JTL is the owner of Pet Shack. I think all her hammies are very tamed. Fumoffu is half tamed. He has bitten me and sangels' fingers until today and still doing so
Chubby Hamsters V6, Sleeping furballs of Fun!
Jan 9 2008, 09:27 AM
6,040 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Cheras, Kuala Lumpur |
Wahlau... You really nocturnal like hamsters...
JTL is the owner of Pet Shack. I think all her hammies are very tamed. Fumoffu is half tamed. He has bitten me and sangels' fingers until today and still doing so |
Jan 9 2008, 11:55 AM
QUOTE Half tame? Maybe he bully you and sangels lah heheheh..... Want to ask can hamsters eat crickets, mealworms or superworms ar? Is it good for them? Where can get small quantity as I saw pet shops selling big packs? This post has been edited by blurjoey: Jan 9 2008, 12:07 PM |
Jan 9 2008, 12:43 PM
QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Jan 9 2008, 12:27 PM) Yah.... seems like he is bullying you hahah. How to get him to stop bullying? At least JackJack doesn't do that. He will climb our hands instead of biting.Yes, hamsters can take insects as well but then not every hamster likes them. My syrians do not like mealworms.... my gerbils like them. You go to a shop that sells aquarium fish and ask for RM1 bread worms. In Cantonese is Mein Pau Chung, in Malay is Ulat kecil.... |
Jan 9 2008, 03:15 PM
QUOTE When ever you pick him up, push something into his mouth. I normally use some veggie or apple. Kuaci also can. It keeps them occupied. Fumoffu just stuffs the treats in his cheek pouch and the biting begins |
Jan 9 2008, 04:37 PM
QUOTE(d100200 @ Jan 9 2008, 03:47 PM) Thanks guys. Pet Family in Taman Megah. You can try going to Pet Safari at the Curve or Pets Lover Center in Sunway as they have more Hagen products there.I will get one water bottle tomorrow. Public Holiday FTW !!! Without the Mushroom, got more space as well. Btw, I am buying Habitrail parts from Pet Safari in The Curve. Anyone know any other place sell cheaper ? I went to Pet ??? in Taman Megah, not much choice as compare to Pet Safari. Thanks in advance. I prefer Pet's Lover Center in Sunway for their hamster stuffs more than Pet Safari. Hagen is the manufacturer for Habitrail products and others. |
Jan 11 2008, 05:09 PM
Missgeek,
Currently having the same smell issue with Fumoffu. This fella pee and poo more than JackJack. Anyway tonight will be cleaning all the tanks and will be using corncob with Aspen beddings. Going to put some Timothy hay to cover the smell. The hay actually smells like tea leaves. |
Jan 11 2008, 11:38 PM
QUOTE(sOuLx @ Jan 11 2008, 10:48 PM) maybe we should call him Miki mouse.. Soulx, my montee haven't give any bad and obvious smell yet unless you put your nose inside the tank.. how much does breeder celect cost per pack? and how many grams per pack? Breeder Celect is not cheap as those beddings for small animals because it is cat litter. Here is the rough price I found around: 6 Litres pack - RM25-30 15 Litres pack - RM45-50 35 Litres pack - RM95-100 1 litre = 1 kilograms 1 kilograms = 1000 grams Hope this helps as Breeder Celect is good beddings too. Will be getting the 35 litres pack from Joan after we use up all the corncob, aspen, recycle paper and timothy hay we got now. You can try mixing corncob and aspen. Also put timothy hay as will cover the smell more Regarding the smell of your Montee, you should try to smell your tank in 7 days about 1-2 feet away and see if you smell anything. You should be smelling the ammonia from pee. It also depends on how much pee your Montee pee. All I can say is that all 4 of my hamsters (syrians and robos) need tank cleaning every 5-7 days |
Jan 12 2008, 07:18 AM
Missgeek,
I bought the Timothy hay for RM15 for 2 packs. It was buy 1 free 1. I think Pet Shack still have this promo. |
Jan 12 2008, 12:05 PM
If you can't find breeder celect in the small animals bedding section, try looking for it at the cat litter section. Breeder celect is actually cat litter
Jan 12 2008, 07:19 PM
QUOTE(frostfox @ Jan 12 2008, 04:55 PM) Dude,If it is syrian, then please do not put them together as they will fight to the death not just badly injured. They are just animals, they just follow their instincts. Hamsters cannot be trained like dogs. Hamsters won't feel lonely or want a mate to live with. They live alone. If you want hamsters that can be put together in groups then you should have considered robos or ww. But the same sex unless you want 20-30 babies in a few weeks. This is just being cruel to the hamsters. Please read the 1st page of this thread for more information. Also if what you have is syrian please get a good 8" wheel. You can look out for them in major pet shops or those small pet shops around. Good big wheels would be Sanko Wild 21cm Silent Wheel or Habitrail Safari or Playground wheels. Just to let you know that the bigger the wheel the more expensive it will get. But the Habitrail wheels are the cheapest. |
Jan 12 2008, 07:40 PM
frostfox,
These are winter white hamsters which belongs to the dwarf hamster species. As I said before in the previous post - if you want to have hamsters staying together then please get either these dwarf hamsters: Roborovski or Winter Whites. Please read the first page for more information click below: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/607217 |
Jan 12 2008, 07:50 PM
You will need to wait until the female hamster is in heat (something like period or haid). Then you would place the female or male in the same tank for an hour or so. The female would have gotten pregnant after that.
