133 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

AMD/ATi HD 4000 Series Discussion V3, Thread stays on V3 till October.Read 1st

zeustronic
post Jul 21 2008, 03:41 PM

Retire OC Into Audiophiles
2,605 posts

lol TS post fanspeed adjust guide at the 1st page, theres still ppl dono how adjust the fan speed.
iostream
post Jul 21 2008, 03:45 PM

286 posts

QUOTE(zeustronic @ Jul 21 2008, 03:41 PM)
lol TS post fanspeed adjust guide at the 1st page, theres still ppl dono how adjust the fan speed.
It's because ppl like to watch (read) the finale of a series (the last post), before the first episode (the first post). doh.gif

This post has been edited by iostream: Jul 21 2008, 03:46 PM
wen9x88
post Jul 21 2008, 04:03 PM

2,933 posts

the fan speed solved....the fan quite noisy.
and the problem is others setting,do i need to change to set it ?
3D setting?LogMeIn Mirror Driver?Anti aliasing?
and others....
zeustronic
post Jul 21 2008, 04:06 PM

Retire OC Into Audiophiles
2,605 posts

QUOTE(wen9x88 @ Jul 21 2008, 05:03 PM)
the fan speed solved....the fan quite noisy.
and the problem is others setting,do i need to change to set it ?
3D setting?LogMeIn Mirror Driver?Anti aliasing?
and others....
Best to left at balance mode & u do those setting in game.
Dickong
post Jul 21 2008, 04:35 PM

1,689 posts

Hi, my HD4870 idle at 80-81c and full load at 87-88c it seem very hot , moreover i did put a 12cm fan blowing in front and a blower sucking out air n still got that high temp. Any ideal to let the temp go lower.

owikh84
post Jul 21 2008, 04:47 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Jul 21 2008, 04:35 PM)
Hi, my HD4870 idle at 80-81c and full load at 87-88c it seem very hot , moreover i did put a 12cm fan blowing in front and a blower sucking out air n still got that high temp. Any ideal to let the temp go lower.
It is normal for the stock fan speed. I assumed that u didn't change to fan speed setting as per the 1st post.
U may set it to 50% & trust me u'll gonna see the difference in temp dropping from 80C to 55-60C on idle.
wen9x88
post Jul 21 2008, 05:08 PM

2,933 posts

but 50% fan speed so noisy.
i prefer 40% fan speed and the temp ok.

HL Milk
post Jul 21 2008, 05:16 PM

348 posts

The noise acceptance and temperature level depends on the user preference. Just pick the the balance level that you like. nod.gif

When are those non-reference 4800 card will reach Malaysia? drool.gif
casperito
post Jul 21 2008, 06:10 PM

662 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 21 2008, 02:58 PM)
Think i'll try tonight. The Sapphire card really cheapskate one, manual pun tadak.(that piece of card inside the box is not very useful)..i guess that's the price you pay for a top brand like Gigabyte and an economical one like  Sapphire.

I've downloaded the manual from Gigabyte's website for their 4850 card. Looks like there's a 'ATI Realtek audio' which can be selected from the control panel. Must give it a go tonite.

Cheers.
hahaha.... all the brand that onli produce ATi card dun have manual.. Sapphire, HIS, Gecube.. all like that... unless u buy brand such as Gigabyte, Asus.. these comes with manual... that y the price are quite different...

Added on July 21, 2008, 6:11 pm
QUOTE(HL Milk @ Jul 21 2008, 05:16 PM)
The noise acceptance and temperature level depends on the user preference. Just pick the the balance level that you like. nod.gif

When are those non-reference 4800 card will reach Malaysia? drool.gif
the non reference one surely will be the Oced ones with 3rd party coolers like the Power Color PSC edition...

This post has been edited by casperito: Jul 21 2008, 06:11 PM
kaiser_falco
post Jul 21 2008, 06:44 PM

the world wanderer
1,167 posts

QUOTE(casperito @ Jul 21 2008, 06:10 PM)
hahaha.... all the brand that onli produce ATi card dun have manual.. Sapphire, HIS, Gecube.. all like that... unless u buy brand such as Gigabyte, Asus.. these comes with manual... that y the price are quite different...

