6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Home Theatre Onkyo AV Receiver

TSkll71
post Aug 10 2007, 07:49 PM, updated 19y ago

28 posts

hi there

anyone know where to buy onkyo av receiver in klang valley?

what are the prices of onkyo 605, 705 and 805?

anyone tested the above models? how do they compare to brands like denon 2307, 2807, 3805, 3806, marantz 7500?

advice from all most appreciated. thanks. thumbup.gif
cougar richard
post Aug 10 2007, 09:46 PM

I want money
1,007 posts

i think music wise yamaha is better but for movie i think denon is performing better.
but personally i prefer yamaha than denon
sunauto
post Aug 11 2007, 04:44 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(cougar richard @ Aug 10 2007, 09:46 PM)
i think music wise yamaha is better but for movie i think denon is performing better.
but personally i prefer yamaha than denon
I prefer Yamaha too, not because it's a Yamaha but mainly because of their DSPs, they're famous for that. Even my amp has THX, I never used it once, just used Yamaha's own DSP instead, they sounded a lot better. THX sound processing is a little boomy for my taste
jazzy939
post Aug 12 2007, 12:35 PM

reel is real
8,186 posts

A while back I saw some units selling at the Desa Complex near Kepong.. the shop is at the ground floor.. sorry can't remember the name of the shop.. some 'hifi' shop in Pertama Complex might have them.. but then again, it has been quite a while since I go to these places... good hunting dude!

This post has been edited by jazzy939: Aug 12 2007, 12:36 PM
TSkll71
post Aug 13 2007, 01:30 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Aug 12 2007, 12:35 PM)
A while back I saw some units selling at the Desa Complex near Kepong.. the shop is at the ground floor.. sorry can't remember the name of the shop.. some 'hifi' shop in Pertama Complex might have them.. but then again, it has been quite a while since I go to these places... good hunting dude!
hi,

you know what are the prices like?

btw, anyone tested the Cambridge Audio Azur 540 RV or Luxman 7500 or Eltaz A900? any comments?

thanks.

kll71
wink.gif
psp _BOY
post Aug 13 2007, 06:59 PM

I've been lying wide awake paralyzed
1,978 posts

Onkyo 605 around 3.2k at The Hi-Fi shop at One Utama.
TSkll71
post Aug 14 2007, 07:43 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Aug 13 2007, 06:59 PM)
Onkyo 605 around 3.2k at The Hi-Fi shop at One Utama.
hmm..

some say since they are not popular in malaysia, it may be a problem if need servicing, repair, etc...

3.2k for 605. isn't that rather expensive? any other suggestions on what other brands would be good to consider?

kll71 blink.gif

Added on August 15, 2007, 1:24 pm
QUOTE(kll71 @ Aug 14 2007, 07:43 PM)
hmm..

some say since they are not popular in malaysia, it may be a problem if need servicing, repair, etc...

3.2k for 605. isn't that rather expensive? any other suggestions on what other brands would be good to consider?

kll71 blink.gif
hi there... any comments from the rest of the gurus here? flex.gif

This post has been edited by kll71: Aug 15 2007, 01:24 PM
dirtrun
post Aug 17 2007, 03:34 PM

3,136 posts

Hahaha,

Everythings exp in Bolehland ... especially if it dont come from PRC(wif sum equal sounding name, tat is ... not those wif sweat shops but Jap/US managers ... kekeke biggrin.gif ) or from sum factory in Ipoh/Penang/Shah Alam etc etc...

I suggest u dont look at de net for models to buy but just read for infos sake and then go hunting at ur local av shops or places like HN or BD or Sen Heng even then listen and try out for urself la bro....

The problem is avrs are so competitively keen... they change their models every year and nobody in de right minds will want to keep up ( even when there is nothing new to offer they always come up wif a new model each year ... sumtimes wif a measly claimed 10wts/channel extra, note I say claimed... )

Cheers
Dirtrun

This post has been edited by dirtrun: Aug 17 2007, 03:42 PM
TSkll71
post Aug 20 2007, 06:43 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Aug 17 2007, 03:34 PM)
Hahaha,

Everythings exp in Bolehland ... especially if it dont come from PRC(wif sum equal sounding name, tat is ... not those wif sweat shops but Jap/US managers ... kekeke biggrin.gif ) or from sum factory in Ipoh/Penang/Shah Alam etc etc...

I suggest u dont look at de net for models to buy but just read for infos sake and then go hunting at ur local av shops or places like HN or BD or Sen Heng even then listen and try out for urself la bro....

The problem is avrs are so competitively keen... they change their models every year and nobody in de right minds will want to keep up ( even when there is nothing new to offer they always come up wif a new model each year ... sumtimes wif a measly claimed 10wts/channel extra, note I say claimed... )

Cheers
Dirtrun
hi dirtrun,

what is "HN or BD"?

do you know any other shops that carry the new onkyo av receiver?

thanks.

kll71 icon_rolleyes.gif
htkaki
post Aug 21 2007, 09:27 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I think he meant Harvey Norman and Best Denki
dirtrun
post Aug 21 2007, 03:50 PM

3,136 posts

QUOTE(kll71 @ Aug 20 2007, 06:43 PM)
hi dirtrun,

what is "HN or BD"?

do you know any other shops that carry the new onkyo av receiver?

thanks.

kll71 icon_rolleyes.gif

Hi Bro,

Bro Htkaki is rite ...

Uhm over here in Pg its even worse in trying out latest models especially avrs ... if u wanna test - u can test whatever they have in de shop ... if u wanna buy a new model ... can - pay deposit and they ll order for you...

I personally think Yamahas are de fastest in coming out wif latest models in Mal - maybe becos its factory is in Ipoh...

Kekekke
Dirtrun
PS Sorry I dont know where u can test out de Onkyos..
TSkll71
post Aug 21 2007, 06:55 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Aug 21 2007, 03:50 PM)
Hi Bro,

Bro Htkaki is rite ...

Uhm over here in Pg its even worse in trying out latest models especially avrs ... if u wanna test - u can test whatever they have in de shop ... if u wanna buy a new model ... can - pay deposit and they ll order for you...

I personally think Yamahas are de fastest in coming out wif latest models in Mal - maybe becos its factory is in Ipoh...

Kekekke
Dirtrun
PS Sorry I dont know where u can test out de Onkyos..
thanks bro,

have you tried the lower end denon, 1507, 1707 or 1907... how are they compared with cambridge audio azur 540r2 and marantz 4600, 5600 or harmon kardon 140, 145, 240, 245...

kll71 rclxub.gif
dirtrun
post Aug 22 2007, 02:21 PM

3,136 posts

Hiya,

I havent gone avr shopping since getting my pioneer 911 a good many years ago( since then Ive added a Rotel 985 power amp to it) and its suited me fine...

Well from wat I remember when I was hunting for a new avr to upgrade from my marantz 4200 :-

Ok first off de Marantz 4200 is a little under powered and it dont have much bass and to me was a little wheezy when it comes to de heavy bass music or scenes...

I liked de HK sound - very powerful even in music playing but I didnt like wat I read in de net abt its durability so I crossed dat off...

Next on my like list is de Yammy 1200(dat time it was one of de bestla) and yes it is good (again even for music...to my ears, tat is) but it was way over budget so scraped dat too...

Denon 3802 was great too but below Yammy in my book and again over budget...
I tried de Pioneer 811 and found it suited my budget and ears best...

I have a friend running an Integra(basically an Onkyo) 989 - flagship model back then which has problems wif one of its channels(intermittent sound) but its pretty powerful when its working properly, definitely worth an audition if u can find it...

BTW I later got a used Yammy 520 to power a bedroom HT and it rocks hence if given a new budget for avr, I would definitely shortlist de latest Yammy...

Cheers
Dirtrun

TSkll71
post Aug 22 2007, 08:11 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ Aug 22 2007, 02:21 PM)
Hiya,

I havent gone avr shopping since getting my pioneer 911 a good many years ago( since then Ive added a Rotel 985 power amp to it) and its suited me fine...

Well from wat I remember when I was hunting for a new avr to upgrade from my marantz 4200 :-

Ok first off de Marantz 4200 is a little under powered and it dont have much bass and to me was a little wheezy when it comes to de heavy bass music or scenes...

I liked de HK sound - very powerful even in music playing but I didnt like wat I read in de net abt its durability so I crossed dat off...

Next on my like list is de Yammy 1200(dat time it was one of de bestla) and yes it is good (again even for music...to my ears, tat is) but it was way over budget so scraped dat too...

Denon 3802 was great too but below Yammy in my book and again over budget...
I tried de Pioneer 811 and found it suited my budget and ears best...

I have a friend running an Integra(basically an Onkyo) 989 - flagship model back then which has problems wif one of its channels(intermittent sound) but its pretty powerful when its working  properly, definitely worth an audition if u can find it...

BTW I later got a used Yammy 520 to power a bedroom HT and it rocks hence if given a new budget for avr, I would definitely shortlist de latest Yammy...

Cheers
Dirtrun
hi bro,

thanks for your words of wisdom... most helpful... thanks again.

kll71 smile.gif

neoardi
post Aug 24 2007, 08:46 AM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

Hi, I also want to know about av receiver.
Other than the Onkyo, what other receiver that hv the DTSHD and Dolby TrueHD support? Please state the price and where to buy.
Thanks icon_rolleyes.gif
htkaki
post Aug 24 2007, 05:26 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

At the moment, I dont think there is any AV receivers with Dolby TrueHD and DTS HD in Malaysia yet. However, I guess it will be here by October. Most probably Denon and Yamaha.
ken3011
post Oct 28 2007, 01:07 PM

317 posts

yamaha good in its dsp but denon juz a simple middle end amp
htkaki
post Oct 28 2007, 05:36 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(ken3011 @ Oct 28 2007, 01:07 PM)
yamaha good in its dsp but denon juz a simple middle end amp

Bro, not trying to snub you. Denon does produce very high end AV receiver, which produces jaw dropping effect. The flagship model, AVC-A1XV cost as much as a Perodua Viva. Denon and Yamaha have been in stiff competition in this segment for years.

ken3011
post Nov 3 2007, 04:41 PM

317 posts

but in my opinion the hign end is amp is can buy a vious wor lolz... but in my experience in the same price range between denon and yamaha , yamaha dsp really far far win..
htkaki
post Nov 5 2007, 09:38 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(ken3011 @ Nov 3 2007, 04:41 PM)
but in my opinion the hign end is amp is can buy a vious wor lolz... but in my experience in the same price range between denon and yamaha , yamaha dsp really far far win..

Another one doh.gif .

sonicwall
post Nov 5 2007, 12:46 PM

677 posts

What do u guys think of Onkyo 605, CNet Editor Choice Jul 2007 and What Hi-Fi Sound and Vision Award Winners 2007: Product of Year & BEST RECEIVER £300 - £750.

One shop at Pertaman Complex offers RM2500, do u think it worths the price? tq
htkaki
post Nov 5 2007, 02:37 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(sonicwall @ Nov 5 2007, 12:46 PM)
What do u guys think of Onkyo 605, CNet Editor Choice Jul 2007 and What Hi-Fi Sound and Vision Award Winners 2007: Product of Year & BEST RECEIVER £300 - £750.

One shop at Pertaman Complex offers RM2500, do u think it worths the price? tq

So, it is finally here. It received a lot of good reviews. IMHO, it offers value for money. Tis baby has almost everything under the it; Dolby TrueHD, DTS HD, upscaling, etc. thumbup.gif Now, I am tempted by it. drool.gif

ttagis
post Nov 8 2007, 07:59 PM

169 posts

Sorry kll71 using ur thread.. icon_rolleyes.gif hope can get some help here....
I'm planning to buy a stereo receiver just to manage my stereo system... blush.gif
i dont have an ultimate setup just simple mini setup that satisfied my needs of music.. cool.gif
I got a Samsung LCD TV, PS2, Sony Dvd Player, my PC with headamp and of course my headphone. and my 2.1 speaker set.. ohhh forgot...i'm also planning to get a decent CD player later... rclxm9.gif
So i want my future receiver able to manage this setup whistling.gif
i got quote from one shop at PJ around RM900++ sweat.gif (the person directly call thru my handphone after i sent an email at onkyo website notworthy.gif )

http://www.intl.onkyo.com/products/hi-fi_c...8222/index.html

is this a good buy? icon_question.gif and if u got other model as suggestion i dont mind... and if u guys want a details of my setup just let me know .. i dont mind to put here just a little bit shy cry.gif
termite9
post Dec 22 2007, 08:33 AM

91 posts

how abour onkyo sr875? whats the price?
crazyconsumer
post Dec 22 2007, 11:45 AM

Big Spender
673 posts

Years ago, there used to be an ONKYO seller/distributor at TAMAN SEA, Pj. Now dunno still there or not
mpyw
post Dec 22 2007, 12:38 PM

3,603 posts

Onkyo official distributor in Malaysia:-

Hwee Seng (Electronics) Sdn Bhd
Building Information Centre, G-10 Ground Floor, Lot 2 Jalan 51A/243, 46100 Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Phone +60-3-78754840
Fax +60-3-78754488

This post has been edited by mpyw: Dec 22 2007, 12:39 PM
htkaki
post Dec 22 2007, 04:26 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Used to be distributed by Tat Chuan. However, I might doing a bulk for this. Still waiting for the quotation from them.
ar188
post Dec 23 2007, 05:49 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Dec 22 2007, 04:26 PM)
Used to be distributed by Tat Chuan. However, I might doing a bulk for this. Still waiting for the quotation from them.
yeah keep us posted.. biggrin.gif check price for SR705 also..
sunauto
post Dec 24 2007, 03:13 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 23 2007, 05:49 PM)
yeah keep us posted..  biggrin.gif  check price for SR705 also..
SR705 seems to be the sweet spot from Onkyo, not too underpowered and just nice for a medium sized hall.
splee8868
post Dec 24 2007, 10:51 PM

139 posts

sr605---rm2999,
sr705---rm3699,
sn875---rm6599
BuFung
post Dec 24 2007, 10:59 PM

8,407 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Dec 22 2007, 12:38 PM)
Onkyo official distributor in Malaysia:-

Hwee Seng (Electronics) Sdn Bhd 
Building Information Centre, G-10 Ground Floor, Lot 2 Jalan 51A/243, 46100 Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Phone  +60-3-78754840
Fax  +60-3-78754488
QUOTE(htkaki @ Dec 22 2007, 04:26 PM)
just below my office.. laugh.gif laugh.gif

can do bulk?? hmm.gif hmm.gif

Tat Chuan seem to be doing not well recent year.. they lost the Tannoy HT distributionship.. laugh.gif
craven dusk
post Dec 25 2007, 03:14 AM

241 posts

I am considering Yammy rxv-1800 vs onkyo tx-sr705. I believe they are from the same price range. Any advice?
splee8868
post Dec 25 2007, 07:46 AM

139 posts

Yammy rxv-1800 =rm4350.....

QUOTE(craven dusk @ Dec 25 2007, 03:14 AM)
I am considering Yammy rxv-1800 vs onkyo tx-sr705. I believe they are from the same price range. Any advice?
arj
post Dec 25 2007, 11:32 AM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

Initially I was thinking about upgrading to the Onkyo SR605 to take advantage of the HD audio capability of my HD DVD player and PS3 but this thread at avs made me seriously consider the Yamaha instead hmm.gif

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=955815
craven dusk
post Dec 25 2007, 11:46 AM

241 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Dec 25 2007, 11:32 AM)
Initially I was thinking about upgrading to the Onkyo SR605 to take advantage of the HD audio capability of my HD DVD player and PS3 but this thread at avs made me seriously consider the Yamaha instead hmm.gif

I have read few here and there. It is generally regarded starting from tx-sr875 that onkyo began to match yammy's rvx-1800 sound quality. Anything below that just doesnt compare.
splee8868
post Dec 25 2007, 12:37 PM

139 posts

onkyo tx-sr875 = yammy's rvx-1800 ,are u sure? different level wo......sr875 is high end.....rx-v1800 is middle end wo

QUOTE(craven dusk @ Dec 25 2007, 11:46 AM)
I have read few here and there. It is generally regarded starting from tx-sr875 that onkyo began to match yammy's rvx-1800 sound quality. Anything below that just doesnt compare.
htkaki
post Dec 25 2007, 02:36 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

That fella on holiday, arj. Will check again when he's back.
craven dusk
post Dec 25 2007, 06:49 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(splee8868 @ Dec 25 2007, 12:37 PM)
onkyo tx-sr875 = yammy's rvx-1800 ,are u sure? different level wo......sr875 is high end.....rx-v1800 is middle end wo
Exactly my point
sunauto
post Dec 25 2007, 09:36 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Dec 25 2007, 11:32 AM)

Well, the PS3 is unable to output DTS-HD Lossless via bitstream (HDMI) so that means all the titles released by Fox Studioes will be affected as they're a lover of the DTS-HD format.

arj
post Dec 31 2007, 05:37 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(splee8868 @ Dec 24 2007, 10:51 PM)
sr605---rm2999,
sr705---rm3699,
sn875---rm6599
These prices are for which shop? I got a quote of RM2500 for the 605 from Legend. A fellow forumer who went to Legend was quoted RM2600 for the 605 and RM4180 for the 705 hmm.gif

Ka3tr0
post Dec 31 2007, 06:23 PM

362 posts

Guys,

Just go to Mega Pavilion Harvey Norman and you can compare both receiver hooked up to same speaker. To me, budget wise and more money for the buck, i go for 705 which i bought it for 3300.

At first i wanted to have denon 3808CI because of the wireless ethernet streaming capability, but then i learned my PS3 can stream any mp3 too, so that lower it down, beside the denon and yamaha cost RM 1000 more than my current 705.

For those having PS3, you will love the "BLUE"..blue light when it goes on, pair with Onkyo blue light when on...and in my case, my Philips 7432 also power on light also blue...hehehehe...so many BLUES, really look nice...

To those of you who in doubt, go test your ear at the above said mall, to me, i cant differentiate the Yamaha av and Onkyo av quality, both sound almost the same. Plus, you cant go wrong with a THX certified a/v receiver 705.
crazyconsumer
post Dec 31 2007, 06:55 PM

Big Spender
673 posts

That's cool !! Harvey Norman using which player to demo on yamaha/onkyo? I hope they are doing the demo correctly, with proper players and connection, receivers showing HD sound decoding.

If different components on each set, then not conclusive.
Ka3tr0
post Dec 31 2007, 10:39 PM

362 posts

I hooked up the new BD player..forgot which model already. Go and ask the staff to hook it up. The best thing is, Onkyo place their own technical guy over there instead of salesman to explain each single thing. You can ask them all the Q you want. He will demonstrate the function and stuff.
accs_centre
post Dec 31 2007, 11:32 PM

4,840 posts

QUOTE(Ka3tr0 @ Dec 31 2007, 10:39 PM)
I hooked up the new BD player..forgot which model already. Go and ask the staff to hook it up. The best thing is, Onkyo place their own technical guy over there instead of salesman to explain each single thing. You can ask them all the Q you want. He will demonstrate the function and stuff.
Sounds great.. Do u think One U also same price for ur 705?
sunauto
post Jan 1 2008, 01:11 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(Ka3tr0 @ Dec 31 2007, 06:23 PM)
Guys,

Just go to Mega Pavilion Harvey Norman and you can compare both receiver hooked up to same speaker. To me, budget wise and more money for the buck, i go for 705 which i bought it for 3300.

At first i wanted to have denon 3808CI because of the wireless ethernet streaming capability, but then i learned my PS3 can stream any mp3 too, so that lower it down, beside the denon and yamaha cost RM 1000 more than my current 705.

