1032 Pages « < 740 741 742 743 744 > » Bottom

Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

nugget_piece
post Jul 7 2021, 05:25 PM

103 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jul 7 2021, 04:18 PM)
i think BOTH are good to do together
more amount in each DCA and more frequencies.....
for in the end,...your total investment sum would increase more and faster too
QUOTE(ironman16 @ Jul 7 2021, 04:51 PM)
for me ,
i think 6 times per month in high volatility market is good .............why dun just rm150 , 4 times per month only...... sweat.gif
thanks. I will keep in mind.
haha, 6 times is example only

honsiong
post Jul 7 2021, 05:36 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(nugget_piece @ Jul 7 2021, 04:14 PM)
thanks.
I think my question is unclear.

but yeah I was referring to the volatility trend.

For example:

RM 200, 3 times per month. Total = RM600

Vs

RM 100, 6 times per month. Total = RM600

I guess knowing what DCA is about, it makes more sense that DCA frequency is more important than DCA amount over time, right?
Keep it simple, deposit weekly, then go live your life, play your games, cook your favourite meals.
Takudan
post Jul 7 2021, 06:23 PM

1,056 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jul 7 2021, 05:36 PM)
Keep it simple, deposit weekly, then go live your life, play your games, cook your favourite meals.
Keep simple +1, but I'm an advocate for monthly DCA here tongue.gif

QUOTE(Takudan @ Apr 17 2021, 01:08 PM)
Hoshiyuu = daily memes
Majority(?) = weekly/biweekly
Me = monthly, at the end of the month

I think a weekly setup would further reduce the market volatility effect on your portfolio, but on a shorter term. I track my budget by months, meanwhile my income is on the near end of month, so I personally need to ensure that I put my investments after my paycheck. Also in case when shit happens, I can pause my investments for the month to reduce outflow. You can argue to move my monthly tracking away from a standard 1-31 but uh... Nah, I'm used to this setup, my brain would struggle to adjust lol
Adding on: given that SA invests on ETFs instead of direct stock, as well as a mix of various other instruments, they have already got the volatility cushioned by diversifying their portfolios. One can then argue, it is overkill to DCA by weekly -- of course, we can talk about market correction/crash that happens in the next hour of me typing this, thus invalidating everything I say.... But my point goes back to keeping things simple, and each of us here have very different risk appetite and rationale on our investment strategies. Pick your poison.

This post has been edited by Takudan: Jul 7 2021, 06:29 PM
tsutsugami86
post Jul 7 2021, 09:30 PM

524 posts

Simple had changed to AmIncome fund 2 weeks ago, but can't see any interest earn during this 2 weeks.
stormseeker92
post Jul 7 2021, 09:53 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(tsutsugami86 @ Jul 7 2021, 09:30 PM)
Simple had changed to AmIncome fund 2 weeks ago, but can't see any interest earn during this 2 weeks.
if im not mistaken interest is daily but updated montly
Nelsonz
post Jul 8 2021, 01:10 AM

68 posts

Sometime feels demotivated as KWEB keep going down, it always at negative number. as it took the biggest chunk on 36% risk of investment.
(Started invest on SAMY early March.)

Sometimes wanted to cut the bleed to not drag down profit but don't have the control it make me frustrated. 😣

This post has been edited by Nelsonz: Jul 8 2021, 01:16 AM
SUSxander83
post Jul 8 2021, 05:35 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Jul 7 2021, 11:17 AM)
you sounds like you have a crystal ball.

what's the 4 digits covid number for today's new cases?
since we dun have number forecast operating right now.
7 range this week while next week will be in 5-6 range doh.gif

ETFs are predictable if you know to range entry

QUOTE(nugget_piece @ Jul 7 2021, 11:33 AM)
if let say i have a dca structure as below:
first week, middle week, final week.

if i were to increase my dca amount, should i:
a) top up the amount but maintain the weeks as stated above.

b) spread out the additional dca amount to cover more weeks/days

im not sure which is better
I suggest take a look at your amount if it’s is less than usd200 you be better off doing monthly DCA otherwise don’t bother it will sit in your cash pile only the next accumulate to buy doh.gif

Payout will be only a full month hence end of July will be 1.5 months because of the carryovers migration

QUOTE(Nelsonz @ Jul 8 2021, 01:10 AM)
Sometime feels demotivated as KWEB keep going down, it always at negative number. as it took the biggest chunk on 36% risk of investment.

Sometimes wanted to cut the bleed to not drag down profit but don't have the control it make me frustrated. 😣
You went in the wrong time when it is high and you should just leave it and hope US equities will cover the losses by KWEB together GLD
DragonReine
post Jul 8 2021, 11:24 AM

just another dog on the Internet
2,610 posts

They update balance monthly, so most likely end of July/early August then will only update the balance.
zstan
post Jul 8 2021, 11:39 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Nelsonz @ Jul 8 2021, 01:10 AM)

then perhaps 36% is not for you. go back to 22%
honsiong
post Jul 8 2021, 11:54 AM

3,182 posts

Haiz… a lot of newbies here complaining again.

