Chubby Hamsters V6, Sleeping furballs of Fun!
abang brother
Jan 18 2008, 12:22 PM
QUOTE(sangels @ Jan 18 2008, 07:36 AM) Please read up the first page in crazymouse's post for more info as she wrote about hamster's care and also on breeding  Added on January 18, 2008, 7:39 am  How come only gave birth to 2??? I thought suppose to be more than that? Or the rest already got eaten  Please read up post #3 in page 1 for more info. Eh not 2. My sis say around 5 or something. but 2 left surviving... Read it already! xD
jayniel
Jan 18 2008, 12:31 PM
hi all, just bought a pearl ww from megamall.. vy cute n pretty but shy.. de guy thr told me she's only less than 1 month old, n i can c tat she's almost same size as my 3-weeks-old baby hammy.. de thing i'm puzzled is, how can she be separated from her mum at such a young age??i hope she wont be stunted..
abang brother
Jan 18 2008, 12:32 PM
I tot hamsters can be seperated after 21days?
janice_fun
Jan 18 2008, 01:02 PM
Hi everyone.. I'm quite new here.. Can ask? This actually happen 3 yrs ago.. I used to have 2 males + 1 female (regular drawf hamsters).. all siblings.. They continued to multiply and end up so many until gv away... (I know, kick me.. back then i didn't know bout inbreeding) They all have since died of natural death.. lived up to 2 yrs++.. and my mom still feels sad cuz she misses them so much... Out of the many litter.. Parents are grey and well.. dark grey.. the other sibling is brown.. came 1 very cute, all white red eyes male.. We had him for about 1week.. Then he started jumping like crazy inside the tank but he already did it for like 2 days so we thought he was fine.. So we went out for a few hours and went we came home.. he was dead.. The tank was clean, so much food and water.. got wheel to play.. the others were fine.. So my question is... can a hamster actually die from jumping too much?...I had a guinea pig which died from heart attack.. Can jumping lead to stress on the heart and cause heart attack?
GodLuvSxS
Jan 18 2008, 01:35 PM
Which brand of hamster food you guys feeding? I feed with the LM animal farms brand, any better alternative with better smell and greater nutri? If possible it's cheaper, i got 9 WW to feed LOL
jaswwp
Jan 18 2008, 02:47 PM
You can try living world classic.
dien
Jan 18 2008, 03:01 PM
i feed my hamsters habitral, prestige.. habitral much cheaper than prestige..
missgeek
Jan 18 2008, 04:05 PM
QUOTE(jayniel @ Jan 18 2008, 12:31 PM) hi all, just bought a pearl ww from megamall.. vy cute n pretty but shy.. de guy thr told me she's only less than 1 month old, n i can c tat she's almost same size as my 3-weeks-old baby hammy.. de thing i'm puzzled is, how can she be separated from her mum at such a young age??i hope she wont be stunted.. Mass breeder / hamster mills always send their stocks to petshop at early age, so that they can have more space for another litters. As you know they can breed again right after the birth, by 2 weeks she will give birth again, that's why the earlier batch needs to be send to petshop for sale already. Some people disagree in buying from petshops, I would say try not to... but I believe you just give a good chance to live happily for that winter white you just bought.
jayniel
Jan 18 2008, 05:35 PM
QUOTE(missgeek @ Jan 18 2008, 04:05 PM) Mass breeder / hamster mills always send their stocks to petshop at early age, so that they can have more space for another litters. As you know they can breed again right after the birth, by 2 weeks she will give birth again, that's why the earlier batch needs to be send to petshop for sale already. Some people disagree in buying from petshops, I would say try not to... but I believe you just give a good chance to live happily for that winter white you just bought.  actually din plan to buy 1.. but when c the pearls there..  .. hehe.. so i bought storage box, wheel,etc on de same day juz to put tat pearl.. i love it so much it's as white as snow~ ps/ i bought her for rm25.. is it ex? but cant prevent myself dy ahahaha...
sOuLx
Jan 18 2008, 05:58 PM
QUOTE(GodLuvSxS @ Jan 18 2008, 01:35 PM) Which brand of hamster food you guys feeding? I feed with the LM animal farms brand, any better alternative with better smell and greater nutri? If possible it's cheaper, i got 9 WW to feed LOL if you care so much about your hamster, find a good nutrition hamster food such Prestige or Harry Hamster.. if you want to cut the cost, just mix them with habitrail hamster food.. if you cant afford to give good food for your hamster, why bother to have 9 hamster?
