49 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Bike Gear Talk, ATGATT? gloves, boots, pants etc.

alexei
post Dec 7 2022, 12:32 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Dec 7 2022, 11:04 AM)
if too dirty, no choice but to soak it in water.
think of it as riding all through heavy rain, it'll soak either way.

years of collection.
i use it for leather belt, leather wallet, leather shoes, leather bags.
even pvc stuffs i put.  laugh.gif
UP!!!!!! OMG
TSJason
post Dec 7 2022, 03:24 PM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Dec 7 2022, 10:39 AM)
most of the week i ride with the fakes. the genuine i wear when i wanna impress chicks ecewah  rclxs0.gif
Don't think chicks can tell the diff between fake or real Komine.

Fake or real Chanel bag maybe.
mADmAN
post Dec 7 2022, 03:24 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(ijan @ Dec 6 2022, 02:09 PM)
tanya tanya

I have like a 5+y old RS TAICHI leather gloves, lined with clothes, how to wash..leather interior sudah stink with bacteria civilization liao

The lining i selalu pull out and wash, the rinse water is always DARK

I tot leather xboleh kena basah sgt, thats why din sink the whole thing in water.

Ada idea?
i have a pair of fakie komine gauntlets...

i bring them to a coin laundry and dump them in with my other laundry.... even drying i campak into the drier....

i do the same with everything... riding jackets, pants, gloves, helmet liners.....been over 5 years since i started doing it and nothing has failed on me so far.

IMHO... riding gear are meant to be tough not just during the crash but also to take the constant wind, sun, rain, mud etc etc... if it can handle all that for long periods, it can handle an hour in a washing machine and drier. they arent as fragile as people make it to be.
jaycee1
post Dec 7 2022, 03:53 PM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Dec 7 2022, 10:39 AM)
2 of my genuine komine both have the hologram logo

and 2 of the fake komines that i bought online both doesn't have it

already kena warning not to buy anything new after i brought back the zeus.

hopefully warning level will reset next year. haha
tongue.gif
Thanks for sharing.

...in my group, I'm known as poison king. Will racun gao gao. No one is safe.

Even when I said quality no good, don't buy, still managed to racun someone. Hahahahahahahaa
WH4CockcooBird
post Dec 8 2022, 09:24 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Dec 7 2022, 03:53 PM)
Thanks for sharing.

Even when I said quality no good, don't buy, still managed to racun someone. Hahahahahahahaa
I didn't poison... but my kaki's, when first got to know them, they are advocate of all helmet are the same lah don't see why spend so much on helmet..

After few rides together, with intercom, all except one had quietly upgraded their helmet to Shoei. The one not yet upgrade 'cos the model / color he wanted hasn't arrived yet biggrin.gif

WH4CockcooBird
post Dec 8 2022, 09:25 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Dec 7 2022, 03:24 PM)

i bring them to a coin laundry and dump them in with my other laundry.... even drying i campak into the drier....

i do the same with everything... riding jackets, pants, gloves, helmet liners.....been over 5 years since i started doing it and nothing has failed on me so far.

IMHO... riding gear are meant to be tough not just during the crash but also to take the constant wind, sun, rain, mud etc etc... if it can handle all that for long periods, it can handle an hour in a washing machine and drier. they arent as fragile as people make it to be.
Did you remove the paddings in the jacket before throwing into washer / dryer?
SUSskyblu3
post Dec 8 2022, 02:29 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(WH4CockcooBird @ Dec 8 2022, 09:25 AM)
you should remove the paddings/amour.

mADmAN
post Dec 8 2022, 06:40 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(WH4CockcooBird @ Dec 8 2022, 09:25 AM)
Technically u should....but i dont bother. I just leave everything in..i only remove the back padding so that the jacket will be more flexible to tumble in the machines.

The pads may lari abit in their slot but adjust alil n it's fine

Ive been doing this to my rs taichi jacket (6 yrs old), rs taichi pants, my various gloves and iz2 jacket.

I recently bought a komine jk137 but havent washed yet...only worn it twice so far
WH4CockcooBird
post Dec 8 2022, 07:54 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Dec 8 2022, 06:40 PM)
Technically u should....but i dont bother. I just leave everything in..i only remove the back padding so that the jacket will be more flexible to tumble in the machines.

The pads may lari abit in their slot but adjust alil n it's fine

Ive been doing this to my rs taichi jacket (6 yrs old), rs taichi pants, my various gloves and iz2 jacket.

I recently bought a komine jk137 but havent washed yet...only worn it twice so far
I was telling myself on my next wash, I ain't gonna remove ANY of those paddings 'cos it's a bitch to re-insert them especially for those at arm.

I have a 12kg washer dryer combo so won't be an issue with tumbling space within.

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
paskal
post Dec 9 2022, 10:00 AM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

nice.
i hand wash everything. everything including the balaclava.
scared it'll might get stretchy and i have to buy new ones and kena scolded keep buying stuffs.

haih.
maybe try with the fake komines.

