Chubby Hamsters V6, Sleeping furballs of Fun!
Enferno
Jan 12 2008, 10:29 PM
after reading all the 6 pages, this hamster thread is one of the best in LYN. informative and not too many spams..
few years back, my family bought 5 syrian hamster and fit it all in a habitrail safari cage.. 2 male and 3 females.. since i'm not that grown up at that time, i dont really now that hamster will breed at such speed and everything messed up. i'm able to get few of them to grow and last for 2 years.. they live happily and passed away happily also, they have their own grave though side by side at my grandma's garden..lolx
that was a 2 years of fun and satisfaction. and what you guys said is true. I have to buy 1 more cage to separate them. thats was few years ago.
but after visiting pet family today to buy some dog stuffs, had a glance at the hamster section. those cute lil robo is cute, i'm poisoned!! arrgghh.. I want to start back this hobby.. not syrian anymore, i wan cuter ROBO.
planing to get 2 or 3 though. any advise for a person who is starting back the hobby.. i need to get new cage though, i threw away the 2 old cages. can you guys give me a rough costs, habitrail mini, water bottle, lots of bedding?? where is the cheapest place to shop for all this? i live in puchong..
and ya, habitrail comes with the wheel? any other accessory included?
thanks a lot guys!!!
Enferno
Jan 13 2008, 08:55 PM
thannks for all the recommendation... abt the 2ft tank that been recommend, can it be modify to add in few habitrail add-ons like the ovvo,tunnels?? how much is the diff in price btw 2ft aqua tank with habitrail mini?? just asking for the price 1st as i might get a 2 mini and combine it..muahaha.. where do u guys put ur hammy, in ur bedroom or living or outside(i wun do that though)? if put in bedroom, will it stink if left for a week?? btw, toilet? still curious that how are they goin to use it, they know it is a toilet or i need to train(omg)!!!..definitely will buy some sandbath..
Enferno
Jan 16 2008, 12:34 AM
to all hamsters lover, i'm in this club d... today went to pet shack to check out their hams. the lady said they dun have much stock left. I'm a lucky man, i managed to get 2 Robos.
had some wild spending though:
Habitrail Safari( which i think the robo will not slip out of the cage) Habitrail bottle(with a fancy clip) Prestige Hamster food bedding Delikate Breeder Celect -cat litter Delikate sand bath Bengy hamster litter
and of course- 2 cute Roborovskis
i will try to post some photo later..they are still trying to learn the new environment.
Enferno
Jan 16 2008, 09:55 PM
  they are still quite shy. they have yet to try the wheel. I know there is a lot of bedding...haha..i just dun wan the cage to smell.. i mix the delikate bedding with breeder celect. for the toilet, the look-out will be their toilet, i put those hamster litter at that place.. yes,they really sleep there,poo there..haha  *edited* Robo is very tame..they have not bite me.. This post has been edited by Enferno: Jan 16 2008, 10:06 PM
Enferno
Jan 17 2008, 02:12 AM
blurjoey*
the bottle at that height is just fine..my robo manage to drink water.. now i'm planning to put add-ons and tunnels..
Enferno
Jan 17 2008, 08:51 PM
QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jan 17 2008, 09:04 AM) If he want to let go of her, I think she is better off back to Reanne as she was previous owner. I think the syrian might need extra care, who knows what have happened to her in FrostFox's care. Anyway don't think you can stand the smell of a syrian's tank in 5-7 days time. If you use a 2 feet tank even worst when you open the lid. I know how it smells like because Fumoffu is using the 2 feet tank and it stinks in less than 7 days  Added on January 17, 2008, 9:09 amIf you are looking for tubes for the safari, me and sangels got some habitrail mini tubes (which is suitable for robos) to sell. PM me or sangels if you are interested. Not using anymore cause it is really a pain to wash once a week as the robos will pee, poo, eat, and sleep inside the tubes. Also I have a ZooZone2 and a 2feet tank to wash also with the Habitrail Safari. Let you know what you are getting into first. after reading from what you said, cleaning is a problem for me..haha.. have to wash each tube... i will think abt it 1st..
Enferno
Jan 20 2008, 02:41 AM
i wonder why my 2 robo is so shy.. they dun play the wheel or let me touch them..they just eat,drink, hide or sleep..
they are like scared of my hand..<cry>
do i need to tame them? i'm spending quite sometime with them everyday. like what joan told me b4 i bought them,they are superactive,they don't run, they zoommmm...hard to touch them though..
Enferno
Jan 20 2008, 03:14 AM
from my past experience on syrian, they are easier to tame than robo. but last night there is a great leap though, i try to bring them to the wheel and after they smell my hand they just run as fast as they can on the wheel.. after 1 hour, they started to know that a wheellllll and it's fun to run on it.
time to feed them now..haha..supper..!!!
Enferno
Jan 21 2008, 10:09 PM
QUOTE(jamince @ Jan 21 2008, 05:51 PM) huh... i hope i can hold my robos on my hand.. they r scared of my hand, even i put some treats on my hand n let them come, they don come also.. there's 1 thing very weird.. b4 tat they have a ladder to upstairs. B4 tat they r thin so they can go thru the ladder, but now alrd fat, cant go thru n stuck in the middle.. when i saw it i quickly make them out then i close the back of the stairs wif some cardboard. of cos they can still climb it but dono y after 'renovating' their stairs, they don wanna go upstairs anymore. until i take off the cardboard then only they climb upstairs. any reason y? I cover like tis.. but now take off alrd.. i've used another method to cover the stairs.. hehe [attachmentid=384040] also, y they like to swing off the beddings to the corner? they don like the beddings? c my photo.. there's places without beddings cos they jus kick it off.. i have the same situation here.. very very hard to tame.. last night, one of the robo bite me,  , i think they dun like that.. strong bite, my finger bleed
Enferno
Jan 28 2008, 10:24 PM
i'm just wondering..what is the diff between wodent wheels with other wheel..i'm cool with safari wheel..
wodent cost a bomb.. might as well get another habitrail for hammy??
i'm just curious, don't shoot me like frostfox..lolx
Enferno
Jan 28 2008, 11:26 PM
QUOTE(abang brother @ Jan 28 2008, 10:39 PM)  Don't worry, as long as you don't harm your hammy, we won't harm you. haha...i know u ppls are niceeee... aha. so there is nothing special about that wheel. it just that there is no lobang. the safari wheel do have holes..luckily i saw my robo slip. so i taped the lobang..  Added on January 28, 2008, 11:31 pmyupp..once agaain..i forgot that most of the ppl here have syrians... giant and chubby syrian do need those big wheels.. i found that when my robo is running the safari wheel, they are like need extra effort to roll that wheel.. haha.. p/s: i still can't tame them..sometime let me touch them,sometime just zoom here and there when i try to get nearer to them.. i must put extra effort ... This post has been edited by Enferno: Jan 28 2008, 11:31 PM