5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Bike Gear Talk, ATGATT? gloves, boots, pants etc.

mADmAN
post Oct 31 2022, 04:31 PM

10,530 posts

Only helmet n gloves 100% of the time...the rest i usually squid...even my once a week 35km commute oso just hoodie, shorts n crocs coz of what i have to do at the destination which involves alot of sweating n dust n etc.

Yes yes..i know its not right and i should be wearing boots n pants n proper jacket etc...can change at destination etc....

Touring ill be on full gear though including riding pants and boots n jacket...and also compression shirt n pants as well.
mADmAN
post Nov 8 2022, 10:08 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Nov 8 2022, 03:14 AM)
Imma gonna get a cam mount, is that stuck on using 3M tape?
Yes but 3m tape also has its grades/levels...make sure to get the gray outdoor tape

Mine has been stuck on my helmet for about 3 or 4 years

mADmAN
post Nov 8 2022, 06:46 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(harryleesbr @ Nov 8 2022, 11:43 AM)
Just gotten myself a pair of Forma Adv. boots (high cut) - brown. Worth every sen. Comfortable at the first wear and confidence boosting too! Downside, I getting weird looks when I ride the "kapchai".... who cares!
How much? Waterproof?

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Nov 8 2022, 05:32 PM)
for curved surface on my helmet, I use this epoxy putty to mold the exact shape of the helmet curve and my gopro mount surface.
Did the same thing for my helmets...but my epoxy putty is stuck directly to the mount unlike the video...just had to rough it up kow2 n make sure to push the putty into the grooves/scratches on the mount.

After applying 3m tape i stuck it on and clamped it overnight..its been stuck there for 3-4 years..i used the cheap bondite epoxy putty (rm10)

mADmAN
post Nov 9 2022, 11:05 AM

10,530 posts

But GoPros after 4 are sooooo friggin heavy...

I really cannot brain how ppl ride with that brick on their helmet....n thats not even including the brick of a mic adapter yet
mADmAN
post Nov 10 2022, 08:45 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Nov 10 2022, 12:19 AM)
You'll get used to it. If you want lightweight then maybe can try an insta360 go 2, used gopro Session 5 or the latest gopro 11 mini, but all these cameras have the downside of having a fixed battery so you can't just swap the battery out when you've depleted it.
naaah...im already running an SJ4000 AIR with a waterproof charging case.... so i dont even need to worry about the battery running out... rain or shine, it can continue charging...still lighter than those bricks brows.gif

as for getting used to it... dunno la.. i have an MT Helmet Atom SV... did a chin mount.. with the camera, whole setup weight was unbearable to me granted the helmet is already 1.7kg la.
mADmAN
post Nov 10 2022, 08:53 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(gataddhin @ Nov 8 2022, 06:36 PM)
I am using chin mount holder for my cheap camera.

https://a.aliexpress.com/_ms8PHQU
visor can close all the way shut?
mADmAN
post Nov 29 2022, 12:27 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Nov 29 2022, 12:23 PM)
also if the bike oredi loud AF, then wear earplugs or not won't affect much since the exhaust is a mini-concert liao
disagree... my exhaust is loud AF... n the wind noise can drown out the exhaust alot... i wear earplugs mainly for wind noise but at the same time exhaust is reduced quite significantly.
mADmAN
post Nov 29 2022, 11:52 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Nov 29 2022, 11:16 PM)
aiyo, don't quote and crop my paragraph and take it out of context la.... I say city riding and awareness mah.
Oh for.city riding bahahahaha

I dont usually wear for city ride...but the times that i have...the earplugs still makes a difference...especially when ur next to a wall or a car where the sound of the exhaust can bounce back to you.

Awareness wise, i try to use my eyes more than my ears....too many environmental noise
mADmAN
post Nov 30 2022, 10:27 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(WH4CockcooBird @ Nov 30 2022, 09:49 AM)
I don't ride fast, around 110km/h max and usually cruise in 70-90 range. While it's not loud in my helmet, constant noise over prolong period of ride (long trip) can be annoying and mentally stress.

Therefore I only bring earplugs when I am doing long trip.

Tried the following 3M ear plugs:

Silicon -> 3M UF-01-000 E-A-Râ„¢ UltraFitâ„¢
Silicon -> 3M 1271 orange color type
Foam  -> 3M 1100 (orange color)

Silicone one seems to fit better in my ear compare to foam type.

A little discomfort after a long trip, still learning to get use to it.

Going to try the 4th type from 3M, it's foam type.

Gonna try a 3rd type foam in stud shape.
There is a specific way to use foam type...make sure ur wearing it properly

The silicone type hurts my ears like hell so i dont use them.

mADmAN
post Dec 7 2022, 03:24 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(ijan @ Dec 6 2022, 02:09 PM)
tanya tanya

I have like a 5+y old RS TAICHI leather gloves, lined with clothes, how to wash..leather interior sudah stink with bacteria civilization liao

The lining i selalu pull out and wash, the rinse water is always DARK

I tot leather xboleh kena basah sgt, thats why din sink the whole thing in water.

Ada idea?
i have a pair of fakie komine gauntlets...

i bring them to a coin laundry and dump them in with my other laundry.... even drying i campak into the drier....

i do the same with everything... riding jackets, pants, gloves, helmet liners.....been over 5 years since i started doing it and nothing has failed on me so far.

IMHO... riding gear are meant to be tough not just during the crash but also to take the constant wind, sun, rain, mud etc etc... if it can handle all that for long periods, it can handle an hour in a washing machine and drier. they arent as fragile as people make it to be.
mADmAN
post Dec 8 2022, 06:40 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(WH4CockcooBird @ Dec 8 2022, 09:25 AM)
Did you remove the paddings in the jacket before throwing into washer / dryer?
Technically u should....but i dont bother. I just leave everything in..i only remove the back padding so that the jacket will be more flexible to tumble in the machines.

