AMD/ATi HD 4000 Series Discussion V3, Thread stays on V3 till October.Read 1st
casperito
Jul 20 2008, 02:36 PM
QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Jul 20 2008, 02:18 PM) 4850X2 already pawn GTX 280 right? Price expected $ 450 and September is schedule to release.. well the price difference between 4850x2 and 4870x2 will be around $100... still the 4850x2 will cost quite a bomb when it gets in the local market... but theres another rumor saying it will onli cost $399... summore it comes with GDDR3 not GDDR5...
casperito
Jul 20 2008, 02:45 PM
QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Jul 20 2008, 02:39 PM) 4850X2 difference with 4870 X2 is $50 and $100 Becos AMD release 1GB and 2GB versiom 2GB = $ 549 1GB = $ 499 I guess 4850 X2 should be $400~450 then.. juz brace ourself when the turns to RM... both shud be around RM1k++... at least its much cheaper that the GTX series.. but still...  sticking with my X300SE... This post has been edited by casperito: Jul 20 2008, 02:47 PM
casperito
Jul 20 2008, 03:06 PM
QUOTE(Archaven @ Jul 20 2008, 03:03 PM) Emm.. not to be confused but i understand that 4850x2 and 4850X2 CF is both different right? Whereby 4850x2 is a single card actually CFed without requiring a mobo with CF functionality? I hope we can expect to see 4850x2 to be around RM800+. Ah but i don't think that's possible. a single 4850X2 means 2 chips on 1 PCB... hence its a single card CF... 4850X2 CF means 2 card, 2 PCB, 4 chips and connected with CF connector...
casperito
Jul 20 2008, 03:31 PM
QUOTE(X.E.D @ Jul 20 2008, 03:26 PM) Archaven, the 4850X2 would be much better as the 965 doesn't have enough PCIe lanes to get nice performance from CF. Oh, and BN (Barisan Nvidia) vs PKR (Pakatan Radeon)!  hahahaha.. never thought of that.. the BN and the PKR thingy... ekekeke... for better performance, get urself a PCIe 2.0 mobo... will unleashed the 4850 full performance... ekekeke...
casperito
Jul 20 2008, 03:39 PM
QUOTE(Archaven @ Jul 20 2008, 03:34 PM) If not mistaken my mobo should be PCIe 2.0 just no CF or SLI functionality. Damn if need to change mobo again I'm currently using PSU Enermax FMA-II 460W 32A dual 12v rails. Was wondering if it's enough for HD4850 or HD4850X2? Hopefully i don't have to change PSU soon  if u dun change also can... juz a suggestion... but for the PSU... i think that one need a change...
casperito
Jul 20 2008, 05:59 PM
QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Jul 20 2008, 05:42 PM) haha HD 4850 X2 $ 450 = RM 1.4k  HD 4870 X2 $ 500 = RM 1.6k  HD 4870 X2(2GB) $ 550 = RM 1.8k Lolz sia.Each has RM 200 different.So pick ur self  this is just a raw estimation since its onli a rumored prices... surely the price might differ a bit... but heck.. the estimated price alreadi  but hope that the price is as good as the performance...
casperito
Jul 21 2008, 02:03 AM
QUOTE(Archaven @ Jul 21 2008, 01:49 AM) How can i know or how do i check whether my mobo or my cpu is bottlenecking or limiting the GPU performance? Any software to check that? hahaa... for example la... u r using AMD and another person is using intel... in my last case... my X2 5200 @ 3.1ghz against E6550 @ 3.6ghz both are doing 3870 crossfire @ stock... my score on 3D Mark 06 is 12K.. and the other person score is 15K... from this u can guess that ur proc is bottlenecking the GC... i've ask all the pros in benching.. all of them tell me that my proc is bottlenecking the card...  i even tried Ocing the card, the score won't budge.. still @ 12K... This post has been edited by casperito: Jul 21 2008, 02:05 AM
casperito
Jul 21 2008, 02:16 PM
QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 21 2008, 12:20 PM) Wanna ask. Anybody has use the HDMI output of the 4850/4870? I understand it has built in sound...something like Realtek codec built in? How setup this? There seems very little info on this. I'm thinking of connecting my PC to LCD TV and play some games with it. btw, there is no official drivers for 4000 series yet...even at AMD website. Sapphire also don't have.... http://www.sapphiretech.com/us/support/drivers.phpReal joke lar....  the driver cds that comes with the card has the HD audio driver... i think that shudn't be a problem...
