126 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

Chubby Hamsters V6, Sleeping furballs of Fun!

missgeek
post Jan 17 2008, 06:29 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jan 17 2008, 03:30 PM)
Usually my syrians will just run around and dig here and there. Sometimes will put of the sand over their bodies or roll them over gently.

I think the sand is not hazardous as hamsters are from the deserts. Maybe they are moving the sand like how the moved hay? unsure.gif  unsure.gif  unsure.gif

I saw in the GP thread that your 2 GPs is in a tank with toilet sand wor... Is this the 'bathing' sand you mentioned? Bathing sand is finer and white/yellow color like those sand in white beaches. I think you are using the wrong sand. You should use the bathing sand instead of the toilet sand tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
WHAAAAAAAAAAAAT? tongue.gif haiyakkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk! No wonder they ignore sweat.gif
Enferno
post Jan 17 2008, 08:51 PM

469 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jan 17 2008, 09:04 AM)
If he want to let go of her, I think she is better off back to Reanne as she was previous owner. I think the syrian might need extra care, who knows what have happened to her in FrostFox's care. unsure.gif  unsure.gif  unsure.gif

Anyway don't think you can stand the smell of a syrian's tank in 5-7 days time. If you use a 2 feet tank even worst when you open the lid. I know how it smells like because Fumoffu is using the 2 feet tank and it stinks in less than 7 days shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif

Added on January 17, 2008, 9:09 am

If you are looking for tubes for the safari, me and sangels got some habitrail mini tubes (which is suitable for robos) to sell. PM me or sangels if you are interested.

Not using anymore cause it is really a pain to wash once a week as the robos will pee, poo, eat, and sleep inside the tubes. Also I have a ZooZone2 and a 2feet tank to wash also with the Habitrail Safari. Let you know what you are getting into first.
after reading from what you said, cleaning is a problem for me..haha.. have to wash each tube... i will think abt it 1st.. tongue.gif tongue.gif
sangels
post Jan 17 2008, 09:41 PM

Too cute not to fall in love with
829 posts

QUOTE(Enferno @ Jan 17 2008, 08:51 PM)
after reading from what you said, cleaning is a problem for me..haha.. have to wash each tube... i will think abt it 1st.. tongue.gif  tongue.gif
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif You better think first as we also happily extended the cage and end up tiredly washing it sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
jtl
post Jan 17 2008, 09:49 PM

788 posts

QUOTE(sangels @ Jan 17 2008, 09:41 PM)
biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif You better think first as we also happily extended the cage and end up tiredly washing it  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Perhaps a slightly quicker but less economical way of washing the tubes is to:
Soak the tubes in a mild dilution of dettol and warm water for about an hour. Then rinse off and put under the sun to dry smile.gif
Soaking eliminates the need to scrub. tongue.gif

I say less economical because you may end up using more water. wink.gif

frostfox
post Jan 17 2008, 10:04 PM

the end is near
1,601 posts

convinience always beats costs smile.gif i always soak my hamster cage tubes in alot of soap tongue.gif then i soak it in normal water..It always comes out super clean...smile.gif
jtl
post Jan 17 2008, 10:37 PM

788 posts

QUOTE(frostfox @ Jan 17 2008, 10:04 PM)
convinience always beats costs smile.gif i always soak my hamster cage tubes in alot of soap tongue.gif then i soak it in normal water..It always comes out super clean...smile.gif
Just wondering, do you just soak it in normal water or you rinse it off properly? If you use a lot of soap, soaking it in normal water may not totally wash off the soap and the residue would be harmful for the hammies.
sangels
post Jan 17 2008, 10:58 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(jtl @ Jan 17 2008, 10:37 PM)
Just wondering, do you just soak it in normal water or you rinse it off properly? If you use a lot of soap, soaking it in normal water may not totally wash off the soap and the residue would be harmful for the hammies.
nod.gif nod.gif Yes, that's why we spent so much time on cleaning their cages. We usually clean it after sun set, can't put under the sun and let it dry. We normally clean it with mild soap and rinse off with running water and then dry it with cloth and then only assemble it back. That's why takes time to do all that, luckily both of us are sharing the work smile.gif That's why now no more tubes and extensions sweat.gif
jayniel
post Jan 17 2008, 11:00 PM

802 posts

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Jan 17 2008, 02:32 PM)
cry.gif i duno what happen to 1 of my robo..just now i went check on them..1 of it died & was cannibalise..yesterday all were ok..i check the food..theres plenty of it..haih..duno why..they have been living happily for months...

some pic were taken..so WARNING

may ur robo RIP.. so sad.. sad.gif
NewbieBetta
post Jan 17 2008, 11:50 PM

The Sexy Man
3,706 posts

thanks.. rolleyes.gif

bubbles11
post Jan 18 2008, 12:19 AM

165 posts

i used to have about 5 syrians back when i was at sabah. then one of them gave birth to another 5 so at one point i had 10. but it was so sad. the mom had an eye infection 3-4 days after delivering the babies and so when she died, eventually all the baby died sad.gif

i'm no sure if it's only me or what but i think they're really hard to tame. they selectively love to bite me (i don't know why!!!) but were nice to the rest of my housemates. grrrrr!!!!!

gosh... and they always attract cats from my neighbourhood. many times i see several cats waiting at my porch and trying to find their way into the house. there was once when we forgot to close the window at night, the next morning i saw a cat sitting right in front of the hamster cage and enjoying the view. lol! good thing the cat didn't attack them... YET!

i dun rare anymore hamsters now... hehe... since i'm back in kl n there are more pet choices here (they only have syrians in sabah)...
blurjoey
post Jan 18 2008, 12:29 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(frostfox @ Jan 17 2008, 10:04 PM)
This shows how shallow your knowledge is about taking care of pets. Any kind of pets. doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Jan 18 2008, 07:10 AM
sOuLx
post Jan 18 2008, 12:50 AM

Ingenieur (Ir.)
1,358 posts

frostfox need to do thorough study about taking care of pet...
or your pet will end up in "another world"...
abang brother
post Jan 18 2008, 06:01 AM

4,967 posts

SOSOSOSOSOSOSO HJAPPPYYYYY!!!!!!!! MY VERENA JUST GIVE BIRTH TO 2 PUPS!! So red... sweat.gif

Ah, she ate one of the pups, i don't know why, i didn't even touch it...

