Chubby Hamsters V6, Sleeping furballs of Fun!

missgeek
post Jan 8 2008, 05:37 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(sangels @ Jan 8 2008, 05:28 PM)

#Core_Tracer:
There are more worse and smelly Pet shops around, you'll know if you do pet shop hopping like us  shocking.gif Like the one we went in Ipoh, I've been sneezing the whole day after I entered the shop and feel so uncomfortable  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
AGREED!!! nod.gif the ones in brickfield and petaling street are also like that. I always have to hold my breath. shakehead.gif
missgeek
post Jan 9 2008, 01:48 AM

318 posts

can we train our hamsters to sit on our shoulder? I saw in movie they can, hehe. I wanna train MoFo biggrin.gif but he is so jakun when i let him out, go here and there exploring sweat.gif

Miki nipped me just now, hehe cos I hold him too long and don't want to put him down biggrin.gif. I think he is a cream banded satin, his hair bit bit shiny like that?
missgeek
post Jan 9 2008, 01:53 AM

318 posts

QUOTE(sangels @ Jan 8 2008, 05:48 PM)
Ops... Don't mean to tease  blush.gif  just you are the only example who have such a strong sense of smells  blink.gif  blink.gif

Added on January 8, 2008, 5:52 pm

LOL  whistling.gif  whistling.gif Don't hold for too long, later short of breath  sweat.gif  sweat.gif just go to clean pet shops, solution for that  icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif
Hehehe, I never go to smelly petshop more than once. One time go, if already smelly and I need to hold my breath, I dont go anymore. smile.gif
I like pet shop hopping, just check out if got interesting stuff for my pets. Bad habit actually, cos I end up buying things I dont really need, just because only. sweat.gif

Added on January 9, 2008, 1:56 am
QUOTE(dj.eRicZzz @ Jan 9 2008, 01:51 AM)
anyone tried living world bedding before?
Dont use! It is pine bedding and crazymouse already adviced me last time when I first got hamster tongue.gif Now I use the corncob + delikate.
But I agree when I used it for a while it covers the pee smell very good... but that's because of that dangerous phenol thing that can lead to lungs problem to our hamsters la.

This post has been edited by missgeek: Jan 9 2008, 01:56 AM
missgeek
post Jan 9 2008, 02:11 AM

318 posts

QUOTE(dj.eRicZzz @ Jan 9 2008, 02:03 AM)
kk...coz i din go out..and i ask my gf to buy for me...then she say the boss say alot ppl buy that brand n recommend it..she she also buy lo...but she say can change la...
Hmm true. Everywhere also got sell that one actually. sweat.gif ok lar if can change..
missgeek
post Jan 9 2008, 02:59 AM

318 posts

I think Jtl is petshack owner tongue.gif

Anyway this is MoFo's latest pics. Took it when we hang out on my bed watching TV.

Ghostly Mofo

Wassup yo! Mofo
missgeek
post Jan 9 2008, 01:45 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(sOuLx @ Jan 9 2008, 12:37 PM)
yesterday i went to the vet to check why my hamster sneezes.
the doc said its nothing harmful. just normal sneezing.  rolleyes.gif
Missgeek,
your Mofo eyes is the same like my Montee.
bi-colour also..maybe becoz we bought them from the same place,so they are siblings maybe? hmm.gif  hmm.gif

i've been bitten by my Montee twice and bleed. sweat.gif  sweat.gif
but it wont stop me to play with him.
Heheh, I am very sure they are siblings... I also last time dunno which one to pick... but I picked mofo because of the 3 dots at his back biggrin.gif Also because he has bicolor eyes, hehe.

The hamsters at petshack is tame... half tame maybe because still cautious with new smell. But they are tame compared to other syrians I've seen, they allow u to be picked up. THANK GOD Mofo never bite me sweat.gif I think u kacau montee sleep la soulx. biggrin.gif Or ur hand smell delicious, after eating nasi bungkus, haha!
One thing I always do with Mofo is to put my hand in the tanks first... touch2 him abit before I picked him up. They are very blind... sudden move will scared the hell out of them. My mission now is to train him to sit on shoulder tongue.gif. I hope he could also lie dead on his back when I hold him flat face up. So cute I see a lot of hamsters here can do that.