The pads may lari abit in their slot but adjust alil n it's fine

Ive been doing this to my rs taichi jacket (6 yrs old), rs taichi pants, my various gloves and iz2 jacket.

I recently bought a komine jk137 but havent washed yet...only worn it twice so far
mADmAN
post Dec 9 2022, 03:36 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Dec 9 2022, 10:49 AM)
I feel you're maybe punishing the garment a little too much. What's the laundry instructions? Low tumble dry?
Naaahh...riding on hours on end is probably more torture for the garments i think especially with the wind trying to tear it apart... My rs taichi jacket 5 years edi in coin laundry machines n still ok...looks a lil worn from ueavy usage..but its still ok.

Laundry instructions? Forgot...not bothered anymore...coz coin laundry works for me...i even add extra 6mins in the drier

Edit: forgot to mention, helmet padding i will put in a laundry bag...will stuff gloves in there as well....

N the helmet padding actually feels more fluffy after it comes out of the drier hahahah

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Dec 9 2022, 03:38 PM
mADmAN
post Dec 14 2022, 02:23 PM

10,530 posts

those of u with carbon fiber helmets...do u get the drumming sound? especially when u wear earplugs?

i get it with my cf helmet especially when i wear earplugs... wondering if thats a bad thing. its not loud.. but its constant and can be annoying sometimes.

Ryan F9 even mentioned "twitchy carbon drums againsts ur ears" at 0.35 mark

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Dec 14 2022, 02:24 PM
mADmAN
post Jan 31 2023, 07:52 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(Vincent6596 @ Jan 31 2023, 06:49 PM)
hi guys.

i am new to 250cc motorbike world, and now wanna looking for a cheap affortable full face helmet.

https://shopee.com.my/Zeus-Full-Face-Helmet...fb-1bac6f96bf0d
is Zeus Full Face Helmet recomend ?

or

https://shopee.com.my/KYT-TT-Course-Full-Fa...20-2a24c2ccfb66
KYT TT Course

Zeus VS KYT which is more recomended ?
ur links cant be accessed.

the more recommended one is the one that fits u well... dont ever buy a helmet without trying it out... u can youtube on how to properly fit a helmet. then u can figure out which one is best for u.

just make sure they have ECE or SIRIM certification coz u need at least 1 of those for the helmet to be street legal in malaysia.

with the prices of those 2... ill probably also look at other helmets like HJC CS-15 for around the same price range.
mADmAN
post Jan 31 2023, 11:56 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(Vincent6596 @ Jan 31 2023, 08:49 PM)
how to make sure that the helmet do have ECE or SIRIM certification, just check on the helmet and the box or still have any other way to check online ?
check on the helmet itself...just coz its branded and a common model etc doesnt necessarily mean it has the correct certification marks on the helmet itself. law enforcement can still confiscate the helmet if there are no markings on the helmet, even if its ECE certified in other markets.

https://www.bikesrepublic.com/featured/excl...-into-malaysia/
some pix on this site of how the stickers are like at the back of the helmet.

for ECE, there will also be a white label on the chin strap (E*) to also indicate the ECE certification.....like THIS (E11 in this example)

when KYT first entered malaysia they didnt have SIRIM cert but instead had a JPJ approved sticker like THIS...not sure if its still the same or theve changed to SIRIM now.

note that any other certification like DOT, SNELL, SNI etc are NOT recognized to be street legal in malaysia no matter how "good" people claim them to be.

for the helmet to be street legal, it must have one or both: SIRIM or ECE.
mADmAN
post Feb 3 2023, 07:38 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(WH4CockcooBird @ Feb 3 2023, 04:45 PM)
Different helmet topic....

Why lah.... every time go look at helmet shop fella sure ask what bike you ride ah?

It's like looking at condoms and salesgirl come ask you how big your kahuna is ah?
Different styles of bike can match with different styles of helmet ma...

Takkan bawak superbike but wanna pakai nazi helmet? laugh.gif
mADmAN
post Feb 16 2023, 10:38 AM

10,530 posts

anyone know where in klang valley i can get these helmet cheek pads repaired? found one in gombak but he doesnt do the cloth material part.

found another in klang but feller mcm dun wanna reply me when i ask when i can send and for his location :x

mADmAN
post Feb 16 2023, 06:26 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Feb 16 2023, 01:09 PM)
The guy at pertama complex shows on his FB that he does helmet linings also.
which guy in pertama complex?
mADmAN
post Feb 18 2023, 03:34 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Feb 16 2023, 05:26 PM)
https://www.facebook.com/carlomotomalaysia

This guy also do Helmet linings..

I did my seat with him, not bad the result and reasonable price.
Thanks... already pm him on fb after ur reply but still no response 😔

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Feb 16 2023, 01:09 PM)
The guy at pertama complex shows on his FB that he does helmet linings also.
QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Feb 17 2023, 09:39 AM)

U mean this post? Hes just sharing the gombak one i mentioned...dont think they do it themselves

mADmAN
post Feb 18 2023, 01:02 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Feb 18 2023, 11:29 AM)
I wonder if it's worth it to get the linings redone compared to getting new replacements. Provided you can still find them or is a Shoei.
can get the cheek pads separately but itll cost coz have to order and itll use the same material which will probably degrade again.

my foam is still fine n comfy n fits well...so i just wanna change the cloth to a hopefully better/ more durable one.

i dont use the helmet very often though coz damn sayang

its a Caberg Drift Evo Carbon.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0267sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 02:25 PM