CREDIT Card Thread v2, Everything about the world of plastic

kok_hui
post Feb 1 2008, 09:00 PM

439 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Feb 1 2008, 07:39 PM)
Have a very bad experience with CIMB DA. At first I was thrilled when I get my CIMB DA ATM PIN but ended up with total disappointment. I thought of associating it with my existing CIMBClicks account.

Let's me start from the beginning. At first I got this saving account (SA) and it comes with an ATM card that will charge me RM 8 annually. Then I opened a CIMBClicks with this ATM card. Recently, I cancelled this 1st ATM card and opened a basic saving account (BSA) since it won't suck RM 8 every year. However, I couldn't remember the PIN I assigned for the 2nd ATM card and it has been blocked after 3 times. I couldn't associate this 2nd ATM card with the existing CIMBClicks and if I really need to the association, I have to pay RM 12 to get a new PIN or a new card. Here comes the real part, I applied CIMB DA so that I thought I could associate it to the existing CIMBClicks account. After got the PIN yesterday and generated a e-PIN, I realized that I couldn't gain any access. Gave a call to CIMBClicks CS and guess what they said.

They said it's different account category - ATM is deposit account and DA is credit card. Therefore, I couldn't associate CIMB DA CC to my exisiting CIMBClicks account. Fine and then I asked if I could cancel/terminate the existing CIMBClicks account for security purpose and it's meaningless to me as I couldn't view the details of SA, BSA and CIMB DA details unless I pay RM 12 for it. They said my CIMBClicks account is considered suspended but it's not terminated and somehow, it could still be activated. They said if I really want to terminate this existing CIMBClicks account, I need to provide them with my 1st ATM card number which god knows what is since I have returned to the home branch.

What's a great system. Totally inefficent as compared to M2U. I'll proceed with cancelling the SA, BSA and CIMBClicks account from now. They also said that if I wanted to view my CIMB DA details online (including statement and etc), I have to register a brand new CIMBClicks account. I was WTH. I have to maintain two accounts which sound ridiculous to me.

After this enjoyable call in the morning, I called CIMB DA CS to ask if I could cancel the CIMB DA ATM facility for security purpose since I got the PIN and generated a e-PIN. This PIN also allows to perform a cash advance. They asked me to suspend the facility by enterring the PIN wrongly for 3 times. I asked after I did this and in the future if I need the cash advance facility, could I able to request for a new PIN. They said cannot and I have to cancel this DA card and get a new replacement card.

What a pleasant morning to go through with CIMB and CIMB DA CS.
The CIMBClick that I opened with my savings account also can't see credit card, I asked the CS, and they told me to apply pin number for the credit card then it will appear inside. I already applied the pin number last week, now waiting for the pin, hope it is true, if not, I have to register another CIMBClick account. The credit card call centre really bad, only at 8:00am got ppl answer the call, after 8:30am, no ppl answer call already, I think I going to cancel the credit card and savings account few months later since I rarely use the savings account, it has been idle for several years and becomes inactive account now, lazy to go activate it.

This post has been edited by kok_hui: Feb 1 2008, 09:00 PM
SUSDavid83
post Feb 1 2008, 09:13 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(kok_hui @ Feb 1 2008, 09:00 PM)
The CIMBClick that I opened with my savings account also can't see credit card, I asked the CS, and they told me to apply pin number for the credit card then it will appear inside. I already applied the pin number last week, now waiting for the pin, hope it is true, if not, I have to register another CIMBClick account. The credit card call centre really bad, only at 8:00am got ppl answer the call, after 8:30am, no ppl answer call already, I think I going to cancel the credit card and savings account few months later since I rarely use the savings account, it has been idle for several years and becomes inactive account now, lazy to go activate it.
I seldom use CIMB SA and that's why I cancelled the associated ATM card in order to prevent CIMB from sucking RM 8 every year. I opened BSA for usual deposit transasctions and god knows that I have forgotten my PIN. doh.gif

I'm still thinking should I register another CIMBClicks account in order just to view/monitor my CIMB DA transactions online.