My taming process is taking a long time with the rest of the babies. All are still half tame. sad.gif I also take things very slow cos I don't wanna push my luck and got bitten, hehe. They can play on my hand, I used the scoop with toilet roll or exercise ball method to transfer them to my palm. It takes a while also for them to step onto my palm, sniff here and there first, like shud I, shudn't I? I tried picking Mokie and Miki by hand before, I can only do half way before they fly from my hands, hehe. (I also scared to grip harder... if got bitten painful leh). Mobee... curious lil fella but so eksyen one, he avoids my hand like a plague. unsure.gif

@blurjoey
Yeah.. that's what my mom told me too. Same like my hamsters, dont sleep at nite, hahah. I wish I am fully nocturnal, but I need to wake up go to work haha! same like hamsters also, grumpy when ppl kacau me sleep blush.gif

Oh, maybe fumoffu bite cos he can smell jack jack? A lot of methods can be used for taming, like familiarise him with ur smell. Rub ur hands in his bedding before pick him up. Always come to him with nice treats so that he knows when u come means food. Now I realised I never go to my hamsters empty handed, sure got something for them, even just to pass one sunflower seed (or 2, or 3.. hehe). I think MoFo tolerate me because I'm his walking giant with nice treats, hahaha! He thinks biting me will bring him more harm than good, hahahaha!

@crazymouse
Yeah, not clear... only take with handphone, somemore camera lousy, in the dark pic not so good biggrin.gif
The only reason I can take his pic on the bed is because he was mesmerized by the flash hahaha. Suddenly keep quiet look at the camera tongue.gif If not he's busy exploring my bed and me, funny fatso.
missgeek
post Jan 9 2008, 02:29 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(d100200 @ Jan 9 2008, 02:06 PM)
Question:

I am using the Habitrail mini. I am having the hamster for like almost 2 months.
I notice that the water in the Mushroom Oasis gone in 1 day then I found that the bedding in 1 area is wet. (Wierd part is the wet area is the opposite direction of where the water is)
Sometimes the water can last for a week. Oh wait. There was only 1 time it can last for a week. LOL.
I usually clean and replace on weekly basis, the most water only last for 3 days.
I can see the water level still very high and near the top on 2nd day but on 3rd day, the water totally gone.
I wonder how the hamster moved the water?? hmmmm..
Shall I change to those dripping bottol?

Hmmm... I think u shud. At least you can monitor the water intake closely. With bottles, the water is not contaminated with other stuff like food, beddings etc.
Easier to change or refill water too wink.gif But that's my preference lah.
missgeek
post Jan 11 2008, 05:02 PM

318 posts

Here is Miki latest pics! He's pretty tame now, we just made a breakthrough last nite! He stepped onto my palm volunteerily!!! Yeay!
But I have a Q to sifus:

1. Why Miki is more 'mouse' look than my other syrians? He has bigger ears too... I hope he is not cross-breed or something sweat.gif
2. Is it normal for syrian to have a longer body? I see the rest of my syrians have rounded and stokier body. Miki body is longer and slim tongue.gif
3. Miki smell the worst! shakehead.gif only MoFo doesn't smell actually hmm.gif Maybe I shud try breeder celect too... is it good for covering smell?
missgeek
post Jan 12 2008, 03:25 AM

318 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jan 12 2008, 12:57 AM)
Miki is a syrian, but not all syrians have round bear look. If you get from petshops, most of the syrians got mousy look coz of the body structure of the parents when breeding. Those with bear looks are more bulkier in size, because the line is from good breeding hamsters..... most of the petshop ones are low quality..... is like dogs lah, got pet quality and got show quality....
Ahhhh... yeah now I understand why he looked so different from MoFo, Mokie and Mobee. They are all round round shape and short. tongue.gif Miki is long long slim with hmmm extra huge balls sweat.gif

I will buy breeder celect lah like this. Time to do supply stocking anyway. By the way, buy the dried alfafa also good for covering smell and also good for their digestive and teeth! My syrians love it especially mofo cos he used it for nesting too. It also smells very nice like fresh tea/ herbs. And the best thing is, it's CHEAPER than timothy hay lor. I bought it at an aquarium shop in uptown, galaxy aquarium I think. I dont know if other place sell la.. only know there cos that petshop guy adviced me to feed it to my hamsters.

