Credit Card Thread V4, Plastic Money @ World Access

andrekua
post Aug 6 2008, 04:42 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Aug 6 2008, 02:47 PM)
What different between charge n credit card? Amex is all charge card is it?

I'm interest in Amex because it offer more privileges in dining. But I dont have so much info about this card. Why people seldom use it?
I think the other day when I was checking AMEX, one year fee for classic card is RM138. I rather use free card as Im using it for convinient and not to borrow money.

Added on August 6, 2008, 4:44 pm
QUOTE(muscaa @ Aug 6 2008, 04:34 PM)
yeah nowaday gold card is very useless
yameh?
If you use Citibank Shell goldcard, it still gives you 2.5% on petrol and 1.5% on purchase even when you dont carry forward balance.
Not bad lar... quite useful cos when purchase air ticket for boss or buy office stuff, I swipe and I save but claim full. Hahaha...

This post has been edited by andrekua: Aug 6 2008, 04:44 PM
andrekua
post Aug 6 2008, 05:04 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Who cares... my boss dun care much lar...
In fact his CC (AMEX, CIMB, PBB all Platinum) are so troublesome when buying AirAsia tickets. AMEX is the worst as not even supported. Other requires verification like mother maiden name which make him mad. I just took my Citibank, type in the numbers and straight through. Doesnt even need verification but I do feel a bit unsecure.
andrekua
post Aug 7 2008, 12:16 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Aug 6 2008, 11:33 PM)
Citibank Shell is 2.5% petrol and 0.75% retail w/o carry forward balance.  This is to fight against CIMB Petronas (and DA). What they don't tell you is your rebate is only credited if above RM20 (from some of the threads) and there is annual fee.. So how much do you pump to start making a gain??

Oh yah alot of Citibank offers are point based so Shell Citibank does not qualify.
Yeah, make a mistake on the retail purchase rebate.
Lets make simple calculation.
I spent around RM500 on petrol and RM500-1000 on other stuffs each month. Lets put it at RM500 and RM750, which adds up to RM1250 each month.

RM500 x 2.5% = RM12.50
RM750 x 0.75% = RM5.625

Take RM17 per month and over one year, around RM204.
Thats more than enough to cover for the annual fee + the RM2 each month for transferring from M2U.
Besides I always help my boss and company buy stuffs which helps me reach the average RM750 on others stuffs each month.
Maybe I should start paying bill online I think. I help my boss pay his bills one and always average RM700 per month or more if got quit rent.
So its kinda worth it if you calculate.
andrekua
post Aug 7 2008, 12:23 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(muscaa @ Aug 7 2008, 12:02 AM)
Should be very safe, even though there is a lot of hackers shakehead.gif
Not safe lar...
When using Citibank card to purchase online only need card number, expiry date and the 3 pin on the back of the card.
Not sure if Citibank having a deal with AirAsia which resulted in less hassling verification but I think at least need to verify IC like HSBC lor.
andrekua
post Aug 7 2008, 08:59 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Aug 7 2008, 07:51 AM)
@andrekua

it works for you if your usage is that high every month and you don't mind the annual fee

but if you use a similar free for life card like CIMB Petronas

500 * 2% = RM10
750 * 0.5% = RM3.75

Total monthly = RM13.75. Annually is ~ RM 168

It works out to be more since your don't have to fork out the RM75 for the annual fee as is the case for Citibank.

However only applies if you pump Petronas. Point based reward system is harder to compare since you may not need the stuff + may have expiry date.
I dont feel like buying any of Petronas related stuffs. Private jet for Mahathir is ok but petrol price increase so much. Boycott petronas la. All should go and pump Shell.

Anyway,

I somewhat prefer cards from international banks. They are easier to deal with. They give you high limit just in case you needed extra and lots of discount here and there. I had cancel my SBB, AMBB, and MBB credit card because they are dead boring, no offer and not to mention applying for higher credit limit is like begging them.
andrekua
post Aug 7 2008, 05:00 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Aug 7 2008, 10:26 AM)
Recently I used Citibank CC to purchase online (USD1.00 only  tongue.gif  ) Very straight forward. Just enter CC number, expiry date and last 3 digit. No call, no problem.  hmm.gif
yeah, that's exactly what Im worrying about.
so if we are not careful and those cashier purposely remember our Citibank card no, expiry date and the 3pin no, means they can fake our identity and buy online cos no verification like HSBC where you need to at least confirm your IC no. PBB and MBB a bit harder cos need mother maiden name.

Added on August 7, 2008, 5:01 pm
QUOTE(muscaa @ Aug 7 2008, 12:39 PM)
yeah agree with you
found my UOB plat1 and master gold are not that good
feel like wanna terminate it
I terminated my VOX card liao and they send me a letter asking me to sign to get a One Platinum card without needing to submit anything. I also have an i-account with them.