casperito
Jul 21 2008, 06:10 PM
QUOTE(Matrix @ Jul 21 2008, 02:58 PM) Think i'll try tonight. The Sapphire card really cheapskate one, manual pun tadak.(that piece of card inside the box is not very useful)..i guess that's the price you pay for a top brand like Gigabyte and an economical one like Sapphire. I've downloaded the manual from Gigabyte's website for their 4850 card. Looks like there's a 'ATI Realtek audio' which can be selected from the control panel. Must give it a go tonite. Cheers. hahaha.... all the brand that onli produce ATi card dun have manual.. Sapphire, HIS, Gecube.. all like that... unless u buy brand such as Gigabyte, Asus.. these comes with manual... that y the price are quite different... Added on July 21, 2008, 6:11 pmQUOTE(HL Milk @ Jul 21 2008, 05:16 PM) The noise acceptance and temperature level depends on the user preference. Just pick the the balance level that you like. When are those non-reference 4800 card will reach Malaysia?  the non reference one surely will be the Oced ones with 3rd party coolers like the Power Color PSC edition... This post has been edited by casperito: Jul 21 2008, 06:11 PM
casperito
Jul 21 2008, 07:53 PM
QUOTE(juine @ Jul 21 2008, 07:00 PM) was planning to buy Samsung F1 1TB but I ended with Gainward 4870 hehe.. will get the hdd next mth along with a new psu.   the finish product : D  » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « idle temp is 56' - 58' downloading 3dmark06 to do a benchmark, will post later. I will just do one bench.. coz I buy this for gaming purpose. woot.. nice card there... thinking of getting one myself...
casperito
Jul 22 2008, 12:12 AM
QUOTE(Archaven @ Jul 21 2008, 10:01 PM) I thought for ATi cards Sapphire/HIS/Powercolor are one of those of better quality? I saw on some seller thread mentioning that's why the price are more expansive  actually yes.. they onli produce ATI cards.. unlike other brands...
casperito
Jul 22 2008, 12:32 AM
QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Jul 22 2008, 12:14 AM) Do you guys know that we can stress the GC for few seconds by using CCC? The Test Custom Clocks button on Overdrive.It forces the GPU activity > 100% But last 5 seconds only.Or i am late?  rather stressing using that, better for u to use ATi Tools to stress...
casperito
Jul 22 2008, 01:21 AM
QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Jul 22 2008, 12:34 AM) Yeah i use ATi Tools to stress.But this is for those to check the Load temp for the GC. if u notice la.. using the CCC won't fully show the load temps... it onli show load temps for a few seconds run onli... ATi Tools u can run it for hours and it will show u the true Load temp of the card...
casperito
Jul 22 2008, 10:53 PM
QUOTE(juine @ Jul 22 2008, 10:35 PM) If you guys having problem with the heat, I really suggest you get Thermaltake HR03-GT as what I can recommend coz personally I used it and I think it is good for the 4870. I'm getting like 57-59 idle. I use artic silver 5 on it. A Zalman fan on top of the cooler. Non air-con room. I tried to run the stock cooler for the first time to check whether it can start.. wow.. I'm shock by the noise it make. I still haven't do the profile thing you people mention. Even the sales guy and a fren also said alot people are changing to stock cooler as it is very hot. Most people are buying Thermaltake Duo Orb for it. errr... do u mean by Thermalright??