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Dec 7 2022, 03:53 PM)
Thanks for sharing.

you lar ni post this pic.
instant kena racun. bangwall.gif
alexei
post Dec 9 2022, 10:49 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

I feel you're maybe punishing the garment a little too much. What's the laundry instructions? Low tumble dry?
alexei
post Dec 9 2022, 10:50 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Dec 9 2022, 10:00 AM)
nice.
scared it'll might get stretchy and i have to buy new ones and kena scolded keep buying stuffs.

haih.

mine got Dryarn and stuff, fitting one... tak sampai hati masuk dryer sekali
persona93
post Dec 9 2022, 11:06 AM

1,180 posts

user posted imageRiding Pants

gonna be riding full time around <30mins to work starting next year so want to be fully protected, is this pants good?

i inherited my uncle's riding jacket but also looking to replace if there's any good option, i am riding FZ for now but gonna up after my 500cc probably to a 500x or any other touring
jaycee1
post Dec 9 2022, 12:13 PM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(persona93 @ Dec 9 2022, 11:06 AM)
user posted imageRiding Pants

gonna be riding full time around <30mins to work starting next year so want to be fully protected, is this pants good?

i inherited my uncle's riding jacket but also looking to replace if there's any good option, i am riding FZ for now but gonna up after my 500cc probably to a 500x or any other touring
All these sub 100 riding jeans are basically just normal jeans with armour pockets and cut for riding position with stretch fabrics.

As protection goes, they won't offer much in terms of slide protection. For slide protection, only the premium dual layer ones with Kevlar lining will offer decent slide protection. But for those you are looking at least 500 and up. The armour may offer some impact protection. Very often than not you will need to upgrade the armour, especially the hip armour as these just give you very thin 4mm Eva pads which do little.

That said, I have several pairs that I use on the daily. Just look up the links a few pages up for the discussion on riding jeans.

As for protection, the 3 most important gears are helmet, boots and gloves. Good ones.

Watch below for basic info
https://youtu.be/rmWQKoN6yX0

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Dec 9 2022, 12:30 PM
jaycee1
post Dec 9 2022, 12:34 PM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Dec 9 2022, 10:00 AM)
nice.

haih.

you lar ni post this pic.
instant kena racun.  bangwall.gif
Hahahahahahaha

I usually just remove the armour and throw my jackets in the washer on its own wash cycle. Then air dry. Velcro can ruin other clothes.

I don't usually use the dryer unless really urgent...and never sun my clothes.

alexei
post Dec 9 2022, 12:35 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(persona93 @ Dec 9 2022, 11:06 AM)

https://www.webbikeworld.com/ce-certified-vs-approved/

I suggest a read here, from a more serious perspective wrt motorcycling protection. Hopefully with that you can shop for quality protection clothing. Most gears are only 'equipped with CE certified/approved protection', but the clothing itself is not. This applies even to the Taichi jacket that I am using.

Those pants are better than nothing (average jeans or pants, or shorts), but if during an incident the garment can just tear and the protection may be ejected from the pockets; enough to reduce severity by a certain level.

For your first gear, I'd recommend shopping for gears and look through some of their labels. Try for size and fitment, too. Spending more on the right gear, vs tembak2 RM99 for cheap gear, is up to you. But, I learned to do the former, and saving money from mistakes of the later.

For a pair of pants, prepare to spend RM500 onwards. Hip/pelvic, knee, shin are just some of the protection you need. Someone is offering hip padding for cheap if you're interested. I put CE hip pads in my riding pants.

If possible, get a jacket that can lock to the back of the pants, either with a simple loop, or more sophisticated attachment.

Do not price your protection against the price of your bike, but price it against your body parts.
mADmAN
post Dec 9 2022, 03:36 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Dec 9 2022, 10:49 AM)
I feel you're maybe punishing the garment a little too much. What's the laundry instructions? Low tumble dry?
Naaahh...riding on hours on end is probably more torture for the garments i think especially with the wind trying to tear it apart... My rs taichi jacket 5 years edi in coin laundry machines n still ok...looks a lil worn from ueavy usage..but its still ok.

Laundry instructions? Forgot...not bothered anymore...coz coin laundry works for me...i even add extra 6mins in the drier

Edit: forgot to mention, helmet padding i will put in a laundry bag...will stuff gloves in there as well....

N the helmet padding actually feels more fluffy after it comes out of the drier hahahah

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Dec 9 2022, 03:38 PM
paskal
post Dec 10 2022, 08:08 AM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Dec 9 2022, 12:34 PM)
Hahahahahahaha
I usually just remove the armour and throw my jackets in the washer on its own wash cycle. Then air dry. Velcro can ruin other clothes.

I don't usually use the dryer unless really urgent...and never sun my clothes.
Gonna start doing that.
But the labels all say hand wash only.

Maybe I'll try the gentle wash cycle.
persona93
post Dec 10 2022, 11:13 AM

1,180 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Dec 9 2022, 12:13 PM)
All these sub 100 riding jeans are basically just normal jeans with armour pockets and cut for riding position with stretch fabrics.

As protection goes, they won't offer much in terms of slide protection. For slide protection, only the premium dual layer ones with Kevlar lining will offer decent slide protection. But for those you are looking at least 500 and up. The armour may offer some impact protection. Very often than not you will need to upgrade the armour, especially the hip armour as these just give you very thin 4mm Eva pads which do little.

That said, I have several pairs that I use on the daily. Just look up the links a few pages up for the discussion on riding jeans.
As for protection, the 3 most important gears are helmet, boots and gloves. Good ones.

Watch below for basic info
https://youtu.be/rmWQKoN6yX0
i believe you bought yours via Shopee right? saw you got some kevlar pants, mind sharing me the link?
jaycee1
post Dec 10 2022, 11:22 AM

AFK
2,485 posts

QUOTE(persona93 @ Dec 10 2022, 11:13 AM)
i believe you bought yours via Shopee right? saw you got some kevlar pants, mind sharing me the link?
Mine are just normal non Kevlar pants.

If you are looking for proper riding pants, do go visit places like LSH (Revit), Hodaka (Komine and RS Taichi), Bike Quest (Clover) , Welly (Klim and a few other brands).

49 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0213sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 06:48 PM