Investment Kenanga Digital Investing (KDI), KDI Invest, KDI Save

sgh
post Apr 1 2022, 07:39 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Apr 1 2022, 05:21 PM)
You should ask why got custodian fee  doh.gif
Company got employees to feed every month mah. Others don't have custodian fee means must think earn monies from some other avenue/source etc. Company cannot be doing all for free so it is only when you as a customer feel their fees are reasonable and they are doing a good job or not.
sgh
post Apr 23 2022, 09:16 PM

692 posts

Sorry for butting in but isn't it more better if one can choose what ETF they want at fraction of capital like what Syfe Wealth Custom is offering? If Msian can go through so much hurdle to invest in US overseas broker IBKR I don't see the same effort in Spore Syfe? Maybe Syfe is small no reputation no track record?

Putting monies and let ppl decide what ETF to buy for you is so strange but then I see a lot investors ok or they like the hands free research done by others on behalf of them? This post is not to discredit KDI just pondering on the business model they are offering and I read so many takers.
sgh
post Apr 30 2022, 12:08 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Apr 30 2022, 11:20 AM)
Exit out KDI Invest the initial RM250, when saw the amount is like RM250.3, after cash out, the final amount is RM248.1, money received yesterday
May I know why you exit? US market not doing well so can expect losses. But your capital is 250 so lose abit still ok not like capital 250K then the loss is painful
sgh
post Apr 30 2022, 06:21 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Apr 30 2022, 01:34 PM)
The cash out for KDI save is same day if done before 11am working day, which is nice
I think need to be fair in judgement. From what I read KDI invest is use monies buy US listed ETF. So you initiate withdraw they have to sell off to get you monies this take time. Even if you DIY
in US exchange yourself today sell today get monies?

I believe KDI save is different it is pool everyone monies go invest some safer instruments. That pool of monies I believe they hold some small portion no invest to meet redemption request like you. That is why you today sell early you get monies early.
sgh
post Apr 30 2022, 10:22 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(bcombat @ Apr 30 2022, 07:07 PM)
they intend to reduce US equity exposure and place more fund in gold investment, ie SPDR gold trust.
That is normal always market correction ppl flock to gold investment. SPDR gold is backed by physical gold. I think Bursa and SGX also listed.

I wonder in their diversification basket of ETF do they also invest a bit on country specific ETF? I invest with Syfe and my Indonesia, Australia a little green color
sgh
post May 1 2022, 11:58 AM

692 posts

QUOTE(bcombat @ Apr 30 2022, 11:34 PM)
This is the conservative portfolio as per the March statement:

SHV   
FLOT   
IEF   
QQQ   
UUP   
HYG   
SPY   
VT   
BDNX

Other portfolio such as aggressive, growth, balanced etc, individual assets component are different from above.
Thanks for sharing. Quite skewed towards US and use World, International to try cover rest of the world which IMO will not be adequate. Anyway since I read kdi invest is you cannot control what ETF to buy you just give monies and hope they do a good job. Similar in business model as SA

If you can explore Spore Syfe Custom you get to pick your own ETF from a list they provided that is more control IMO.
sgh
post May 2 2022, 12:20 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(Alocasia @ May 2 2022, 08:59 AM)
i see thanks for the reply.
Majority of my funds are put under KDI Safe, I only put a small amount to test it on the Aggressive Mode. Understand that this kind of ETF should aim for long term, but as discussed above most of the robo adviser in Msia are not doing very well. Dunno if I should DCA, even if it's the money that I'm comfortable to lose...
When you start to question yourself it means you have the answer you should not go for investment Aggressive Mode. For me I am like you many years ago and it make sense since I am young working and starting family so every dollar and cents is hard-earned cannot go into aggressive mode. Now going towards retirement mode, with more monies saved I can take some risk and put some capital into aggressive mode. After-all my own govt has CPF aka Msia EPF as my backup.

