lovelyuser
post May 18 2022, 10:39 AM

992 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ May 18 2022, 10:22 AM)
What about when you hv 210k?
All 210k will get 3%,
Or 200k will get 3%, while the balance will get 2.25%
Obviously my explanation not clear enough for you.

If it's a new portfolio with new investment into KDI Save RM 210k, then 1st 200k @ 3%, 10k @ 2.25%

If you have invested sometime ago, made multiple withdrawals and deposits, then the calculation follow my previous post.

*Conclusion, investor on advantage, but I found myself silly to proof this and try to explain. The return wont make us rich neither make us poor, just move on stay invested till the end-Dec 2022.

This post has been edited by lovelyuser: May 18 2022, 10:47 AM
MUM
post May 18 2022, 10:46 AM

14,856 posts

QUOTE(lovelyuser @ May 18 2022, 10:39 AM)

If it's a new portfolio with new investment into KDI Save RM 210k, then 1st 200k @ 3%, 10k @ 2.25%

If you have invested sometime ago, made multiple withdrawals and deposits, then the calculation follow my previous poat.
Oh, that means,
"If you have invested sometime ago, with just 180k, made multiple withdrawals and deposits, then the calculation follow your previous post.... All will still get 3% regardless of even there are accumulation of deposits and the balance in the account is of over 200k?

This post has been edited by MUM: May 18 2022, 10:51 AM
lovelyuser
post May 18 2022, 10:48 AM

992 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ May 18 2022, 10:46 AM)
Oh, that means,
"If you have invested sometime ago, made multiple withdrawals and deposits, then the calculation follow your previous post.... All will still get 3% regardless of even there are accumulation of deposits and the balance in the account is of over 200k?
Is your total value more than 200k?

If yes, do you mind share the screenshot and I explain from there.
Davidtcf
post May 18 2022, 10:49 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

If you have invested sometime ago, made multiple withdrawals and deposits, then the calculation follow my previous post.

*Conclusion, investor on advantage, but I found myself silly to proof this and try to explain. The return wont make us rich neither make us poor, just move on stay invested till the end-Dec 2022.
It is meant to be a place to park emergency fund. 2-3 mths of salary up to a year.

People who deposit in few hundred k or millions, lets hope they know how to invest also rather than just rely on these MMF funds. sweat.gif
3% not enough to cover our Malaysia's yearly inflation.

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: May 18 2022, 10:50 AM
MUM
post May 18 2022, 10:53 AM

14,856 posts

QUOTE(lovelyuser @ May 18 2022, 10:48 AM)

Start 180k,
Take out 20k
Deposit 50k
Take out 30k
Deposit 50k
Total balance 230k...all will get 3%?

I think the above transactions example is easier to see than just the screenshot of total balance when trying to digest,...

"If you have invested sometime ago, made multiple withdrawals and deposits, then the calculation follow my previous post."

"3% on return, regardless how much is your total value"

This post has been edited by MUM: May 18 2022, 11:11 AM
guy3288
post May 18 2022, 01:37 PM

5,847 posts

QUOTE(lovelyuser @ May 18 2022, 10:17 AM)
I figured it out how they calculate the interest rate for KDI Save when your total value above 200k

3% on return, regardless how much is your total value

1st 200k of Net Deposit at 3%
Subsequent amount of Net Depsoit at 2.25%

With that, if your Net Deposit at 200k, return let say 10k, you will still get 3% on total value of RM 210k
This is not so straight forward,earlier when i had way above RM200k time, the returns dont all get 3%
now after i made many WDs the return is all getting 3% and it increases daily..

My speculation- all returns from 1st 200k deposit only will get 3%

if you put 1 million 2millions the returns from that only get 2.25%

QUOTE(MUM @ May 18 2022, 10:22 AM)
What about when you hv 210k?
All 210k will get 3%,
Or 200k will get 3%, while the balance will get 2.25%

Isn't it puzzling when
"3% on return, regardless how much is your total value"
Then hv this again?

"1st 200k of Net Deposit at 3%
Subsequent amount of Net Depsoit at 2.25%"
the answer is already there above, see how i found it out
rather than asking us,
you can find out you yourself
by following my simulation WD mentioned above.

QUOTE(lovelyuser @ May 18 2022, 10:48 AM)

screenshot for u not enough, it wont show.
must simulate WD and screenshot that

This post has been edited by guy3288: May 18 2022, 01:37 PM
MUM
post May 18 2022, 01:53 PM

14,856 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ May 18 2022, 01:37 PM)
This is not so straight forward,earlier when i had way above RM200k time, the returns dont all get 3%
now after i made many  WDs the return is all getting 3% and it increases daily..

My speculation- all returns from 1st 200k  deposit only will get 3%

if you put 1 million  2millions the returns from that only get 2.25%
the answer is already there above, see how i found it out
rather than asking us,
you can find out you yourself
by following my simulation WD mentioned above.
screenshot for u not enough, it wont show. 
must simulate WD and screenshot that
I think it had been mentioned on kdi save that
below 200k is 3%, above it is 2.25%
That is why I am puzzled by his post and seeking his confirmation.