This post has been edited by David83: Feb 1 2008, 09:14 PM
vin_ann
post Feb 1 2008, 09:38 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Feb 1 2008, 10:10 AM)
they open 24/7
I went there yesterday...and they told me the requirements are thougher. Need to bring all the old documents back there and apply. Unless you ady had your credit card for 2 years and above.
then i will wait for another few months to use my 2 years old CC.

btw, the citibank gold card tht i received is only offer me RM4,500 credit limits.
the CS called me and asked whether i got received it o not.

and she asking why im still not yet activate the card, since it is waiver for 3 years, more credit limits and bla bla bla...
whose know only offered RM4,500.

then i asked, whether i can increased my clear card credit limit in stead of upgrade to gold card, she said the gold card is an promotion thing for me. she just aviod answering my questions.
Aeon_Clock
post Feb 1 2008, 10:11 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

well, since its an upgrade it should have been increased credit limit as well isn't it? Otherwise it wouldn't be an upgrade at all. Unless there's something else they're looking at here...like maybe your income?

oh yea...that free for life promo may not be available for long. If the promo is here to stay, then I'm sure other banks will start doing the same with new cards and all.
hye
post Feb 1 2008, 10:21 PM

White Tiger
3,397 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Feb 1 2008, 10:11 PM)
well, since its an upgrade it should have been increased credit limit as well isn't it? Otherwise it wouldn't be an upgrade at all. Unless there's something else they're looking at here...like maybe your income?

Yup, a card upgrade should be followed with a credit limit upgrade as well. Recently, I was offered a card upgrade from SCB but it didn't come with a credit limit upgrade plus the condition of the offer is that I must keep 2 cards to enjoy the offer. I didn't buy into this offer and canceled the card afterwards. (I didn't activate the new card and terminated the old card) It was already on my list of cards to cancel, so I merely executed it.

oh yea...that free for life promo may not be available for long. If the promo is here to stay, then I'm sure other banks will start doing the same with new cards and all.
I'm optimistic about the free for life promo. Probably other banks is playing the wait and see game before deciding on their next strategy. I remembered it was the DA cards which revolutionized the Malaysian cc market with their free for life offering. None of the current cc back then had this offer and after DA came into the market, you see a lot of the banks changing their model.

Do you know that the CIMB Head of CC Business (Both for CIMB and DA cards) was formerly the head of SBB DA CC ? (If I'm not mistaken lah)

ronnie
post Feb 1 2008, 10:30 PM

Not enough stars
21,332 posts

Credit limit is based on annual income, right ?

Added on February 1, 2008, 10:33 pm
QUOTE(David83 @ Feb 1 2008, 08:45 PM)
I thought it should work the same way like Bonuslink whereby you put your Mesra/RealRewards card 1st before inserting your MBB or any CC.
Petronas system is put credit card first, followed by Kad Mesra/Real Rewards.... inverse from Shell+Bonuslink

This post has been edited by ronnie: Feb 1 2008, 10:33 PM
Aeon_Clock
post Feb 2 2008, 12:05 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Feb 1 2008, 10:30 PM)
Credit limit is based on annual income, right ?
not necessarily...my credit limit was increased all of a sudden but I didn't get any salary increase sad.gif

QUOTE(ronnie @ Feb 1 2008, 10:30 PM)
Petronas system is put credit card first, followed by Kad Mesra/Real Rewards.... inverse from Shell+Bonuslink
Petronas card will give points...but Mesra won't. Hmm, didn't think about RR. RR and Mesra points same or not?
SUSDavid83
post Feb 2 2008, 03:19 AM

52,874 posts

Initial credit limit offered is based on your annual income. After that, it may be determined by spending pattern or upon card holder request.
SUSDavid83
post Feb 2 2008, 08:57 AM

52,874 posts

50,000 users targeted annually for new card

PETALING JAYA: AEON Credit Service (M) Bhd expects to sign up 50,000 cardholders for its newly launched CRUIZE Visa credit card annually over the next three years, managing director Kuroda Naruhito said.

The target could be achieved, given that the credit card would be offered to existing Automobile Association of Malaysia (AAM) members and promoted nationwide, he said.

"Besides advertising, we are promoting the card at various PLUS locations (rest areas along the highway) for the coming holidays as well as the advantages of being an AAM member," he told reporters after the card launch yesterday.

Naruhito added that the two-pronged strategy would help AEON Credit and AAM increase their card and membership base respectively.

"It is important for us to work with strategic partners with a large retail base from which we can further enhance customer benefit and create a win-win situation for all parties," Naruhito said.

AEON Credit has a base of about 100,000 cardholders while AAM has 160,000 members. The association aims to draw one million road users as members.

New card members would also be able to enjoy waivers on AAM's joining fees and annual fees on the credit card for the first year.

"CRUIZE cardholders will also enjoy benefits such as free towing, a special accident care programme, discounts and privileges from motoring participating merchant brands such as Brother's car accessories, Cars International and Motor Trader," Naruhito said.

In conjunction with the launch, AEON Credit also unveiled its AEON Touch 'n Go Zing card linked to the CRUIZE Visa or any other AEON credit card.

"Our credit cards automatically reload the AEON Zing card whenever the balance falls below RM50," Naruhito said.

AEON Credit card business and marketing group general manager Stephen De Souza said the company was targeting to launch three more credit cards in similar tie-ups with reputable merchants before the end of the year.

