Household [Home Appliances] Water Filter, for drinking water purpose
Jul 5 2012, 06:14 PM
879 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
[quote=zheilwane,Jul 1 2012, 10:44 PM]
YOu are referring to indoor or outdoor? Added on July 1, 2012, 10:55 pm Hi! I looking for an outdoor unit. |
Jul 6 2012, 11:04 AM
651 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
am looking for an under sink filter, any suggestions? budget not big
Jul 6 2012, 11:14 AM
4,184 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Builders Hardware Enterprise 0362572412 |
YOu can go for 3M AP DWS1000 currently having promotion. However, if u wan a cheaper and better alternative get Aquaphor Crystal Eco with Aqualen and Silver to kill bacteria.
Here is the online catalog or drop by our showroom for latest promo and more info https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B4orAkJ_n8...pX2M/view?pli=1 This post has been edited by zheilwane: Jun 11 2015, 01:07 AM |
Jul 6 2012, 02:24 PM
217 posts Joined: Aug 2007 From: Melaka, Malaysia |
pm me also the price for 3m outdoor...ap 902..do they have dealer in melaka?
i staying in double-storey house...i am considering either jantzen or 3m or nesh outdoor....need to know the price of jantzen & 3m plus the filter price and change frequency. Would I be better off with a backwash system or 3M? |
Jul 7 2012, 12:38 AM
QUOTE(hammerjit @ Jul 6 2012, 02:24 PM) pm me also the price for 3m outdoor...ap 902..do they have dealer in melaka? We are only based in KL (Kepong). FOr more info, pls join us in facebooki staying in double-storey house...i am considering either jantzen or 3m or nesh outdoor....need to know the price of jantzen & 3m plus the filter price and change frequency. Would I be better off with a backwash system or 3M? http://www.facebook.com/builders.hardware?sk=info For those who are still not convinced how this small filter (3M - AP902)has a capacity of 100,000 gallons (378541 liters) just drop by my showroom, would b much ezier to explain and for u to understand about the product We are promotion for 3M (AP 902 + AP-DWS1000) and also special price if purchase FOTILE Set This post has been edited by zheilwane: Jul 7 2012, 12:53 AM |
Jul 7 2012, 09:35 AM
125 posts Joined: May 2009 From: LYN Sony Centre |
i am about to buy a NESH indoor and outdoor water system today.
but decided to give my last survey on the product and i read thru this whole thread. the conclusion i got is: NESH doesn't have certification by NFC - i checked thru nesh website and they claimed this : http://www.nesh.com.my/en/joomla-overview/...ed-by-nesh.html Does it mean they are NSF certified now? (i don't know nuts about NSF n such) - NESH claimed that they are WQA recognized, but i went to wqa.org to check and their product is not recognize... just they are a manufacturer in malaysia registered as member in WQA. http://www.wqa.org/sitelogic.cfm?varCenter...esttimeout=2500 Does this mean anything? * i've tested their product and i love it. * their product explanation sounds logical and convincing too. What's your thought guys? Thanks in advance for ur advises and responses. |
Jul 7 2012, 10:16 AM
17,018 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
QUOTE(aaronwee @ Jul 7 2012, 09:35 AM) i am about to buy a NESH indoor and outdoor water system today. If you consent about the NSF and WQA, than get others filter. There are still hundred of filter with have cert. but decided to give my last survey on the product and i read thru this whole thread. the conclusion i got is: NESH doesn't have certification by NFC - i checked thru nesh website and they claimed this : http://www.nesh.com.my/en/joomla-overview/...ed-by-nesh.html Does it mean they are NSF certified now? (i don't know nuts about NSF n such) - NESH claimed that they are WQA recognized, but i went to wqa.org to check and their product is not recognize... just they are a manufacturer in malaysia registered as member in WQA. http://www.wqa.org/sitelogic.cfm?varCenter...esttimeout=2500 Does this mean anything? * i've tested their product and i love it. * their product explanation sounds logical and convincing too. What's your thought guys? Thanks in advance for ur advises and responses. |
Jul 7 2012, 11:13 AM
QUOTE(ozak @ Jul 7 2012, 10:16 AM) If you consent about the NSF and WQA, than get others filter. There are still hundred of filter with have cert. my concern is are these certs really that important?comparing to the actual quality of product (water) VS with certs+paper but quality not as up to it! i am using Amway right now, but i don't like it... water got some sort of taste the after each change of filter... have to put the water running for 12 hours before the weird taste goes away. maintaining an Amway is expensive too, personally not worth my money spent. |
Jul 7 2012, 11:29 AM
QUOTE(aaronwee @ Jul 7 2012, 11:13 AM) my concern is are these certs really that important? Yes. Those cert are quality control. Ask yourself, what is the quality level you can accept. If that cert not important to you, than just get whatever filter you feel good about it. comparing to the actual quality of product (water) VS with certs+paper but quality not as up to it! i am using Amway right now, but i don't like it... water got some sort of taste the after each change of filter... have to put the water running for 12 hours before the weird taste goes away. maintaining an Amway is expensive too, personally not worth my money spent. There is no harm or will not harm you just to get the ordinary filter. The water is safe to drink after boil. The problem is, you will get cheat if the filter is expensive with normal filter. |
Jul 7 2012, 01:37 PM
12,019 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Buy what you comfortable with and in your budget range. You get 1001 comment and difference opinion. NSF is like car ncap, they test and give rating. People still buy difference rating car even is lower. Is just difference preference.