For those having PS3, you will love the "BLUE"..blue light when it goes on, pair with Onkyo blue light when on...and in my case, my Philips 7432 also power on light also blue...hehehehe...so many BLUES, really look nice...

To those of you who in doubt, go test your ear at the above said mall, to me, i cant differentiate the Yamaha av and Onkyo av quality, both sound almost the same. Plus, you cant go wrong with a THX certified a/v receiver 705.
How's the performance of 705 when listening to music sources?
htkaki
post Jan 1 2008, 08:54 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

arj, the fella will quote 605 and 705 by Thurs. But after reading the spec and the link that you posted, 705 wld be a safe bet albeit more expensive.

Anyway, hope that 605 problem is in US only.
Ka3tr0
post Jan 1 2008, 09:19 PM

362 posts

Music source...hmm..i cant say much as i only play mp3..not sacd...hooked up on ps3...am not an audiophile but all high end pitch can be drive crazily clear and crisp...i have a bright speaker from FIDEK if you see my pics....i know its not the high end speaker...but good enough for me...the imaging was GOOD !! Listen to Miles Davis CD...awesome and clear sound...you have to go listen yourself...my ear and yours not the same ler...

To Accs-Centre
One U ? Didnt see any Onkyo there, probably i wrong...but for safe bet..go mega pavilion..heck they got Onkyo and Yamaha allready hooked up in Demo Room...bring your own cd for your listening pleasure...

This post has been edited by Ka3tr0: Jan 1 2008, 09:22 PM
tHeRiDdLeR
post Jan 2 2008, 08:38 PM

247 posts

today i went to harvey norman@pavilion. the guy quote me RM3399(credit card) for sr705 with extended warranty 1+4(years), bcoz i'm noob about speaker connections, i ask that guy to demo(connect) to pioneer speaker(htz363dvd) cause i already have this HT set.

This guy call his friend(maybe expert with pioneer system) & confirmed the connection can be done. they use hdmi cable to connect dvd player, receiver & lcd. no problem with video but the problem is no output sound. alamak card dah swipe 4 payment.

After a few hours they found the hdmi output(from htdvd363) only carry video only. ohh sungguh malang nasibku. finally i've to cancel my payment dan pulang dgn hampa.

This post has been edited by tHeRiDdLeR: Jan 2 2008, 08:45 PM
accs_centre
post Jan 2 2008, 08:48 PM

4,840 posts

QUOTE(tHeRiDdLeR @ Jan 2 2008, 08:38 PM)
After a few hours they found the hdmi output(from htdvd363) only carry video only. ohh sungguh malang nasibku. finally i've to cancel my payment dan pulang dgn hampa.
Quite strange HDMI only carry video signal..i suspect they didnt setup the dvd player to output sound to hdmi, maybe..

Any other model pricing u know there? They got Onkyo 805 or not?
tHeRiDdLeR
post Jan 2 2008, 09:39 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(accs_centre @ Jan 2 2008, 08:48 PM)

Any other model pricing u know there? They got Onkyo 805 or not?
if i'm not mistaken they have 875. forgot the price. maybe around 6K plus. if u a serious buyer i think they can reduce the price.
timothyy
post Jan 2 2008, 10:08 PM

Do Not Underestimate the "Pawa" of the Dark Side
4,504 posts

So... anyone bulking this?
gaijin
post Jan 2 2008, 10:38 PM

172 posts

Confused. Your HTZ363 is a HTIB set right?

So how was the connection set up? The pioneer dvdplayer -> 705 receiver -> pioneer speakers? Thought for HTIB, speakers only work if output from the player itself (not from other receiver) blink.gif

Anyway, it's strange you plan to get 705 to match with HTIB. Should be with BD or HDDVD player. blush.gif

QUOTE(tHeRiDdLeR @ Jan 2 2008, 08:38 PM)
today i went to harvey norman@pavilion. the guy quote me RM3399(credit card) for sr705 with extended warranty 1+4(years), bcoz i'm noob about speaker connections, i ask that guy to demo(connect) to pioneer speaker(htz363dvd) cause i already have this HT set.

This guy call his friend(maybe expert with pioneer system) & confirmed the connection can be done. they use hdmi cable to connect dvd player, receiver & lcd. no problem with video but the problem is no output sound. alamak card dah swipe 4 payment.

tHeRiDdLeR
post Jan 3 2008, 12:53 AM

247 posts

QUOTE(gaijin @ Jan 2 2008, 10:38 PM)
Confused. Your HTZ363 is a HTIB set right?

So how was the connection set up? The pioneer dvdplayer -> 705 receiver -> pioneer speakers? Thought for HTIB, speakers only work if output from the player itself (not from other receiver)  blink.gif

Anyway, it's strange you plan to get 705 to match with HTIB. Should be with BD or HDDVD player.  blush.gif
Yes, you're right about HTZ363(HTIB) and the connection(pioneer dvdplayer -> 705 receiver -> pioneer speakers).
If u read my post, i already state that i'm noob about connection setup. i ask that guy more than 4 times regarding the setup. he said it should not be a problem with the connection.

BD or HDDVD player is already in my plan(next target) but not now(bajet lari). maybe after CNY or wait until the price reduce little bit more.

This post has been edited by tHeRiDdLeR: Jan 3 2008, 10:10 AM
arj
post Jan 3 2008, 05:31 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

Just got back from Harvey Norman @ Pavilion. Was quoted RM2589 for the SR605, RM3299 for the SR705 and RM4xxx for the SR805/875. Can't remember the exact price. They also have the Yamaha RX-V1800 at RM41xx and the RX-V3800 at over RM5000 hmm.gif

The receivers are connected to some decent speakers. Might bring over some CDs and DVDs during my next visit laugh.gif
timothyy
post Jan 3 2008, 05:34 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Jan 3 2008, 05:31 PM)
Just got back from Harvey Norman @ Pavilion. Was quoted RM2589 for the SR605, RM3299 for the SR705 and RM4xxx for the SR805/875. Can't remember the exact price. They also have the Yamaha RX-V1800 at RM41xx and the RX-V3800 at over RM5000 hmm.gif

The receivers are connected to some decent speakers. Might bring over some CDs and DVDs during my next visit laugh.gif
Wowow!!! REview... Review... Review!!!!
Yamaha so expensive... Anyone got any info on Denon?
arj
post Jan 3 2008, 05:53 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ Jan 3 2008, 05:34 PM)
Wowow!!! REview... Review... Review!!!!
Yamaha so expensive... Anyone got any info on Denon?
I only listened to the SR705 which is connected to some Jamo speakers so I'm unable to give any comparison reviews laugh.gif The Yamahas is in the next room which I didn't have time for a demo. As for Denons, you might wanna check out Desa Home Theater and Tong Lee at Lowyat for them.
crazyconsumer
post Jan 3 2008, 06:55 PM

Big Spender
673 posts

Listen to HD material or just SD / CD ?
craven dusk
post Jan 3 2008, 07:03 PM

241 posts

Now I understood whats the hype about. I bought my Yammy RXV-1800 for RM3600. Kindly note that Yamaha has Burr Bown DAC. I believe TX-SR805 upwards has them.
arj
post Jan 3 2008, 07:51 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(crazyconsumer @ Jan 3 2008, 06:55 PM)
Listen to HD material or just SD / CD ?
SD DVD only...
timothyy
post Jan 4 2008, 08:56 AM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(craven dusk @ Jan 3 2008, 07:03 PM)
Now I understood whats the hype about. I bought my Yammy RXV-1800 for RM3600. Kindly note that Yamaha has Burr Bown DAC. I believe TX-SR805 upwards has them.
So, what is the hype all about?
rx330
post Jan 4 2008, 10:07 AM

11,808 posts

craven, where u get tat price?????????

btw, yamaha + jamo sats ok ar?
htkaki
post Jan 4 2008, 11:12 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I would rather avoid Jamo. Used to be good but not anymore.
rx330
post Jan 4 2008, 11:18 AM

11,808 posts

tat bad ar? niamah, their speaker look nice ler
any recomendations? i need sats speaker
mpyw
post Jan 4 2008, 12:54 PM

3,603 posts

the desa HT having some nice Mordount Short 5.1 + Onkyo SR505 going for RM2,888, very nice setup liao
d100200
post Jan 4 2008, 04:37 PM

232 posts

Sorry and I hope I dont ninja post. I got a question about this av receiver and I really a NOOB.

Here is my setup.

1. LCD TV with 3 HDMI
2. Pioneer DVD player --> LCD TV using HDMI
3. HTPC --> LCD TV using RCA+stereo cable (thinking to replace HTPC with Dvico 4100 or 5100)
4. LCD TV --> 5.1 THX Speaker

I am thinking to buy those Av receiver to centralize control the sounds but after looking at all the above posted price which run into thousands,

that really scare me off.

Is there a cheaper way?

Note: I am not hardcore a/v fan so I dont think I will spend that big bucks unless I strike big sweep 1st price.
arj
post Jan 4 2008, 05:42 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

Just came back from window shopping at Desa Home Theater in Kepong and Acoustique Systems in Amcorp Mall. At Amcorp Mall I was quoted RM37xx for the Onkyo TX-SR705 and RM3690 for the Yamaha RX-V1800. At Desa I was quoted RM4000 for the RX-V1800 but as I was walking away, I was offered a "today only" price of RM3800 laugh.gif

timothyy
post Jan 4 2008, 05:49 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Jan 4 2008, 05:42 PM)
Just came back from window shopping at Desa Home Theater in Kepong and Acoustique Systems in Amcorp Mall. At Amcorp Mall I was quoted RM37xx for the Onkyo TX-SR705 and RM3690 for the Yamaha RX-V1800. At Desa I was quoted RM4000 for the RX-V1800 but as I was walking away, I was offered a "today only" price of RM3800 laugh.gif
Someone was sharpening their knife for slaughter
accs_centre
post Jan 4 2008, 05:50 PM

4,840 posts

Anyone know the price for Onkyo 805 selling in msia?? Or Malaysia distributor dont bring in this model? sad.gif

This post has been edited by accs_centre: Jan 4 2008, 05:50 PM
Blackhart
post Jan 4 2008, 07:29 PM

Like a rolling stone
508 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Jan 4 2008, 05:42 PM)
Those prices are very cheap already...when I bought my Yamaha RX-V1800 I was quoted RM4200 and the dude claimed that it was the lowest price you can find anywhere.Well he could say anything he wanted because at the time none of the shops even have a display set ready yet doh.gif
craven dusk
post Jan 4 2008, 10:17 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ Jan 4 2008, 08:56 AM)
So, what is the hype all about?
I'm afraid you have to read the all the postings in the thread
timothyy
post Jan 5 2008, 12:07 AM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(craven dusk @ Jan 4 2008, 10:17 PM)
I'm afraid you have to read the all the postings in the thread
I read all la. I even posted following the hype. But what is the hype all about? whistling.gif whistling.gif
arj
post Jan 5 2008, 03:09 AM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

To the Yamaha RX-V1800 owners, any of you using banana plugs? I read in avsforum that apparently European and Asian models of this receiver does not support banana plugs. It would be very tedious to screw the speaker cables one by one doh.gif
rx330
post Jan 5 2008, 10:11 AM

11,808 posts

arj, is it possible to get the black 1800 in msia?

jaybee here still selling for 4.2k, if im really getting it, i think i will go up kl biggrin.gif
JKEC
post Jan 5 2008, 11:09 AM

161 posts

rx, have u tried Audio Planet shop? they r selling it too..however i believe 1800 price that would be higher then kl....the guy told me was about 4.1k... sweat.gif
rx330
post Jan 5 2008, 11:26 AM

11,808 posts

jkec, i ask them aredi, its abt 4.1-4.2k

kl cheaper, im quite familair with them, but frankly, their prices not tat good
JKEC
post Jan 5 2008, 11:53 AM

161 posts

u r rite. i asked wharfedale diamond 9.1s. they quoted me 1.1k..
ya i'm not sure what it's the price in excatly now but i heard of this spk can get in kl at <RM800, is it true?
rx330
post Jan 5 2008, 12:06 PM

11,808 posts

kl price definitely better one, more competition
arj
post Jan 5 2008, 12:14 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 5 2008, 10:11 AM)

jaybee here still selling for 4.2k, if im really getting it, i think i will go up kl biggrin.gif
I saw a unit yesterday but forgot weather it's black or silver doh.gif laugh.gif

There's a few RX-V1800 owners here, maybe they can answer.
rx330
post Jan 5 2008, 12:40 PM

11,808 posts

they cakap msia silveraka titanum....
yfyap69
post Jan 5 2008, 12:44 PM

852 posts

I'm planning to get the SR605 to pair with my PS3 but I'm not sure which speaker to use. Any suggestion? Prefer 5.1 or 7.1 type of speaker set. Budget around RM2k.
neoardi
post Jan 5 2008, 02:02 PM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

QUOTE(yfyap69 @ Jan 5 2008, 12:44 PM)
I'm planning to get the SR605 to pair with my PS3 but I'm not sure which speaker to use. Any suggestion? Prefer 5.1 or 7.1 type of speaker set. Budget around RM2k.
Wharfedale
High Quality Built, Great Sound & Affordable. rclxms.gif
mpyw
post Jan 5 2008, 02:55 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(yfyap69 @ Jan 5 2008, 12:44 PM)
Bro, try goto e-mall at Jln Pudu, there're selling package Onkyo SR505 with Mordount Short Carnival 5.1 system for RM2,888, ask them to upgrade to SR605 for some extra....

p.s. they sell the SR505 alone at RM1,488....
timothyy
post Jan 5 2008, 09:03 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Jan 3 2008, 05:31 PM)

Went to SS2 Legend and the surrounding area.

They quoted 705 - RM4100
EX-V1700 at RM3600
craven dusk
post Jan 5 2008, 10:03 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ Jan 5 2008, 12:07 AM)
I read all la. I even posted following the hype. But what is the hype all about? whistling.gif  whistling.gif
Nevermind. Its good ur not affected by it.

Added on January 5, 2008, 10:04 pm
QUOTE(arj @ Jan 5 2008, 03:09 AM)
To the Yamaha RX-V1800 owners, any of you using banana plugs? I read in avsforum that apparently European and Asian models of this receiver does not support banana plugs. It would be very tedious to screw the speaker cables one by one doh.gif
Using banana plugs

Added on January 5, 2008, 10:05 pm

I was told its only available in titanium in Malaysia

This post has been edited by craven dusk: Jan 5 2008, 10:05 PM
pooh88
post Jan 5 2008, 10:58 PM

Malaysia Tennis Enthusiast
2,365 posts

Bro,

This E-mall place can bargain price or not? whistling.gif

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jan 5 2008, 02:55 PM)
Bro, try goto e-mall at Jln Pudu, there're selling package Onkyo SR505 with Mordount Short Carnival 5.1 system for RM2,888, ask them to upgrade to SR605 for some extra....

yfyap69
post Jan 5 2008, 11:09 PM

852 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jan 5 2008, 02:55 PM)

Thanks for the info, Bro. Will check it out.

Added on January 5, 2008, 11:12 pm
QUOTE(neoardi @ Jan 5 2008, 02:02 PM)
Wharfedale
High Quality Built, Great Sound & Affordable.  rclxms.gif
Can share the model # and price?

This post has been edited by yfyap69: Jan 5 2008, 11:12 PM
accs_centre
post Jan 5 2008, 11:52 PM

4,840 posts

QUOTE(yfyap69 @ Jan 5 2008, 11:09 PM)
Thanks for the info, Bro. Will check it out.

Added on January 5, 2008, 11:12 pm

Can share the model # and price?
Most recommended should be the diamond 9.1, am i right?
JKEC
post Jan 6 2008, 02:51 AM

161 posts

QUOTE(accs_centre @ Jan 5 2008, 11:52 PM)
nod.gif diamond 9 series... wub.gif
htkaki
post Jan 6 2008, 05:54 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Wah, Elite whistling.gif still dare to proclaim as 'peasant' Now, I want to teranjang u tongue.gif

yfyap69
post Jan 6 2008, 08:35 PM

852 posts

QUOTE(accs_centre @ Jan 5 2008, 11:52 PM)
Thanks for the info. What is the price like?
accs_centre
post Jan 6 2008, 10:08 PM

4,840 posts

QUOTE(yfyap69 @ Jan 6 2008, 08:35 PM)
Thanks for the info. What is the price like?
RM780+- at DESA HT
Ka3tr0
post Jan 7 2008, 08:05 AM

362 posts

Onkyo 705 - 4000 + at SS2 ?? I bought it for 3300 at Harvey Norman la...plus 5 yr warranty summore...i think you can go 3200 for it. I got HDMI cable worth 300 Monster Free...LOL !!

Whaferdale 9.1 <-- if i not mistaken this one is the loudspeaker right ? can only be use for audio listening..should not be use for movie right ? enlighten me more on loudspeaker usage...i tout its more to stereo listening

Hehe..bcoz if its good...i'll go do blind test..need pair stereo loudspeaker for my PROJECT ROOM...drive by my onkyo for 2nd zone...and yes 705 banana plug...Yammy no banana ka...aiya...come come..join onkyo club tongue.gif
splee8868
post Jan 7 2008, 08:18 AM

139 posts

onkyo 705 + 5 year warranty =rm3300? @ onkyo 705 only=rm3300?

cos as i know 5 year warranty u need to topup about rm600 right?

QUOTE(Ka3tr0 @ Jan 7 2008, 08:05 AM)
Onkyo 705 - 4000 + at SS2 ?? I bought it for 3300 at Harvey Norman la...plus 5 yr warranty summore...i think you can go 3200 for it. I got HDMI cable worth 300 Monster Free...LOL !!