URL: http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...72&sec=business
hye
post Feb 2 2008, 09:15 AM

White Tiger
3,397 posts

I'm not a big fan of AEON cards as they lost my payment to them before. I even sent over a copy of my proof of payment to them and they deny the payment reaching them even after showing them the proof. (I paid via bank transfer, all the bank-in information is correct)

2 months of endless arguments and no conclusion. mad.gif In the end, I gave up ... paid whatever they claim was due (it means I paid double) and canceled the card with no hesitation. Thank goodness the transaction was less than RM50 as I was skeptical about them back then and wanted to try out the card with a small transaction first.

It is perhaps the one cc provider that I will never return to nor recommend anyone getting it. vmad.gif rclxub.gif I've heard similar feedback from my friends who share the same experience while using this card. Anyone here experienced the same thing?

This post has been edited by hye: Feb 2 2008, 09:17 AM
WaCKy-Angel
post Feb 2 2008, 09:46 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

Hmm Petronas Card wont get points for Mesra card?

Btw how about UOB then?
My math sux somebody help me to calculate...
Last month total card usage is RM493.68
And RM146 for GSC (2%) means the remaining all used for BHPetrol (5%).
And the Smart$ earned is RM15.34 that means i get points too eventhough i also got use BHP own point card
tiger63
post Feb 2 2008, 09:51 AM

40 posts

I submitted my application for the Maybank Petronas Visa card yesterday. Hopefully I will receive good news in 2 weeks time tongue.gif I have been a Maybank Visa Classic cardholder for the past 13 years and so far I am very satisfied with their service. The reason why I use Maybank credit card is because of ease of payment. I can pay thru ATM, CDM, CQM, Counter, M2U & M2U Mobile. Furthermore they have the largest base of merchants offering EzyPay which I really find useful. I have bought a camera, refrigerator and PC using this scheme.

I also like their Hotspots concept where you can visit any of their Hotspots merchants and redeem your TreatsPoints against any product carried by that particular merchant and everything is done ON THE SPOT. Beats having to fill the redemption form and waiting 4-6 weeks for the product to arrive and even then still keeping your fingers crossed that the product is not damaged!!

On a final note..it is not everyday that Maybank offers you a product for free tongue.gif. So grab it while it is still available.
WaCKy-Angel
post Feb 2 2008, 09:53 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(tiger63 @ Feb 2 2008, 09:51 AM)
I submitted my application for the Maybank Petronas Visa card yesterday. Hopefully I will receive good news in 2 weeks time  tongue.gif  I have been a Maybank Visa Classic cardholder for the past 13 years and so far I am very satisfied with their service. The reason why I use Maybank credit card  is because of ease of payment. I can pay thru ATM, CDM, CQM, Counter, M2U & M2U Mobile. Furthermore they have the largest base of merchants offering EzyPay which I really find useful. I have bought a camera, refrigerator and PC using this scheme.

I also like their Hotspots concept where you can visit any of their Hotspots merchants and redeem your TreatsPoints against any product carried by that particular merchant and everything is done ON THE SPOT. Beats having to fill the redemption form and waiting 4-6 weeks for the product to arrive and even then still keeping your fingers crossed that the product is not damaged!!

On a final note..it is not everyday that Maybank offers you a product for free  tongue.gif. So grab it while it is still available.
I wan to stress.....90% or even more that Maybank never give offers or free gift...
Im different tongue.gif i give out of my own pocket...
SUSDavid83
post Feb 2 2008, 09:56 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Feb 2 2008, 09:53 AM)
I wan to stress.....90% or even more that Maybank never give offers or free gift...
Im different tongue.gif i give out of my own pocket...
Maybank doesn't give free gift when you apply cards with them. But I saw they offer things when renew insurance with them, get loan products (house/hire purchase) and etc.
Aeon_Clock
post Feb 2 2008, 10:34 AM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Feb 2 2008, 09:15 AM)
I'm not a big fan of AEON cards as they lost my payment to them before. I even sent over a copy of my proof of payment to them and they deny the payment reaching them even after showing them the proof. (I paid via bank transfer, all the bank-in information is correct)

2 months of endless arguments and no conclusion.  mad.gif In the end, I gave up ... paid whatever they claim was due (it means I paid double) and canceled the card with no hesitation. Thank goodness the transaction was less than RM50 as I was skeptical about them back then and wanted to try out the card with a small transaction first.

It is perhaps the one cc provider that I will never return to nor recommend anyone getting it.  vmad.gif  rclxub.gif I've heard similar feedback from my friends who share the same experience while using this card. Anyone here experienced the same thing?
just wondering...what kind of proof you showed to them? Usually its more difficult to prove an internet transaction...

