Home Theatre Onkyo AV Receiver

mpyw
post Dec 22 2007, 12:38 PM

3,603 posts

Onkyo official distributor in Malaysia:-

Hwee Seng (Electronics) Sdn Bhd
Building Information Centre, G-10 Ground Floor, Lot 2 Jalan 51A/243, 46100 Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Phone +60-3-78754840
Fax +60-3-78754488

This post has been edited by mpyw: Dec 22 2007, 12:39 PM
mpyw
post Jan 4 2008, 12:54 PM

3,603 posts

the desa HT having some nice Mordount Short 5.1 + Onkyo SR505 going for RM2,888, very nice setup liao
mpyw
post Jan 5 2008, 02:55 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(yfyap69 @ Jan 5 2008, 12:44 PM)
I'm planning to get the SR605 to pair with my PS3 but I'm not sure which speaker to use. Any suggestion? Prefer 5.1 or 7.1 type of speaker set. Budget around RM2k.
Bro, try goto e-mall at Jln Pudu, there're selling package Onkyo SR505 with Mordount Short Carnival 5.1 system for RM2,888, ask them to upgrade to SR605 for some extra....

p.s. they sell the SR505 alone at RM1,488....
mpyw
post Jan 7 2008, 12:35 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 7 2008, 10:07 AM)
htkaki, anjua? ask only kenot ar? biggrin.gif

ok, all this 605, 705, 1800, if pair with satelite speakers, is it a waste?
you have $$$ to burnt...upgrade the speakers next time lor....get the receiver 1st icon_rolleyes.gif
the surround use satelite speakers no problem cos' most movie are front enhanced, surround is mostly for the "FEEL", most important is the 3.1 i.e. Front L, R, Center and the Sub....I'm using satelite as my surround also.... sweat.gif
mpyw
post Jan 7 2008, 03:46 PM

3,603 posts

was offered a used 9.1 (2 pcs) for RM630 b4....but I prefer floor standing so pass up.....
mpyw
post Jan 7 2008, 10:40 PM

3,603 posts

Denon price are too much for M'sia market....
mpyw
post Jan 8 2008, 04:54 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 8 2008, 04:15 PM)
er... spore selling the 605 for 699 sgd, cheap ar?
cheap, very cheap SGD700 = RM1,610 nia....market price here ard RM2.5k wor.... doh.gif
mpyw
post Jan 9 2008, 05:15 PM

3,603 posts

u come to KL and bring 1 unit back lar....
mpyw
post Jan 10 2008, 04:01 PM

3,603 posts

rx...I advise u got get those out-going models which should be a very good price or wait for the AV show...come to KL and sapu those discounted speakers...but be sure to drive a van up too biggrin.gif

or...buy your receiver 1st then slowly choose your speakers and use existing one tahan dulu, hey, like that u'll want to watch the same movie again and fully utilized the value u invest in the PS3 and the TV laugh.gif
mpyw
post Jan 11 2008, 10:46 AM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(Synco @ Jan 11 2008, 10:40 AM)
if thats the case maybe i should go for SR605  tongue.gif
extra 700 diff can buy center speaker liao
My center speaker only cost me RM170 during KLIAV show blush.gif
Cheapo Wharfedale WH-2, but it get the works done.... thumbup.gif sweat.gif
mpyw
post Jan 11 2008, 12:22 PM

3,603 posts

I would take Yammy over Onkyo anytime and some said the Onkyo runs very very hot....
mpyw
post Jan 11 2008, 02:34 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(JiauBoy @ Jan 11 2008, 02:31 PM)
the thing is, if im getting, i will get it from hk

705 selling around hkd 5000(rm2000) and 1800 is hkd9000(rm3700)......so the topup is now rm400...
then the Onkyo is overprice in bolehland, the yammy is almost same price worldwide thumbup.gif
mpyw
post Jan 11 2008, 05:21 PM

3,603 posts

Last time Sony M'sia did repair my CD discman and video camera bought from Japan.....with a fee off course...

Maybe only distributor won't do the repair but if the holding company have their own marketing/trading company here, they will.

Lets list down those company with own service center and not through distributor in M'sia:-

1. Sony
2. Yamaha
3. JVC
4. Canon
5. Panasonic

Those using distributor:-
1. Toshiba (Teledynamics)
2. Denon (Woo Kee)
3. Pioneer
4. Onkyo

Please add on
mpyw
post Jan 14 2008, 01:53 PM

3,603 posts

I think the Yammy V661 already can matrix 5.1 to 7.1 liao...
mpyw
post Jan 14 2008, 02:04 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 14 2008, 01:56 PM)
err... sure it can matrix HD 5.1 to  7.1 HD audio? I tot it's not even 1.3a so how to accept HD audio (raw bitstream trueHD/DTS-MA) ??

http://reviews.cnet.com/av-receivers/yamah...7-32378947.html

not very capable comparing to 605..
that's the entry level lar...with HDMI1.2a...confirm can matrix...but you'll need 7.1 speakers to start with.... sweat.gif not 2.1 brows.gif biggrin.gif tongue.gif
mpyw
post Jan 14 2008, 02:25 PM

3,603 posts

HDMI 1.0 - This is the first version of HDMI. HDMI 1.0 combines a digital video signal (standard or high-definition) with a two-channel audio signal over a single cable, such as between an HDMI-equipped DVD player and Television.

HDMI 1.1 - This version adds the ability to transfer not only video and two-channel audio over a single cable, but also added the ability to transfer Dolby Digital, DTS, and DVD-Audio surround signals, as well up to 7.1 channels of PCM audio.

HDMI 1.2 - This version of HDMI adds the ability to transfer SACD signals in digital form from a player to a receiver.

HDMI 1.3 - This version includes improvements in both audio and video capability. With the advent of Blu-ray Disc and HD-DVD, version 1.3 adds the ability to transfer the digital bitstreams for the new high resolution audio formats: Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TrueHD, and DTS-HD.

HDMI 1.3a - In addition to the above audio improvements, HDMI 1.3 and 1.3a increase the amount of video bandwidth that can be transferred from a source to a display. This means, that in addition to the standard 24-bit color depth we are used to, HDMI 1.3 and 1.3a have the ability to transfer color depths up to 48-bits, and can accommodate resolutions much higher than the 1080p resolution standard that is in use today.

if the player is doing the decoding, for audio..HDMI 1.2a will be good enough, since it will decode and transfer as PCM.

unless your display support deep colour and the lip syn thing...u don't need HDMI 1.3a
mpyw
post Jan 14 2008, 02:30 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 14 2008, 02:27 PM)
but hor... hdmi cables itself also got different version?
for short length (Less than 3m), any HDMI cable as long as it can carry audio and video (ver 1.1) will do.
for long length, better get those reputable or certified one....
mpyw
post Jan 14 2008, 02:34 PM

3,603 posts

certified or tested compliance (or WORK!) maybe lar....
mpyw
post Jan 15 2008, 12:36 PM

3,603 posts

if using PS3 to decode, just make sure your receiver have HDMI 1.2 will do...
mpyw
post Jan 15 2008, 01:37 PM

3,603 posts

anyone with SR605 + PS3 can try if set the PS3 to sent signal as bitstream, would the receiver decode the TrueHD and the lights goes up...?

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0529sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:15 AM