Whaferdale 9.1 <-- if i not mistaken this one is the loudspeaker right ? can only be use for audio listening..should not be use for movie right ? enlighten me more on loudspeaker usage...i tout its more to stereo listening

Hehe..bcoz if its good...i'll go do blind test..need pair stereo loudspeaker for my PROJECT ROOM...drive by my onkyo for 2nd zone...and yes 705 banana plug...Yammy no banana ka...aiya...come come..join onkyo club tongue.gif
yfyap69
post Jan 7 2008, 08:40 AM

852 posts

QUOTE(accs_centre @ Jan 6 2008, 10:08 PM)
RM780+- at DESA HT
Thanks Bro. However, this speaker is not the 5.1 type. Just a stereo speaker. Any recommendation for 5.1 speaker?
tHeRiDdLeR
post Jan 7 2008, 08:43 AM

247 posts

QUOTE(splee8868 @ Jan 7 2008, 08:18 AM)
onkyo 705 + 5 year warranty =rm3300? @ onkyo 705 only=rm3300?
Last week went to Harvey Norman@Pavilion was quoted RM3399 for the SR705 with 5 year warranty. If u're serious buyer i think the price can be lower little bit more. Try nego, mayb u can get lower than Ka3tr0 with same package.
accs_centre
post Jan 7 2008, 08:43 AM

4,840 posts

QUOTE(yfyap69 @ Jan 7 2008, 08:40 AM)
Thanks Bro. However, this speaker is not the 5.1 type. Just a stereo speaker. Any recommendation for 5.1 speaker?
U can buy whole Diamond 9 series to become 5.1ch.. hehe.. But it wont cheap.. it is hi-fi thingy..
How much is ur budget for this 5.1ch speaker set?
rx330
post Jan 7 2008, 10:07 AM

11,808 posts

htkaki, anjua? ask only kenot ar? biggrin.gif

ok, all this 605, 705, 1800, if pair with satelite speakers, is it a waste?
mpyw
post Jan 7 2008, 12:35 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 7 2008, 10:07 AM)
htkaki, anjua? ask only kenot ar? biggrin.gif

ok, all this 605, 705, 1800, if pair with satelite speakers, is it a waste?
you have $$$ to burnt...upgrade the speakers next time lor....get the receiver 1st icon_rolleyes.gif
the surround use satelite speakers no problem cos' most movie are front enhanced, surround is mostly for the "FEEL", most important is the 3.1 i.e. Front L, R, Center and the Sub....I'm using satelite as my surround also.... sweat.gif
rx330
post Jan 7 2008, 12:46 PM

11,808 posts

so the front speakers not rekomended using surround?
accs_centre
post Jan 7 2008, 01:24 PM

4,840 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 7 2008, 12:46 PM)
so the front speakers not rekomended using surround?
If sound using surround type, then u may lose some mid range and voice detail..But u can use those bookshelf speaker also..(not too small lor)
rx330
post Jan 7 2008, 03:05 PM

11,808 posts

why will lose ar?

bookshelf speakers look very clumsy to me sad.gif
yfyap69
post Jan 7 2008, 03:18 PM

852 posts

QUOTE(accs_centre @ Jan 7 2008, 08:43 AM)
U can buy whole Diamond 9 series to become 5.1ch.. hehe.. But it wont cheap.. it is hi-fi thingy..
How much is ur budget for this 5.1ch speaker set?
Probably below RM2k.
mpyw
post Jan 7 2008, 03:46 PM

3,603 posts

was offered a used 9.1 (2 pcs) for RM630 b4....but I prefer floor standing so pass up.....
JKEC
post Jan 7 2008, 04:39 PM

161 posts

why diamond 9.1 selling was so xpensive in jb compare to kl price? vmad.gif
rx330
post Jan 7 2008, 05:31 PM

11,808 posts

jb pricing is overkilled
JiauBoy
post Jan 7 2008, 05:45 PM

727 posts

looks like more and more item to buy
arj
post Jan 7 2008, 06:53 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

Just for kicks, I called Tong Lee to enquire about Denon receivers. RM5000 for the 2808 and RM6100 for the 3808 sweat.gif
Ka3tr0
post Jan 7 2008, 08:22 PM

362 posts

QUOTE(tHeRiDdLeR @ Jan 7 2008, 08:43 AM)
Last week went to Harvey Norman@Pavilion was quoted RM3399 for the SR705 with 5 year warranty. If u're serious buyer i think the price can be lower little bit more. Try nego, mayb u can get lower than Ka3tr0 with same package.
Yup..told ya..but i got RM 300 monster hdmi hook up to my lcd + a helpfull hand of their workers to put it on a troley and sent it to the car park area....for free brows.gif ...probably because i was there from 8pm until the shop close...they sure sumpah me for being nitpick and i'm the last customer walk out from harvey norman ...everybody have wait for me.. whistling.gif ...overall 5 star service by harvey guys...esp that malay Onkyo represntative...very knowledgable and he knew his stuff...

What you guys waiting for...got get it...free promo for onkyo !!! thumbup.gif
craven dusk
post Jan 7 2008, 09:14 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Jan 7 2008, 06:53 PM)
Just for kicks, I called Tong Lee to enquire about Denon receivers. RM5000 for the 2808 and RM6100 for the 3808 sweat.gif
ARJ I'm glad I did not wait for Denon
mpyw
post Jan 7 2008, 10:40 PM

3,603 posts

Denon price are too much for M'sia market....
htkaki
post Jan 7 2008, 11:29 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Bro mpyw, as I said before that it could be the 'you-know-who' thingy coz it wasnt that expensive before that.
JiauBoy
post Jan 8 2008, 10:32 AM

727 posts

any idea what is the selling price for 705 in HK?
cempakakuning
post Jan 8 2008, 02:21 PM

Pioneer VSXLX50
THX Select 2
HDMI v1.3 (High-Definition Multimedia Interface) switching
USB Input
3rd Generation SHARC Processor
Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD Master Audio decoding
Wide Frequency Response for DVD-Audio and SACD
7.1 channel input & pre-output
96kHz / 24bit AD converters
192kHz / 24- Bit D/A Converters
Video up conversion to HDMI
On Screen Display
Front AV connection
Bi-Ampable front channels (When using 5.1)
iPod ready (With optional accessory)
Built in RDS FM/AM Tuner
MCACC Auto Setup

i think you guys should consider this reciever..marvellous soundstage..i've tried it at highway laser.....

billyngcam
post Jan 8 2008, 02:56 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(cempakakuning @ Jan 8 2008, 02:21 PM)
Pioneer VSXLX50
THX Select 2
HDMI v1.3 (High-Definition Multimedia Interface) switching
USB Input
3rd Generation SHARC Processor
Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD Master Audio decoding
Wide Frequency Response for DVD-Audio and SACD
7.1 channel input & pre-output
96kHz / 24bit AD converters
192kHz / 24- Bit D/A Converters
Video up conversion to HDMI
On Screen Display
Front AV connection
Bi-Ampable front channels (When using 5.1)
iPod ready (With optional accessory)
Built in RDS FM/AM Tuner
MCACC Auto Setup
i think you guys should consider this reciever..marvellous soundstage..i've tried it at highway laser.....
what's the price? drool.gif
rx330
post Jan 8 2008, 04:15 PM

11,808 posts

er... spore selling the 605 for 699 sgd, cheap ar?
cempakakuning
post Jan 8 2008, 04:41 PM

RM 4350..but still can adjust...
billyngcam
post Jan 8 2008, 04:44 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(cempakakuning @ Jan 8 2008, 04:41 PM)
RM 4350..but still can adjust...
ops, so expensive? In Highway Laser own website, the price only Rm 3999 doh.gif
mpyw
post Jan 8 2008, 04:54 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 8 2008, 04:15 PM)
cheap, very cheap SGD700 = RM1,610 nia....market price here ard RM2.5k wor.... doh.gif
apisgogo
post Jan 8 2008, 04:54 PM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

holy ****. go grab that one!!!

if u buy it there, let me know! smile.gif

This post has been edited by apisgogo: Jan 8 2008, 04:55 PM
yfyap69
post Jan 8 2008, 05:02 PM

852 posts

Wah so cheap, why don't you do a bulk buy for us? drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif
JiauBoy
post Jan 8 2008, 05:04 PM

727 posts

rx go get 805 lah
cempakakuning
post Jan 8 2008, 07:52 PM

QUOTE(billyngcam @ Jan 8 2008, 04:44 PM)
ops, so expensive? In Highway Laser own website, the price only Rm 3999 doh.gif
thanks for that bro...i din't notice that website....if that is the case,i will go back there and ask for that price or lower rclxms.gif cause im thinking of getting that lx50....
billyngcam
post Jan 8 2008, 09:11 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(cempakakuning @ Jan 8 2008, 07:52 PM)
thanks for that bro...i din't notice that website....if that is the case,i will go back there and ask for that price or lower rclxms.gif cause im thinking of getting that lx50....
no need to thank me bro.... I'm just doing myself a favour! icon_rolleyes.gif

I hate to be a victim of not honest salesman !

I'm looking for an A/V Amps too.... Did you have time to compare the Yamaha RX-V1800 ?

Which one sounds better?
apisgogo
post Jan 8 2008, 09:36 PM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

my eye fixed on 605...

now where to get best deal?
htkaki
post Jan 8 2008, 10:17 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

rx330, if SGD699, it is worth buying. However, I would opt for 705 instead of 605
timothyy
post Jan 8 2008, 11:26 PM

4,504 posts

So, no one is doing this bulk ah? No ah?
JiauBoy
post Jan 9 2008, 09:25 AM

727 posts

rx how much is 705 selling in sg?this the 605 is sell around the same price as hk.
eddyann
post Jan 9 2008, 10:02 AM

Gold Miner
1,981 posts

QUOTE(timothyy @ Jan 8 2008, 11:26 PM)
So, no one is doing this bulk ah? No ah?
possibility to bulk is there but cannot anticipate when. got bro in law working at onkyo doing those onkyo testing (test those, 605,705,805, SR model something everyday for final certification. the staff price is cheap too. 805 receiver can be cheap and really affordable. not sure how many can buy though sweat.gif
JiauBoy
post Jan 9 2008, 10:10 AM

727 posts

sounds good.

QUOTE(eddyann @ Jan 9 2008, 10:02 AM)
possibility to bulk is there but cannot anticipate when. got bro in law working at onkyo doing those onkyo testing (test those, 605,705,805, SR model something everyday for final certification. the staff price is cheap too. 805 receiver can be cheap and really affordable. not sure how many can buy though  sweat.gif
apisgogo
post Jan 9 2008, 10:14 AM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

QUOTE(eddyann @ Jan 9 2008, 10:02 AM)
possibility to bulk is there but cannot anticipate when. got bro in law working at onkyo doing those onkyo testing (test those, 605,705,805, SR model something everyday for final certification. the staff price is cheap too. 805 receiver can be cheap and really affordable. not sure how many can buy though  sweat.gif
i'll buy, if around this time.
rx330
post Jan 9 2008, 10:37 AM

11,808 posts

i will try to make a trip to spore this weekend, if ada time i go see for u guys

605 or 705, 805 doesnt worth it

billyngcam
post Jan 9 2008, 10:44 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 9 2008, 10:37 AM)
i will try to make a trip to spore this weekend, if ada time i go see for u guys

605 or 705, 805 doesnt worth it
bro, count me in for the 705 . I might be interested if the price is cheap rclxms.gif

thanks!
rx330
post Jan 9 2008, 10:48 AM

11,808 posts

wat the? u guys wan me to bring back the amp in bulk from spore ar??????????? mati aku......
JiauBoy
post Jan 9 2008, 10:49 AM

727 posts

805 hk is selling aroung 3.6k
605 is 1.7 not sure abt 705 make sure dont kena custem lah else will be 50% if im not mistaken
apisgogo
post Jan 9 2008, 10:52 AM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

QUOTE(billyngcam @ Jan 9 2008, 10:44 AM)
bro, count me in for the 705 . I might be interested if the price is cheap rclxms.gif

thanks!
if the price is not much different, why not! smile.gif

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 9 2008, 10:48 AM)
wat the? u guys wan me to bring back the amp in bulk from spore ar??????????? mati aku......
why not? smile.gif

u do a community service lah smile.gif
rx330
post Jan 9 2008, 10:55 AM

11,808 posts

wa seh.. community service ar..
the tax i also need to pay if kena? biggrin.gif

apisgogo
post Jan 9 2008, 11:15 AM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 9 2008, 10:55 AM)
haha, tax we pay lah... mana aci if u bayar...

50% tax.. quite high already huh...
SGD 699 = RM1600 (approx.) + 50% tax (RM800) = RM 2400 approx.

here sells RM2500, plus no worries to go anywhere for warranty. hm... i think not worth, if kena tax lah smile.gif
or is it true 50% tax will be applied? or less?

no way to avoid tax aa?

This post has been edited by apisgogo: Jan 9 2008, 11:18 AM
rx330
post Jan 9 2008, 11:17 AM

11,808 posts

noneed 50%, 30 % will do

avoid tax got lar... but kenot guarrantee one sad.gif

let me check the pricing 1st lar, then see how
JKEC
post Jan 9 2008, 11:19 AM

161 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 9 2008, 10:55 AM)
if u dare enough, drive Green lane to pass thru, but hengsui sometime.... sweat.gif
rx330
post Jan 9 2008, 11:25 AM

11,808 posts

irregardless i got bring anything, i only drive thru green lane one
apisgogo
post Jan 9 2008, 11:28 AM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

if 30%

SGD 699 = RM1600 (approx.) + 30% tax (RM480) = RM 2080 approx.

okay lah... then must add rx's charges lah... smile.gif
rx330
post Jan 9 2008, 11:35 AM

11,808 posts

2080 still worth it to buy in spore????????
JiauBoy
post Jan 9 2008, 02:46 PM

727 posts

i think there are more diffrent for 705. further more both are same weight.
billyngcam
post Jan 9 2008, 02:51 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Jan 9 2008, 11:15 AM)
haha, tax we pay lah... mana aci if u bayar...

50% tax.. quite high already huh...
SGD 699 = RM1600 (approx.) + 50% tax (RM800) = RM 2400 approx.

here sells RM2500, plus no worries to go anywhere for warranty. hm... i think not worth, if kena tax lah smile.gif
or is it true 50% tax will be applied? or less?

no way to avoid tax aa?
Hi bro apisgogo,

mind to let me know where in KL can get 705 for Rm 2500 ? Really don't know where in KL can find Onkyo (with good price)

This post has been edited by billyngcam: Jan 9 2008, 02:52 PM
tHeRiDdLeR
post Jan 9 2008, 02:57 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(billyngcam @ Jan 9 2008, 02:51 PM)
Hi bro apisgogo,

mind to let me know where in KL can get 705 for Rm 2500 ? Really don't know where in KL can find Onkyo (with good price)
705 for RM2500 ?? 605 u can get laaaa .... for 705 is rm3150 can get from Harvey Norman @ Pavilion

This post has been edited by tHeRiDdLeR: Jan 9 2008, 03:00 PM
billyngcam
post Jan 9 2008, 03:02 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(tHeRiDdLeR @ Jan 9 2008, 02:57 PM)
705 for RM2500 ?? 605 u can get laaaa .... for 705 is rm3150 can get from Harvey Norman @ Pavilion
ops, wrong info.... sweat.gif

by the way, if 705 is around Rm 3150, how's it compare to Yamaha RX-V1800 ? The Yamaha cost around Rm 500 more, which around the same specs. But, how's sound quality of these 2 A/V Amps ? Which is better for Music?

Another A/V Amp in my list is the Pioneer LX50... similar specs, but cost slightly more than the 2 above..

Any comments?

This post has been edited by billyngcam: Jan 9 2008, 03:03 PM
timothyy
post Jan 9 2008, 04:37 PM

4,504 posts

RM3150 is considerably cheap oh....
rx330
post Jan 9 2008, 04:46 PM

11,808 posts

yammy shud be better i suppose?

jaybee audio shop sucks, wen to one just now.. apa pun tarak, the amps all last gen one...

offer me JBL sat speakers, 7.1 , rm 2299 , ok ar?
harman kardon selling for 2599, but 5.1 only, free one pair of ori stand
mpyw
post Jan 9 2008, 05:15 PM

3,603 posts

u come to KL and bring 1 unit back lar....
apisgogo
post Jan 9 2008, 06:35 PM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

QUOTE(billyngcam @ Jan 9 2008, 03:02 PM)
ops, wrong info.... sweat.gif

by the way, if 705 is around Rm 3150, how's it compare to Yamaha RX-V1800 ? The Yamaha cost around Rm 500 more, which around the same specs. But, how's sound quality of these 2 A/V Amps ? Which is better for Music?

Another A/V Amp in my list is the Pioneer LX50... similar specs, but cost slightly more than the 2 above..

Any comments?
605 lah smile.gif if 705, i dah sapu...

Yammy equipped with those Burr-Brown thingy. should sounds good, but quite harsh on movies. I personally prefer onkyo and denon. This audio stuff u must auditioned them personally.

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 9 2008, 04:46 PM)

jaybee audio shop sucks, wen to one just now.. apa pun tarak, the amps all last gen one...

here at JBL 5.1 is around 1200.

go for bookshelf and floor standing speaker lah. Like denon speaker (dont remember what model) 2 floor, 2 bookshelves, 1 centre (RM1500) plus 800-700 for decent sub.

then ur speaker can match ur amp.

i wont suggest any 'cubical' or package speakers. depends on budget also smile.gif at least speakers u always could buy 1 by 1. remember speaker is essential! smile.gif
htkaki
post Jan 9 2008, 09:56 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 9 2008, 04:46 PM)

Bro, your budget so limited? Try to strecth a bit and get either Mordaunt Short, Wharfedale, AE, PSB, or KEF.

JKEC
post Jan 9 2008, 11:30 PM

161 posts

any center spk to recommand? budget around RM600
arj
post Jan 9 2008, 11:39 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(JKEC @ Jan 9 2008, 11:30 PM)
any center spk to recommand? budget around RM600
What front speakers are you using? It is always recomended that the front three speakers come from the same range so that the sound will be even.
JKEC
post Jan 10 2008, 12:11 AM

161 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Jan 9 2008, 11:39 PM)
What front speakers are you using? It is always recomended that the front three speakers come from the same range so that the sound will be even.
currently only using 1 pair of whafdefale crystal 10 bookshelf spks & yamaha v361 a/v ...

i'm thinking add 1 center spk + 1 cheapo sat spks for the surround. is there possible to get a decent sound quality with the setup?

any good suggestions? icon_question.gif

apisgogo
post Jan 10 2008, 02:29 AM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

apparently axiom ships internationally.

http://www.axiomaudio.com

nice high-end speaker there...
Synco
post Jan 10 2008, 04:05 AM

CCB
667 posts

how much do i need to prepare if i am buying SR705 with all 5 speaker+ sub? RM6k?
or any recommendation for nice but not super expensive speaker tongue.gif
piscesguy
post Jan 10 2008, 09:01 AM

ç§ã®åå‰ã¯ã‚Šã‚…ã†ã§ã™
3,963 posts

QUOTE(Synco @ Jan 10 2008, 04:05 AM)
how much do i need to prepare if i am buying SR705 with all 5 speaker+ sub? RM6k?
or any recommendation for nice but not super expensive speaker  tongue.gif
Getting a good amp like SR705 requires GOOD SPEAKERS to pair with... brows.gif

A decent 5.1 speakers alone should cost u around 5k liao..
Synco
post Jan 10 2008, 09:04 AM

CCB
667 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Jan 10 2008, 09:01 AM)
Getting a good amp like SR705 requires GOOD SPEAKERS to pair with... brows.gif

but 8-9k is kinda costly for me rite now as i am planning to buy a new 40" LCD laugh.gif
hoping under 6k would be nice
rx330
post Jan 10 2008, 09:56 AM

11,808 posts

htkaki.... boh lui lar.. u ingat i elite macam u , bba dan mpyw?

i think im gonna scrap the idea liao....
crazyconsumer
post Jan 10 2008, 10:05 AM

Big Spender
673 posts

So many members looking for HD receivers here .... that's promising to know.
htkaki
post Jan 10 2008, 03:23 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 10 2008, 09:56 AM)
htkaki.... boh lui lar.. u ingat i elite macam u , bba dan mpyw?

i think im gonna scrap the idea liao....

It wasn't me (pointing finger at ar188 and mpyw) whistling.gif

Getting a good amp like SR705 requires GOOD SPEAKERS to pair with... 

Yes, you are right about it. Better allocate more budget for the speakers as you do not have to upgrade it a later stage, which is waste of money.

rx330
post Jan 10 2008, 03:31 PM

11,808 posts

htkaki, u begining to sound like stanley

rm 2k for 5.1 speakers consider entry level only?

This post has been edited by rx330: Jan 10 2008, 03:31 PM
mpyw
post Jan 10 2008, 04:01 PM

3,603 posts

rx...I advise u got get those out-going models which should be a very good price or wait for the AV show...come to KL and sapu those discounted speakers...but be sure to drive a van up too biggrin.gif

or...buy your receiver 1st then slowly choose your speakers and use existing one tahan dulu, hey, like that u'll want to watch the same movie again and fully utilized the value u invest in the PS3 and the TV laugh.gif
rx330
post Jan 10 2008, 05:16 PM

11,808 posts

my existing speaker can pakai meh???????

i drve a 20 feet lorry up kl to sapu, sui boh? biggrin.gif
splee8868
post Jan 10 2008, 09:17 PM

139 posts

today just go harvey buying tx-sr875......happy with it
billyngcam
post Jan 10 2008, 10:33 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(splee8868 @ Jan 10 2008, 09:17 PM)
today just go harvey buying tx-sr875......happy with it
wah! Good stuff !