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Feb 2 2008, 09:46 AM)
Hmm Petronas Card wont get points for Mesra card?

Btw how about UOB then?
My math sux somebody help me to calculate...
Last month total card usage is RM493.68
And RM146 for GSC (2%) means the remaining all used for BHPetrol (5%).
And the Smart$ earned is RM15.34 that means i get points too eventhough i also got use BHP own point card
Petronas card user won't get Mesra points...not card. You can still use the card for other things like the Supercar Bonanza. And maybe Real Rewards points. Actually I didn't know there was any mesra points before...

I believe no other cards give points for using at petrol station. UOB if I'm not mistaken...give you rebate only. Never mentioned about points.

hye
post Feb 2 2008, 10:49 AM

White Tiger
3,397 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Feb 2 2008, 10:34 AM)
just wondering...what kind of proof you showed to them? Usually its more difficult to prove an internet transaction...
It's the completed successful transaction snapshot from my Internet Banking facility. It shows the amount transferred, account no transferred to, time & date. They could have made the effort to trace but they didn't. To me, it proves their inefficiency and this kind of mistake is intolerable - losing a customer's payment.

I could have reported them to BNM but for that small transaction - I figured the effort is far more than the value of the transaction.

This post has been edited by hye: Feb 2 2008, 11:00 AM
vin_ann
post Feb 2 2008, 11:06 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Feb 2 2008, 08:57 AM)
50,000 users targeted annually for new card

PETALING JAYA: AEON Credit Service (M) Bhd expects to sign up 50,000 cardholders for its newly launched CRUIZE Visa credit card annually over the next three years, managing director Kuroda Naruhito said.

The target could be achieved, given that the credit card would be offered to existing Automobile Association of Malaysia (AAM) members and promoted nationwide, he said.

"Besides advertising, we are promoting the card at various PLUS locations (rest areas along the highway) for the coming holidays as well as the advantages of being an AAM member," he told reporters after the card launch yesterday.

Naruhito added that the two-pronged strategy would help AEON Credit and AAM increase their card and membership base respectively.

"It is important for us to work with strategic partners with a large retail base from which we can further enhance customer benefit and create a win-win situation for all parties," Naruhito said.

AEON Credit has a base of about 100,000 cardholders while AAM has 160,000 members. The association aims to draw one million road users as members.

New card members would also be able to enjoy waivers on AAM's joining fees and annual fees on the credit card for the first year.

"CRUIZE cardholders will also enjoy benefits such as free towing, a special accident care programme, discounts and privileges from motoring participating merchant brands such as Brother's car accessories, Cars International and Motor Trader," Naruhito said.

In conjunction with the launch, AEON Credit also unveiled its AEON Touch 'n Go Zing card linked to the CRUIZE Visa or any other AEON credit card.

"Our credit cards automatically reload the AEON Zing card whenever the balance falls below RM50," Naruhito said.

AEON Credit card business and marketing group general manager Stephen De Souza said the company was targeting to launch three more credit cards in similar tie-ups with reputable merchants before the end of the year.

URL: http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...72&sec=business
those merchant are not in my spending habit. - out.

im really "kena cha" by this statement... other CC also offer auto reload la... some more RM2 charged for each auto reload... rclxub.gif
Aeon_Clock
post Feb 2 2008, 12:38 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Feb 2 2008, 10:49 AM)
It's the completed successful transaction snapshot from my Internet Banking facility. It shows the amount transferred, account no transferred to, time & date. They could have made the effort to trace but they didn't. To me, it proves their inefficiency and this kind of mistake is intolerable - losing a customer's payment.

I could have reported them to BNM but for that small transaction - I figured the effort is far more than the value of the transaction.
well, it sounds like they didn't even bother looking at your transaction proof. Followed by your bank statement, it should have been enough to prove that you did make the payment...anyway its good that you cancelled that card. Its really useless tongue.gif
SUSDavid83
post Feb 2 2008, 02:18 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Feb 2 2008, 11:06 AM)
those merchant are not in my spending habit. - out.

im really "kena cha" by this statement... other CC also offer auto reload la... some more RM2 charged for each auto reload...  rclxub.gif
They're telling the potential card holders that they're also offering the same feature too.
WaCKy-Angel
post Feb 2 2008, 02:20 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(Aeon_Clock @ Feb 2 2008, 10:34 AM)
Petronas card user won't get Mesra points...not card. You can still use the card for other things like the Supercar Bonanza. And maybe Real Rewards points. Actually I didn't know there was any mesra points before...

I believe no other cards give points for using at petrol station. UOB if I'm not mistaken...give you rebate only. Never mentioned about points.
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

I meant im getting UOB rebates and also BHPetrol point when using their card...

126 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0291sec    0.93    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 08:34 PM