49 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Bottom

Bike Gear Talk, ATGATT? gloves, boots, pants etc.

alexei
post Feb 7 2023, 02:14 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Feb 7 2023, 01:43 PM)
race to the bottom. Nothing beats leather.
Worst is the PU material. All start to crack and peel after a year.
I was surprised also, but here's what I found:

Dainese D1 boots - main material are synthetics [D-stone is nylon]

Alpinestars Supertech R boots [microfiber everywhere]

This post has been edited by alexei: Feb 7 2023, 02:14 PM
WH4CockcooBird
post Feb 7 2023, 02:20 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Feb 7 2023, 07:40 AM)

But I have been seeing older gentlemen on smaller scooters (mostly adv150s) in full gear now. Must be newer riders dumping cars for bike for the daily commute.
Ooops… you spotted me…. 👻
jaycee1
post Feb 7 2023, 02:21 PM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Feb 7 2023, 02:14 PM)
I was surprised also, but here's what I found:

Dainese D1 boots - main material are synthetics [D-stone is nylon]

Alpinestars Supertech R boots [microfiber everywhere]
You see all that TPU reinforcements on the shifter pads on boots, they will deteriorate and fall apart even not used.

Have seen a few TCX boots which are new old stock, already falling apart. That day at a shop they were selling PU TCX boots on sale, new old stock... i ask them this same question, he just sheepishly grin...then say pick the leather ones. hahahaha.

My TPU ankle protectors on my china boots also cracking and breaking already after 2 years and 40k of use. But its no fault to the manufacturer, its just the material limitation.
WH4CockcooBird
post Feb 7 2023, 02:21 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Feb 7 2023, 07:44 AM)
Why wouldn't they? Hahaha.

No point trying to sell you a rm68,000 Shoei if you ride a kapchai................
Sell at RM86,000 no need try
Buyer happy come show cash with his purchase 😬😬
TSJason
post Feb 7 2023, 03:02 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Feb 7 2023, 01:43 PM)
race to the bottom. Nothing beats leather.
Worst is the PU material. All start to crack and peel after a year.
Agreed. PU “leather” Is a horrible material.

But when customers want things cheap and manufacturers want profit margin that’s when they cut corners.
genesiscopy
post Feb 7 2023, 03:59 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Feb 7 2023, 09:40 AM)
Yeah, this is the part I can't brain. Obviously if you can afford a superbike, affordability of gear isn't an issue. The irony is, I'm sure they have a few sets of it at home.

Sure you might have full confidence of your own ability not to crash..but I can't say the same about the other road users, all the time. Just look at the recent karak crash that wiped out 5 bikes. They weren't really doing all that fast, just that someone else didn't see them. Anyone that has ridden a fair bit of miles will tell you all sorts of close calls.

But I have been seeing older gentlemen on smaller scooters (mostly adv150s) in full gear now. Must be newer riders dumping cars for bike for the daily commute.
Sounds like me. Started riding after 20 years of driving since need to go to school after work and traffic just gets worse everyday. Worn full face helm, full padded jackets with boots and gloves on a kapcai since riding to KL city center is scary AF. Lol.
paskal
post Feb 7 2023, 05:00 PM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Feb 7 2023, 02:21 PM)
You see all that TPU reinforcements on the shifter pads on boots, they will deteriorate and fall apart even not used.

Have seen a few TCX boots which are new old stock, already falling apart. That day at a shop they were selling PU TCX boots on sale, new old stock... i ask them this same question, he just sheepishly grin...then say pick the leather ones. hahahaha.

My TPU ankle protectors on my china boots also cracking and breaking already after 2 years and 40k of use. But its no fault to the manufacturer, its just the material limitation.
ya better topup a bit and get full leather boots.

full length full leather adventure boots a bit hard to find locally but there are a few models being brought in.
i try to avoid any split leather, reconstructed leather, recombined leather, PU, microfibre and any synthetic material for shoes. they will never last.
SUSskyblu3
post Feb 8 2023, 10:39 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(genesiscopy @ Feb 7 2023, 03:59 PM)
Sounds like me. Started riding after 20 years of driving since need to go to school after work and traffic just gets worse everyday. Worn full face helm, full padded jackets with boots and gloves on a kapcai since riding to KL city center is scary AF. Lol.
Don't forget to protect your knees too
Knee is one of the high impact point.