QUOTE(EReeN)
hav some que..

i hav been travel to langkawi last month n i bring my hamster too..

they stay at the hotel for 2 days..

n the next day on my way back to home town i singgah ah 1 place shopping for the last time n i tinggal my hamster in car..the parking lots are so hot n i open some tingkap so that my hamster can breath..

but..

huwaa 

when i return one of them died~~

i was so sad~~   

whY

Wah, cannot leh leave ur pets in the car! I done it too but only if it's nightime and i opened the window for sure. I try not to do it tho... if i feel it's too hot even at nite (you can feel the heat urself), I will bring along. During the day when it's hot of course they die. Even a covered carpark also so hot during the day... rolleyes.gif u can even kill a baby if u leave inside hot car... let alone small tiny hamsters. I hope you learned your lesson well lor... maybe buy that travel cage thing so that you could always bring them out, I've seen some nice ones... one I saw in pets lover center in singapore... nearly bought it cos i didnt see it in malaysia.. tongue.gif it's sanko brand.

Oh, u can also check uptown night market at kota damansara... one stall sells this tank, come with string like handbag, so u can carry it on your shoulder. inside got water bottle, wheel and food bowl too! Cheap also, last time i ask it's RM30.

This post has been edited by missgeek: Jan 12 2008, 03:29 AM
missgeek
post Jan 14 2008, 06:09 PM

318 posts

bought timothy hair for my hamsters, sanko too expensive so I bought kool bunny brand. I chose the fresh greens one because it's better right? But I realised they dont like to eat them as much as they like the dried alfafa sad.gif but timothy hay can be given to hamsters right?
missgeek
post Jan 15 2008, 07:29 AM

318 posts

Yippie! Another breakthrough with my syrian babies! FINALLY, Mokie and Miki is fully tamed. They can be picked up like MoFo and not running from my hands anymore. nod.gif So happy, my patience paid off and I was never once bitten!! Hehehe... as a noobie I would say RESPECT is the keyword. Don't push your luck and if they don't like it, they don't like... just try again another day!

The only frustrating thing for me now is Mobee. He takes treats from my hand, lemme stroke/pet him when he eats BUT I still need the toilet roll to transfer him to my palm. Once he came out to my palm, he will fly off!! I always do this over his tank so he landed safely back in... I can't pick him up without him looking back and showed his teeth. He never bit me yet, I backed off before he had the chance blush.gif He also treat my hand like a ghost, runs for his life everytime I came near (too near he will look back and bare his teeth sweat.gif ).

Maybe I should just be patient for a little longer. sad.gif He is the smallest and I do think he is a runt in the litter. So small... maybe that's why he is forever scared and skittish.

Anyone has non successful experience in taming their hamster? I really want Mobee to turned out like Mokie and Miki... they are so much fun to play with now smile.gif
missgeek
post Jan 15 2008, 01:16 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(sOuLx @ Jan 15 2008, 11:52 AM)
waa fumoffu testicles is humongous  .. shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif

for me to tame my syrian, i always have one regular session with my hamster everyday..
when Montee woke up at night, i always put him on my bed. let him play around for awhile,
let him familiarized with me  ... for 10-15 minutes is enough.
so funny looking at him moving around with his big ass.. laugh.gif
once done, i always give him some treats..
now Montee dont bite me anymore...he will stay put in my palm, not trying to run away like before...

but to my concern.. he is quite smelly nowadays.. i wonder why  hmm.gif
i changed his bedding once in 4 days.. but when i smell his body, there's some unpleasant odour..
not that strong unpleasant odour.. only can smell if i put my nose near his body.. tongue.gif
Hmm, 3 of my syrians are all babies and wild when I got them... I spend 1 hr (divided into few sessions) with each of them per day without failed (except that 2 nights I was gone to Singapore). That is why I am nocturnal too tongue.gif I cant do like you and put on my bed yet... first need to train them that when u pick them up, they are not about to be eaten, hahaha. Only mobee is now half tame... I so wish he'll get over the fact he will not be in my mouth when I pick him up.. sigh.

