495 Pages « < 236 237 238 239 240 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V42, READ 1ST PAGE FOR RELEVANT WIFI INFO!

emy_xvidia
post Aug 27 2024, 02:47 AM

2,735 posts

I will try to see whether can get the DLink 2.5Gbe, set it up as a bridge mode to my 2.5G wired backhaul. If some here says by setting up the ONE as bridge mode would still limit the speed to 940Mbps is true then might as well use my Huawei BTU back and keep the DLink as spare part until next and newer ONU comes.
Jjuggler
post Aug 27 2024, 08:45 AM

Narcissistic Genius
1,342 posts

QUOTE(The.Lucas.DaY @ Aug 26 2024, 09:25 PM)
I flashed it with openwrt but max speed can't go above 150mbps, mine is 300 mbps plan,  dunno why. And 1 of my phone connected but no internet access, others is working.
The test was done via wireless or over wired connections?

danielyeap
post Aug 27 2024, 10:53 AM

96 posts

Done the 1Gbps upgrade yesterday!
Received the Skyworth ComboBox (facepalm!).
Decided to switch back to my old and trusty Huawei (in bridge mode) and it works right away (the TM guys were very nice to stay back to verify with me lol).

No plan to upgrade my home LAN to 2.5/10G just yet, so happy to get the 100Mbps less than ideal speed smile.gif

blacktubi
post Aug 27 2024, 11:01 AM

-
8,418 posts

QUOTE(danielyeap @ Aug 27 2024, 10:53 AM)
Done the 1Gbps upgrade yesterday!
Received the Skyworth ComboBox (facepalm!).
Decided to switch back to my old and trusty Huawei (in bridge mode) and it works right away (the TM guys were very nice to stay back to verify with me lol).

No plan to upgrade my home LAN to 2.5/10G just yet, so happy to get the 100Mbps less than ideal speed smile.gif
Wait, they are giving Skyworth for 1Gbps users now?

1Gbps users should be getting the D-Link with 2.5G LAN port.
Neptern
post Aug 27 2024, 11:16 AM

518 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Aug 27 2024, 11:01 AM)
Wait, they are giving Skyworth for 1Gbps users now?

1Gbps users should be getting the D-Link with 2.5G LAN port.
I did the upgrade last Saturday. The installer gave me the black dlink router with 2.5g port.
Cavino
post Aug 27 2024, 11:36 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(Neptern @ Aug 27 2024, 11:16 AM)
I did the upgrade last Saturday. The installer gave me the black dlink router with 2.5g port.
Me same time upgrade. After 1 or 2 days (don't know when exactly), the bandwidth drop permanently to 300+Mbps under ookla speedtest using bridging. Have to reboot after get reminded by other posters on yesterday, to recover the speed back to 900+Mbps.

Do you do bridging? if yes, after a couple of days, did the bandwidth drop?
specky94
post Aug 27 2024, 01:12 PM

126 posts

Hello guys, i just received call form TM, they asked me about an upgrade which is modem and router lah. Also they said no payment main after the installation for 3 month. Is that legit? Just curious. Someone explain?
OKLY
post Aug 27 2024, 01:23 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Aug 27 2024, 11:36 AM)
Me same time upgrade. After 1 or 2 days (don't know when exactly), the bandwidth drop permanently to 300+Mbps under ookla speedtest using bridging. Have to reboot after get reminded by other posters on yesterday, to recover the speed back to 900+Mbps.

So far my black D-Link ONR bridged with my ASUS RT-AX86U is going fine. The ONR has been up/connected for 72 hours now, still hitting above 900mbps. Total data transfer has been about 300GB during this time.

Hope I don’t jinx it, will need to continuously monitor.
blacktubi
post Aug 27 2024, 01:30 PM

-
8,418 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Aug 27 2024, 01:23 PM)
So far my black D-Link ONR bridged with my ASUS RT-AX86U is going fine. The ONR has been up/connected for 72 hours now, still hitting above 900mbps. Total data transfer has been about 300GB during this time.

Hope I don’t jinx it, will need to continuously monitor.
What's the model of your modem previously?

Currently, the speed drop seems to only affect areas with Fiberhome OLT.

If you have a Huawei modem previously, your location is almost always 100% on a Huawei OLT. The D-Link combo ONR works well with Huawei modem.
OKLY
post Aug 27 2024, 01:33 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Aug 27 2024, 01:30 PM)

If you have a Huawei modem previously, your location is almost always 100% on a Huawei OLT. The D-Link combo ONR works well with Huawei modem.
I see, this probably explains it. Yes was given/using Huawei HG8240w previously.
Neptern
post Aug 27 2024, 01:37 PM

518 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Aug 27 2024, 11:36 AM)

I will try to do the bridging later. I am still using my huawei onu.
blacktubi
post Aug 27 2024, 01:40 PM

-
8,418 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Aug 27 2024, 01:33 PM)
I see, this probably explains it. Yes was given/using Huawei HG8240w previously.
The issue with TM-Huawei infra is the speed seems to be capped at around 940Mbps for most 1Gbps users.