This post has been edited by abang brother: Jan 18 2008, 06:06 AM
xtremer
post Jan 18 2008, 06:14 AM

My Roborovskii just gave birth to 4 pups yesterday... Can anyone tell me what extra food I need to give her to meet her nutrient requirement after giving birth? Don't tell me bird nest pls~ Thx!
sangels
post Jan 18 2008, 07:36 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(xtremer @ Jan 18 2008, 06:14 AM)
My Roborovskii just gave birth to 4 pups yesterday... Can anyone tell me what extra food I need to give her to meet her nutrient requirement after giving birth? Don't tell me bird nest pls~ Thx!
Please read up the first page in crazymouse's post for more info as she wrote about hamster's care and also on breeding icon_idea.gif

Added on January 18, 2008, 7:39 am
QUOTE(abang brother @ Jan 18 2008, 06:01 AM)
SOSOSOSOSOSOSO HJAPPPYYYYY!!!!!!!! MY VERENA JUST GIVE BIRTH TO 2 PUPS!! So red... sweat.gif

Ah, she ate one of the pups, i don't know why, i didn't even touch it...
shocking.gif shocking.gif How come only gave birth to 2??? I thought suppose to be more than that? Or the rest already got eaten cry.gif

Please read up post #3 in page 1 for more info.

This post has been edited by sangels: Jan 18 2008, 07:42 AM
NeaRDeatH
post Jan 18 2008, 07:50 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(sky388 @ Jan 17 2008, 04:29 PM)
huh blink.gif
do u mean the hamster with pandan smell is a symptom of disease??
what kind of disease?  sweat.gif
huhuhu..datz y i ask people around here...does anyone noe y this is happening?? coz if it is safe i eagerly wanna try it and all my room will fill in the smell of pandan coz i got 7tank of my hammy sweat.gif sweat.gif

QUOTE(sOuLx @ Jan 17 2008, 04:42 PM)
it's a pandan disease laugh.gif doh.gif  doh.gif
aiyak doh.gif doh.gif pandan desease??can it be cure?? laugh.giflaugh.gif
Core_Tracer
post Jan 18 2008, 08:56 AM

4 Stars Prodigy
599 posts

QUOTE(sOuLx @ Jan 18 2008, 12:50 AM)
maybe u can teach him/her,soulx...?haha

just got habitrail safari today at petlover centre in sunway...2nd time go there,nice shop compare to others,imho,lol.....now looking for the syrian..maybe saturday can go around KL searching for a cute one....
blurjoey
post Jan 18 2008, 09:49 AM

Sumo Hammy!
6,040 posts

QUOTE(Core_Trace(R) @ Jan 18 2008, 08:56 AM)
maybe u can teach him/her,soulx...?haha

just got habitrail safari today at petlover centre in sunway...2nd time go there,nice shop compare to others,imho,lol.....now looking for the syrian..maybe saturday can go around KL searching for a cute one....
You want to put a syrian in a Habitrail Safari??? shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif That cage is so small for a syrian. Dwarfs still can use Habitrail Safari but syrian is too big for it. Why don't you get 2 feet tank instead?

Believe me, Fumoffu used to stay in a Habitrail Safari and less than 1 day we changed him to a 2 feet tank after seeing how cramped it was for him in the Safari.

Also the smell of pee will be worst than the 2 feet tank. tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif You can smell then in less than 20m. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Added on January 18, 2008, 9:54 am
QUOTE(sOuLx @ Jan 18 2008, 12:50 AM)
Soulx,

Maybe you should research together with FrostFox... Can be his tutor... tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by blurjoey: Jan 18 2008, 09:54 AM
Core_Tracer
post Jan 18 2008, 10:24 AM

4 Stars Prodigy
599 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jan 18 2008, 09:49 AM)
You want to put a syrian in a Habitrail Safari??? shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif That cage is so small for a syrian. Dwarfs still can use Habitrail Safari but syrian is too big for it. Why don't you get 2 feet tank instead?

Believe me, Fumoffu used to stay in a Habitrail Safari and less than 1 day we changed him to a 2 feet tank after seeing how cramped it was for him in the Safari.

Also the smell of pee will be worst than the 2 feet tank. tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif You can smell then in less than 20m. laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Lol.....ok,i give the safari to my pearl WW wink.gif

now....anyone had spotted cute syrians in shops around KL recently?any recommended shop? hmm.gif
sky388
post Jan 18 2008, 11:16 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(NeaRDeatH @ Jan 18 2008, 07:50 AM)
huhuhu..datz y i ask people around here...does anyone noe y this is happening?? coz if it is safe i eagerly wanna try it and all my room will fill in the smell of pandan coz i got 7tank of my hammy  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
aiyak  doh.gif  doh.gif  pandan desease??can it be cure?? laugh.giflaugh.gif
I see....misunderstanding tongue.gif

126 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0329sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:26 AM