How much it cost you?

By the way, Harvey Norman can bargain price kah?
splee8868
post Jan 10 2008, 11:00 PM

139 posts

rcp price is rm6599......but i buy it with special pice....sorry cant telling here,if not my friend will get fire.......

QUOTE(billyngcam @ Jan 10 2008, 10:33 PM)
wah! Good stuff !

How much it cost you?

By the way, Harvey Norman can bargain price kah?
tHeRiDdLeR
post Jan 10 2008, 11:15 PM

247 posts

got my sr705 for RM3150. Display price is RM3.7K plus. U can bargain price @ Harvey Norman
there is a audio shop(next to BSN ATM) at pertama complex, they quote me RM4100 for sr705.

@splee8868, welcome to the club. respect sama u punya onkyo thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by tHeRiDdLeR: Jan 10 2008, 11:20 PM
splee8868
post Jan 10 2008, 11:20 PM

139 posts

rm3150 came with extended warranty?

QUOTE(tHeRiDdLeR @ Jan 10 2008, 11:15 PM)
got my sr705 for RM3150. Display price is RM3.7K plus. U can bargain price @ Harvey Norman
there is a audio shop(next to BSN ATM) at pertama complex,  they quote me RM4100 for sr705.
tHeRiDdLeR
post Jan 10 2008, 11:25 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(splee8868 @ Jan 10 2008, 11:20 PM)
rm3150 came with extended warranty?
nope ... standard warranty + HN vouchers + n free gift also
splee8868
post Jan 10 2008, 11:52 PM

139 posts

what free gift?

QUOTE(tHeRiDdLeR @ Jan 10 2008, 11:25 PM)
nope ...  standard warranty + HN vouchers + n free gift also
Synco
post Jan 11 2008, 02:09 AM

CCB
667 posts

err how do i define a good speaker then any brand i should be checking out? hehe i noob in this
piscesguy
post Jan 11 2008, 07:46 AM

ç§ã®åå‰ã¯ã‚Šã‚…ã†ã§ã™
3,963 posts

QUOTE(Synco @ Jan 11 2008, 02:09 AM)
err how do i define a good speaker then any brand i should be checking out? hehe i noob in this
Sometimes its difficult to define a good speaker....cauze it needs to pair up with ur av amp..example:
some speakers are good at certain amp...and may sound bad on some amp, so the best way its to bring ur amp and dvd player to the shop and try out their speakers.
rx330
post Jan 11 2008, 09:46 AM

11,808 posts

fuyoh... more and more buyers liao, keng biggrin.gif
Synco
post Jan 11 2008, 10:40 AM

CCB
667 posts

if thats the case maybe i should go for SR605 tongue.gif
extra 700 diff can buy center speaker liao
mpyw
post Jan 11 2008, 10:46 AM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(Synco @ Jan 11 2008, 10:40 AM)
if thats the case maybe i should go for SR605  tongue.gif
My center speaker only cost me RM170 during KLIAV show blush.gif
Cheapo Wharfedale WH-2, but it get the works done.... thumbup.gif sweat.gif
accs_centre
post Jan 11 2008, 10:52 AM

4,840 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jan 11 2008, 10:46 AM)
My center speaker only cost me RM170 during KLIAV show  blush.gif
Cheapo Wharfedale WH-2, but it get the works done.... thumbup.gif  sweat.gif
rclxub.gif
Too cheap for branded stuff .. Thinking to get a subwoofer, which month will be KLIAV normally held annually?
Synco
post Jan 11 2008, 10:58 AM

CCB
667 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jan 11 2008, 10:46 AM)
My center speaker only cost me RM170 during KLIAV show  blush.gif
Cheapo Wharfedale WH-2, but it get the works done.... thumbup.gif  sweat.gif
lol good for u la
perhaps i can just buy those HTiB speaker ? laugh.gif

JKEC
post Jan 11 2008, 11:20 AM

161 posts

rm170 for wharfedale center spk...really cheap..u r lucky smile.gif
JiauBoy
post Jan 11 2008, 11:21 AM

727 posts

my suggestion is to stick with 705, coz 700 no much diffrent also... and it will save u $$$ to upg to higher end amp.

lets said if u planing not to upg yr amp in next 5 yrs. its only cost rm140/yr and less then 40cents/day.

for me i will rather save abit longer for that.

QUOTE(Synco @ Jan 11 2008, 10:40 AM)
if thats the case maybe i should go for SR605  tongue.gif
rx330
post Jan 11 2008, 11:48 AM

11,808 posts

jiau sounds true also ... then might as well top up another 400 from the 700 to get the yammy 1800
billyngcam
post Jan 11 2008, 12:18 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 11 2008, 11:48 AM)
jiau sounds true also ... then might as well top up another 400 from the 700 to get the yammy 1800
Don't have time to audit 705 and yammy 1800 in shops yet. (Don't know which shop will have both these amps hooked up for testing sweat.gif )

Have you compared the above 2 ?

Specs almost similar, but sound quality?

Please advice . notworthy.gif
mpyw
post Jan 11 2008, 12:22 PM

3,603 posts

I would take Yammy over Onkyo anytime and some said the Onkyo runs very very hot....
ar188
post Jan 11 2008, 12:32 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jan 11 2008, 12:22 PM)
I would take Yammy over Onkyo anytime and some said the Onkyo runs very very hot....
wei, of coz I would also like to take the yammy la.. but see price 1st...dunno. how much 1800 ??

arj
post Jan 11 2008, 12:39 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 11 2008, 12:32 PM)
wei, of coz I would also like to  take the yammy la.. but see price 1st...dunno.  how much 1800 ??
The lowest I came accross is RM3680 at a shop in Amcorp Mall hmm.gif
rx330
post Jan 11 2008, 01:10 PM

11,808 posts

3680 ar..u think give it another 3 moons, will it dro pto 3k?
JiauBoy
post Jan 11 2008, 02:31 PM

727 posts

the thing is, if im getting, i will get it from hk

705 selling around hkd 5000(rm2000) and 1800 is hkd9000(rm3700)......so the topup is now rm400...

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 11 2008, 11:48 AM)
mpyw
post Jan 11 2008, 02:34 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(JiauBoy @ Jan 11 2008, 02:31 PM)
the thing is, if im getting, i will get it from hk

705 selling around hkd 5000(rm2000) and 1800 is hkd9000(rm3700)......so the topup is now rm400...
then the Onkyo is overprice in bolehland, the yammy is almost same price worldwide thumbup.gif
JiauBoy
post Jan 11 2008, 02:45 PM

727 posts

yap u r right, infact most staff are over price here including food.... if compare our jiran jiran... sigh
rx330
post Jan 11 2008, 03:58 PM

11,808 posts

in hk so cheap only??????
got lobang for another unit? biggrin.gif
JiauBoy
post Jan 11 2008, 04:09 PM

727 posts

looking for lobang to ask ppl to bring back, ofcouse without tax lah...... but that thing is 11.5kg.....

actually fly there to buy also good.... treat it as 'extra' holiday. buy amp free ticket hahaha.... but only worry is the tax lah
rx330
post Jan 11 2008, 04:15 PM

11,808 posts

11.5 not tat heavy, even kena tax, still worth it, 30% , buthor.. problem is warranty nia..
JiauBoy
post Jan 11 2008, 04:24 PM

727 posts

that ah 1 yr mah worse come to worse send for repair after few months loh. still have backup solution mah.

11.5kg asking ppl to bring back.... feel shy lah
rx330
post Jan 11 2008, 04:25 PM

11,808 posts

no international warranty?

like tat i go spore get better biggrin.gif
Synco
post Jan 11 2008, 04:33 PM

CCB
667 posts

yammy 1800 = 4299 in desa home theater but if almost same price like 705 i dont mind also hehe
anyhow yammy too many connection for me , doubt i will really use them all
4 hdmi 4 optical countless composite and component laugh.gif
they show me denon 5 set speaker rm1499 seems like a good deal for me

This post has been edited by Synco: Jan 11 2008, 04:34 PM
JiauBoy
post Jan 11 2008, 04:37 PM

727 posts

not sure abt the warranty, what i mean is if worse come to worse just pay the repair cost loh. by any chance the normal repair cost can goes up to 1/3 of the item price?
htkaki
post Jan 11 2008, 04:58 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

There is one local distributor that refuse to repair 'grey import' of a reputable Hi-Fi brand that they carry. So, better check first.
mpyw
post Jan 11 2008, 05:21 PM

3,603 posts

Last time Sony M'sia did repair my CD discman and video camera bought from Japan.....with a fee off course...

Maybe only distributor won't do the repair but if the holding company have their own marketing/trading company here, they will.

Lets list down those company with own service center and not through distributor in M'sia:-

1. Sony
2. Yamaha
3. JVC
4. Canon
5. Panasonic

Those using distributor:-
1. Toshiba (Teledynamics)
2. Denon (Woo Kee)
3. Pioneer
4. Onkyo

Please add on
rx330
post Jan 11 2008, 05:30 PM

11,808 posts

i dun think sony will do tat now....
ar188
post Jan 11 2008, 09:00 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 11 2008, 04:15 PM)
11.5 not tat heavy, even kena tax, still worth it, 30% , buthor.. problem is warranty nia..
11.5kg from HK not so expensive.. if I use my fedex is super discount rate also can..
which shop? hivizone ar?

Added on January 11, 2008, 9:17 pm
QUOTE(mpyw @ Jan 11 2008, 02:34 PM)
then the Onkyo is overprice in bolehland, the yammy is almost same price worldwide  thumbup.gif
joker shops, marking up so much... sigh!

go HK to buy better

http://www.hivizone.com/local-shop/av_amp.htm

I think 1800 yammy (us street prices over USD1k) also cannot fight SR805 prices (iUS street price below USD1k) also..

so conclusion, yammy 1800 is also overpriced worldwide..

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 11 2008, 09:17 PM
craven dusk
post Jan 11 2008, 10:43 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 11 2008, 09:00 PM)
11.5kg from HK not so expensive.. if I use my fedex is super discount rate also can..
which shop? hivizone ar?

Added on January 11, 2008, 9:17 pm

joker shops, marking up so much... sigh!

go HK to buy better

http://www.hivizone.com/local-shop/av_amp.htm

I think 1800 yammy (us street prices over USD1k) also cannot fight SR805 prices (iUS street price below USD1k) also..

so conclusion, yammy 1800 is also overpriced worldwide..
If i'm not mistaken, Yamaha A/V in Malaysia are Made in Perak, Malaysia. Hence cheaper here.
Ka3tr0
post Jan 12 2008, 03:57 AM

362 posts

QUOTE(tHeRiDdLeR @ Jan 10 2008, 11:15 PM)
there is a audio shop(next to BSN ATM) at pertama complex,  they quote me RM4100 for sr705.

@splee8868, welcome to the club. respect sama u punya onkyo  thumbup.gif
Wohoho..another user !!! rclxms.gif Welcome to Onkyo wonderland icon_idea.gif
Synco
post Jan 12 2008, 09:14 AM

CCB
667 posts

so i guess for better warranty and servicing i should go for yamaha then
htkaki
post Jan 12 2008, 09:54 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I think Sony no longer has their own service center throughout the country. They have sub-contracted to chosen partners but the signage still reads 'Sony Service Center'
sunauto
post Jan 13 2008, 03:29 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jan 11 2008, 12:22 PM)
To be frank, both Yammy and Onkyo runs pretty hot, these amps need to be placed in a well ventilated area and not in between your A/V rack, you'll risk frying the mainboard. I usually put a cooling fan on top of it to make it run cooler.

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jan 12 2008, 09:54 PM)
I think Sony no longer has their own service center throughout the country. They have sub-contracted to chosen partners but the signage still reads 'Sony Service Center'
For Penang, the service centre is still handled by Sony. From what I know, Pioneer doesn't have their own service centres anymore, they have contracted macam-macam punya people to do the servicing and they have done a pretty bad job. Had a bad experience dealing with them.
yfyap69
post Jan 14 2008, 12:29 PM

852 posts

Went down to KL to look for my AV set. Had decided to get the SR605 but unable to make up my mind on the 5.1 speaker. Had tried out the following :

1. Jamo 606 : RM1800
2. MS Carnival : RM2000
3. Whaferdale Crystal : RM2500

Any sifu can comments?

rx330
post Jan 14 2008, 12:55 PM

11,808 posts

got pics for the jamo? biggrin.gif
yfyap69
post Jan 14 2008, 01:28 PM

852 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 14 2008, 12:55 PM)
Got. I took the brochure. Will scan and upload later. How's the Jamo? Ok kah?
rx330
post Jan 14 2008, 01:32 PM

11,808 posts

i can tell u, here many not jamo supporter one biggrin.gif
apisgogo
post Jan 14 2008, 01:33 PM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

after reading this:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=935808

im thinking to get 705 over the 605, because of its ability to matrix 5.1 PCM to 6.1/7.1 speakers. quite useful to me.

what say u guys? any user want to comments?

This post has been edited by apisgogo: Jan 14 2008, 01:36 PM
ar188
post Jan 14 2008, 01:52 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Jan 14 2008, 01:33 PM)
after reading this:

im thinking to get 705 over the 605, because of its ability to matrix 5.1 PCM to 6.1/7.1 speakers. quite useful to me.

what say u guys? any user want to comments?
how much diff? between 605 and 705 in KL?
mpyw
post Jan 14 2008, 01:53 PM

3,603 posts

I think the Yammy V661 already can matrix 5.1 to 7.1 liao...
ar188
post Jan 14 2008, 01:56 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jan 14 2008, 01:53 PM)
I think the Yammy V661 already can matrix 5.1 to 7.1 liao...
err... sure it can matrix HD 5.1 to 7.1 HD audio? I tot it's not even 1.3a so how to accept HD audio (raw bitstream trueHD/DTS-MA) ??

http://reviews.cnet.com/av-receivers/yamah...7-32378947.html

not very capable comparing to 605..

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 14 2008, 02:02 PM
mpyw
post Jan 14 2008, 02:04 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 14 2008, 01:56 PM)
err... sure it can matrix HD 5.1 to  7.1 HD audio? I tot it's not even 1.3a so how to accept HD audio (raw bitstream trueHD/DTS-MA) ??

http://reviews.cnet.com/av-receivers/yamah...7-32378947.html

not very capable comparing to 605..
that's the entry level lar...with HDMI1.2a...confirm can matrix...but you'll need 7.1 speakers to start with.... sweat.gif not 2.1 brows.gif biggrin.gif tongue.gif
rx330
post Jan 14 2008, 02:14 PM

11,808 posts

it accepts PCM , as ps3 will decode it and send as pcm,mpyw say same thing, just display no written true hd
ar188
post Jan 14 2008, 02:15 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jan 14 2008, 02:04 PM)
that's the entry level lar...with HDMI1.2a...confirm can matrix...but you'll need 7.1 speakers to start with.... sweat.gif  not 2.1  brows.gif  biggrin.gif  tongue.gif
I got 6.1 speakers now.. (just need to add 1 more Centre) hehe!

anyway searched the web it says 661 can do 5.1 LPCM matrix to 7.1... cool. but it's since it's only 1.2a..sigh!
mpyw
post Jan 14 2008, 02:25 PM

3,603 posts

HDMI 1.0 - This is the first version of HDMI. HDMI 1.0 combines a digital video signal (standard or high-definition) with a two-channel audio signal over a single cable, such as between an HDMI-equipped DVD player and Television.

HDMI 1.1 - This version adds the ability to transfer not only video and two-channel audio over a single cable, but also added the ability to transfer Dolby Digital, DTS, and DVD-Audio surround signals, as well up to 7.1 channels of PCM audio.

HDMI 1.2 - This version of HDMI adds the ability to transfer SACD signals in digital form from a player to a receiver.

HDMI 1.3 - This version includes improvements in both audio and video capability. With the advent of Blu-ray Disc and HD-DVD, version 1.3 adds the ability to transfer the digital bitstreams for the new high resolution audio formats: Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TrueHD, and DTS-HD.

HDMI 1.3a - In addition to the above audio improvements, HDMI 1.3 and 1.3a increase the amount of video bandwidth that can be transferred from a source to a display. This means, that in addition to the standard 24-bit color depth we are used to, HDMI 1.3 and 1.3a have the ability to transfer color depths up to 48-bits, and can accommodate resolutions much higher than the 1080p resolution standard that is in use today.

if the player is doing the decoding, for audio..HDMI 1.2a will be good enough, since it will decode and transfer as PCM.

unless your display support deep colour and the lip syn thing...u don't need HDMI 1.3a
rx330
post Jan 14 2008, 02:27 PM

11,808 posts

but hor... hdmi cables itself also got different version?
mpyw
post Jan 14 2008, 02:30 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 14 2008, 02:27 PM)
for short length (Less than 3m), any HDMI cable as long as it can carry audio and video (ver 1.1) will do.
for long length, better get those reputable or certified one....
ar188
post Jan 14 2008, 02:31 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jan 14 2008, 02:25 PM)
HDMI 1.0 - This is the first version of HDMI. HDMI 1.0 combines a digital video signal (standard or high-definition) with a two-channel audio signal over a single cable, such as between an HDMI-equipped DVD player and Television.

HDMI 1.1 - This version adds the ability to transfer not only video and two-channel audio over a single cable, but also added the ability to transfer Dolby Digital, DTS, and DVD-Audio surround signals, as well up to 7.1 channels of PCM audio.

HDMI 1.2 - This version of HDMI adds the ability to transfer SACD signals in digital form from a player to a receiver.

HDMI 1.3 - This version includes improvements in both audio and video capability. With the advent of Blu-ray Disc and HD-DVD, version 1.3 adds the ability to transfer the digital bitstreams for the new high resolution audio formats: Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TrueHD, and DTS-HD.

HDMI 1.3a - In addition to the above audio improvements, HDMI 1.3 and 1.3a increase the amount of video bandwidth that can be transferred from a source to a display. This means, that in addition to the standard 24-bit color depth we are used to, HDMI 1.3 and 1.3a have the ability to transfer color depths up to 48-bits, and can accommodate resolutions much higher than the 1080p resolution standard that is in use today.

if the player is doing the decoding, for audio..HDMI 1.2a will be good enough, since it will decode and transfer as PCM.

unless your display support deep colour and the lip syn thing...u don't need HDMI 1.3a
don't forget your whole HDMI chain will default to the lowest setting.. and also ability to bitstream DTS-HD to amp is great with the next gen low cost blu-ray players which don't have builtin decoders (so 1.3 min required IMHO)
as for higher bit color depths, this is a real bonus.. as it's 8bit per color already you can see color banding on LCDs... surely you need to go higher bits soon to eliminate these visible issues..