sgh
post May 2 2022, 01:03 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(Alocasia @ May 2 2022, 12:49 PM)
I'm just testing water since it's a new instrument. The money that I put at KDI-Invest Aggressive Mode is less than 1% of my KDI portfolios.
Let's say I DCA-ing until RM3000 (for 0 management fees), it's not going to make me poor or rich, depending on its performance. It's just a means of portfolio diversification for newbie like me.
Dunno if I should DCA, even if it's the money that I'm comfortable to lose...
Sorry I misread becuz in your earlier post you ask should I DCA then latest you say testing water. That means before you ask should DCA your mind is made up to test water am I correct?
sgh
post May 2 2022, 10:49 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ May 2 2022, 10:14 PM)
I also prefer balance. Right now market red yet it didn’t go down too much.
IBKR offer fractional shares so if worry capital huge can use this feature to buy a bit after all 35 cents fee per trade is easily affordable. GOOGL TSLA news on 20-1 split so many ppl buying I think
sgh
post May 19 2022, 12:43 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ May 19 2022, 08:38 AM)
yes, never under estimate the value of these safe havens with steady and consistent returns.....no downfall,  no negatives ever to cancel off your overall portfolio. It can only add , never reduce your money in hand.

many ex kakis from old FSM thread  will remember how i argued and defended these safe havens when ASM,ASW,FD were being ridiculed by those so called  investment sifus when in actual fact they themselves  also cant beat  the lowly 4-6% when averaged it out. Ramjade was there then as a very junior forumner, often being ridiculed by many of them every now and then...but now  he has graduated to become an investment sifu.
that is because too many so called investment sifus are saying so.

And their voices are louder.
if you go to investment talks, they will brain wash you to take money all out from FD and invest.

Their excuse? inflation will eat away your money!

bottom line is how much you have in hand?
You dont have enough you may be susceptible to it.
I read your posts and understand you belong to the camp of FD, MMF etc which are all or mostly capital guaranteed. There is nothing wrong with this approach if your amount to be put is huge. But have you considered another strategy like below?

1. 80-90% into your favorite green color FD, MMF etc
2. 10-20% into higher risk investment like mutual fund, ETF, stocks etc

I am adopting above strategy. I am hoping by risking a small portion of the capital to chase after higher returns the total overall returns of both 1+2 will be higher than just 1 alone.

It is like soccer. You have super defensive defenders and midfielders camp in your own half, but you will still deploy 1-2 super out and out striker to get goals. If you put all players in your own half how to win the match? Hope for draw and down to penalties? Hmmm not wrong I guess

sgh
post May 19 2022, 05:45 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 19 2022, 02:33 PM)
He's Singaporean.  No luck with amanah saham.
We have something called Singapore Savings Bond that is capital guaranteed by Spore govt. New bond issued each month and rates are all published in advance so you can see and then decide to apply or not. Bond maturity is 10 years but any month you can withdraw all or partial but just not fast. E.g submit withdraw request between early to late May get monies in early Jun. Pro-rated interest will be given. Bond if oversubscribe means you may not get full allotment of what you apply. For this year so far no oversubscription.
sgh
post May 19 2022, 06:36 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(Alocasia @ May 19 2022, 06:08 PM)
I learnt this concept from GenXGenYGenZ back then when I was still a student. He also said that focus on saving your first million and the following steps would be easier. Even with 1M, and 4% p.a averagely back then is already 40k p.a and 3.3k per month. Can you consistently make 3.3k nett from other investment like stocks monthly? And one may need to sell the stock before they can take the profit.
The key to this strategy is when can you earn your first million ? If salary worker you can do some maths if can hit by the time you retire then yes that strategy works. If cannot hit then the strategy does not work out very well isn't it? Also don't just look at the 3.3k in your e.g also need to factor in the rising cost of living and any other loans you haven't pay finish like house, car, kids education etc.
sgh
post Jun 9 2022, 12:54 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jun 9 2022, 12:24 PM)
From other investment threads, there had mentions of giving
spouse knowledge of the use of investment a/c n Internet banking,
Login details n passwords of those a/cs

And hv them transfer out the $$ if needed
Someone in other forum ask then the next question would be what if the spouse also pass away before login to transfer out? So investment resides the platform (whatever etc) "forever"?
sgh
post Jun 9 2022, 05:33 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jun 9 2022, 01:28 PM)
Just not sure about money with those malaysia not approved or malaysia registered entities
This will hit Msian investors hard who use overseas broker like IBKR and others isn't it? No wonder I read posts previously how they document login info down and pass to spouse etc etc process. Actually I quite sympathize with Msian investors as in there are quite a lot of overseas broker with credible reputation but yet not in Msia list. IBKR, Webull etc all setup office in Spore so I guess in a way I am thankful for that. But having said that it does not mean it is still safe as Binance Spore just wind down operations this year.

So always diversify. Put some in your own country EPF (quite safe), some in own country bank FD, some in own country insurance etc. Those monies placed should be safe in the event you pass away and your nominees can get hold of your monies?

0.1062sec    0.94    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:34 PM