This post has been edited by MUM: May 18 2022, 02:01 PM
guy3288
post May 18 2022, 02:18 PM

5,847 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ May 18 2022, 01:53 PM)
I think it had been mentioned on kdi save that
below 200k is 3%, above it is 2.25%
That is why I am puzzled by his post and seeking his confirmation.
Aiyo, go read post 1067 and 1075 la
slowly look at the screenshot to understand the meaning there.
and then
you can check your own KDI see for your self ,a certain amount above RM200k is also paid 3% .

T231H
post May 18 2022, 02:21 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ May 18 2022, 02:18 PM)
Aiyo,  go read post  1067 and 1075 la
slowly look at the screenshot  to understand the meaning there.
and then
you can check your own KDI see for your self ,a certain amount above RM200k is also paid 3% .
But you just posted,
"My speculation- all returns from 1st 200k deposit only will get 3%

if you put 1 million 2millions the returns from that only get 2.25%"

guy3288
post May 18 2022, 02:31 PM

5,847 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ May 18 2022, 02:21 PM)
But you just posted,
"My speculation- all returns from 1st 200k deposit only will get 3%

if you put 1 million 2millions the returns from that only get 2.25%"
Ok my total returns all in RM5877.79, then WD down to bal now RM200+k,

KDI pay 3% for RM200k + 1249.84, you go see post 1067 and 1075,
is all there with proof RM1249.84 above RM200k being paid 3%

Take home message
1)Returns from 1st 200k gets 3%
2)Not ALL returns from KDI save will be paid 3%
if yes i should have RM5877.79 being paid 3%

guy3288
post May 18 2022, 09:40 PM

5,847 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ May 18 2022, 10:49 AM)
It is meant to be a place to park emergency fund. 2-3 mths of salary up to a year.

People who deposit in few hundred k or millions, lets hope they know how to invest also rather than just rely on these MMF funds.  sweat.gif
3% not enough to cover our Malaysia's yearly inflation.
you seem to think people who put millions in FD dont know how to invest
inflation will eat away their money etc.

You forgot to look at the quantum.
the actual amount of money you can get from it
be investment or FD.

example
A has 500k to invest - go hard for 10% return.
Good year got 10% return =RM50,000,
passive income RM4166 pm. happy.
Bad year?

B has RM10M in FD ,monthly got RM20833 to spend
Does he need to worry about inflation?
i dont think inflation will eat away his money.

High risk high return, just how high the risk i need to take?
to earn enough to spend.
ericlaiys
post May 18 2022, 09:50 PM

7,546 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ May 18 2022, 09:40 PM)
you seem to think people who  put millions in FD dont know how to invest

be  investment or FD.

example
Bad year?

B has RM10M in FD ,monthly got  RM20833 to spend
i dont think  inflation will eat away his money.

to earn enough to spend.
lol....MMF and FD is safe heaven. Everyone keep saying MMF/FD cannot beat inflation. but dont forget that in this bad market, 3% guaranteed profit is good deal where by a lot of investment is losing money.
So i do agreed, do diversification on MMF, FD, other investment.
IWannAAR
post May 19 2022, 03:06 AM

40 posts

be  investment or FD.

example
Bad year?

to earn enough to spend.
this is exactly how i view it too. but for some reason, people still keep emphasising on diversification. actually really wanna know why people still insist on diversification and emphasise on inflation. is it because inflation will definitely have higher impact than losses from bad year?

guy3288
post May 19 2022, 08:38 AM

5,847 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ May 18 2022, 09:50 PM)
lol....MMF and FD is safe heaven. Everyone keep saying MMF/FD cannot beat inflation. but dont forget that in this bad market, 3% guaranteed profit is good deal where by a lot of investment is losing money.
So i do agreed, do diversification on MMF, FD, other investment.
yes, never under estimate the value of these safe havens with steady and consistent returns.....no downfall, no negatives ever to cancel off your overall portfolio. It can only add , never reduce your money in hand.

many ex kakis from old FSM thread will remember how i argued and defended these safe havens when ASM,ASW,FD were being ridiculed by those so called investment sifus when in actual fact they themselves also cant beat the lowly 4-6% when averaged it out. Ramjade was there then as a very junior forumner, often being ridiculed by many of them every now and then...but now he has graduated to become an investment sifu.

QUOTE(IWannAAR @ May 19 2022, 03:06 AM)
this is exactly how i view it too. but for some reason, people still keep emphasising on diversification. actually really wanna know why people still insist on diversification and emphasise on inflation. is it because inflation will definitely have higher impact than losses from bad year?
that is because too many so called investment sifus are saying so.
And their voices are louder.
if you go to investment talks, they will brain wash you to take money all out from FD and invest.

Their excuse? inflation will eat away your money!

bottom line is how much you have in hand?
You dont have enough you may be susceptible to it.
elea88
post May 19 2022, 09:51 AM

4,174 posts

thank you .. i also did manual calculation.
so far its extra not short..

now i understand where the extra is from.