Added on January 14, 2008, 2:32 pm
QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 14 2008, 02:27 PM)
got, those < rm100 version and those rm1000 version.. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 14 2008, 02:32 PM
rx330
post Jan 14 2008, 02:32 PM

11,808 posts

so there is no such thing as a 1.3a hdmi cable lar?

mpyw
post Jan 14 2008, 02:34 PM

3,603 posts

certified or tested compliance (or WORK!) maybe lar....
rx330
post Jan 14 2008, 02:38 PM

11,808 posts

kaniah.... apapa ada sekarang
ar188
post Jan 14 2008, 02:39 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 14 2008, 02:32 PM)
so there is no such thing as a 1.3a hdmi cable lar?
as mpyw said, maybe compliance to 1.3a spec lor..

nah read more here...

http://www.monstercable.com/hdmi/eyetest.asp

http://www.monstercable.com/hdmi/whitepaper.asp
KidsCode
post Jan 14 2008, 02:46 PM

-----NoLimits!-----
6,649 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 14 2008, 12:55 PM)
Jamo S606 have different version:

Plain version

Buddle with Sub

yfyap69@ price mention think is the Plain version... except he can get that buddle cheap

This post has been edited by KidsCode: Jan 14 2008, 02:47 PM
JiauBoy
post Jan 14 2008, 02:54 PM

727 posts

its always a good idea to testup b4 u buy as i knw jomo is not as good as those days
yfyap69
post Jan 14 2008, 03:29 PM

852 posts

QUOTE(KidsCode @ Jan 14 2008, 02:46 PM)
Jamo S606 have different version:

Plain version

Buddle with Sub

yfyap69@ price mention think is the Plain version... except he can get that buddle cheap
Yeah, that's right. The price quoted is without sub. The sales guy told me no need sub also can because got 8" bass on both side.

Added on January 14, 2008, 3:30 pm
QUOTE(JiauBoy @ Jan 14 2008, 02:54 PM)
its always a good idea to testup b4 u buy as i knw jomo is not as good as those days
Problem is my ear is not audiophile calibrated. All sound the same to me. Need some sifu ear to help.

This post has been edited by yfyap69: Jan 14 2008, 03:30 PM
rx330
post Jan 14 2008, 03:32 PM

11,808 posts

ohh... tat shop got other jamo models or not?
A3 or A10, can check for me how mcuh?
JiauBoy
post Jan 14 2008, 03:40 PM

727 posts

one thing abt this audiophile tingy is u dont feel much diffrent when u r listening to the decent one is u r not really into it.

but when u used to the 'decent' one and go back to those 'normal'.... u can really feel the diffrenttt.... u knw what i mean?

it happens to me sad.gif
yfyap69
post Jan 14 2008, 03:52 PM

852 posts

QUOTE(JiauBoy @ Jan 14 2008, 03:40 PM)
one thing abt this audiophile tingy is u dont feel much diffrent when u r listening to the decent one is u r not really into it.

but when u used to the 'decent' one and go back to those 'normal'.... u can really feel the diffrenttt.... u knw what i mean?

it happens to me sad.gif
Yeah, I know what you mean. The sale guys played the same source with 2 different setup. One with the cheapo htib and the other with a decent speaker set like Jamo, you can hear the differences. But compare decent speaker set like Jamo, Whaferdale, Mordaunt Short etc...cannot differentiate leh....

Added on January 14, 2008, 3:54 pm
QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 14 2008, 03:32 PM)
ohh... tat shop got other jamo models or not?
A3 or A10, can check for me how mcuh?
I went to Harvey Norman in Pavillion to see. Got other Jamo's speaker but not sure the model you ask. Can't help you on that as I already went back to Penang already....

This post has been edited by yfyap69: Jan 14 2008, 03:54 PM
JKEC
post Jan 14 2008, 03:59 PM

161 posts

a few days ago, i checked with SenQ for price of jamo 606 was RM1699. no sub.
rx330
post Jan 14 2008, 04:03 PM

11,808 posts

the senQ @ mana?
JKEC
post Jan 14 2008, 04:10 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 14 2008, 04:03 PM)
the senQ @ mana?
senq@jaya jusco.
price tag is RM1899.
member price @RM1699.
yfyap69
post Jan 14 2008, 04:19 PM

852 posts

QUOTE(JKEC @ Jan 14 2008, 04:10 PM)
senq@jaya jusco.
price tag is RM1899.
member price @RM1699.
Yeah, I saw at Senq Sunway Pyramid also. But the SR605 is selling for RM2700 there. More expensive than Harvey.
KidsCode
post Jan 14 2008, 04:30 PM

-----NoLimits!-----
6,649 posts

QUOTE(yfyap69 @ Jan 14 2008, 03:29 PM)
Yeah, that's right. The price quoted is without sub. The sales guy told me no need sub also can because got 8" bass on both side.

Added on January 14, 2008, 3:30 pm

Problem is my ear is not audiophile calibrated. All sound the same to me. Need some sifu ear to help.
yup, if stage correctly, you will hear the bass from the front speakers like there is a sub... but still cant represent a real good sub, if you know what i mean...

senq@jaya jusco.
price tag is RM1899.
member price @RM1699.
you will get the speakers cheaper if you bundle with the onkyo amp... smile.gif
JiauBoy
post Jan 14 2008, 04:31 PM

727 posts

which jusco??
senq@jaya jusco.
price tag is RM1899.
member price @RM1699.
apisgogo
post Jan 14 2008, 04:31 PM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

as for the SR605, Harvey list price is 2999.

do they entertain nego? (i remember one have 25XX)
JiauBoy
post Jan 14 2008, 04:35 PM

727 posts

wait till u get used to the system, lagi jia lat

QUOTE(yfyap69 @ Jan 14 2008, 03:52 PM)
Yeah, I know what you mean. The sale guys played the same source with 2 different setup. One with the cheapo htib and the other with a decent speaker set like Jamo, you can hear the differences. But compare decent speaker set like Jamo, Whaferdale, Mordaunt Short etc...cannot differentiate leh....

Added on January 14, 2008, 3:54 pm
I went to Harvey Norman in Pavillion to see. Got other Jamo's speaker but not sure the model you ask. Can't help you on that as I already went back to Penang already....
tHeRiDdLeR
post Jan 14 2008, 04:35 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Jan 14 2008, 04:31 PM)
as for the SR605, Harvey list price is 2999.

do they entertain nego? (i remember one have 25XX)
yes .. the price can be nego if u serious to buy it

rx330
post Jan 14 2008, 04:45 PM

11,808 posts

jaybee here kenot nego one, and senq only has sr505, no 605 sad.gif
JKEC
post Jan 14 2008, 04:49 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(JiauBoy @ Jan 14 2008, 04:31 PM)
which jusco??
Tebrau city@JB

-jamo 5.1 + sr505 @RM2999

-sr605 @RM2700
JiauBoy
post Jan 14 2008, 05:03 PM

727 posts

oooo jb. i tot in kl hehehe
Synco
post Jan 14 2008, 05:59 PM

CCB
667 posts

wah didnt know can get speaker so cheap
if thats the case means i still have hope with 6k budget laugh.gif
since most of the shop i go survey always ask me to pair those 5k speaker set with 605

This post has been edited by Synco: Jan 14 2008, 08:40 PM
htkaki
post Jan 14 2008, 10:17 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 14 2008, 04:45 PM)
jaybee here kenot nego one, and senq only has sr505, no 605 sad.gif

come to KL land buy lah since u said u wanna teranjang someone. tongue.gif

JiauBoy
post Jan 15 2008, 09:06 AM

727 posts

i think u go sg nearer
htkaki
post Jan 15 2008, 10:09 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

He got lots of kaki in KL
rx330
post Jan 15 2008, 11:18 AM

11,808 posts

i got lots of ppl to terajang in kl biggrin.gif

JKEC, he gip u 2.7k ar? blardy hell, qouted me 2.9k sad.gif
go spore buy better, 700+ sgd nia
apisgogo
post Jan 15 2008, 11:39 AM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

okay, let me give u guys a little situation...

as we know, currently PS3 only outputting PCM (plus Dolby TrueHD) via HDMI, meaning decoding is done in the PS3. We never know when BitSreaming HBR will be added to the PS3 or might not.

So currently, does it means that we dont need those A/V receivers that have the capabilities of decoding HD audio? only those could handle PCM is adequate? no need to splurge large cash on receiver...

assuming PS3 is the blu-ray player, 5.1 speaker system.
rx330
post Jan 15 2008, 11:43 AM

11,808 posts

yeap, as long can do PCM can aredi , and if one day, ps3 really can decode DTS HD MA, tat pcm receiver will do
just tat no wordings tulis on the receiver nia
JiauBoy
post Jan 15 2008, 11:49 AM

727 posts

when hddvd gaining market share we might get BitSreaming HBR. hehehe
apisgogo
post Jan 15 2008, 11:54 AM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 15 2008, 11:43 AM)
yeap, as long can do PCM can aredi , and if one day, ps3 really can decode DTS HD MA, tat pcm receiver will do
just tat no wordings tulis on the receiver nia
hm.. the quality is the same? read on AVS forum, is the same, master rep. also.

just trying to justify myself smile.gif
rx330
post Jan 15 2008, 12:32 PM

11,808 posts

shud be same, ask mpyw, tats wats he is been doing for quite some time aredi
mpyw
post Jan 15 2008, 12:36 PM

3,603 posts

if using PS3 to decode, just make sure your receiver have HDMI 1.2 will do...
rx330
post Jan 15 2008, 12:37 PM

11,808 posts

but i tot ps3 automatically decodes?
so if go thru SR 605, will it be pcm or trueHD written?
ar188
post Jan 15 2008, 12:42 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 15 2008, 12:37 PM)
but i tot ps3 automatically decodes?
so if go thru SR 605, will it be pcm or trueHD written?
yeah I think automatically decode it, I don't think there is an option to bitstream TrueHD to amp, so your amp will never light up the TrueHD light when coupled with PS3...

rx330
post Jan 15 2008, 12:44 PM

11,808 posts

ma ka hai...........
JKEC
post Jan 15 2008, 01:10 PM

161 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 15 2008, 11:18 AM)
i got lots of ppl to terajang in kl biggrin.gif

JKEC, he gip u 2.7k ar? blardy hell, qouted me 2.9k sad.gif
go spore buy better, 700+ sgd nia
i think 2.7k was a member price, coz i'm a senq member, i used to buy my 32" lcd from there.
i know 1 of the senq guy who is pretty friendly. he also suggest me to get sr605 from spore there..haha

laugh.gif i'm using a cheapo yammy v361 av receiver now...my ears are not so sharp but i like the sr605 spec.
mpyw
post Jan 15 2008, 01:37 PM

3,603 posts

anyone with SR605 + PS3 can try if set the PS3 to sent signal as bitstream, would the receiver decode the TrueHD and the lights goes up...?

JiauBoy
post Jan 15 2008, 01:45 PM

727 posts

rade some mag on this testing. The TrueHD the lights will not goes up... thats y hoping hddvd get more market share

rx330
post Jan 15 2008, 02:30 PM

11,808 posts

JKEC, me also member lar
JiauBoy
post Jan 15 2008, 02:34 PM

727 posts

i also their member.... but i found the their member price for tv is actually the market price.... correct me if im wrong
rx330
post Jan 15 2008, 02:39 PM

11,808 posts

confimr u right biggrin.gif but i heard senq in kl price can nego one

here in jaybee its fixed
JKEC
post Jan 15 2008, 02:43 PM

161 posts

jaybee everything is xpensive...sianz
rx330
post Jan 15 2008, 02:46 PM

11,808 posts

pirated dvd in jaybee cheaper and ps3 as well biggrin.gif
JKEC
post Jan 15 2008, 02:49 PM

161 posts

might agree that. laugh.gif
mpyw
post Jan 15 2008, 02:50 PM

3,603 posts

RX's pet pet also cheaper in JB tongue.gif
rx330
post Jan 15 2008, 02:53 PM

11,808 posts

sim ipet pet?
JiauBoy
post Jan 15 2008, 02:58 PM

727 posts

rx u have to love yr job
rx330
post Jan 15 2008, 03:31 PM

11,808 posts

har? wtf u guys toking?
ICDeadPeople
post Jan 16 2008, 04:42 PM

783 posts

So, can anyone really differentiate between Jamo, Whaferdale, Mordaunt Short sound? i was thinking to pair it with 705. Well, in near future anyway.
rx330
post Jan 16 2008, 05:08 PM

11,808 posts

oh ya, yesterday i asked on shop, he qouted me SR705 for rm 2450 !!!!!!!

but he told me 2 hdmi in nia... i was like er.......
cos he call up onkyo sales person directly, the fella gave him the price and told him only 2 hdmi in for the 705, only 805 has 3
tHeRiDdLeR
post Jan 16 2008, 05:21 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 16 2008, 05:08 PM)

cos he call up onkyo sales person directly, the fella gave him the price and told him only 2 hdmi in for the 705, only 805 has 3
705 with 2hdmi in. hmm.gif afaik 705 have 3in 1out. biar betul .......

This post has been edited by tHeRiDdLeR: Jan 16 2008, 05:44 PM
JiauBoy
post Jan 16 2008, 05:23 PM

727 posts

... your shop in jb......

Added on January 16, 2008, 5:27 pm3 masuk

http://www.onkyo.com.hk/main/show_detail.p...at=home_theater

This post has been edited by JiauBoy: Jan 16 2008, 05:27 PM
billyngcam
post Jan 16 2008, 05:29 PM

79 posts

wah! so cheap kah!

mind to tell us which shop is that? If at that price, I'll give up Yahama RX-V1800 liao drool.gif drool.gif
ar188
post Jan 16 2008, 05:31 PM

9,206 posts

wow cheap if it's 705, but he say 2HDMI maybe he confuse it with 605 pricing at 2450?

Onkyo TX-SR705 7.1 AV Surround Amplifier
* Dolby TrueHD, DTS-HD
* HDMI version 1.3a
* THX Select2 Certified
* 192kHz/24-bit D/A Converters
* 7 x 175W/ch Amplification, JEITA
* 3 HDMI Inputs and 1 Output
* 7.1 Multi-Channel Analog Inputs and Pre-outs
* 1-Year Warranty

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 16 2008, 05:33 PM
JiauBoy
post Jan 16 2008, 05:35 PM

727 posts

or may b rx confuse himself
tHeRiDdLeR
post Jan 16 2008, 05:49 PM

247 posts

QUOTE(JiauBoy @ Jan 16 2008, 05:35 PM)
or may b rx confuse himself
laugh.gif ... if that price, we can ask rx to bulk this for us

This post has been edited by tHeRiDdLeR: Jan 16 2008, 11:30 PM
mpyw
post Jan 16 2008, 05:52 PM

3,603 posts

if 705 at 2450 then grab it lar...wait for what....
ar188
post Jan 16 2008, 07:25 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jan 16 2008, 05:52 PM)
if 705 at 2450 then grab it lar...wait for what....
wait for you to taruh him kau kau to make a purchase lor..
rx330
post Jan 17 2008, 11:18 AM

11,808 posts

tats why, i insist 705 is 3hdmi..
but i ask him one thing, if its not wat i wanted how? he says no payment charge
anjua? dem tempted lar
JiauBoy
post Jan 17 2008, 11:30 AM

727 posts

close eye and buy lah
rx330
post Jan 17 2008, 11:35 AM

11,808 posts

buy things have to close eyes one ar jiau biggrin.gif
JiauBoy
post Jan 17 2008, 11:41 AM

727 posts

yayaya just buy
rx330
post Jan 17 2008, 11:43 AM

11,808 posts

u pay for me?
ar188
post Jan 17 2008, 12:17 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 17 2008, 11:43 AM)
u pay for me?
listen to ah jiau la.. biggrin.gif just do it!
rx330
post Jan 17 2008, 12:20 PM

11,808 posts

ar, i buy for u can? u bank in $$ to me?
ar188
post Jan 17 2008, 12:25 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 17 2008, 12:20 PM)
ar, i buy for u can? u bank in $$ to me?
dowan so exp stuff la.. waiting for 1.5k range with advance HD audio decoding, then can consider..
rx330
post Jan 17 2008, 12:26 PM

11,808 posts

sr605 anjua?
htkaki
post Jan 17 2008, 12:26 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 17 2008, 11:18 AM)
tats why, i insist 705 is 3hdmi..
but i ask him one thing, if its not wat i wanted how? he says no payment charge
anjua? dem tempted lar

I think he mistaken. SR-605 has 2 HDMI input, whereby 705 has got 3 HDMI inputs.

If that's the case, buy from him

rx330
post Jan 17 2008, 12:27 PM

11,808 posts

sometimes hor tok to salesman in jaybee here can really vomit blood one....
ar188
post Jan 17 2008, 12:27 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 17 2008, 12:26 PM)
sr605 anjua?
LOL, so it's 605.. ??
rx330
post Jan 17 2008, 12:29 PM

11,808 posts

imean u wan 605 or not? ard ur 1.5k budget mar
ar188
post Jan 17 2008, 12:32 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 17 2008, 12:29 PM)
imean u wan 605 or not? ard ur 1.5k budget mar
har? 605 now selling 1.5k in JB? cool.. please confirm?
rx330
post Jan 17 2008, 12:33 PM

11,808 posts

wait a while lar, i haven go spore check
u ask mojo go check for u lar
got sources say spore selling for 600+-700
JiauBoy
post Jan 17 2008, 03:18 PM

727 posts

wah so cheap meh. can close eye buy
rx330
post Jan 17 2008, 03:29 PM

11,808 posts

jiau, ubuy lor biggrin.gif
JiauBoy
post Jan 17 2008, 04:15 PM

727 posts

no $$$ eat jiau also not enought
pow
post Jan 17 2008, 05:12 PM

anyone know best price for 875?
sonicwall
post Jan 17 2008, 05:17 PM

677 posts

Are you guys sure SR-605 is priced at RM 1500 now? It was RM 2800 October 2007 last year...
How much is SR-705 now?

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 17 2008, 12:32 PM)
har? 605 now selling 1.5k in JB? cool.. please confirm?
JiauBoy
post Jan 17 2008, 06:22 PM

727 posts

wah 1500 in bolehland, sure boh

Added on January 17, 2008, 6:22 pmthe lowers i asked is 2650

This post has been edited by JiauBoy: Jan 17 2008, 06:22 PM
ar188
post Jan 17 2008, 06:36 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(sonicwall @ Jan 17 2008, 05:17 PM)
Are you guys sure SR-605 is priced at RM 1500 now? It was RM 2800 October 2007 last year...
How much is SR-705 now?
better ask the rumor monger RX.. cabuts.. tongue.gif

but it's definitely not 2800... that's really a con price even if in OCT 08..

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 17 2008, 06:37 PM
sonicwall
post Jan 18 2008, 09:05 AM

677 posts

QUOTE(JiauBoy @ Jan 17 2008, 06:22 PM)
wah 1500 in bolehland, sure boh

Added on January 17, 2008, 6:22 pmthe lowers i asked is 2650
which shop if u don't mind telling us?

Added on January 18, 2008, 9:07 am
QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 17 2008, 06:36 PM)
better ask the rumor monger RX.. cabuts..  tongue.gif

but it's definitely not 2800... that's really a con price even if in OCT 08..
i think RM1500 is a bullshit price!

RM2800 was just the list price in a shop at Pertama complex without nego during October 2007 last year...(Not Oct 08)

This post has been edited by sonicwall: Jan 18 2008, 09:07 AM
htkaki
post Jan 18 2008, 10:16 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

If it is RM1,500 for SR-605, then SR-705 will be less than RM3K, right?
Anyone can check this in Spore?
rx330
post Jan 18 2008, 10:55 AM

11,808 posts

u guys cant read is it? i didnt say in jaybee ler...
itu ar188 make orang pusing nia

HK is selling abt tat price rite?

anyway, is there any cheaper alternative amp with hdmi in tat does pcm? more than 2 hdmi in?

i got qoute for this denon 1508
http://www.denon.com.hk/product/consumer.detail.php?id=137
rm 1750 , ok ar?
JiauBoy
post Jan 18 2008, 11:02 AM

727 posts

hk selling 705 for hkd5000.

the denon looks promissing also hehehe. so rx, u can close eyes again
rx330
post Jan 18 2008, 11:07 AM

11,808 posts

kaniah ah jiau.... but tis denon no black sad.gif
so can tis denon output pcm (dolby turehd)?
ar188
post Jan 18 2008, 11:23 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 18 2008, 10:55 AM)

anyway, is there any cheaper alternative amp with hdmi in tat does pcm? more than 2 hdmi in?

rm 1750 , ok ar?
HK selling 605 slightly over 4000HKD mah.. and 705 over 5000hkd.. (convert x 0.42)

Added on January 18, 2008, 11:25 am
rm 1750 , ok ar?
rx, ask mypw, I think yammy got HDMI 1.2 which does PCM 5.1 for good price..not sure..which model 661??

