. Some other branded water filters, you have to pay more than RM60 per month just for indoor drinking water filter (and they tie you up to 3/5 years contract)
Boiling and drinking will not remove sediments and rust from water haha |
Jul 18 2013, 01:01 PM
QUOTE(sovietmah @ Jul 18 2013, 12:56 PM) try avoid too expensive outdoor filter, ppl can steal it. 3M indoor filters also can drink straight, meets the NSF standard based on what the claims are.the outdoor filter mainly is to filter make sure the water is not contaminated and not yellowish (Use for bath, washing machine etc) And you got to need a good water filter indoor for ur drinking just like espring, if you always cook ur water before drinking it then can consider 3M AP which is cheaper. Am using one myself,and yes, still alive and able to post in LYN |
Aug 19 2013, 09:31 AM
QUOTE(petlu28 @ Aug 18 2013, 09:35 PM) If not mistake AP902. I get the price from fair. Purchase indoor & outdoor RM2K++. May I know which model few hundred? what the price you get for indoor, outdoor & since when you get quotation? As far as I know, the 3M outdoor filter is priced at RM1099 but that's the normal price. Perhaps some dealers can offer you better price. I remember there is one forumer here who sells 3M, forum ID: Zheilwane I think. |
| Change to: | 0.6979sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:13 PM |