Davidtcf
post Feb 18 2022, 05:38 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

My questions and reply from Kenanga :

Glad they looking into biometric login enhancement. Don't like to keep enter password over and over again.

Also they can't reveal further as it is in regards to their investments or ETFs. Those who have invested in Kenanga Invest do share your results/holdings after one month via the statement!

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Feb 18 2022, 05:41 PM
Davidtcf
post Feb 18 2022, 11:45 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(poooky @ Feb 18 2022, 08:11 PM)
transfer to sg? IBKR? FSM sg?
Check Ziet Invest youtube videos for detailed guides. So far IBKR the best for US stocks and for irish domiciled ETFs
He is Malaysian as well. No other youtuber come close to him on this.

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Feb 18 2022, 11:47 PM
Davidtcf
post Feb 19 2022, 02:45 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(melondance @ Feb 19 2022, 12:31 PM)
I wonder is there any good alternatives to IBKR that is licensed locally? I don't mind taking some compromises. Rakuten's fee are not that expensive but the stocks and ETFs are currently limited.. MIDF the fee is expensive at 8USD for <1K USD. However, I am looking to hold for a very long time.. Looking for solutions with simple deposit and withdrawal  cry.gif
just learn to use IBKR.. Ziet Invest youtube already very detailed. Got issues can ask us also.

What is your concern? smile.gif
Davidtcf
post Feb 20 2022, 03:24 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(melondance @ Feb 19 2022, 03:34 PM)
I am abit concerned on using fintech such as TransferWise to bridge towards the platform... From what I have calculated, the forex rate is roughly equal on MIDF/FSMOne/Rakuten when you do it both ways (RM > USD > RM), as there is fee incurred when using TransferWise. The brokerage fees on our SC regulated services are quite high and the execution is perhaps not good when compared to IBKR. Really hope someday we would see platform with low fees, easy cash deposit/withdrawal. Seems like there is always a drawback and not all is perfect sad.gif
If gov become like Singapore then that could happen. Else slowly dream. Malaysia gov very conservative about their currency and what also wanna tax when come to foreign investments. Local bursa also a bad place to invest unless experienced and pour in a lot of time to monitor.

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Feb 20 2022, 03:25 PM
Davidtcf
post Feb 20 2022, 03:28 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Feb 19 2022, 09:45 PM)

Seems like the highlighted region in the map and the geography invested doesn't tally. Could be a bug.

Need to wait for next statement to see the actual ETF purchased
Map and description upside down 🤣
Davidtcf
post Feb 22 2022, 10:02 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(abcn1n @ Feb 22 2022, 01:07 AM)
Thanks. Principal not guaranteed then.
if we start losing our principal.. nobody will dare invest in MMF funds already.
Interest rate not guaranteed then more likely.. could fluctuate between 1-3%.

PIDM protected means if the company go bust, you get to claim some amount based on their limit.
For these online MMF funds don't have such protection so there's a risk on that.
Most of them are tied to big banks anyway.. so easy to go bust? laugh.gif

still best to diversify your investments, don't put all in one basket.
anything happen to 1, you still have others that are ok.

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Feb 22 2022, 10:06 AM
Davidtcf
post Feb 22 2022, 10:35 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Feb 22 2022, 10:06 AM)
if it busts, then we are probably in one of the recessions already.
yeah.. whole Malaysia affected that time.

as long they well managed then no issues.. so far I see local banks all doing ok.
if still concern then read through a bank's financial report. Any public listed company will have that at their website.

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Feb 22 2022, 10:36 AM
Davidtcf
post Feb 24 2022, 02:56 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(CoolStoryWriter @ Feb 24 2022, 01:17 PM)
Anyone has any thoughts what may the ETFs be? I read somewhere it's all USA based
You can read in the FAQ section (from the mobile app) under "General KDI Invest". It got state there that they invest in US ETFs.
Only way to know exactly what ETFs is once the statement is out.. should be once a month statement? This they didn't specify.
Davidtcf
post Feb 24 2022, 04:34 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Feb 24 2022, 04:20 PM)
luckily i jz put RM250 into KDI invest (balanced) test water, now russian attack ukraine everything gonna be down to drain
if long term invest they will come back up.. any losses are just paper loss until they are sold.

my IBKR now also much red, CSPX loss 180 USD, AAPL 40 USD, PFE 28 USD, SMH 45 USD, VWRA 42 USD. All are my losses for them. moneyflies.gif
Even BNKS - bank ETFs also loss at 24 USD.
Fall happened after Fed announced raising interest rates.

mostly bought end of last year.. this year added a few. That also I small investor.. imagine what some big whales here would have loss.
just continue DCA when you're comfortable and keep it long term. 5-10 years minimum sure will go back up. flex.gif

can wait for Russia war to over first before putting in money.. but as usual when things start showing positive, stocks also will be more expensive to buy. Better to buy when they are down.