Added on July 21, 2008, 6:11 pm

the non reference one surely will be the Oced ones with 3rd party coolers like the Power Color PSC edition...
nowdays manual is online ler..try pop up the cd n see..hmm lol i also havent check it yet...
juine
post Jul 21 2008, 07:00 PM

618 posts

was planning to buy Samsung F1 1TB but I ended with Gainward 4870 hehe.. will get the hdd next mth along with a new psu.

user posted image user posted image

the finish product : D

idle temp is 56' - 58'

downloading 3dmark06 to do a benchmark, will post later. I will just do one bench.. coz I buy this for gaming purpose.

This post has been edited by juine: Jul 21 2008, 07:02 PM
Dickong
post Jul 21 2008, 07:19 PM

1,689 posts

Hi, just as instructed by our forunner to increase the fan speed from original 27% to 40%, the result is really significant from idel 80-81 down to 55-56c n full load 87-88c down to 74-75c only but noise is still ok not loud but some air blowing noise. thanks guys.In fact better temp than my previous 8800GT when full load around 80-82c fan speed around 55%

This post has been edited by Dickong: Jul 21 2008, 07:21 PM
ben3003
post Jul 21 2008, 07:21 PM

10,859 posts

oh wait, u need some ram sink on the vrm. I think the long ic is VRM rite? If not ur card is going to die.
mdzaboy
post Jul 21 2008, 07:23 PM

CuChee MunK KuK
2,061 posts

does anyone know how the length size of the 4850/4870 compares to Geforce GTS 320/640?
SUSMatrix
post Jul 21 2008, 07:35 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

About the HDMI sound on the 4850 card, here's the screen shot:

Looks like it's already detected the sound output via HDMI and you can even enable DD51/DTS passthrough to the receiver.

But all i want is the sound to come out on the LCD TV via the stereo channel.....must try later...maybe on weekend...too lazy to drag my PC over to the TV now....smile.gif

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jul 21 2008, 07:39 PM

juine
post Jul 21 2008, 07:35 PM

618 posts

QUOTE(mdzaboy @ Jul 21 2008, 07:23 PM)
does anyone know how the length size of the 4850/4870 compares to Geforce GTS 320/640?

Source: http://www.hardware-aktuell.com/viewnews.php?article=816

ATI 4850 and 4870 is 23cm long.

GTX 260 and 280 is 27cm long.

ATI X1900XT n Nvidia 9600GT is around 20cm long

This post has been edited by juine: Jul 21 2008, 07:40 PM
kaiser_falco
post Jul 21 2008, 07:40 PM

the world wanderer
1,167 posts

hehehe here is my benchmark with vantage:

Kaiser RiG

Proc : Q9450 @3.2Ghz 400x8
Mobo : Asus Rampage Formula
Ram : G SkilL ddr 1000Mhz 2x2Gb @ 1066Mhz
GPU : Sapphire HD4870 Crossfire 790/1100
Driver : Ati Catalyst 8.6 hotfixes

scores:

EnTry: 26517
Performance: 13854

HigH: 10221
XtReeM:

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

This post has been edited by kaiser_falco: Jul 21 2008, 07:46 PM
owikh84
post Jul 21 2008, 07:49 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

Nice score, kaiser_falco. Comparable to ur great rig.
casperito
post Jul 21 2008, 07:53 PM

662 posts

QUOTE(juine @ Jul 21 2008, 07:00 PM)
was planning to buy Samsung F1 1TB but I ended with Gainward 4870 hehe.. will get the hdd next mth along with a new psu.

the finish product : D

woot.. nice card there... thinking of getting one myself...
pikacu
post Jul 21 2008, 08:52 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 21 2008, 07:35 PM)
About the HDMI sound on the 4850 card, here's the screen shot:

Looks like it's already detected the sound output via HDMI and you can even enable DD51/DTS passthrough to the receiver.

But all i want is the sound to come out on the LCD TV via the stereo channel.....must try later...maybe on weekend...too lazy to drag my PC over to the TV now....smile.gif
This could clear up some confusion for ATI HDMI user thumbup.gif

hope can be put at first post tongue.gif

133 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0182sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:42 AM