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 18 2008, 11:25 AM
apisgogo
post Jan 18 2008, 11:33 AM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

rm 1750 , ok ar?
i dont know abt cheaper, but Yammy 661 have good review. able to matrix PCM to 6.1/7.1

if you dont care abt HDMI, onkyo 505 also could handle PCM well, but no HDMI. So stuck with Multichannel out (Sams 1400, Pana bd30) PS3 out of equation.
JiauBoy
post Jan 18 2008, 11:40 AM

727 posts

aiya go hardware shop to get a black spary lah. i sponsor also no prob.

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 18 2008, 11:07 AM)
kaniah ah jiau.... but tis denon no black sad.gif
so can tis denon output pcm (dolby turehd)?
rx330
post Jan 18 2008, 11:52 AM

11,808 posts

yammy 661 i was qouted rm 2.1 k
denon 1508 1750 nia

apisgogo
post Jan 18 2008, 11:54 AM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 18 2008, 11:52 AM)
denon 1508 1750 nia
i have tested them,

yammy, sounds a bit harsh on movies, great on music, esp live concerts.

denon, excellent on movies, but dosent impress me on music.

onkyo 505/605 balance biggrin.gif

but these according to my taste, different people, different outcome.
mpyw
post Jan 18 2008, 12:00 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 18 2008, 11:52 AM)
denon 1508 1750 nia
yammy V661 2.1K!!!!!! shocking.gif

siao ar... KL selling ard 1.5-1.7k nia.... shakehead.gif
rx330
post Jan 18 2008, 12:06 PM

11,808 posts

u see lar.. jaybee pricing really jialat one sad.gif
can anybody help me check the denon in kl? 1508, 1708, thanks in advance

mpyw, wat say u? denon or yammy better?
mpyw
post Jan 18 2008, 12:22 PM

3,603 posts

if denon 15xx, 17xx, get yammy better

for denon, i propose min 23xx series and above, the lower range are overpriced and not worth it, hey...even their higher range are way overprice here...vmad.gif

if can get SR605 for SGD600..just go ahead lar....

btw, Desa HT selling the old (new stock) Yamaha 2600 for 2.7k.....tempting...
rx330
post Jan 18 2008, 12:26 PM

11,808 posts

ishh.... susah lar.... its tak boleh, tat tak boleh... sad.gif
apisgogo
post Jan 18 2008, 12:32 PM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

just found out, yam 661 is HDMI 1.2.

mpyw
post Jan 18 2008, 12:36 PM

3,603 posts

yammy 661/681 is HDMI 1.2a....is mentioned in their respective specification

so are Denon 2307, Sony DG910, Sony 3200ES etc...all early/mid last year's model....
rx330
post Jan 18 2008, 12:46 PM

11,808 posts

butthe denon 1508 = 1.3a biggrin.gif
apisgogo
post Jan 18 2008, 01:04 PM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=738511

apparently, 661 is more future proof than 605.

661 able to allow processing on PCM sources. Onkyo 605 wont process it. but onkyo 605 able to accept bitstream HBR from players (sams 1400, pana bd30)

haiyo, Im torn between yams 661 and onkyo 605... i planned to purchase it end of the month (CNY bonus biggrin.gif )

thinking to get standalone bluray (sam 1400 or pana bd30) but my finance minister wants PS3 (haha can u believe it, she wanted to play games as well).. no choice, have to heavily consider PS3. so im leaning towards yams 661.. need to go audition again!

This post has been edited by apisgogo: Jan 18 2008, 01:06 PM
rx330
post Jan 18 2008, 01:14 PM

11,808 posts

all hdmi denons are future proof biggrin.gif
apisgogo
post Jan 18 2008, 01:19 PM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 18 2008, 01:14 PM)
all hdmi denons are future proof biggrin.gif
wah rx, u like the denons dont u?

mpyw
post Jan 18 2008, 02:12 PM

3,603 posts

the Denon 1508/1708/1908 doesn't decode DTS-MA nor Dolby TrueHD wor....how to said it's future proof like that????
apisgogo
post Jan 18 2008, 02:19 PM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jan 18 2008, 02:12 PM)
the Denon 1508/1708/1908 doesn't decode DTS-MA nor Dolby TrueHD wor....how to said it's future proof like that????
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=738511

most blu-ray player outputting PCM HBR audio (decodes Dolby THD, DTS HD MA and output it in PCM HDMI), only few could bitstream it (Pana BD30, Sams 1400, DTS HD MA is non currently).

while 605 could receive this HBR in bitstream, it also could take PCM, but cant apply any processing on it (also cant matrix to 6.1/7.1).

I dont know about the denons that u mentioned. but yams 661 able to accept HDMI PCM from bluray players plus apply processing on it (could apply DDPIIx, DSP, 6.1/7.1, bla bla)

i only could explain it in layman terms... proceed to avs to go further smile.gif

This post has been edited by apisgogo: Jan 18 2008, 02:21 PM
rx330
post Jan 18 2008, 02:47 PM

11,808 posts

can the 661 decode trueHD and dtshd ma?
its also future proof mar, im just qouting the author lar

Added on January 18, 2008, 2:50 pmthe denons can receive as pcm, tats it biggrin.gif

wat we need is a player tat can decode the HD audio, and an amp tat does PCM, kaw tim, correct?
anyway, is 7.1 tat important?

This post has been edited by rx330: Jan 18 2008, 02:50 PM
mpyw
post Jan 18 2008, 03:15 PM

3,603 posts

7.1 important if you have 7.1 speakers lor...brows.gif
V661 can accept lossless PCM nia, cannot decode bitstream lossless but can matrix lossless 5.1 to 7.1 thumbup.gif
ar188
post Jan 18 2008, 03:19 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jan 18 2008, 03:15 PM)
7.1 important if you have 7.1 speakers lor...brows.gif
V661 can accept lossless PCM nia, cannot decode bitstream lossless but can matrix lossless 5.1 to 7.1 thumbup.gif
IMHO, all these basic HDMI 1.2 amps should be priced below 2k, anything above is overpriced.. since it's 06/07 product design...

so if the 661 is below 2k that's fine..

apisgogo
post Jan 18 2008, 03:43 PM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 18 2008, 02:47 PM)
can the 661 decode trueHD and dtshd ma?
its also future proof mar, im just qouting the author lar

Added on January 18, 2008, 2:50 pmthe denons can receive as pcm, tats it biggrin.gif

wat we need is a player tat can decode the HD audio, and an amp tat does PCM, kaw tim, correct?
anyway, is 7.1 tat important?
u know, after scouting @ AVS forum, i be confuse and lost than ever... but i somehow manage to grasp few things.

as for ur Q, 661 definitely cant decode TrueHD and DTS HD MA.

As we know, TrueHD, DTS HD MA capable receiver only decodes these HD audio in bitstream (bit-to-bit). Currently there is no blu-ray player could bitstream DTS-HD MA, except PCM (thru HDMI or MultiChannel Analog out). DTS HD MA players that could bitstream it is Pana BD50 which hell's knows when it will be launched.

So most blu-ray (including our beloved PS3) sends this TrueHD in PCM via HDMI. (no DTS HD MA yet, god's knows when it is). So if the player send the audio as PCM to the receiver, TrueHD light will not appear.

So, 661 able to handle this PCM audio and able to matrix it to 6.1/7.1 and apply processing (PL IIx, DSP, EQ etc etc). plus we could get Yamaha's famous DSP processing as well. Plus, DAC in 661 is Burr-brown, correct me if im wrong.

Even onkyo 605 able to decodes TrueHD DTS HD MA (only in bitstream), it cant apply any processing on PCM audio. 705 can.

hope this helps.

as for 5.1 or 7.1, on my experience it quite impressive. Surrounds sound more depth.

This post has been edited by apisgogo: Jan 18 2008, 03:47 PM
rx330
post Jan 18 2008, 03:47 PM

11,808 posts

no player can do DTS HD MA, then why the hell they wanna use tat format? FARK

just call one shop in sg for fun biggrin.gif
denon 1508 - 550sgd
onky 605 - 850sgd
onky 705 - 1200sgd
price still negotiable biggrin.gif
apisgogo
post Jan 18 2008, 03:49 PM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 18 2008, 03:47 PM)
no player can do DTS HD MA, then why the hell they wanna use tat format? FARK

just call one shop in sg for fun biggrin.gif
denon 1508 - 550sgd
onky 605 - 850sgd
onky 705 - 1200sgd
price still negotiable biggrin.gif
that's why im not really cares what receiver that has HD audio decoding...

thats why most ppl pissed Blu-ray winning.. not complete yet smile.gif

Tosh A35 could bitstream both. done!
rx330
post Jan 18 2008, 03:56 PM

11,808 posts

so just get a hdmi pcm receiver will do biggrin.gif
apisgogo
post Jan 18 2008, 03:58 PM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 18 2008, 03:56 PM)
so just get a hdmi pcm receiver will do biggrin.gif
he nails it! smile.gif

and spend more on good speakers.... and of course, blu-ray movies lah... smile.gif
rx330
post Jan 18 2008, 04:08 PM

11,808 posts

oppss even cheaper
denon 1508 - 455sgd
onky 605 - 760sgd
price are fixed and GST included aredi biggrin.gif
apisgogo
post Jan 18 2008, 04:11 PM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 18 2008, 04:08 PM)
oppss even cheaper
denon 1508 -  455sgd
onky 605 - 760sgd
price are fixed and GST included aredi biggrin.gif
hm... tempting... if bring back msia? kena tax how much?
rx330
post Jan 18 2008, 04:12 PM

11,808 posts

30% biggrin.gif
api, which one u mau?
ar188
post Jan 18 2008, 04:18 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 18 2008, 04:12 PM)
30% biggrin.gif
api, which one u mau?
as if RX will buta buta pay 30% tax.. sure throw away the box lor..
rx330
post Jan 18 2008, 04:26 PM

11,808 posts

ar188 so understand me...
boxnot necesary throw, see how
apisgogo
post Jan 18 2008, 04:27 PM

Audiofreakosauros 6.1
925 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 18 2008, 04:12 PM)
30% biggrin.gif
api, which one u mau?
605 = approx RM2247.70 (plus tax)
1508 = approx RM1344.50 (plus tax)

hm... warranty how? must go s'pore lah?

i'll see whats the yams 661 price here 1st...

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 18 2008, 04:18 PM)
as if RX will buta buta pay 30% tax.. sure throw away the box lor..
cannot keep the box eh? throw box kena tax?

This post has been edited by apisgogo: Jan 18 2008, 04:28 PM
JiauBoy
post Jan 18 2008, 05:54 PM

727 posts

looks like rx is ready.
ar188
post Jan 18 2008, 07:00 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jan 18 2008, 02:12 PM)
I told Poki already, if he buy 2 can get cheaper, go and proceed.. meet my target 1000 bucks is fine tongue.gif

how futureproof? well by saving you 1-1.8k from the other options (say like paying 605 at 2800 - whoever paid for that price la) tongue.gif
htkaki
post Jan 18 2008, 10:29 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

future-proof? Is there any? Maybe short-term future proof only.

RX, buy lah and FR to us. We, peasants will eagerly wait for your Elite report.
craven dusk
post Jan 19 2008, 12:02 AM

241 posts

RX, audition yammu rxv-1800/2800
rx330
post Jan 19 2008, 08:55 AM

11,808 posts

ar188.... who is poki? biggrin.gif anjua?

htkaki.... beggars where got future proof one? we kira day by day one sad.gif

yammy got 2800? i tot 3800?
the yammy too ex for me aredi
mpyw
post Jan 19 2008, 09:06 AM

3,603 posts

yammy 2800 lar or get the ultra 11.2 channel Z11 biggrin.gif
rx330
post Jan 19 2008, 09:12 AM

11,808 posts

got 2800 ar?
mpyw, u ingat i elite macam kau ke? sad.gif
ccschua
post Jan 19 2008, 05:35 PM

1,630 posts

need some help help trying to setup HT.

I have KEF cresta 10 and soundstage 1.5 tubamp with sony NS76H.

future add HTPC, so right now need to add mid and subwoofer. I also want to enjoy sterero so intend to buy Marantz cd player .

so can I know if I buy Onkyo say 6 series, can I just forgt the soundstage 1.5 ??
htkaki
post Jan 19 2008, 10:57 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Erm, you mean the one that being sold by Tong Lee? Hard to give comment as I havent have the chance to audition 605. Given the tech advancement in this AV receiver, I guess it could possibly take over Sounstage' s task.

Btw, are you referring 'mid' as center speaker? I suggest you look for KEF to partner Cresta 10.

Added on January 20, 2008, 2:43 pm
QUOTE(tHeRiDdLeR @ Jan 10 2008, 11:25 PM)
nope ...  standard warranty + HN vouchers + n free gift also

At RM3,150 and with those free stuffs, it is indeed cheap. Btw, care to share the performance of SR-705?

This post has been edited by htkaki: Jan 20 2008, 02:43 PM
yfyap69
post Jan 20 2008, 07:48 PM

852 posts

Aiyoh...the more I hear the more confused I get. I thought I already made up my mind on 605 but now don't know already.......

Anyway, I found 1 set of Wharerdale Cyrstal (CR40x2, WH2 center and surround) for RM1680. Quite a good buy but not sure if can match the 605 or not because the shop only have Denon. This price is almost same like the Jamo 606. Another choice will be the Mordaunt Short Carnival 9 for RM2500. Which one will you go for?
rx330
post Jan 22 2008, 09:18 AM

11,808 posts

@JKEC
go tun aminah, megatari, they have quite a setup there, most current gens they also have, the price also ok, but the chao ah beng in charge.....
mpyw
post Jan 22 2008, 09:47 AM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(yfyap69 @ Jan 20 2008, 07:48 PM)
Aiyoh...the more I hear the more confused I get. I thought I already made up my mind on 605 but now don't know already.......

Anyway, I found 1 set of Wharerdale Cyrstal (CR40x2, WH2 center and surround) for RM1680. Quite a good buy but not sure if can match the 605 or not because the shop only have Denon. This price is almost same like the Jamo 606. Another choice will be the Mordaunt Short Carnival 9 for RM2500. Which one will you go for?
The CR40 + WH2 for RM1680!!!...expensive

CR40 x 2, Desa Home Theater selling for RM550
WH-2 center can get for arond RM200
the WH-2 surround I think for RM400

if you buy everything together should be around RM1k nia.....for such old models.... shakehead.gif
JiauBoy
post Jan 22 2008, 09:49 AM

727 posts

im using soundstage also, but i think both are diffrent thing. if you are looking for multi purpose, onkyo is better choice

QUOTE(ccschua @ Jan 19 2008, 05:35 PM)
need some help help trying to setup HT.

I have KEF cresta 10 and soundstage 1.5 tubamp with sony NS76H.

future add HTPC, so right now need to add mid and subwoofer. I also want to enjoy sterero so intend to buy Marantz cd player .

so can I know if I buy Onkyo say 6 series, can I just forgt the soundstage 1.5 ??
sonicwall
post Jan 22 2008, 03:55 PM

677 posts

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Jan 18 2008, 04:27 PM)
605 = approx RM2247.70 (plus tax)
1508 = approx RM1344.50 (plus tax)

hm... warranty how? must go s'pore lah?

i'll see whats the yams 661 price here 1st...
cannot keep the box eh? throw box kena tax?
Anyone know which shops in KL cheaper than those quoted price in the above for onkyo 605 and 705?
rx330
post Jan 23 2008, 10:40 AM

11,808 posts

i dun think so... cheapest 605 in kl shud be ard 2.5k ?

just anote, the denon 1508 DO NOT DO 5.1 PCM !!!!!!!!!
yfyap69
post Jan 23 2008, 11:07 AM

852 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jan 22 2008, 09:47 AM)
The CR40 + WH2 for RM1680!!!...expensive

CR40 x 2, Desa Home Theater selling for RM550
WH-2 center can get for arond RM200
the WH-2 surround I think for RM400

if you buy everything together should be around RM1k nia.....for such old models.... shakehead.gif
Thanks for the tips. Don't the pricing for this model. I asked Desa before. they told me CR40 already obseleted. no more selling.
rx330
post Jan 23 2008, 11:20 AM

11,808 posts

personally, the upgrade from DD to dolby treu and pcm not really tat keng ler... or most prolly mine a lo end set
ar188
post Jan 23 2008, 12:35 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 23 2008, 10:40 AM)
i dun think so... cheapest 605 in kl shud be ard 2.5k ?

just anote, the denon 1508 DO NOT DO 5.1 PCM !!!!!!!!!
nasib baik rx call from sg to check.. biggrin.gif or else have a extra door stopper..
mpyw
post Jan 23 2008, 02:18 PM

3,603 posts

who said Denon 1508 cannot do PCM 5.1????

that's the most basic signal and with HDMI 1.3a...1508 should not be a problem handling PCM 5.1...even my very old Sony can do PCM 5.1 with analog connection.....

AVR-1508 
AV 7.1 Surround Receiver

The Latest Audio and Video Support 
Deep Color 30/36 bits color depth and xvYCC broader color space support. 
HDMI1.3a inputs/outputs allow to handle HD audio and video signal with higher speed. 
State-of-the-art Denon Solutions for Maximising Content Quality 
Identical quality and power for all 7 channels, 75W x 7ch. 
Compressed Audio Restorer. 
Denon's new audio technology for MP3/WMA/AAC compressed format to reproduce higher frequency range and deeper bass sound. 
This new audio technology provides better sound for iPod. 
HD Video Circuit. 
Discrete and latest devices for ultimate HD video performance in each block. 
New Chassis Construction for clear audio and video signal. 
Minimum signal path. 
Direct Mechanical Ground for stable drive. 
Separate unit design. 
Digital Media Connectivity 
iPod(R) audio, photo and video playback (optional ASD product family). 
Ease-of-Use 
Auto set-up and Room EQ, featuring MultEQ from Audyssey. 
New back panel layout. 

Added on January 23, 2008, 2:25 pm
QUOTE(mpyw @ Jan 23 2008, 02:18 PM)
who said Denon 1508 cannot do PCM 5.1????

that's the most basic signal and with HDMI 1.3a...1508 should not be a problem handling PCM 5.1...even my very old Sony can do PCM 5.1 with analog connection.....
Denon's lower-priced receivers are similar, but there are some significant difference. The AVR-1508 and the AVR-1708 both offer dual HDMI 1.3a ports, but they're video-only ports, which means you'll need to make a separate connection for audio. The AVR-1908, on the other hand, offers true HDMI switching with audio, along with onscreen display, which both step-down models lack. The AVR-1708 and the AVR-1908 both feature Audyssey auto setup, along with upconversion to the component video output--the AVR-1508 is lacking both of these features.

oh...sorry..their HDMI 1.3a is for video only...so funny hmm.gif shakehead.gif

but they can still do PCM 5.1 if connect through analog connection.... biggrin.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by mpyw: Jan 23 2008, 02:26 PM
rx330
post Jan 23 2008, 02:57 PM

11,808 posts

told u liao biggrin.gif
if this one can, me and ar188 get one each aredi, farking cheap

This post has been edited by rx330: Jan 23 2008, 02:57 PM
htkaki
post Jan 23 2008, 05:14 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Bro rx330, bila mau beli?