But Mokie and Miki are so fun to play with now! All my patience paid off sweat.gif

Crazymouse said syrian don't do sand bath... but yeah u can try of course. Only Mofo doesnt smell! The 3 babies... smelly!!! I don't know why too... but I have a feeling it could be the 1.5feet tank I use. Only Mofo in 2feet tank... i think the bigger the space, the less the odour...? I am not upgrading their tank until they are fully grown so for now... I just need to bear with their smell and wash their house and wheels often... they peed inside it ALL THE TIMES. Sigh.
missgeek
post Jan 15 2008, 04:23 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(sOuLx @ Jan 15 2008, 03:52 PM)
how much is the price for sanko wheel?
isnt the safari wheel already good enough for syrian?
or there are something wrong with safari wheel?
Habitrail Safari wheel and playground wheel can be used for syrians. They are 7.5 inch.
MoFo can run inside, the backs did not arch but just muat muat only. That extra 0.5 inch does make a difference...
Mofo can't fit well in the normal wheel (like the one in my siggy picture with Miki). Now that wheel is a spare for the 3 babies.
Except for MoFo, the rest are using habitrail playground wheel. smile.gif One day I will need to change for all of them, maybe 3-4 months down the road but for now, it works perfectly for them.

I bought the sanko 21cm wheel in singapore, here don't have stock yet. They only have the 17cm and the humongous 30cm. So hard to find good wheels here lah... so the most decent you can use is the habitrail wheels.

Added on January 15, 2008, 4:27 pm
QUOTE(d100200 @ Jan 15 2008, 03:45 PM)
How to give them once a week? Leave the sand for 2 hours then remove from the cage?

Do I change the sand every time I clean the cage ? (I clean cage once a week)

See the photo below. I found that they actually move some kuaci + wood shaving there and they shit there as well.

This is suppose to be their bathing Den. After 1 day, cannot see the sand anymore.
I think it's natural instinct that small confined space is a place to sleep and store food. I think u better change venue to the proper bathing place (or ceramic bowl) and put in their main area. tongue.gif Anyway, it's a den biggrin.gif sure they use it as a den lorrrrr... I cant remember if yours is syrian or dwarfs... if syrian, u dont need a bathing sand, just do like blurjoey lor... put them in a small tank filled with bathing sand while u do the cage cleaning smile.gif

This post has been edited by missgeek: Jan 15 2008, 04:27 PM
missgeek
post Jan 15 2008, 04:48 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(sOuLx @ Jan 15 2008, 04:29 PM)
habitrail going to stop the safari production right?
i'm going to find a new wheel for montee too..
i hope there's sanko wheel around here.. biggrin.gif
KP is doing bulk for wodent wheel which cost around rm70-80 i think..
Wodent is good and make sure you get Wodent Wheel Junior, measuring at 7 3/4 inch. smile.gif They have 3, Junior, Senior and Wobust.
Senior measurement is 10 7/8 inch and Wobust is 12 inch. You can try the senior wheel but maybe it's a tad too big.

Here the website you can see the price: http://www.sugar-gliders.com/wodent-wheel-jr.htm
missgeek
post Jan 16 2008, 04:28 AM

318 posts

Welcome enferno! Share the pics soon!

BTW, bought meself 2 GP blush.gif Here's a pic and stories in GP thread biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by missgeek: Jan 16 2008, 05:20 AM
missgeek
post Jan 17 2008, 12:51 AM

318 posts

QUOTE(Core_Trace(R) @ Jan 16 2008, 05:40 AM)
wow.....i can see Mokie(if im not mistaken) from here....so big........yummyyyy,haha (j/k)
Down there is MoFo smile.gif he is pigging out, he should be a GP lol. That bowl is the 'dog it' bowl, medium size, when he sits in there, cannot see his food anymore, hahaha.
Mokie is the one upstairs tongue.gif he's big now too.. they grow so fasttttt!

