CREDIT Card Thread v2, Everything about the world of plastic

tiger63
post Jan 29 2008, 07:39 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 29 2008, 06:35 PM)
The new Petronas Maybankard Visa! The fastest way to earn FREE petrol!

http://www.maybank2u.com.my/consumer/onlin...nas/about.shtml
I am going to apply for the Petronas Maybankard Visa tomorrow!!! Woohoo
tiger63
post Jan 31 2008, 07:31 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 30 2008, 01:16 PM)
This 5x Treat Points is only available for any purchases made at Petronas with this Petronas card. The promotion starts from 1st February to 31st July 2008.
After the promotion period ending 31st July 2008, you will still earn 1 Treats Points for every 1 ringgit you spend at Petronas stations provided you pay with your Maybank Petronas Visa Card lah. rclxms.gif
tiger63
post Jan 31 2008, 11:03 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 31 2008, 09:57 PM)
Did they state that in the website?
It is not stated on the website. I obtained the info from a Maybanker.
tiger63
post Jan 31 2008, 11:45 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jan 31 2008, 11:18 PM)
can define what is Maybanker? person who based in the Maybank?
Maybanker = Maybank staff. tongue.gif
tiger63
post Feb 2 2008, 09:51 AM

40 posts

I submitted my application for the Maybank Petronas Visa card yesterday. Hopefully I will receive good news in 2 weeks time tongue.gif I have been a Maybank Visa Classic cardholder for the past 13 years and so far I am very satisfied with their service. The reason why I use Maybank credit card is because of ease of payment. I can pay thru ATM, CDM, CQM, Counter, M2U & M2U Mobile. Furthermore they have the largest base of merchants offering EzyPay which I really find useful. I have bought a camera, refrigerator and PC using this scheme.

I also like their Hotspots concept where you can visit any of their Hotspots merchants and redeem your TreatsPoints against any product carried by that particular merchant and everything is done ON THE SPOT. Beats having to fill the redemption form and waiting 4-6 weeks for the product to arrive and even then still keeping your fingers crossed that the product is not damaged!!

On a final note..it is not everyday that Maybank offers you a product for free tongue.gif. So grab it while it is still available.
tiger63
post Feb 7 2008, 09:00 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Feb 6 2008, 11:20 PM)
This little problem is well mentioned in many threads. Well, the banks makes just 2-2.5% from the merchant, surely it's eventually unsustainable to give you the 4% rebate.
Due to intense competition among banks merchant fees are on the downtrend. On average banks are charging between 1.6% - 1.8% for big merchants. Big merchants are those which can generate RM100,000-00 or more of credit card sales per month.

Bear in mind that the acquiring bank (bank providing the credit card terminal) does not pocket 100% of the merchant fee. For every transaction the acquiring bank needs to pay Visa/Mastercard 0.2% for using their infrastructure. And if the credit card being used for the transaction belongs to a different bank (not credit card issued by the acquiring bank) the acquiring bank has to pay 1.2% to the bank that issued that credit card. So in this scenario the acquiring bank's revenue is only 0.2% if the merchant fee charged is 1.6%.

So merchant acquiring business is basically a volume game. In Malaysia the major players in merchant acquiring business are Maybank and MBF.
tiger63
post Feb 12 2008, 11:25 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Feb 12 2008, 11:05 PM)
I don't think that there's any hidden fee.

By the way, who has got or starting to use Maybank Petronas Visa CC?
The Maybank Petronas Visa card has no hidden fee and no conditon whatsoever. It is FREE FOR LIFE. PERIOD.

I just called the Maybank Card Centre today and was told that my application is being processed. Keeping my fingers crossed.
tiger63
post Feb 18 2008, 07:40 PM

40 posts

I called the Maybank Card Centre today and was informed that Maybank Petronas Visa card has been approved smile.gif) Woohoo Looking forward to 5X treats points when I pump and pay at Petronas.

Added on February 18, 2008, 7:49 pm
QUOTE(David83 @ Feb 18 2008, 02:39 PM)
This is not so true for me. My application for Petronas-MBB Visa CC takes so long (reaching 2 weeks) even though I got MBB Visa Classic.
I was talking to a credit card processing officer today (was checking on the status of my Maybank Petronas Visa card application) and she told me they have received so many applications that processing time will stretch to 3 weeks from the normal 2 weeks. So if you have applied for one..please be patient wink.gif

This post has been edited by tiger63: Feb 18 2008, 07:49 PM
tiger63
post Feb 20 2008, 07:42 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(alex_cyw1985 @ Feb 20 2008, 04:21 PM)

I applied the Maybank Petronas CC 2 weeks ago, yday i login into my maybank2u, i saw the credit card in my account details,

but i havent receive the card, should i call the CS for confirmation?
Same here. I also applied 2 weeks ago and the card is already linked to my M2U even though I havent received the card. That's what I call efficiency biggrin.gif Bravo Maybank
tiger63
post Feb 20 2008, 08:00 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Feb 20 2008, 07:46 PM)
Some forumer said that the application is very overwhelming.
I was told by a Maybank staff that the response to the Maybank Petronas Visa is indeed overwhelming. He said that Maybank had set a target of 250,000 NEW card members for the first 12 months and as of today a total of 150,000 applications had been received!!! I dont know whether he was pulling my leg.
tiger63
post Feb 25 2008, 08:09 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(siutimtim @ Feb 25 2008, 06:07 PM)
my cousin just received the maybank petronas card and credit limit is only rm15k... what is the credit limit normally maybank give to their card holders ?

What limit you guys offered by maybank for the petronas card ??? if my pay is only 2k, what is the limit i will likely get ? Will I get about RM10k from this card ??
I received my Maybank Petronas Visa card today and they increased my limit to RM10K. Prior to this I was holding a Maybank Visa Classic card with credit limit of RM8K. So I m happy they increased my limit without me even asking for it. Tats what I call customer centric.
tiger63
post Mar 2 2008, 10:17 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 1 2008, 11:35 PM)
For those who have existing MBB CC and just got the new Petronas Visa CC, is the new Petronas Visa sharing the same statement date?

By the way, I just submitted an application to increase my credit limit of my MBB Petronas Visa CC since it is share the same credit limit as my MBB Visa Classic. Hope they'll process and approve it.
My MBB Petronas Visa card has the same statement date n payment due date as my existing MBB cards.
tiger63
post May 1 2008, 08:20 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(hye @ May 1 2008, 01:27 AM)
It's an individual preference my friend. Both are more or less the same but maybe you have a preference in mind that you like better than the other. Some prefer the M2U factor in terms of payment but if you ask me ... you can use GIRO interbank transfer to pay for the cc bill, so it doesn't matter if you don't mind the RM2 fee.

Right now I think perhaps the obvious difference is the processing time .... you could get the CIMB card faster than the Petronas card. And if you are using the card locally most of the time then shouldn't be a problem either way.  Unless if you intends to use the card outside of the country most of the time then I'll suggest you to get a card issued by an international bank and consider VISA instead of Mastercard.
Its true that the processing time for Maybank Petronas Visa takes about 1 month. This is because of the overwhelming response to this card. My insider source told me that till today more than 200,000 applications have been received.

I have never had any problem using my Maybank CC in Australia and Europe. However it is advisable to inform your bank prior to your overseas trip so that you dont encounter any embarrassing situation when trying to use your CC overseas. Your transaction may not go through if you fail to inform your bank.

0.0217sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:19 PM