GodLuvSxS
Jan 18 2008, 07:00 PM
QUOTE(sOuLx @ Jan 18 2008, 05:58 PM) if you care so much about your hamster, find a good nutrition hamster food such Prestige or Harry Hamster.. if you want to cut the cost, just mix them with habitrail hamster food.. if you cant afford to give good food for your hamster, why bother to have 9 hamster?  OMG does it really bother you that I seek for cheaper alternative but with better nutrition, I stated there if possible I hope it's cheaper, I did not said it's a must to get cheap one. I'm not looking to start a flamewar, but please try to be considerable!
dien
Jan 18 2008, 09:20 PM
QUOTE(GodLuvSxS @ Jan 18 2008, 08:00 PM) OMG does it really bother you that I seek for cheaper alternative but with better nutrition, I stated there if possible I hope it's cheaper, I did not said it's a must to get cheap one. I'm not looking to start a flamewar, but please try to be considerable! GodLuvSxS, relax.. jangan marah.. you can try mix prestige and habitral..
sangels
Jan 18 2008, 09:31 PM
QUOTE(GodLuvSxS @ Jan 18 2008, 07:00 PM) OMG does it really bother you that I seek for cheaper alternative but with better nutrition, I stated there if possible I hope it's cheaper, I did not said it's a must to get cheap one. I'm not looking to start a flamewar, but please try to be considerable! Let me give my suggestion here. You buy a cheaper brand hamster mixed and prestige and mix it together. Prestige is around RM18-RM19 per packet, it can last for few months as I have 2 robos and 2 Syrians. The packet I bought in November still left about half packet. You can also buy some fresh vege from places like Tesco or Carefour to feed them as it's cheap and high in nutri. Pack the fresh vege with air lock bag and keep in the fridge and it will be fresh even after a week. You can also give fruits when you have yours. Small hamster don't eat that much right? Give just a nice portion and not too much so that don't waste. You can try that as I feel that's quite economic also.
jayniel
Jan 18 2008, 10:34 PM
 i accidentally bought prestige chincilla nature for my hamsters  .. cos PLC sunway dun have hamster nature n i tot it's de same.. until i saw it sumwhere else..  they stil eat it anyway, altho i dunno they're forced to or reli like it.. btw, is habitrail staple food good enough for hamsters? saw it in jusco for only rm7.xx (2kg plus)
NewbieBetta
Jan 19 2008, 12:12 AM
issit with coloring nuts like green & red?
bontotalan
Jan 19 2008, 12:43 AM
i just got 2 new hamster...trying to bela them .... i think m cage is too small for them both....they like to transfer their food to upper stairs...... i just read cant be 1 female and 1 male...omg i made a mistake.... and my hamster bite me  ( .... then me afraid show hand...just show kuku....when show nails...they lick instead of bit and then loose intrest...
kembara
Jan 19 2008, 12:43 AM
some sifu in this thread said, habitrail is one of the best if compared to other cheap staple food e.g delikate etc. thats make me change from delikate to habitrail. like dien and some other forumer, i mixed habitrail with prestige, because cannot afford to feed prestige only to my hammies..(i had a syrian, pair of ww, five rc and pair of gerbil)
jayniel
Jan 19 2008, 01:01 AM
oic.. oh ya btw, can i separate hamsters at 21 days old? wanna put 1 of them separately to fatten it up.. she's so small sized compared to her brother..
abang brother
Jan 19 2008, 06:48 AM
Sob, sob...  My Timmy just got bitten by my cat then die.. Waaa!!! Yesterday just become a father, now, ..