Added on January 17, 2008, 12:57 am
QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jan 16 2008, 06:27 AM)
You bought ZooZone2!!! Your house getting more animals d. sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif

How you do that 2nd platform for the 1.5 feet tank? Habitrail I think....
Hehehe... yes, my house like rodent zoo already. I really need to take care of the smell cos i stay in a studio biggrin.gif no where to run from the smell, hahaha! The platform, first i put double sided, the one for the ikea mirror, I thought it'll be strong enough... but then it wasn't , so when my friend came buy help me drill the holes for the water bottle, i asked to drill and fasten the platform with screw, but I also put the screw filler, wood type. It looks ugly from that side tongue.gif the double sided cannot peel off, and a screw with wood filler potruding at the outside, hahahahah! Mokie knows how to climb on top of that hood and go out if the lid is open sweat.gif now he still can reach and bite the plastic lid, once he's bigger, i need to take off that blue hood already leh. If he grows as big as MoFo, need to change tank alreadddyy...

This post has been edited by missgeek: Jan 17 2008, 12:59 AM
missgeek
post Jan 17 2008, 01:57 AM

318 posts

QUOTE(jtl @ Jan 17 2008, 01:45 AM)
He can escape if he bites through the lid loh
Yeah i know tongue.gif now he still cannot but he will soon. biggrin.gif I'll take out the hood first, he's still too short without the blue hood. But when he's big like MoFo, time to take it down (or change tank biggrin.gif)
missgeek
post Jan 17 2008, 02:48 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jan 17 2008, 09:04 AM)
If he want to let go of her, I think she is better off back to Reanne as she was previous owner. I think the syrian might need extra care, who knows what have happened to her in FrostFox's care. unsure.gif  unsure.gif  unsure.gif

Anyway don't think you can stand the smell of a syrian's tank in 5-7 days time. If you use a 2 feet tank even worst when you open the lid. I know how it smells like because Fumoffu is using the 2 feet tank and it stinks in less than 7 days shocking.gif  shocking.gif  shocking.gif

Hmm maybe genetics? The smell I mean? Only MoFo doesnt stink and I clean his tank only once in 2 weeks! The rest of the syrians, GOD HELP! I saw some tablets/liquid to put in water so that it doesnt smell. Dont know if that will work. hmm.gif

missgeek
post Jan 17 2008, 03:07 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jan 17 2008, 09:54 AM)
Well it does help a little with the smell as Fumoffu stinks abit. I would usually put them in a small tank with bathing for them to run around in but never see them roll around tongue.gif JackJack doesn't like sand bath but he is fine cause he always groom himself.
Bought the 1 feet tank and bath sands... put the syrians in... they just sniff2 and look stupid inside there tongue.gif and then busy want to get out tongue.gif what i did is i put some sand on their back and rub it in tongue.gif did the same with the GP tongue.gif But they eat the sand, is it hazardous? I faster take them out after i saw it, but i know they ate some also.
missgeek
post Jan 17 2008, 06:29 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jan 17 2008, 03:30 PM)
Usually my syrians will just run around and dig here and there. Sometimes will put of the sand over their bodies or roll them over gently.

I think the sand is not hazardous as hamsters are from the deserts. Maybe they are moving the sand like how the moved hay? unsure.gif  unsure.gif  unsure.gif

I saw in the GP thread that your 2 GPs is in a tank with toilet sand wor... Is this the 'bathing' sand you mentioned? Bathing sand is finer and white/yellow color like those sand in white beaches. I think you are using the wrong sand. You should use the bathing sand instead of the toilet sand tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
WHAAAAAAAAAAAAT? tongue.gif haiyakkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk! No wonder they ignore sweat.gif

0.0406sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 12:59 AM