For me, will look for NSF |
Jul 7 2012, 03:04 PM
QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 7 2012, 01:37 PM) Buy what you comfortable with and in your budget range. You get 1001 comment and difference opinion. NSF is like car ncap, they test and give rating. People still buy difference rating car even is lower. Is just difference preference. good advise bro! thanks.For me, will look for NSF i think i will go for NESH after all... NSF or no NSF ... as long as i still can afford it and my wife likes it if all that i am paying for is the same with the cheaper ones... then i'll just treat it as paying for convenience as the outdoor unit is very convenient to wash + the penguin is convenient for washing vege (am using something like okamizu now to wash vege with O3 - very mafan) + washing hands (no need hand wash soup). |
Jul 7 2012, 03:31 PM
577 posts Joined: Feb 2012 |
Is it necessary to have an indoor filter if I already have an outdoor?
Jul 7 2012, 10:18 PM
WHen a product has NSF it doesnt mean it is GOOD. U must c which NSF standard that the product complies with. From the website that u give, it is stated that NESH complies with Standard 61 and 44.
NSF/ANSI Standard 44: Cation Exchange Water Softeners Overview: This standard covers residential cation exchange water softeners designed to reduce hardness from public or private water supplies. Additionally, this standard can verify the system's ability to reduce radium and barium http://www.nsf.org/business/drinking_water...t/standards.asp NSF/ANSI Standard 61 NSF/ANSI Standard 61, also adopted on October 7, 1988, covers indirect additives products and materials, including process media, protective materials, joining and sealing materials, pipes and related products, mechanical devices, and mechanical plumbing devices (including faucets). In essence, every material from the well or water intakes through to the faucet are covered. http://www.nsf.org/business/water_distribu...DistributionSys These two standards do not reflect how good the product is. 3M APDWS1000 on the other hand complies with standard 42 and 53 which verified that this filter could reduce specific aesthetic or non-health-related contaminants (chlorine, taste and odor, and particulates) and also filter contaminants which are bad for our health. Therefore, it is safe to direct drink it. http://www.nsf.org/business/drinking_water...t/standards.asp Read through NESH, the most interesting component is the Ozone filter which could be used as a sterilizer. Based on the spec and performance, it should b safe to direct drink it. Just wondering why they didnt meet standard 42 and 53 NSF is important. There are many filters in the market that claims that they could do this and that, it could b false claims and it might be true, we as consumer cant tell. However, if the product is certified by NSF then it must b true. Do google on Diamond water filter, what they claim they could do in the past were false claims but customers trusted them and paid huge amount of money believing that DIAMOND could produce healthier water. Added on July 7, 2012, 11:51 pmI did a google search on Cation Exchange and here is what i got Cation exchange: Cation exchange is a process similar to anion exchange, but the particles removed are positively charged (cations). Water softeners, which remove calcium, magnesium, and iron from water . . . . http://www.advancedwaterfilters.com/faq.php?q_id=10 In the nesh website, NESH Qoozo has Calcium Ionized Clay which adds calcium into water but their filter complies with NSF standard 44 that means calcium is being removed, contradicting the purpose of the calcium ionized clay... Another thing, Ozone is good at killing bacteria, virus and etc. It could also be used to purify food and sterilize kitchen ware but will it also destroy the good mineral like calsium, magnesium and etc in water? This i really cant find it online. Nd some sifu to share their views here This post has been edited by zheilwane: Jul 7 2012, 11:51 PM |
Jul 8 2012, 12:40 AM
great finding zheilwane ... u are awesome!