Do a FR to us once you get it,k? TIA
ar188
post Jan 23 2008, 06:08 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 23 2008, 11:20 AM)
personally, the upgrade from DD to dolby treu and pcm not really tat keng ler... or most prolly mine a lo end set
your ear deaf ar? LOL.. DD to trueHD not so kheng upgrade?

Added on January 23, 2008, 6:08 pm
QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 23 2008, 02:57 PM)
told u liao biggrin.gif
if this one can, me and ar188 get one each aredi, farking cheap
1k nia, blardy fracking cheap..

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 23 2008, 06:08 PM
sunauto
post Jan 23 2008, 10:48 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

Cannot be woh ........ even using my existing amp, the DTS 1.5 mbps bitrate enough to impress me liao even though my amp can't decode DTS-HD. Make sure you're not watching Mr. Bean's Holiday on HD-DVD lah ...... DTS-HD or Dolby Digital also no difference. laugh.gif
mpyw
post Jan 24 2008, 08:55 AM

3,603 posts

I think either your ear got problem or you can throw away the Jamo liao biggrin.gif brows.gif
even my wife could hear the different....
djlah
post Jan 24 2008, 10:10 AM

7,723 posts

hey~
all the onkyo AV receiver owner. wat's the speakers you guys match with onkyo? mind to share?
or any good/value recommeded speakers?
mpyw
post Jan 24 2008, 10:40 AM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Jan 24 2008, 10:10 AM)
hey~
all  the onkyo AV receiver owner. wat's the speakers you guys match with onkyo? mind to share?
Just don't get Jamo A102 tongue.gif biggrin.gif
rx330
post Jan 24 2008, 10:54 AM

11,808 posts

htkaki, beli apa?

@ mpyw... i knew tis was coming .... biggrin.gif

ok, semalam auto setting for the onky
much better liao

so how to differentiate btwn dolby and DDtrueHD? try by changing the audio using popup menu? switch here and there?

i dunno wats the big different, but on curse of the golden (.)(.) , LPCM can hear the things clearer , on the scene where jay chous sparring with papa chow , as compare
tested transporter 2 on DTS core , not bad

JiauBoy
post Jan 24 2008, 11:00 AM

727 posts

....... im useng my htib via rca also can hear the diffrent
rx330
post Jan 24 2008, 11:06 AM

11,808 posts

jiau... u wanna herer different btwn wat? u hearing stereo only
JiauBoy
post Jan 24 2008, 11:31 AM

727 posts

the compress and pcm hahhaha
sonicwall
post Jan 24 2008, 11:42 AM

677 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jan 24 2008, 10:40 AM)
Just don't get Jamo A102  tongue.gif  biggrin.gif
Then what speakers do u recommend? tq
rx330
post Jan 24 2008, 11:44 AM

11,808 posts

ur htib dem keng biggrin.gif

mpyw recomend punya or hi hi end one, elite playtoy
JiauBoy
post Jan 24 2008, 11:47 AM

727 posts

but still stereo. cannot afford pioneed plasma so use their htib loh. i want? i sell to u. muahahahha
mpyw
post Jan 24 2008, 12:49 PM

3,603 posts

u want compact satellite or full range speakers???
KidsCode
post Jan 24 2008, 01:23 PM

-----NoLimits!-----
6,649 posts

hey~
all  the onkyo AV receiver owner. wat's the speakers you guys match with onkyo? mind to share?
i pair my sr605 with jamo s606 hcs3
ICDeadPeople
post Jan 24 2008, 01:40 PM

783 posts

QUOTE(KidsCode @ Jan 24 2008, 01:23 PM)
i pair my sr605 with jamo s606 hcs3
Nice. How much did you bought that jamo? And how its perform?
rx330
post Jan 24 2008, 01:48 PM

11,808 posts

jiau.. mine ex htib also pioneer one biggrin.gif
but @ least got optical in tongue.gif

another jamo one user... but higher spec speakers biggrin.gif
JiauBoy
post Jan 24 2008, 02:05 PM

727 posts

hahhahaa but cant match with yr 605 mah. so wanna buy?
htkaki
post Jan 24 2008, 05:08 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Bro rx330, i meant SR-705. Or too meidocre for u as you aim for SR-905?
tHeRiDdLeR
post Jan 24 2008, 06:35 PM

247 posts

hey~
pair my 705 with my old denon (front/center/rear) + mordaunt short carnival 9. this 705 is better than my old receiver pioneer vsx509. of course laa ... smile.gif use audyssey to setup my speaker. so far the sound so good(powerful & clear). don;t have a time to explore others setting. for now i'm satisfy with my 705.
djlah
post Jan 24 2008, 08:55 PM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(tHeRiDdLeR @ Jan 24 2008, 06:35 PM)
pair my 705 with my old denon (front/center/rear) + mordaunt short carnival 9. this 705 is better than my old receiver pioneer vsx509. of course laa ...  smile.gif  use audyssey to setup my speaker. so far the sound so good(powerful & clear). don;t have a time to explore others setting. for now i'm satisfy with my 705.
I don't wan to big bulky big speaker, wanna save space. But I prefer Floorstanding Speakers, any recommended?
Any Compact Floorstanding Speakers?
craven dusk
post Jan 24 2008, 09:58 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Jan 24 2008, 08:55 PM)
I don't wan to big bulky big speaker, wanna save space. But I prefer Floorstanding Speakers, any recommended?
Any Compact Floorstanding Speakers?
PSB Image Series
djlah
post Jan 25 2008, 08:10 AM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(craven dusk @ Jan 24 2008, 09:58 PM)
PSB Image Series
thx, PSB Image Series are nice.. but the price also sweat.gif sweat.gif for me. any others affortable Compact Floorstanding Speakers?
mpyw
post Jan 25 2008, 08:32 AM

3,603 posts

u can try the Yamaha 225 series....
gchee
post Jan 25 2008, 09:25 AM

70 posts

Are yamaha speakers any good?
djlah
post Jan 25 2008, 09:38 AM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jan 25 2008, 08:32 AM)
u can try the Yamaha 225 series....
thx for your suggetion. will check on yamaha speakers. previously you post about don't take Jamo A102, may I knpw wat's the reason? how about other models from Jamo ? like A 707/A 775 ?
mpyw
post Jan 25 2008, 09:53 AM

3,603 posts

the Jamo A102 biggrin.gif...u gotta check with RX330, he has the set with him pairing with Onkyo SR605...and he said cannot hear the different between DD/DTS with LPCM 5.1/DolbyTrueHD....

but refer to the spec...I think the dynamic range starting from 150Hz is too high and a lot of bass will be missing....
rx330
post Jan 25 2008, 10:54 AM

11,808 posts

htkaki, i just bought 605, and u wan me to buy 705? u siow ar?

mpyw, dolby true HD and DD the difference is the bass ar?
mpyw
post Jan 25 2008, 10:57 AM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 25 2008, 10:54 AM)
htkaki, i just bought 605, and u wan me to buy 705? u siow ar?

mpyw, dolby true HD and DD the difference is the bass ar?
no lar....

the diff...clarity, accuracy, dynamic range and details.....most noticeable is the amount of details and surround effect thumbup.gif

the bass is the comment to your Jamo A102 lar.....maybe u need a better sub to compensate that and set the crossover higher for the lack of low bass to your compact satellite....
rx330
post Jan 25 2008, 11:01 AM

11,808 posts

mpyw, can check for me ar, the jamo A 340 ok or not? maybe better than the 102?

i think the auto setting set my front to full band, the front surrounds to 150 and the rear to 120

but surround effect is definitely better than my old btib
mpyw
post Jan 25 2008, 11:06 AM

3,603 posts

your setting for all speakers should be SMALL since your speaker can't handle low frequency and send all the low frequency to the sub....

what's the spec of your sub????

from paper can only check the spec...need to listen then only will know if it suit your taste wan...
rx330
post Jan 25 2008, 11:10 AM

11,808 posts

sub ar
This subwoofer has a 200 Watt amplifier and a long-throw 8in woofer housed in a bass-reflex enclosure which gives this subwoofer a level of performance that is second to none. The auto on/off and controls for level, cut-off frequency and phase, together with both line-level and high-level inputs, makes it easy to integrate with any speaker.

itu saja biggrin.gif

i cant find settings in the onkyo to set it to small speakers, only normal and bi pole

Added on January 25, 2008, 11:33 amType ......................................................... SUB 200
System .......................................................... Bass reflex
Woofer (in / mm) .............................................8 / 203
Frequency range (Hz) ................................... 36 - 150
Impedance (K Ohm) ................................................ 22
Phase .................................................... Adj. 0-180 deg.
Cut off frequency (Hz) .................................... 40-150
Amplifier rated output (W peak) .......................200
Limiter ........................................................................ Yes
Dimensions (HxWxD mm / in) ... 303 x 230 x 430 .
...............................................................11.9 x 9.1 x 16.9
Weight (Kg / lb) ............................................ 8,4 / 18.5

sub punya spec

This post has been edited by rx330: Jan 25 2008, 11:33 AM
mpyw
post Jan 25 2008, 12:11 PM

3,603 posts

wah...the sub ngam ngam crossover at 150hz with the satellite....try set your sub crossover at 150hz and test the sound lor....since your sat. range from 150hz - 20khz.....

fyi, my cheapo Whaferdale WH-2 center range is 85hz-20khz and my PSB front is 55hz - 21khz

even my sony satellite are better at 80hz-20khz
rx330
post Jan 25 2008, 12:16 PM

11,808 posts

the less hz the better ar? i duuno wor..

wah.. kena mpywa pijak kaw kaw sad.gif
htkaki
post Jan 25 2008, 12:27 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

my front goes down to about 37Hz if not mistaken. Center is 40Hz. Hehe..
mpyw
post Jan 25 2008, 12:33 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 25 2008, 12:16 PM)
the less hz the better ar? i duuno wor..

wah.. kena mpywa pijak kaw kaw sad.gif
the less hz mean can get lower bass lor....and better mid-range especially those around 80-200hz one....dialog will be better also...
rx330
post Jan 25 2008, 12:41 PM

11,808 posts

ok, time to get new speakers,

the sats i kasi jadi zone 2 speakers

btw, rotel cd player good ar?
htkaki
post Jan 25 2008, 01:16 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

rx330 really keng. Change speakers also.

Yes, the lower Hz the better. Get full range speakers (20Hz - 20kHz) lah, rx330
asciii
post Jan 25 2008, 01:20 PM

Why So Serious?
858 posts

a question..

say i have a ps3 and xbox which i wana connect to onkyo and to optoma projector..how will the connectivity be like?using what cable? can some one suggest in a simple diagram?which cable connect to onkyo and which connect to projector

thx
rx330
post Jan 25 2008, 02:47 PM

11,808 posts

htkaki... the speakers i just bought ler.... sad.gif

asc, ps3hdmi in to onky, if xbox elite, got hdmi, also in, then out from onkyo to projector(if ada hdmi) so 3 hdmi cables
but hor... this onkyo a bit weird one... lets say u wanna listen song lar... from the ps3 or xbox, after selecting ur songs, normally u will shut down the projector or the display rite? once the display is change, the onkyo will shut as well, so no sound sad.gif
mpyw
post Jan 25 2008, 03:01 PM

3,603 posts

that's why Yamaha better with the "Pure Direct" function which only play audio and shut off all video output kekeke

RX so keng, spend non-stop thumbup.gif
rx330
post Jan 25 2008, 03:06 PM

11,808 posts

ohhh... onkyo also got one pure audio function, dunno same or not

must try tonite biggrin.gif
ar188
post Jan 25 2008, 03:11 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jan 25 2008, 03:01 PM)
that's why Yamaha better with the "Pure Direct" function which only play audio and shut off all video output kekeke

RX so keng, spend non-stop thumbup.gif
people drive elite car wor.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 25 2008, 03:20 PM
rx330
post Jan 25 2008, 03:13 PM

11,808 posts

ay pundek... tis public forum... u dun go disclose tis and tat lar sad.gif
ar188
post Jan 25 2008, 03:20 PM

9,206 posts

I just refer to your avatar...

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 25 2008, 03:21 PM
rx330
post Jan 25 2008, 03:26 PM

11,808 posts

my name lar... u wan me to disclose to everybody how much u in love with me is it? blush.gif biggrin.gif
ar188
post Jan 25 2008, 03:33 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 25 2008, 03:26 PM)
my name lar... u wan me to disclose to everybody how much u in love with me is it? blush.gif biggrin.gif
please no brokeback here.. reminds me of one poki.. biggrin.gif
mpyw
post Jan 25 2008, 03:49 PM

3,603 posts

poki???

who is poki? biggrin.gif
htkaki
post Jan 25 2008, 05:51 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Bro rx330, take some photos of ur setup and share lah.
gchee
post Jan 25 2008, 09:38 PM

70 posts

Need some feedback from you guys. I have a Yamaha RX-V750 paired with yamaha NS777 speakers and a subwoofer. Thinking of upgrading but should I upgrade the receiver to RX-V1800 or upgrade to a better speaker? What do you guys think
htkaki
post Jan 25 2008, 10:19 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

are you into HD?
asciii
post Jan 25 2008, 10:32 PM

Why So Serious?
858 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 25 2008, 02:47 PM)
htkaki... the speakers i just bought ler.... sad.gif

asc, ps3hdmi in to onky, if xbox elite, got hdmi, also in, then out from onkyo to projector(if ada hdmi) so 3 hdmi cables
but hor... this onkyo a bit weird one... lets say u wanna listen song lar... from the ps3 or xbox, after selecting ur songs, normally u will shut down the projector or the display rite? once the display is change, the onkyo will shut as well, so no sound sad.gif
Let me see whether i understand it correctly

1. 1 HDMI cable from PS3 to ONKYO
2. 1 HDMI cable from XBOX to ONKYO
3. 1 HDMI cable from ONKYO to projector.

So, projector will automatically know which device is currently running?

Onkyo must have atleast 3 HDMI ports?
htkaki
post Jan 25 2008, 10:43 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

ascii, 2 In. 1 Out.

Rx330, i tot u went for 705.
rx330
post Jan 26 2008, 09:49 AM

11,808 posts

no lar, 605, as i said b4, tight budget
and hor.. in jaybee got a lot users tat upgrade to 1800 but no play HD materials one... sibek keng... just becos they got hdmi dvd player...
my setup blush.gif

asc , the onkyo know which is running, the most is u switch the 2 btwn the onkyo

@mpyw, onky tested liao, can switch off teebee and listen as well biggrin.gif
diana krall DTS CD drool.gif

This post has been edited by rx330: Jan 26 2008, 09:52 AM
gchee
post Jan 26 2008, 10:30 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jan 25 2008, 10:19 PM)
are you into HD?
i am not into HD as my LCD goes to 1080i only
rx330
post Jan 26 2008, 10:33 AM

11,808 posts

gchee... judging from ur answer.... i can tell u really not into HD biggrin.gif
DOLOR
post Jan 26 2008, 11:49 AM

Onkyo sr605 is the best future proof av receiver for its price right now. i think it received what hifi product of the year award and got the highest score for cnet review on av receivers.
mpyw
post Jan 26 2008, 11:54 AM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 26 2008, 09:49 AM)
no lar, 605, as i said b4, tight budget
and hor.. in jaybee got a lot users tat upgrade to 1800 but no play HD materials one... sibek keng... just becos they got hdmi dvd player...
my setup blush.gif
asc , the onkyo know which is running, the most is u switch the 2 btwn the onkyo

@mpyw, onky tested liao, can switch off teebee and listen as well biggrin.gif
diana krall DTS CD  drool.gif
errr...where's your TViX????
rx330
post Jan 26 2008, 11:58 AM

11,808 posts

on top of the astro lar....
mpyw
post Jan 26 2008, 12:17 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 26 2008, 11:58 AM)
on top of the astro lar....
oh...black black cannot see...next time use better camera hor... tongue.gif brows.gif
rx330
post Jan 26 2008, 12:28 PM

11,808 posts

kena pijak sad.gif

tis one is actually the viewcam's 3 or 4 mp kamela... kento pakai one if not enuff brightness biggrin.gif
htkaki
post Jan 26 2008, 04:55 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Taikor, the puny silver speakers at the back is JBL? Or you have a penchant for tiny speakers? hmm.gif

mpyw
post Jan 26 2008, 04:58 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jan 26 2008, 04:55 PM)
Taikor, the puny silver speakers at the back is JBL? Or you have a penchant for tiny speakers? hmm.gif
I think that one his old Pioneer HTiB speakers lar...
actually can use for front replace the Jamo...and all Jamo satellite goes to surround...and

Ta....da...u have full 7.1 setup drool.gif
htkaki
post Jan 26 2008, 05:15 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Taikor mpyw, I think need to poison him kaw kaw to change to full fledge system. Later, I tk some close snapshots of my setup and let him itchy. hehe...
rx330
post Jan 28 2008, 09:23 AM

11,808 posts

niamah... u ini olang semua... tak leh pakai one sad.gif
KidsCode
post Jan 28 2008, 09:35 AM

-----NoLimits!-----
6,649 posts

QUOTE(ICDeadPeople @ Jan 24 2008, 01:40 PM)
Nice. How much did you bought that jamo? And how its perform?
sorrie for the late reply... i bought the speakers and the amp under 1 set at SenQ with membership price of RM4.4K (think remember correctly)

lets saz i did some bad planning and not using the main speakers with this setup, but overall good stuff...

rx330@

how can the tiny speakers take the sound, as at the moment im using the surround speakers and cant take the beat force me to lower down the dB of the main front speakers...
aneip
post Jan 28 2008, 09:59 AM

2,466 posts

any shop sell Onkyo HTiB? such HT-SR600.. how much?
rx330
post Jan 28 2008, 11:24 AM

11,808 posts

sad.gif
my db now is btwn 50-60 , the speakers no problem
mpyw
post Jan 28 2008, 12:07 PM

3,603 posts

50-60!! that's very high....
rx330
post Jan 28 2008, 12:24 PM

11,808 posts

yea, onky is like tat one, i check liao....
most users also 60+
htkaki
post Jan 28 2008, 02:55 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

aiks...speakers can tahan ah?
rx330
post Jan 28 2008, 03:21 PM

11,808 posts

i think can lar... how to know it kenot tahan? got weird noises?
KidsCode
post Jan 28 2008, 03:26 PM

-----NoLimits!-----
6,649 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 28 2008, 11:24 AM)
sad.gif
my db now is btwn 50-60 , the speakers no problem
think need to clarified more...

the volume i put is about 60 - 65 but speakers output on setup each speakers is -6dB for 2 front speakers and +2dB for centre speakers so that i dont burst my speakers when SFX comes

This post has been edited by KidsCode: Jan 28 2008, 03:34 PM
rx330
post Jan 28 2008, 03:31 PM

11,808 posts

i used the auto setup calibration, simi audessey one
certain speakers were reduce to - db, some +, cant really remember, but my sub is -2db
htkaki
post Jan 28 2008, 04:36 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

15" subbie?
rx330
post Jan 28 2008, 04:41 PM

11,808 posts

8 inch nia blush.gif
Ka3tr0
post Feb 1 2008, 05:37 AM

362 posts

Aiya...my mission to racun RX buy 705 fail..ahahaha...
rx330
post Feb 1 2008, 09:38 AM

11,808 posts

wanna know why u fail?
cos u din bank in the oney to my acc biggrin.gif
htkaki
post Feb 1 2008, 11:15 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

bro rx330, i guess you wont need that.
ar188
post Feb 1 2008, 12:26 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(Ka3tr0 @ Feb 1 2008, 05:37 AM)
Aiya...my mission to racun RX buy 705 fail..ahahaha...
wah, maybe you can poison RX to buy full HD projector next? biggrin.gif rclxms.gif
rx330
post Feb 1 2008, 01:29 PM

11,808 posts

htkaki, who don need? i dun mind more money, u mind? tongue.gif
htkaki
post Feb 1 2008, 02:17 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Taikor, why want to be richer whne peasants like us needed it more than you?

