Credit Card Thread V4, Plastic Money @ World Access

Reventon
post Sep 4 2008, 11:04 PM

2,921 posts

Norns,
credit card security is like a pc connected to internet. No 100% guaranteed safe even you have the best antivirus. Monitor your transaction and statement closely and report immediately once you found some unknown transaction. There's risk when you expose your card detail to 3rd party like cc agent or anyone else, just try your best to keep your cc detail safe, heard some of the stories about the cc fraud that cashier took picture of cc using their phone when customer make payment. Quite scary.

Nowadays many cc terminal will automatically do EPP instalment without the need to fill in the form but some of the merchant still have this procedure. Check with the merchant about this.

tinkerbel
post Sep 4 2008, 11:17 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@tishaban,
You can onli split it across cards if U have sufficient CL (combined) for the total transaction. Some forumers did mention a CL of RM4k on their Gold Cards; and I made a big fuss when Citibank gave me RM8k on my supposedly upgraded Gold card!
happyman102
post Sep 5 2008, 12:16 AM

93 posts

Pls stop using Credit card, pls don't use credit card bcos want to collect more point, the more point you have, the more you will suffer during end of the month!!! cry.gif
TSvin_ann
post Sep 5 2008, 12:19 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(happyman102 @ Sep 5 2008, 12:16 AM)
Pls stop using Credit card, pls don't use credit card bcos want to collect more point, the more point you have, the more you will suffer during end of the month!!!  cry.gif
Credit card = fire.

Fire helps us to cook and fire can burn people.

pls understand this theory b4 u comment. thanks.
Fluxs
post Sep 5 2008, 12:31 AM

264 posts

which bank credit card now offer the best balance transfer interest?
any suggestion?
ronnie
post Sep 5 2008, 08:22 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

Pls stop using Credit card, pls don't use credit card bcos want to collect more point, the more point you have, the more you will suffer during end of the month!!!  cry.gif
Your comment is only for those who don't understand the correct use of Credit Card.
Credit Card is a double-edged sword... It can cut both ways: Good way and Bad way
TeraPox
post Sep 5 2008, 04:45 PM

961 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Sep 5 2008, 08:22 AM)
Your comment is only for those who don't understand the correct use of Credit Card.
Credit Card is a double-edged sword... It can cut both ways: Good way and Bad way
i think he had some bad experience with cc b4....
tachlio
post Sep 5 2008, 05:03 PM

de~sign "ing"
3,102 posts

8. International Transactions
Mastercard and Visa charges a surcharge on top of the exchange rate. The banks also choose to charge an additional administration charge on top of that

Maybank: 0.5% -->verified by Hye

CIMB/DA: None

Hong Leong: 1%

PBB: No Info

Citibank: 1% --> verified by tinkerbel

HSBC: 1% --> HSBC will also charge a Misc fee; bank isn't able to provide details on what that is but according to CS whom I spoke with, there's a small misc fee. (contribution by Tinkerbel)

EON: 2%

UOB: NIL

Standard Chartered: 1%

AMEX card: 1.5% charge + 0.5% (provided by Hye)
: an additional 2.5% (provided by tinkerbel)

Does this mean, when we shopping in other country, Master/Visa sure will charges a surcharge on top of the exchange rate.

And the bank in depend on what card we holding?? like DA only had Master surcharge but without bank charge.

If ya, how much does Visa/Master charge? flex.gif
andrekua
post Sep 5 2008, 06:41 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(tachlio @ Sep 5 2008, 05:03 PM)
Does this mean, when we shopping in other country, Master/Visa sure will charges a surcharge on top of the exchange rate.

And the bank in depend on what card we holding?? like DA only had Master surcharge but without bank charge.

If ya, how much does Visa/Master charge? flex.gif
Lastime when I went to China, I was using my card to buy a jacket. During that time, I calculate the money I exchange with money changer and then when I received my bills, it was cheaper than what I had calculated in the first place. So I came to my own conclusion that VISA/MASTERCARD had access to better exchange rate than we did as their transaction was enormous.

Added on September 5, 2008, 6:45 pm
QUOTE(vin_ann @ Sep 5 2008, 12:19 AM)
Credit card = fire.

Fire helps us to cook and fire can burn people.

pls understand this theory b4 u comment. thanks.
Bad example.

Credit card is a tool. It wont burn you, nor it will destroy you.
Your life is determine by your action. Dont blame the credit card if you are in debts.
BLAME YOURSELF!!! instead of claiming other people trying to destroy your life with a stupid card.

This post has been edited by andrekua: Sep 5 2008, 06:45 PM
aeronlim
post Sep 5 2008, 10:18 PM

370 posts

Want to ask currently Citibank card holder some thingy....

Wanna ask some question here, how do Citibank call you when your card is being process?
Call to home tel? Office tel? or Handphone for verification?

According my boss is said that they call to home, but not that believe, so i want to make sure. I want to apply for one but i don't have home tel.... sad.gif
tinkerbel
post Sep 5 2008, 11:05 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@aeronlim,
In ur application, U will be asked to list down ur preferred contact method. I suppose if they can't get U on ur mobile, they'll try ur house or ur office or whatever number U put in the application.

@tachlio,
Visa & MasterCard's additional charges aren't borne by U - U just pay whatever U've used using International conversion rates. It is our local banks who will charge the additional X% [their excuse is that they're being charged by Visa/MasterCard]
cHipoLatas
post Sep 6 2008, 10:10 AM

42 posts

I wanna sign up for credit card.