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Feb 24 2022, 04:40 PM
Davidtcf
post Feb 25 2022, 09:20 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

Seems like both the user and referred person need to invest 250 minimum into the KDI Invest before can earn referral bonus. Just did it.. Chose Balanced portfolio. Better than get nothing if just have KDI save:

Davidtcf
post Feb 25 2022, 10:19 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(tadashi987 @ Feb 25 2022, 10:11 AM)
my balanced portfolio losing RM4.00+ from RM250 cost dah, fck warrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
ok la now bear market also.. what Stock or ETF also more down than up. moneyflies.gif
once all this is over we will fly to the moooonn... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Feb 25 2022, 10:20 AM
Davidtcf
post Feb 25 2022, 03:24 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(rocketm @ Feb 25 2022, 01:52 PM)
I have transferred RM1k from KDI Save to KDI Invest at 3:35AM. My risk profile is Aggressive Growth. The transfer status is still pending.

How can buy some in this bad market and exited to know the ETF type.
Need to wait statement to know what they are investing in. Likely after a month.
Davidtcf
post Feb 25 2022, 08:17 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(lovelyuser @ Feb 25 2022, 06:52 PM)

The 3% guarantee probably is their marketing cost as they saved the cost of intermediary, call center, fund manager etc

3% - 2.25% = 0.75%

0.75% x RM 200,000 (max) = RM 1,500

RM 1,500 / 12 mths = RM 125/mth

Each new customer max cost of marketing is RM 125 x 10.5mths = RM 1,312.50
Wah so much cash omg.. 😱

Davidtcf
post Feb 28 2022, 05:01 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Feb 26 2022, 11:25 PM)
make sense, probably im just overthinking it
Kenanga is a public listed investment bank under KLSE with stock ticker KENANGA.

They cannot afford to mess things up, else will be bad for their image and investors' confidence.
Davidtcf
post Feb 28 2022, 05:35 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Feb 28 2022, 05:24 PM)
lol, dun see them so highly. that's all i can say.
at least we'll know if shit about to happen.. got auditors checking their books every year.

well even banks can fall.. if want safest then go for Fixed Deposit.. problem with that is funds are locked for a duration. Got PIDM protect up to certain amount.
Davidtcf
post Feb 28 2022, 07:29 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

I'm just more concern about the safety of using their app. Don't see any biometric or 2FA security. What if someone hack our logins and able to withdraw money into their own accounts? Does Kenanga take responsibility if that happens? Will they make sure only same account name can withdraw?

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Feb 28 2022, 07:30 PM
Davidtcf
post Mar 1 2022, 08:42 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

just received email that statement is ready.. seems like on every 1st of the month. Anyone can share their KDI Invest ETF holdings? like how many % in which ETFs for your risk selection?
Davidtcf
post Mar 1 2022, 10:22 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

wah all their selections good leh.. much better than Stashaway.

SPY, QQQ, VT, VWOB, VNQ all are good ETFs. Many diversified bond ETFs also.

only ASHR is pure China ETF but don't see any allocation to it, maybe in future when it improves.

so far looks good.. prefer this over Stashaway's portfolio any time thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Mar 1 2022, 10:25 AM
Davidtcf
post Mar 1 2022, 01:58 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

can login from here also if on a computer:
https://app.digitalinvesting.com.my/user-login
Davidtcf
post Mar 1 2022, 04:07 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Mar 1 2022, 03:54 PM)
bcombat yup... once u get used to it, less learning curve to DIY. watch yahoo finance live on youtube also senang

some ppl die2 don't want to DIY coz of time and trouble (need to transfer money here and there), and also more likely to keep checking their investments since they managing it themselves. They rather just concentrate fully in their work/study.

Actually I'm also tempted to just use Robo advisor 100%.. sometimes feel pain keep use Wise to send money to IBKR. If invest in the more niche ETF will concern also - once a day will check at least. For Robo advisors they will help rebalance when an ETF is not doing too good, or change it to another. If DIY all these have to ownself handle.

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Mar 1 2022, 04:07 PM

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0208sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 02:29 PM