Bike Gear Talk, ATGATT? gloves, boots, pants etc.

persona93
post Dec 9 2022, 11:06 AM

1,180 posts

user posted imageRiding Pants

gonna be riding full time around <30mins to work starting next year so want to be fully protected, is this pants good?

i inherited my uncle's riding jacket but also looking to replace if there's any good option, i am riding FZ for now but gonna up after my 500cc probably to a 500x or any other touring
persona93
post Dec 10 2022, 11:13 AM

1,180 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Dec 9 2022, 12:13 PM)
All these sub 100 riding jeans are basically just normal jeans with armour pockets and cut for riding position with stretch fabrics.

As protection goes, they won't offer much in terms of slide protection. For slide protection, only the premium dual layer ones with Kevlar lining will offer decent slide protection. But for those you are looking at least 500 and up. The armour may offer some impact protection. Very often than not you will need to upgrade the armour, especially the hip armour as these just give you very thin 4mm Eva pads which do little.

That said, I have several pairs that I use on the daily. Just look up the links a few pages up for the discussion on riding jeans.
As for protection, the 3 most important gears are helmet, boots and gloves. Good ones.

Watch below for basic info
https://youtu.be/rmWQKoN6yX0
i believe you bought yours via Shopee right? saw you got some kevlar pants, mind sharing me the link?
persona93
post Mar 7 2023, 10:33 AM

1,180 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Mar 6 2023, 08:50 PM)
Went to NAPS Adachi today

Juling mata man....saw some forgot what brand goretex gloves which was quite cheap...less than 500...but its too thick to be used in our weather

Left with rs taichi pants..a-star gauntlet n rs taichi shorties glove...balaclava and some original kawasaki keychains. Was aiming for boots but had nothing i wanted.

Total spent 2.1k...if u ever go to these shops in japan..bring ur passport so u can get tax free...saved me rm200 of taxes

Was very tempted to buy a full cf helmet for 1.6k... wins a-force rs....but no ece cert n also my luggage no space 😭

Also saw a filipino buy n custom fit a shoei...me jelly coz he can buy n bring back hahahah
wow sampai ke Jepun thumbup.gif

btw want to ask for riding boots, is it worth to get those full ones or just get those generic ones, like riding to work then walk around with the boots macam lcly laugh.gif

persona93
post Mar 7 2023, 11:51 AM

1,180 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Mar 7 2023, 11:27 AM)
The one that fits your head the best.
Some people can either fit Shoei, or Arai. Some both cannot.

Some dislike Arai visor no clicking, and the chin bar is too close.
Shoei looks best.
Ada gambar kah?
Which Astars gauntlet you get?
Get the one you can put on consistently. If can, get full one with shin plate of course.
all 3 can put on consistently, tried, not that difficult, but just looking from the practicality POV

like i sometimes ride from work back to fiancee place, if i wear boots then need to go up her condo and change slipper if we go out for dinner, like i wouldnt want to be wearing the boots for dinner

same goes to riding to office, atleast the generic ones wont be obvious since they look like normal sneakers
persona93
post Mar 7 2023, 01:41 PM

1,180 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Mar 7 2023, 12:17 PM)
perhaps the low cut with ankle protection suitable
then, add a shin guard - a knee to shin, or just a simple soccer shin strap also can

my 2 sen. I don't have enough lower body protection to work, and having similar questions myself
QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Mar 7 2023, 01:07 PM)
I only consider adventure, MX boots, and full race boots to be full height. Those will come up to the bottom of your knee protector.

Usually street or sport boots don't go up so high. My "3/4" height boots comes up to middle of my shin, leaving about 3-4" of space unprotected from the bottom of my knee protector to the top of my boot.

Street boots should be ok to walk on daily. It's only a matter of aesthetics if you want to do so or not. Worst case, just keep a spare set of comfy loafers in your office to change into if you don't want to trod along daily on "full height" boots.

Get the tallest boot you can feel comfortable getting in and out and walking in them.
for working trousers, i got the generic cargo pants with knee protection so there's that, for long ride got proper Komine pants

ok looks like im more inclined with the standard height boots

persona93
post Mar 8 2023, 08:19 AM

1,180 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Mar 7 2023, 08:44 PM)
As long as you are not buying fake/replicas it will be fine.

Not only helmets
In fact 70% of the branded stuffs today are manufactured in their China factory.

I know someone who bought a fake fox MTB helmet and he is so proud of it.  Saying only bodohs buy the real helmet paying more than rm800 where by he paid just rm100++.  He claim it is the same quality.

Ok.  Noted and good luck and all the best and God bless.

Lol.
ya saw GG KTM video where he said better buy ori lower end helmet instead of buying fake high end helmet

i even experience with my Converse shoes, the RM50 from Shopee vs the RM350 ones from outlet, day and night difference
persona93
post Mar 20 2023, 09:44 AM

1,180 posts

i use the Hypergear Pouch L
persona93
post Apr 15 2023, 11:44 AM

1,180 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Apr 10 2023, 06:43 PM)
Thread has been quiet, so going to need a bump. Got a few things over the weekend.

New Benkia boots. Sold by Serdang Motorsports. Tested the size then wait for sale order online. 400rm. 80bux off normal price before Lazada promo. Free ship.

Material is PVC/pleather. Supposedly waterproof. Tested it in rain today...no leakage....but for how long is anyone's guess. Honestly I don't expect this to last past 2 or 3 years.

Quite stiff on the toebox and heelbox. Good ankle protection. Not as easy to walk in, but it's a compromise for safety.

It's a good 2 inches taller so a bit more shin coverage compared to my existing boots.

Got a new duffle dry bag. 110 after Lazada 4.4 discounts. 50L. Large enough to stuff all my camping gear in 1 bag. Yellow out of stock ...pity. Oh well. It's cheap. I ain't complaining... Fit for purpose. Decent quality, obviously not up to enduristan levels...but it is 1/4 the price.

finally got this for 236, second hand, everything still good condition so bit the bullet

0.0355sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:33 PM