the qoozo has 3 buttons... one for drinking (alkaline), one for washing vege (O3), and another for washing meat (higher O3). when drinking water, there's no Ozone. it's just mineral water (alkalized by the 3rd tube). anyway bought it already... they will arrange to fix the outdoor and indoor unit within a week! Added on July 8, 2012, 12:55 am QUOTE(zheilwane @ Jul 7 2012, 10:18 PM) Cation exchange: Cation exchange is a process similar to anion exchange, but the particles removed are positively charged (cations). Water softeners, which remove calcium, magnesium, and iron from water . . . . http://www.advancedwaterfilters.com/faq.php?q_id=10 In the nesh website, NESH Qoozo has Calcium Ionized Clay which adds calcium into water but their filter complies with NSF standard 44 that means calcium is being removed, contradicting the purpose of the calcium ionized clay... I think this got to do with the sequence of filtration, the first tube and 2nd tube filters all the bad stuffs so the calcium from original water is being removed. The 3rd tube is the one that breaks the water molecule smaller and adds minerals (includes ionized calcium) into the end result of water. * there are 12 different filters all together in the 3 tubes ... that's what the sale person told me today. for different purposes... they just simplify it in 3 different tubes and not 12 different tubes. QUOTE(zheilwane @ Jul 7 2012, 10:18 PM) Another thing, Ozone is good at killing bacteria, virus and etc. It could also be used to purify food and sterilize kitchen ware but will it also destroy the good mineral like calsium, magnesium and etc in water? This i really cant find it online. Nd some sifu to share their views here Pressing on Drinking mode button doesn't produce O3 (Ozone) into the water... so mineral are preserved.The one feature i love about the penguin is it's very convenient to press the Ozone button (vege wash or meat wash) to switch the drinking water filter into a O3 washing/sterilizer equipment and best is it's in flowing water.... don't have to plug a host and pump the O3 into water to wash stuffs like Okamizu's. This post has been edited by aaronwee: Jul 8 2012, 12:55 AM |
Jul 8 2012, 01:23 AM
55 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
To each of their own. For example, usually medicine that are marketed in the market are approved by US FDA. However there are also tons of medicine is not being approved by the US authority. So does it mean it is doubtful for doctors or pharmacy to prescribe the product? The fact that is that to each of their own(doctors and pharmacy) do indeed prescribe of product that is not approved by US FDA. On the other hand, certain prescribers is very concern that when a product/medicine is not approved by the US authority. So the question over here is that really matters when a product/medicine is not being approved by US authority but is endorse by European health authority? So to me is pretty straight fwd, there is no right or wrong. Just a matter of preference and not forgetting my pocket affordability. Just my 5cents....
Jul 8 2012, 08:40 AM
Can anyone tell me what its this o3 things, from my study time I only know water is h2o. I don't recall Any o3 in water.
Jul 8 2012, 09:41 AM
aaronwee tq for ur explanation, the 3 buttons solved the mystery of calcium
o3 = 3 oxygen atoms. Used to kill germs and bacteria which is much better than chlorine. Cant really find much info on it, the disadvantages or any side effect to our health. I have customers who bought similar products say that after drinking, their parents have back pain. So, changing the water structure might b good but might not b suitable for everyone. |
Jul 8 2012, 10:58 AM
I like to read the so call 3 oxygen atoms. Maybe my physic and chemist I learn was wrong. So easy to get atom.
Jul 8 2012, 11:04 AM
QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 8 2012, 10:58 AM) I like to read the so call 3 oxygen atoms. Maybe my physic and chemist I learn was wrong. So easy to get atom. You outdated liau. Now people very genuine liau. Can alter the water atom to H2O3. I wonder the person can become alien after drink. This post has been edited by ozak: Jul 8 2012, 11:08 AM |
Jul 8 2012, 11:34 AM
577 posts Joined: Feb 2012 |
I work in with a plant-scale water system. We used to use the ion- exchange filtration system ie de-ionized water as explained by zheilwane. An ion-exchange system is always paired with a carbon filter; carbon filter although efficient in foreign contaminant filtration is a bug house which means it traps micro n micro breeds there. A microfilm is form n can be felt. Any filter when removed, the slimy feel that you get is a microbial film, which means there is a layer of micro contamination. Babies are sensirove to these n it causes skin irritation if the micro happens to be gram negative rod. A glass of water or any bottle water, when wash u feel the slimy feeling on the surface, thats a microbial growth, does not harm adults but those weak n young children n it is very bad for those with Lupus diseases.
Regardless of what filtration system it is always good to have the housing n filter clean. Backwash removes the contaminant but not the microbial. We are now using a RO purified water system n we generates 100tons of purified water each day. Zheilwane is right about the standard 44 n 61, it does not tell you about the quality of the product but merely the minimum compliance standard. Standard 44 n 61 is a general acceptable standard n all water filtration system must first meet that. When buying a filter look for the mwchanism n component, not just on maintenance n backwash.. What sort of filter is used at what ratio. Zheilwane, when i asked if there is anything else about 3m that i can read, these are the infomation that i was looking for |
| Change to: | 0.0348sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 03:26 PM |