So, how's your spkr upgrading been going? Buy ProAc or B&W lah
mpyw
post Feb 1 2008, 02:18 PM

3,603 posts

he is B&O guy lar.....B&W can play far far....biggrin.gif
ar188
post Feb 1 2008, 02:23 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Feb 1 2008, 02:18 PM)
he is B&O guy lar.....B&W can play far far....biggrin.gif
wei I tot SQ, B&W better? buy B&O for elite image n looks mah..
mpyw
post Feb 1 2008, 02:26 PM

3,603 posts

u don't know he always want image only meh....that's why he bought the Jamo... brows.gif
rx330
post Feb 1 2008, 02:26 PM

11,808 posts

apa?
wats B&O? blow and oral?
mpyw
post Feb 1 2008, 02:27 PM

3,603 posts

u really porn king lar.....
ar188
post Feb 1 2008, 02:27 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Feb 1 2008, 02:26 PM)
u don't know he always want image only meh....that's why he bought the Jamo... brows.gif
HAHAHAHAHA! dun say he bought the jamo UFO thingy also..

Added on February 1, 2008, 2:28 pm
QUOTE(mpyw @ Feb 1 2008, 02:27 PM)
u really porn king lar.....
opps... kena char.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Feb 1 2008, 02:28 PM
rx330
post Feb 1 2008, 02:30 PM

11,808 posts

the jamo ufo i no money buy lar.. i buy cheapskates jamonia
htkaki
post Feb 1 2008, 02:44 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

B&O is for decoration purpose. For sonic performance, go for B&W. But, I like ProAc more or Klipsch Reference series.

Not trying to pijak rx330. Jamo aint that good and finishing also quite poor.
rx330
post Feb 1 2008, 02:49 PM

11,808 posts

:(:(:(:(
i aredi say i buy jamo cos cheap mar.. why u all pijak me kaw kaw sad.gif
mpyw
post Feb 1 2008, 03:24 PM

3,603 posts

everyone told u not to buy Jamo...now become Jemu liao....
asciii
post Feb 1 2008, 03:29 PM

Why So Serious?
858 posts

I am looking to connect Mordaunt Short speakers (MS302 , MS304 and MS309i sub) to onkyo. Where is the best place to get the speakers? And what is the estimated budget for it?
htkaki
post Feb 1 2008, 03:42 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

MS is distributed by Wo Kee Hong. You may to contact them

http://www.wokeehong.net/catalog/item.asp?id=980

asciii
post Feb 1 2008, 03:46 PM

Why So Serious?
858 posts

but are they selling to normal people or are they selling to shops only?

rx330
post Feb 1 2008, 04:55 PM

11,808 posts

au all advice not tobuy nia.. but i dun see u gip me money to buy other types of better speaker sad.gif
mpyw
post Feb 1 2008, 05:02 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 1 2008, 04:55 PM)
au all advice not tobuy nia.. but i dun see u gip me money to buy other types of better speaker sad.gif
then after u buy, don't complaint all sound no diff from your Pioneer HTiB lor...quiet quiet swallow the pain lor.... brows.gif tongue.gif
and you are buying a better and more up to date receiver than mine....that's mean you are richer than me, so you should be giving me money instead for me to upgrade my receiver.... drool.gif tongue.gif lust.gif
ar188
post Feb 1 2008, 05:56 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Feb 1 2008, 03:24 PM)

everyone told u not to buy Jamo...now become Jemu liao....
when he asked me why his speaker impedance funny value, I already "uh oh".. biggrin.gif

neoardi
post Feb 1 2008, 08:45 PM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Feb 1 2008, 02:44 PM)
B&O is for decoration purpose. For sonic performance, go for B&W. But, I like ProAc more or Klipsch Reference series.

Not trying to pijak rx330. Jamo aint that good and finishing also quite poor.
Hi htkaki dude, i'm now seaching for a floor standing speakers, budget below RM2.5k, what would you recommend?

Here my top 3 list:
1) Acoustic Energy Aegis Neo 3
2) Kef iQ5
3) Wharfedale Diamond 9.6

any other brands within my budget? thanks... icon_rolleyes.gif
sunauto
post Feb 2 2008, 12:51 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 1 2008, 02:49 PM)
:(:(:(:(
i aredi say i buy jamo cos cheap mar.. why u all pijak me kaw kaw sad.gif
But I'm innocent, I never pijak you. icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(asciii @ Feb 1 2008, 03:29 PM)
I am looking to connect Mordaunt Short speakers (MS302 , MS304 and MS309i sub) to onkyo. Where is the best place to get the speakers? And what is the estimated budget for it?
MS309i is RM1650, my cousin just bought it two weeks ago. Other models I dunno how much lah but MS309i is okay lah even though it's made in Malaysia.
rx330
post Feb 2 2008, 09:00 AM

11,808 posts

mpyw... but my receiver cheaper value than urs wor, anjua? biggrin.gif
even know i change to the KEF speakers i also kento hear difference tongue.gif
mpyw
post Feb 2 2008, 10:03 AM

3,603 posts

did you never select the LPCM instead of DD/dts blink.gif
sunauto
post Feb 2 2008, 10:23 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Feb 2 2008, 10:03 AM)
Yalor, some of my friends using DD/DTS bitstream and not LPCM. That's why said no difference. Many dunno about the settings for their PS3.
rx330
post Feb 2 2008, 10:35 AM

11,808 posts

niamah... u really think i gundu ar?
asciii
post Feb 2 2008, 11:00 AM

Why So Serious?
858 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Feb 2 2008, 12:51 AM)
But I'm innocent, I never pijak you.  icon_idea.gif
MS309i is RM1650, my cousin just bought it two weeks ago. Other models I dunno how much lah but MS309i is okay lah even though it's made in Malaysia.
Bro, Is the price just for the Sub or including the center and rear speakers?
ar188
post Feb 2 2008, 11:31 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Feb 2 2008, 10:03 AM)
wah super table... biggrin.gif
htkaki
post Feb 2 2008, 11:05 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I guess it's just the sub for that kind of money
Synco
post Feb 10 2008, 10:23 PM

CCB
667 posts

Is it possible to get 605 at Rm2400 in KL?
since the lowest i gotten is Rm2550 laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Synco: Feb 10 2008, 10:23 PM
djlah
post Feb 10 2008, 11:39 PM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(Synco @ Feb 10 2008, 10:23 PM)
Is it possible to get 605 at Rm2400 in KL?
since the lowest i gotten is Rm2550  laugh.gif
sg around rm1600, kl around rm2400, how about Penang? average price for 605, anyones know?
yfyap69
post Feb 10 2008, 11:49 PM

852 posts

Penang always more expensive. The cheapest I got so far is RM2800 from Watts.
djlah
post Feb 11 2008, 12:03 AM

7,723 posts

QUOTE(yfyap69 @ Feb 10 2008, 11:49 PM)
thanks for replied. ya, usually like that, just wanna know how far its more expensive. right now I surveying around.... also also seek for best match floorstand speakers
where is Watts? how bout SenQ? hmm.gif dunno whether possible got bulk before for receiver.... interested on onkyo.

hmm.gif
Synco
post Feb 11 2008, 12:06 AM

CCB
667 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Feb 11 2008, 12:03 AM)
thanks for replied. ya, usually like that, just wanna know how far its more expensive. right now I surveying around.... also also seek for best match floorstand speakers
where is Watts? how bout SenQ?  hmm.gif  dunno whether possible got bulk before for receiver.... interested on onkyo.

hmm.gif
if can bulk and get lower then good lor
if not most probably i will go grab mine by tuesday liao
if penang go harvey u can easily bargain to Rm2600-Rm2699

This post has been edited by Synco: Feb 11 2008, 12:07 AM
sunauto
post Feb 11 2008, 01:34 AM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(asciii @ Feb 2 2008, 11:00 AM)
Bro, Is the price just for the Sub or including the center and rear speakers?
That's the price for the sub only.

QUOTE(yfyap69 @ Feb 10 2008, 11:49 PM)
Can try going to Hi-Fi Choice lor, I always get my hi-fi stuff from them and they can match the prices offered elsewhere as long as you pay by cash. brows.gif
rx330
post Feb 11 2008, 02:37 PM

11,808 posts

spore still the cheapest tongue.gif
poyo
post Feb 11 2008, 02:56 PM

278 posts

Bro rx330, I feel that you always go SG to buy your stuffs, if I'm not mistaken, you live at Taman Pelangi right?

Anyhow, I beleive you got plenty of experience in bringing in your stuffs from SG. Mind telling us which one is "safer", the Tambak Johor or 2nd Link, and at around when ( morning ke, evening etc ) is the best time to avoid Customs to check your car? My previous experience, latest was middle last year. I was bringing in plenty of sports scooter & sportsbike stuffs for my mates ( and of course, I ask for commission lar! ) since I was spending a good whole week with my grandma over at Felda Cahaya Baru.

If it's viable, rather go SG and get my HT stuffs. Maybe not floorstanders lah, that oen too heavy oledi.

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 11 2008, 02:37 PM)
spore still the cheapest tongue.gif
ar188
post Feb 11 2008, 03:18 PM

9,206 posts

haha RX kena profile liao....
rx330
post Feb 11 2008, 04:34 PM

11,808 posts

*dig hole and hide

biggrin.gif and no, i dun live in tmn pelangi tongue.gif
Synco
post Feb 11 2008, 06:56 PM

CCB
667 posts

any 605 owner have problem when u hit 1080i using component?
poyo
post Feb 11 2008, 08:34 PM

278 posts

tongue.gif Soli ah if wrong address. Anyhow, share le your experience. If I find it viable ( and can ensure that I won't get stopped for check at the at MY Customs ok oledi ). Haven't driven to SG for about 6 months oledi, so dunno le if now MY Customs is very strict the full 24 hours stretch.

Seems like the prices for HT stuffs there is cheaper by at least 30% compared to here mah, that is why I'm eager to know your experience mah. I'm not doing a case profile la.... blush.gif

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 11 2008, 04:34 PM)
*dig hole and hide

biggrin.gif and no, i dun live in tmn pelangi tongue.gif
yfyap69
post Feb 11 2008, 09:01 PM

852 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Feb 11 2008, 12:03 AM)
where is Watts? how bout SenQ?   hmm.gif  dunno whether possible got bulk before for receiver.... interested on onkyo.

hmm.gif
Watts is at end of Perak Road (near Anson Road). SenQ is selling around RM2700. Actually I'm thinking of driving down to Singaopre to buy.

Added on February 11, 2008, 9:02 pm
QUOTE(sunauto @ Feb 11 2008, 01:34 AM)
That's the price for the sub only.
Can try going to Hi-Fi Choice lor, I always get my hi-fi stuff from them and they can match the prices offered elsewhere as long as you pay by cash.  brows.gif
I thought HiFiChoice already closed liao... Last time it's in Megamall Penang.

Added on February 11, 2008, 9:07 pm
QUOTE(poyo @ Feb 11 2008, 08:34 PM)
tongue.gif Soli ah if wrong address. Anyhow, share le your experience. If I find it viable ( and can ensure that I won't get stopped for check at the at MY Customs ok oledi ). Haven't driven to SG for about 6 months oledi, so dunno le if now MY Customs is very strict the full 24 hours stretch.

Seems like the prices for HT stuffs there is cheaper by at least 30% compared to here mah, that is why I'm eager to know your experience mah. I'm not doing a case profile la.... blush.gif
I'm also thinking of doing the same (driving down to Singapore to buy)

This post has been edited by yfyap69: Feb 11 2008, 09:07 PM
sunauto
post Feb 11 2008, 10:32 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(yfyap69 @ Feb 11 2008, 09:01 PM)
Watts is at end of Perak Road (near Anson Road). SenQ is selling around RM2700. Actually I'm thinking of driving down to Singaopre to buy.

Added on February 11, 2008, 9:02 pm
I thought HiFiChoice already closed liao... Last time it's in Megamall Penang.

Added on February 11, 2008, 9:07 pm

I'm also thinking of doing the same (driving down to Singapore to buy)
Ehh ........ no lah, Hi-Fi Choice Penang, 1-Stop Midlands leh ...... mana ada tutup, I just bought a Velodyne CHT-10R sub from them before this CNY.
poyo
post Feb 12 2008, 03:35 AM

278 posts

Ooohhh, I've been reading around and ppl sezs this Velodyne CHT 10R is a goooooood sub, how much did you bought 'em there?

QUOTE(sunauto @ Feb 11 2008, 10:32 PM)
Ehh ........ no lah, Hi-Fi Choice Penang, 1-Stop Midlands leh ...... mana ada tutup, I just bought a Velodyne CHT-10R sub from them before this CNY.
htkaki
post Feb 12 2008, 09:11 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I guess it would be around RM2K for that
rx330
post Feb 12 2008, 09:14 AM

11,808 posts

poyo, it depend on luck, and also ur means of transport, whether its possible to be hidden
yfyap69
post Feb 12 2008, 09:26 AM

852 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Feb 11 2008, 10:32 PM)
Really??? Ok. Will check it out.
sunauto
post Feb 12 2008, 12:46 PM

<< Blu-Ray Rocks >>
4,017 posts

QUOTE(yfyap69 @ Feb 12 2008, 09:26 AM)
Really??? Ok. Will check it out.
Talk to Tony, he's da boss there. Tell him Darren recommended you to his shop. brows.gif
poyo
post Feb 12 2008, 03:37 PM

278 posts

Thanks for the info htkaki. Hhhmmmm, this Velodyne sub will hold me off any urge to upgrade sub ke?

QUOTE(htkaki @ Feb 12 2008, 09:11 AM)
I guess it would be around RM2K for that
Ah, mucha thanks. Haihs, looks like hafta find a way to make the stuff look 2nd hand then. Out goes the spare tyre then! If I can drive my hatchback better lah. Got a nice hidden box, enough to put receivers + cables etc, but now there's two amps inside! blush.gif

Someone recommended me to find an old box and put the stuff inside, hide all the cables, warranty etc so the stuff look like I bought it from a person 2nd hand. So if I got stopped by MY Customs, show off the box and say : " Takde resit lah bang, brg 2nd hand beli dr kawan ni. ", maybe, just maybe, the probability of me getting off scot - free is there lah. laugh.gif

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 12 2008, 09:14 AM)
poyo, it depend on luck, and also ur means of transport, whether its possible to be hidden
rx330
post Feb 12 2008, 03:40 PM

11,808 posts

poyo, just to remind u one thing, customs officer is much more smarter than u think they are, trust me, they aint stupid biggrin.gif

and, even though its 2nd hand, its still taxable
poyo
post Feb 12 2008, 03:48 PM

278 posts

Aiyoo...

The past 3 years I've driven back to JB, I went to SG about 7-8 times, only stopped by MY Customs twice. Once I was carrying about 60 pieces to mixed clothing, that one I got away lah because the Customs officer was very kind. 2nd time, the see my luggage area, got a 10" sub and a rear strut bar, then simply let me off la. Only thing I had beside me was a sticker kit for Ducati MotoGP rep, that one didn't kena lah.

Well, it's been a while since I've driven to SG, so I dunno how the MY Customs are. blink.gif

How they classify / rate your 2nd hand stuffs when there's no receipt for it?

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 12 2008, 03:40 PM)
poyo, just to remind u one thing, customs officer is much more smarter than u think they are, trust me, they aint stupid biggrin.gif

and, even though its 2nd hand, its still taxable
rx330
post Feb 12 2008, 03:52 PM

11,808 posts

kekekke, eh, if avbody bring things in from spore and claim no receipt how? go figure tongue.gif

sometimes hor... no matter how calm i am, cos used to it
sure kena check if i bring things one, everytime i come back empty handed, sure tak kena check one, dunno why...
yfyap69
post Feb 12 2008, 04:32 PM

852 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Feb 12 2008, 12:46 PM)
Talk to Tony, he's da boss there. Tell him Darren recommended you to his shop.  brows.gif
OK. Will probably go tomorrow.
Synco
post Feb 12 2008, 05:02 PM

CCB
667 posts

really envy those stay near JB can easily go over sg to buy cheap stuff
those in KL pulak have to add in petrol+tol and need to play big small dice games with kastam for taxes
poyo
post Feb 12 2008, 09:21 PM

278 posts

tongue.gif This one really hits the nail in the coffin! Hehehe!

QUOTE(Synco @ Feb 12 2008, 05:02 PM)
really envy those stay near JB can easily go over sg to buy cheap stuff
those in KL pulak have to add in petrol+tol and need to play big small dice games with kastam for taxes
Synco
post Feb 13 2008, 12:02 AM

CCB
667 posts

crap upscaling astro/wii to 720p makes it shrunk to 4:3

This post has been edited by Synco: Feb 13 2008, 03:17 AM
rx330
post Feb 13 2008, 11:16 AM

11,808 posts

yea, it shrunk the thing biggrin.gif
but for me, im watchin astro thru the onky now, but in progressive, looks abit better though
mpyw
post Feb 13 2008, 12:11 PM

3,603 posts

I tot the 605 no upscalling???
rx330
post Feb 13 2008, 12:29 PM

11,808 posts

got hidden menu... but the upscaling might as well dun upscale lar biggrin.gif
splee8868
post Feb 13 2008, 02:20 PM

139 posts

605 doing upconversion...not upscaling.....only 875 & 905 will do the upscaling.....

QUOTE(mpyw @ Feb 13 2008, 12:11 PM)
I tot the 605 no upscalling???
pooh88
post Feb 13 2008, 02:47 PM

Malaysia Tennis Enthusiast
2,365 posts

Have u all ever thought of warranty for Onkyo.
The A & L sale guy told me,if this machine spoild & without warranty.
The repair cost will easily come to nearly 1 K. sweat.gif
Anyway gd luck current user using Onkyo Amp now. shakehead.gif
rx330
post Feb 13 2008, 03:38 PM

11,808 posts

well, @ least u know there is ppl who will repair
thanks for ur gd luck biggrin.gif
JiauBoy
post Feb 13 2008, 03:47 PM

727 posts

thk its all up to the repair ppl....... my dopod also cost me 2k++ for repair.... can trow already
Synco
post Feb 13 2008, 06:38 PM

CCB
667 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Feb 13 2008, 03:38 PM)
well, @ least u know there is ppl who will repair
thanks for ur gd luck biggrin.gif
wah thank god i bought 2 yrs warranty frm harvey
whats the diff between upscale and upconvert

This post has been edited by Synco: Feb 14 2008, 12:16 AM
splee8868
post Feb 14 2008, 08:26 AM

139 posts

upscale is add pixel for any resulotion.....but upconvert is convert from lower resulotion to higher resulotion without adding the pixel

QUOTE(Synco @ Feb 13 2008, 06:38 PM)
wah thank god i bought 2 yrs warranty frm harvey
whats the diff between upscale and upconvert

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1737sec    0.65    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:18 PM