This post has been edited by andrekua: Aug 7 2008, 05:01 PM
andrekua
post Aug 16 2008, 09:05 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(TeraPox @ Aug 16 2008, 03:25 AM)
yaya.. the longine worth RM2.3k... i've check with dealer already...

I don't have much to catch up looo... around another 10k ++ only... thumbup.gif
yalor, platinum is not really that special nowadays.. sometime, i do feel like they don't deserve me... brows.gif  but wth... wait for visa signature to enter malaysia lor.. and also, platinum bring alot of good deals.. like for example the buy 1 free 1 @ oriental group by UOB... really save me quite alot during these couple of months... icon_idea.gif
Really a good consumer.
20K can get a watch so good le.

Swipe 16K during my wedding with HSBC only get 16k points... cry.gif
andrekua
post Aug 17 2008, 09:13 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(Reventon @ Aug 17 2008, 12:32 PM)
if the CL are above 50k then it should be enough for me biggrin.gif , most of the time i have to use it for official use and my own too.. and because of the conversion , if too little credit limit , it will be very hassle if i use it in europe. Currently my usage for company and oversea transaction are on AMEX charge card, and other smaller amount are charged to visa. But since AMEX has the credit card as well now , maybe will consolidate every usage to just one brand .
50K is pretty easy to get.
My boss PBB's Platinum which he doesnt even bother to use has 80K limit.
andrekua
post Aug 18 2008, 06:06 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Just as I said last week that Citibank hasnt had any good promotion around.. Yesterday read an emel from them saying there's a G2000 sales in MPL.. holy cheap.. When you pay with Citibank CC, you get additional 20% discount ontop of the 50/70% discount. End up with 6 shirts for RM170. Normally RM170 only buys 2.

My cousin only paid RM35.xx for a G2000 pant. Really nice...
andrekua
post Aug 19 2008, 03:19 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(khenhh @ Aug 19 2008, 01:44 AM)
Hi guys ^^ After reading your post for a few days, I decided to register and post something biggrin.gif

Fortunately it's a question!!! hehe

Ok, I'm a Unit Trust Consultant, I have a constant flow of comision of RM2,000 per month. In addition, I am also a bank staff with Rm 2000 Basic Pay. (Rough Figure tongue.gif PnC)

So my net income is roughly RM 4,000 +/-  in your opinion, what are the chances of me getting a Gold card?

(I have a classic card for staff from the bank I work in But I want a GOLD biggrin.gif)

Added on August 19, 2008, 1:49 amoh Speaking of which, the only benefit of a Staff card is no annual fee ... darn it !! ..... not lower % or better installment ..

everyone can now have free annual waiver ...
Gahhhh .......
I've been offered by the Agents for a gold card (HSBC,ALLIANCE,and etc) but I know it's not easy to get it ...

oh i forgot to add some information

My Public Mutual 2k commission is in Public Bank account, My company account is a different back account, So I just need to submit 3 months Bank statement + 3 months payslip.

The reason why I said it's not easy because I've just been working for 3 months ^^; this is my 4th Month ... Should I wait longer before i apply ?? the agents says it's ok .... no problem .. but ... really no problem meh?? I work in a bank .. I know it's not easy ... That's why I wan to try other banks tongue.gif
Just apply first la.. talk too much la.

Gold or no gold also same one lar. So what if gold card? You didnt even know classic card can easily get annual fee waived and yet credit limit can surpass some gold card. If I remember correctly, Tinkerbel (or was it Terapox?) has a HSBC classic card with 14k limit, and my own HSBC classic also 9.5k limit. Issit really necessary to have a gold card when classic card can reach this limit that you rarely used up.

My salary is 3k per month subject to EPF deduction. So I dont think you really have an idea on about credit card approvals. Speaking of which, HSBC denied my application twice before when I was on 1.5k salary and only approved when I finally reach 2k salary. I havent used for a year and they already doubled my CL upon my request. Nothing is impossible.

Just get a card and concentrate on it to gain a good limit. Then its easier to apply for a gold card elsewhere. I would rather to have a classic card than gold card because there is no advantage at all (unless using Shell card for example).
andrekua
post Aug 19 2008, 04:27 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(bysquashy @ Aug 19 2008, 04:07 PM)
Hehehe, it was me. Actually I've asked them to upgrade my HSBC Classic Card but they said I need to apply for it so I just ask them to increase my credit limit, after a few month, they automatically increased it again for me. So now its around RM15K
Actually I've tried to look for it but i can't find it
Why do you need to apply for it?
If they really want to upgrade, they will send you a new card.
HSBC called me and offer me a GOLD card which I turned down.
After Citi approved a shell gold card for me, now HSBC want to do the same.