Just wondering... rolleyes.gif which bank got better offer in term of FREE GIFT?

Hope can gift me some suggestion.. smile.gif
hye
post Sep 6 2008, 11:07 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(cHipoLatas @ Sep 6 2008, 10:10 AM)
I wanna sign up for credit card.

Just wondering... rolleyes.gif which bank got better offer in term of FREE GIFT?

Hope can gift me some suggestion.. smile.gif
It is "give" you some suggestion and not "gift". You should apply a credit card based on the best product to suit your needs not based on the best gift. *shruggs* shocking.gif (Please .... in case anyone ever ask this question again)

In case anyone have this thought, why don't you drop down to MATTA fair and I'm sure there's plenty of cc offers.
TeraPox
post Sep 6 2008, 01:49 PM

961 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Sep 6 2008, 11:07 AM)
It is "give" you some suggestion and not "gift". You should apply a credit card based on the best product to suit your needs not based on the best gift. *shruggs*  shocking.gif (Please .... in case anyone ever ask this question again)

In case anyone have this thought, why don't you drop down to MATTA fair and I'm sure there's plenty of cc offers.
totally agree!!!! rclxms.gif

unlike Hk and SG... malaysia SUX! and the bank in this country SUX as well.
I remember last time i went to SG, their Citibank Gold Card comes with a Mont Blanc ball pen!

and some HK cc issuer gave away ipods , dvd players as welcome gifts for new CC holders...

so, in malaysia dun expect good gift. if u r lucky,the best u can get is some cheapo Made in China Chess Set. doh.gif
tr|n|ty
post Sep 6 2008, 04:26 PM

kuukuukuu
787 posts

blink.gif ppl use CC as a convenient way to make payment. collecting points is only a small appreciation from the bank for using their service.
Animeinter
post Sep 6 2008, 04:38 PM

A supplementary can have different statements but it cannot be a standalone card. Meaning, you cannot have an unrelated card.

If he uses your card to lend money, he will still have to pay for it. The bank will not charge you but your brother. All responsibilities of supplementary cards will be under the main card.
b00n
post Sep 6 2008, 04:38 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(OcHaa @ Sep 6 2008, 04:28 PM)
i would like to ask ..

my bro who is having a hong leong credit card now
he claims he can supp to me a card ..
however the card wil be totally unrelated to his card such as diff acc, diff statement.

my bro has a bad habit of borrowing money from bank and im worried if he's up to something ..
maybe by supplying me another card, he can use my card to borrow more money ? esp if he can borrow money under my supplementary card and i need to pay ?

sum1 pls help advice

No....the supp card would always link back to the basic card.
So your brother is not correct in his facts.

The concern should be his as you as a supp card can spend on the limit imposed yet he have to pay for it.

This post has been edited by b00n: Sep 6 2008, 04:39 PM
hye
post Sep 6 2008, 04:40 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(OcHaa @ Sep 6 2008, 04:19 PM)
my bro who is having a hong leong credit card now
he claims he can supp to me a card ..
however the card wil be totally unrelated to his card such as diff acc, diff statement.

my bro has a bad habit of borrowing money from bank and im worried if he's up to something ..
maybe by supplying me another card, he can use my card to borrow more money ?
Well, some credit cards allow the principle holder to assign a seperate limit to the supplementary. This means that the supplementary would have a scenario like what you describe above. Anyway, any supplementary card holder will be provided a seperate account but not necessarily different statement.

Unless you are the principle card holder (which carries all the risk), you should not worry about this setup.

Added on September 6, 2008, 4:41 pm
QUOTE(tr|n|ty @ Sep 6 2008, 04:26 PM)
blink.gif  ppl use CC as a convenient way to make payment. collecting points is only a small appreciation from the bank for using their service.
Fully agree on this one. I don't want to carry like RM20k in cash just to pay my hotel bills should I travel to Europe. (Not to mention carrying cash this much is totally unwise even in Malaysia)

This post has been edited by hye: Sep 6 2008, 04:42 PM
Norns
post Sep 6 2008, 04:47 PM

211 posts

I heard people prefer to pay thing by cc due to benefit of point accumulated.

is it different from each bank ?

I never realise of it ..

so far i using cimb mastercard paypas .. not sure got what point and etc ..
I will pay by cc depend on mood lolz
hye
post Sep 6 2008, 05:15 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Norns @ Sep 6 2008, 04:47 PM)
I heard people prefer to pay thing by cc due to benefit of point accumulated.

is it different from each bank ?

so far i using cimb mastercard paypas .. not sure got what point and etc ..
It is generally the same across all banks except if they banks have promotions for a specific product. For example : MBB Petronas 5x TPs or maybe UOB 2x UniRinggit Points when you use it overseas. It is also great for online purchases and they provide you with fraud protection in case you are cheated. (Speaking from personal experience)

And yes ... CIMB Mastercard does have points. Check your credit card statement and you'll see it at the bottom right of the first page of your cc statement.

Well, if you are paying for the item and so happens they accept credit card - why don't you get yourself rewarded with some points? Like everyone says here ... credit card works both ways - it can either provide you with a wealth of conveniences and benefits or misery depending on how does the card owner uses and pays for it.

This post has been edited by hye: Sep 6 2008, 05:18 PM

125 Pages « < 61 62 63 64 65 > » Top

0.0331sec    0.18    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:25 AM