Which means, despite having 2.5G port on the the D-Link ONR, it offers no additional benefits over your old Huawei modem.

In fact, the Huawei HG8240 modem might be better with slightly lower latency and lower heat.
OKLY
post Aug 27 2024, 01:52 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Aug 27 2024, 01:40 PM)
The issue with TM-Huawei infra is the speed seems to be capped at around 940Mbps for most 1Gbps users.

Which means, despite having 2.5G port on the the D-Link ONR, it offers no additional benefits over your old Huawei modem.

In fact, the Huawei HG8240 modem might be better with slightly lower latency and lower heat.
I know it doesn’t happen often realistically, but what I’m thinking is that if there is concurrent DL and UL of say 700mbps and 400mbps respectively, then the 1GBe port on the Huawei modem will be a bottleneck, am I right to say this?

Either way, let’s see how long this D-Link ONR can go without any issues. laugh.gif
blacktubi
post Aug 27 2024, 02:02 PM

-
8,418 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Aug 27 2024, 01:52 PM)
I know it doesn’t happen often realistically, but what I’m thinking is that if there is concurrent DL and UL of say 700mbps and 400mbps respectively, then the 1GBe port on the Huawei modem will be a bottleneck, am I right to say this?

Either way, let’s see how long this D-Link ONR can go without any issues. laugh.gif
It's actually a very valid concern.

The Gigabit Ethernet port on the Huawei is full duplex which means it can transmit 1Gbps up and down at the same time. Same goes to most Gigabit devices in the market.

Do report back if you face any issues on the D-Link. biggrin.gif

Cavino
post Aug 27 2024, 02:22 PM

842 posts

But I'm using Huawei ONU previously. Still dropped. Only 4th day since installation. Since I reboot yesterday night only, will monitor if it dropped again tonight or these few days. If it does, I will switch back Huawei modem. Tested yesterday with Huawei modem, luckily can plug and play without issue and maintain the 940Mbps and below speed.

Still always have to worry if the old modem aged or fail eventually and the DLink ONR is not working well as bridge, what to do.
danielyeap
post Aug 27 2024, 03:11 PM

96 posts

Hi guys, any idea if there's any reliable 3rd party ONU/ONR that can work with this Unifi 1G (or beyond)?

This post has been edited by danielyeap: Aug 27 2024, 03:11 PM
OKLY
post Aug 27 2024, 03:16 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,090 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Aug 27 2024, 02:02 PM)
It's actually a very valid concern.

The Gigabit Ethernet port on the Huawei is full duplex which means it can transmit 1Gbps up and down at the same time. Same goes to most Gigabit devices in the market.

Do report back if you face any issues on the D-Link. biggrin.gif
Then my concerns are no longer an issue. The moment my D-Link shows sign of the common symptom, I’ll just switch back to the Huawei ONU.

QUOTE(Cavino @ Aug 27 2024, 02:22 PM)
But I'm using Huawei ONU previously. Still dropped. Only 4th day since installation. Since I reboot yesterday night only, will monitor if it dropped again tonight or these few days. If it does, I will switch back Huawei modem. Tested yesterday with Huawei modem, luckily can plug and play without issue and maintain the 940Mbps and below speed.

Still always have to worry if the old modem aged or fail eventually and the DLink ONR is not working well as bridge, what to do.
You just need to hope that TM resolves it by the time your modem dies so that you can use the D-Link without any issues.

QUOTE(danielyeap @ Aug 27 2024, 03:11 PM)
Hi guys, any idea if there's any reliable 3rd party ONU/ONR that can work with this Unifi 1G (or beyond)?

I guess the best bet now would be a GPON stick solution by Anime4000.

This post has been edited by OKLY: Aug 27 2024, 03:21 PM
outdoorxplorer
post Aug 27 2024, 04:56 PM

~Money Only Bring Pleasures When You Spent It WISELY!~
2,028 posts

800 Mbps upgraded to 1Gbps yesterday with black HW. Today speed dropped to 300Mbps. Looks like gotta move back to white HW.
Epic_winner091
post Aug 27 2024, 06:11 PM

339 posts

I think my area is Fiberhome as our two prior ONUs were Fiberhome.

Knock on wood speeds are pretty great. I can hit 997 Mbps on my phone if I stand like a foot away lol.
laihuhng
post Aug 27 2024, 06:25 PM

603 posts

Anyone has tried to mesh Black and White ONR? Will it work?

495 Pages « < 236 237 238 239 240 > » Top

0.0209sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:11 PM