Honestly speaking, I rarely use so much money de. In fact, even a 5K card also enough de. Just that HSBC doesnt allow temporary credit limit increase when I was planning my wedding and forced to upgrade permanently. 5K limit is just nice to prevent me from overspending. Heck, Citibank give me 13K which is even more ridiculous for my salary which I dont understand at all.

I think BANK should be more responsible for controlling consumer spending instead of promoting consumer overspending by approving ridiculous limit for those who cant afford it, like me.
andrekua
post Aug 20 2008, 03:26 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(TeraPox @ Aug 20 2008, 11:41 AM)
both sides and do remember blanko the last 3 digits for security purpose...
This is true for Citibank cards.
Citibank is being stupid that it doesnt any sort of verification for online purchases. I dont worry about my HSBC because it will require IC validation at least.
andrekua
post Aug 21 2008, 11:14 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

I would say its totally not relevant. Whether its credit card or charge card, whether banks are sharing your spending behaviour or payment to me is irrelevant. There is nothing to hide regarding your spending/payment habit if you really treat these cards as you SHOULD be doing which is to ease the burden of carrying cash around for large transaction. Do you really scare people knew your spending habit if you really CAN afford what you are buying.
andrekua
post Aug 22 2008, 12:11 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(Twilight Prophet @ Aug 21 2008, 11:44 PM)
Relevant or not, the "relevations" above leave a very sour taste in my mouth. At the very least, it shows a total lack of respect for customers. But then, what do you expect from "legal Ah Longs"  rolleyes.gif

Added on August 21, 2008, 11:59 pmBtw, applying for an Alliance credit card is a nightmare. People who answered my calls are rude and are unable to answer my queries, the women acted like they are having a migraine,those who promised to call back never did, and I got the phone slammed down on me twice!  I won't bother to go into details .. but when and if I get their credit card, I'm probably cut it up  mad.gif
Nah. Sometimes transparency is the way to go.
Just look at the credit card spending report thats out every month in paper and see how much money is being owed by Malaysians in general.
I for one really support what these banks are doing in order to stop these idiots from spending money that they didnt own. Its not much different than robbing a bank. I just have to say that young Malaysians think too much nowadays.

Of my friends, I got 1 who always buy something on installments and although he is able to pay the monthly installment, it all adds up to almost RM1000 per month and thats not even including other purchases like petrol, groceries etc. Another friend who fake pay slips and are on 50k debit combined in personal and cc debt. One more is too obsess in owning property and spend 90% of his salary paying 2 cars and apartment. He still dare to say he want to buy a shoplot in 2-3 yrs time.
andrekua
post Aug 23 2008, 01:11 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

Just use online banking lar.

Opps, I forgot you are with CIMB. I kinda forgotten that CIMB (Come In Main Belakang) got charges when using CIMBCLICKS. Saving account however enjoy free service.
andrekua
post Aug 23 2008, 03:22 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

For local banks, just call them to tell them that you are going oversea and where.
andrekua
post Aug 30 2008, 10:31 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

My boss just got a package from AMEX.
It says priveledge Platinum Credit Card free for life.
andrekua
post Sep 2 2008, 12:42 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(TeraPox @ Sep 1 2008, 06:48 PM)
have to pay RM800 for AMEX platinum... and the rest r free.... icon_rolleyes.gif

i pay in full(actually a little bit more than full) everymonth... and when they r about to charge me annual fee. i called them up, tell them that other banks can offer me FREE cards. if they can't i will cancel the card... (lame scripts)... and walah! it works!  laugh.gif  success rate 99%
Issit when you got AMEX charge card, they will offer you a credit card FREE FOR LIFE?
My boss is being offered one FREE FOR LIFE.
I saw the offer letter he left on his table. I wonder what happened if he cancelled the charge card and keep the credit card.
andrekua
post Sep 2 2008, 01:03 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

From what I heard from the account clerk, not really. Lastime (many years ago) when VISA n MASTERCARD still not so popular yet, maybe use frequently as travels a lot to see suppliers. But now each month also pay around 4k nia and mostly for petrol (inclusive of supplimentary cards for the rest of directors). Nowadays VISA and MASTERCARD is the way to go.
andrekua
post Sep 2 2008, 08:11 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(TeraPox @ Sep 2 2008, 01:44 PM)
me neither... just dunno how andrekua's boss got that letter...
Thats why Im asking.
Issit because my boss still paying for the charge card that they decided that it was worth it? What happen if he cancel the charge card and keep the credit card?

0.0501sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:06 PM