SUSchinti
post Feb 9 2023, 11:13 AM

Tarak Drama, Kita Bikin Drama
1,652 posts

anyone got experience with bell qualifier dlx and agv k1?
both entry level full face at similar price point, just wondering which is better to get

This post has been edited by chinti: Feb 9 2023, 01:26 PM
gataddhin
post Feb 10 2023, 05:32 PM

On Wednesday, one Thai guy told me that one Malaysian biker's foot was crashed when his big bike fell at his foot at Betong immigration. There was a lot of blood. His friend from Malaysia came in car to send him to hospital and another friend rode his bike back.

A reminder to all, motorcycle boots are important.
SUSskyblu3
post Feb 11 2023, 08:36 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(gataddhin @ Feb 10 2023, 05:32 PM)
On Wednesday, one Thai guy told me that one Malaysian biker's foot was crashed when his big bike fell at his foot at Betong immigration. There was a lot of blood. His friend from Malaysia came in car to send him to hospital and another friend rode his bike back.

A reminder to all, motorcycle boots are important.
Sadly many don't see the importance to wear proper riding gears, that includes riding boots. Even seasoned riders as well.
And worst are those wearing slippers only.
Nightstalker1993
post Feb 11 2023, 02:08 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Jan 5 2023, 04:53 PM)
There was a Cardo discount December 2022

Now back to normal price. Neo is not in Malaysia yet. So I’ll wait for Neo first.

Buy once cry once.

Nightstalker1993 since you have a com now you can wait with me? Haha.
QUOTE(toos99 @ Jan 5 2023, 06:33 PM)
@Nightstalker1993 I’m game on for sharing. Wanna wait for Neo?

Edit: how to tag ppl lol

Packtalk edge duo promo guys, bila mau sapu?
TSJason
post Feb 11 2023, 10:50 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Feb 11 2023, 02:08 PM)

Packtalk edge duo promo guys, bila mau sapu?
UGPM

On liao. Who else wanna go. Beli packtalk sambil meet to tok kok.
Nightstalker1993
post Feb 14 2023, 06:32 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

Managed to grab the last unit of packtalk edge duo kit at Welly Shah Alam together with Jason, nice meeting you buddy . Helmet looking sexier now. No idea when can actually test the mesh though laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Nightstalker1993: Feb 14 2023, 06:34 PM
jaycee1
post Feb 15 2023, 01:52 PM

AFK
2,485 posts

Got a big bruise after the bike fell on my leg after jatuh bodoh off-road. Front slipped off a big wet rock, speed too slow, lost footing, went down. Happens a lot going off road.

Happens to the best of us.

Always gear up. New riders, wear full height boots.

Same accident if bike fell on ankle and you don't have boots, you'd be in hospital for a fractured ankle.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Feb 15 2023, 01:59 PM
TSJason
post Feb 15 2023, 02:35 PM

6,354 posts

There are 2 types of riders.

Those who fell, and those who are going to fall.
jaycee1
post Feb 15 2023, 03:53 PM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Feb 15 2023, 02:35 PM)
There are 2 types of riders.

Those who fell, and those who are going to fall.
An immaculate bike shows a good rider.

A beat up bike shows a GREAT rider.

You will only learn to be a good rider after you are not afraid to go past and find your limits.

Everyone can ride fast. Its riding very slow and tight that is tough. Why do you think they expect you to do minimum speed for Titi test?

Im sure we have all heard stories about people falling off the Titi and end up with a broken leg.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Feb 15 2023, 04:00 PM
paskal
post Feb 15 2023, 10:09 PM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Feb 15 2023, 01:52 PM)

Got a big bruise after the bike fell on my leg after jatuh bodoh off-road. Front slipped off a big wet rock, speed too slow, lost footing, went down. Happens a lot going off road.

Happens to the best of us.

Always gear up. New riders, wear full height boots.

Same accident if bike fell on ankle and you don't have boots, you'd be in hospital for a fractured ankle.
you're not wearing full height boots while it happened?

anyway speedy recovery man
jaycee1
post Feb 16 2023, 12:43 AM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Feb 15 2023, 10:09 PM)
you're not wearing full height boots while it happened?

anyway speedy recovery man
Mine are mid cut boots. I do walk in them quite a lot. Full height too impractical. A compromise.

Just a bruise. Nothing serious. Didn't realize until I saw the bruise 2 days later. Not the first time....won't be the last.
WH4CockcooBird
post Feb 16 2023, 08:41 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Feb 9 2023, 11:13 AM)
anyone got experience with bell qualifier dlx and agv k1?
both entry level full face at similar price point, just wondering which is better to get
The one that fit your head best is the one to get.

49 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0238sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:01 PM