Davidtcf
post May 19 2022, 10:06 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

be  investment or FD.

example
Bad year?

to earn enough to spend.
thank you for your answer..
wanted to hear from one of you about it. Now I know the reasons.

true now is a bad market year.. near the end invest will be safer. News will have hints when that time will be.
sgh
post May 19 2022, 12:43 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ May 19 2022, 08:38 AM)
yes, never under estimate the value of these safe havens with steady and consistent returns.....no downfall,  no negatives ever to cancel off your overall portfolio. It can only add , never reduce your money in hand.

many ex kakis from old FSM thread  will remember how i argued and defended these safe havens when ASM,ASW,FD were being ridiculed by those so called  investment sifus when in actual fact they themselves  also cant beat  the lowly 4-6% when averaged it out. Ramjade was there then as a very junior forumner, often being ridiculed by many of them every now and then...but now  he has graduated to become an investment sifu.
that is because too many so called investment sifus are saying so.

And their voices are louder.
if you go to investment talks, they will brain wash you to take money all out from FD and invest.

Their excuse? inflation will eat away your money!

bottom line is how much you have in hand?
You dont have enough you may be susceptible to it.
I read your posts and understand you belong to the camp of FD, MMF etc which are all or mostly capital guaranteed. There is nothing wrong with this approach if your amount to be put is huge. But have you considered another strategy like below?

1. 80-90% into your favorite green color FD, MMF etc
2. 10-20% into higher risk investment like mutual fund, ETF, stocks etc

I am adopting above strategy. I am hoping by risking a small portion of the capital to chase after higher returns the total overall returns of both 1+2 will be higher than just 1 alone.

It is like soccer. You have super defensive defenders and midfielders camp in your own half, but you will still deploy 1-2 super out and out striker to get goals. If you put all players in your own half how to win the match? Hope for draw and down to penalties? Hmmm not wrong I guess

guy3288
post May 19 2022, 02:05 PM

5,847 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ May 19 2022, 10:06 AM)
thank you for your answer..
wanted to hear from one of you about it. Now I know the reasons.

true now is a bad market year.. near the end invest will be safer. News will have hints when that time will be.
there are always 2 sides of the coin to consider..

after many years i found out for myself the steady and consistent return is better.
steady and consistent i refer the 4-6% types, not the current 2-3% types.
My last batch FDs are still 4.85%pa interest paid monthly, till end next year.

So stocks, unit trusts etc are like for fun only in my case ie not earning much after 20 years
Had i put them in 4-6% above i would have earned more.

QUOTE(sgh @ May 19 2022, 12:43 PM)
I read your posts and understand you belong to the camp of FD, MMF etc which are all or mostly capital guaranteed. There is nothing wrong with this approach if your amount to be put is huge. But have you considered another strategy like below?

1. 80-90% into your favorite green color FD, MMF etc
2. 10-20% into higher risk investment like mutual fund, ETF, stocks etc

I am adopting above strategy. I am hoping by risking a small portion of the capital to chase after higher returns the total overall returns of both 1+2 will be higher than just 1 alone.

It is like soccer. You have super defensive defenders and midfielders camp in your own half, but you will still deploy 1-2 super out and out striker to get goals. If you put all players in your own half how to win the match? Hope for draw and down to penalties? Hmmm not wrong I guess
yeah sure, we cant just put all in FD, ASX or MMF right?

I started off with 20% there now slowly reduced to below 10% as i find them not very productive.for me lah.
I would rather rely on my 80% portions - consistent return 4-7.4%
7.4% from corporate bonds
properties should be safe right ,yet my best returns , 6-13% nett rental
capital appreciation 200%

Ramjade
post May 19 2022, 02:33 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ May 19 2022, 02:05 PM)
there are always 2 sides of the coin to consider..

after many years i found out for myself the steady and consistent return is better.
steady and consistent i refer the 4-6% types, not the current  2-3% types.
My last batch FDs are still 4.85%pa interest paid monthly, till end next year.

So stocks, unit trusts etc are  like for fun only in my case ie not earning much after 20 years
Had i put them in 4-6% above i would have earned more.
yeah sure, we cant just put all in FD, ASX or MMF right?

I started off with 20%  there now slowly reduced to below 10% as i find them not very productive.for me lah.
I would rather  rely on  my 80% portions - consistent return 4-7.4%
7.4% from corporate bonds
properties should be safe right ,yet my best returns , 6-13% nett rental
capital appreciation 200%
He's Singaporean. No luck with amanah saham.
sgh
post May 19 2022, 05:45 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 19 2022, 02:33 PM)
He's Singaporean.  No luck with amanah saham.
We have something called Singapore Savings Bond that is capital guaranteed by Spore govt. New bond issued each month and rates are all published in advance so you can see and then decide to apply or not. Bond maturity is 10 years but any month you can withdraw all or partial but just not fast. E.g submit withdraw request between early to late May get monies in early Jun. Pro-rated interest will be given. Bond if oversubscribe means you may not get full allotment of what you apply. For this year so far no oversubscription.

162 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Top

0.0232sec    0.79    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:21 PM