Are you really prepared to breed syrian hamsters? What is your purpose for breeding syrians in the first place? Profit from selling the babies? For fun? You will need alot of space for the new babies. Not just 1 tank or cage but a few tanks or cages. Also you will need to prepare food which consists of good hamster food, fresh veges, etc for the female syrian and her babies. After 4 weeks you need to separate the males and females in a cage and tank on its own. Or else they will fight and inbreeding will happen. Then you will get deformed syrians. Are you prepared for that? This post has been edited by blurjoey: Jan 12 2008, 07:58 PM |
Jan 12 2008, 08:01 PM
Sorry for being harsh but we do have some idiotic people here who doesn't think with the grey matter inbetween their ears.
Please read back the previous post which I have edited. And please breed if you are prepared for it and not for profit or whatsoever. |
Jan 12 2008, 08:53 PM
QUOTE(a13solut3 @ Jan 12 2008, 08:37 PM) Wow hamster can mass produce baby in just few weeks? I rather let them be alone than rather breed them.. Especially when do not noe how to breed them, will cause more casualty.. Yes which will also cause the female to have very short life span compared to 2+years without breeding the female so frequently. Not all pups will survive to be adults. The pups might get eaten by its mum or die on its own. |
Jan 12 2008, 11:18 PM
QUOTE(Enferno @ Jan 12 2008, 10:29 PM) after reading all the 6 pages, this hamster thread is one of the best in LYN. informative and not too many spams.. You should get a 2 feet tank instead of a habitrail tank. It is more roomy for 2-3 robos to run around.few years back, my family bought 5 syrian hamster and fit it all in a habitrail safari cage.. 2 male and 3 females.. since i'm not that grown up at that time, i dont really now that hamster will breed at such speed and everything messed up. i'm able to get few of them to grow and last for 2 years.. they live happily and passed away happily also, they have their own grave though side by side at my grandma's garden..lolx that was a 2 years of fun and satisfaction. and what you guys said is true. I have to buy 1 more cage to separate them. thats was few years ago. but after visiting pet family today to buy some dog stuffs, had a glance at the hamster section. those cute lil robo is cute, i'm poisoned!! arrgghh.. I want to start back this hobby.. not syrian anymore, i wan cuter ROBO. planing to get 2 or 3 though. any advise for a person who is starting back the hobby.. i need to get new cage though, i threw away the 2 old cages. can you guys give me a rough costs, habitrail mini, water bottle, lots of bedding?? where is the cheapest place to shop for all this? i live in puchong.. and ya, habitrail comes with the wheel? any other accessory included? thanks a lot guys!!! thanks I would recommend you go to Pet Shack in Sunway Mentari to get all your tank, bedding, etc. It's just behind McD. Service is excellent. You can get all the below from Pet Shack. Here is a rough of what you should get: 2 feet tank Pretige Hamster Food Bedding - Breeder Celect or Aspen or Corncob. Never get pine shavings as it is bad for small animals' lungs. Timothy Hay can use as bedding and food Wheel - Sanko Wild Silent Wheel for dwarfs or Habitrail Safari/Playground Wheel Hamster house wood or ceramic or plastic. Water bottle Hamster Toilet Toilet/bath sand Food bowl exercise ball anyway get the same sex for all 2-3 robos you are getting. This post has been edited by blurjoey: Jan 12 2008, 11:23 PM |
Jan 14 2008, 08:08 AM
I really pity the syrian in FoxFrost's care... Don't even know what type of hamster(s) he is having some more
Should learn from Soulx, do more research before getting a hamster. From his blog he is high school prefect trying to be tall, get to know more girls to impress more girls, make his hamster more energetic, etc??? This post has been edited by blurjoey: Jan 14 2008, 08:18 AM |
Jan 14 2008, 12:52 PM
Hun,
Plan to breed any them to continue their line? Hehehehe... |
Jan 15 2008, 10:11 AM
Here is JackJack eating a cashew nut in sangels' hand... So cute...
Also is Fumoffu sleeping in his nest of timothy hay, Healthy Pet and corncob bedding. Can you see his big testicles? |
Jan 15 2008, 11:57 AM
QUOTE(sOuLx @ Jan 15 2008, 11:52 AM) waa fumoffu testicles is humongous .. You should try giving a sand bathe. It helps with all my hammies. I give them a sand bathe once a week. JackJack doesn't like it though for me to tame my syrian, i always have one regular session with my hamster everyday.. when Montee woke up at night, i always put him on my bed. let him play around for awhile, let him familiarized with me ... for 10-15 minutes is enough. so funny looking at him moving around with his big ass.. once done, i always give him some treats.. now Montee dont bite me anymore...he will stay put in my palm, not trying to run away like before... but to my concern.. he is quite smelly nowadays.. i wonder why i changed his bedding once in 4 days.. but when i smell his body, there's some unpleasant odour.. not that strong unpleasant odour.. only can smell if i put my nose near his body.. |
Jan 15 2008, 03:35 PM
Well the 2 syrians I just put them in a small tank with bathing sand when we are cleaning their homes. Not together. Let them run around the tank and play with them about 10-15 mins.
Anyway JackJack doesn't smell much only Fumoffu. Not sure why but I think it is the 2 feet tank. Once open can smell all the dried pee smell. That is why we are mixing a few beddings together to hide the smell. JackJack is in ZooZone2 tank. Actually for GP, rabbits, and chins but using for syrian You can see the 3 tanks for the 4 hamsters we have. |
| Change to: | 0.7175sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:01 PM |