I hit -23% in 2018 after using stashaway for 17 months.

It’s not a smooth way up, its like roller coaster until it suddenly moons, like in 2019 and 2020H2
Nelsonz
post Jul 8 2021, 12:57 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jul 8 2021, 12:39 PM)
then perhaps 36% is not for you. go back to 22%
I have 22% portfolio as well, KWEB still negative but the rest positive able to cover it.

It’s not a smooth way up, its like roller coaster until it suddenly moons, like in 2019 and 2020H2

Hahaha, I am ok when general ETF goes negative as the market really bad.
It felt like a needle keeps poking my attention when a single low-performance ETF drag down all profit. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Nelsonz: Jul 8 2021, 12:59 PM
Barricade
post Jul 8 2021, 01:09 PM

4,143 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jul 8 2021, 11:54 AM)

Yeah they forgot SA is for long term eg: at least 5 years. Some just invest one day and see negative they started jumping already. Better put in FD la these people
odin140
post Jul 8 2021, 07:00 PM

114 posts

With optimisation off KWEB performance in my portfolio is 30%. Dragging my entire returns to the negative percentage.
backspace66
post Jul 8 2021, 07:09 PM

2,139 posts

No need to talk so much if disagree with their current direction, then just withdraw. Well at least i am, bit by bit. Price i got yesterday is not bad though, hopefully all out before the force auto optimization.

This post has been edited by backspace66: Jul 8 2021, 07:11 PM
odin140
post Jul 8 2021, 08:20 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Jul 8 2021, 07:09 PM)
No need to talk so much if disagree with their current direction, then just withdraw. Well at least i am, bit by bit. Price i got yesterday is not bad though, hopefully all out before the force auto optimization.

your life is my dream, when did u started?
tadashi987
post Jul 8 2021, 09:20 PM

2,106 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Jul 8 2021, 07:09 PM)

so whats ur plan in future? DIY? drool.gif
prophetjul
post Jul 8 2021, 10:10 PM

12,267 posts

KWEB will be on drip soon at the rate it's going.
SUSxander83
post Jul 9 2021, 04:43 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jul 8 2021, 11:54 AM)

Which is why that’s their problems as long it doesn’t hit below -36% just stay course doh.gif

QUOTE(Nelsonz @ Jul 8 2021, 12:57 PM)
I have 22% portfolio as well, KWEB still negative but the rest positive able to cover it.
Hahaha, I am ok when general ETF goes negative as the market really bad.
It felt like a needle keeps poking my attention when a single low-performance ETF drag down all profit. biggrin.gif
Why worry so much KWEB only all while dropped you should be only worried if it goes below 45 level doh.gif

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jul 8 2021, 10:10 PM)
KWEB will be on drip soon at the rate it's going.
Wait because the buying spree is coming soon rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by xander83: Jul 9 2021, 04:44 AM
prophetjul
post Jul 9 2021, 09:22 AM

12,267 posts

Down US$823 billion, China tech firm selloff may be far from over

(July 7): China’s technology giants have seen a combined US$823 billion wiped from their market value since a February peak, with Beijing’s expanding crackdown on the sector fueling investor concern that the selloff is far from over.

Authorities on Tuesday issued a sweeping warning to the nation’s biggest companies, vowing to tighten oversight of data security and overseas listings just days after Didi Global Inc’s contentious decision to go public in the US. That has put further selling pressure on China’s biggest technology names including Tencent Holdings Ltd, Alibaba Group Holding Ltd, JD.Com Inc, Baidu Inc and Meituan.

“The selling will continue in the third quarter,” said Paul Pong, managing director at Pegasus Fund Managers Ltd. He says he sold two thirds of his technology stock holdings, including in Tencent and Alibaba, in May. “The measures from authorities will keep coming.”

The losses have come from 10 firms including three US-listed names. Didi’s ADRs fell 20% stateside on Tuesday, erasing about US$15 billion of its market value.

The Hang Seng Tech Index, whose members include many of China’s biggest tech companies, fell as much as 1.9% before paring losses to 0.6% Wednesday, marking its sixth consecutive day of declines.

Tencent slid 1.9%, among the biggest decliner on the Hang Seng Index. Alibaba dropped 1.7%, while Meituan fell 1.3%.

China’s sweeping warning Tuesday followed the opening of a security review by the nation’s internet regulator last week into Didi and a demand for app stores to remove it. The move stunned investors and industry executives and has hammered the Hong Kong shares of peers such as Tencent — one of Didi’s largest backers.

Investors worry that the latest security-based probes have opened a new front in President Xi Jinping’s broader campaign against China’s internet giants that began in November with the collapse of Ant Group Co’s mega IPO and subsequent antitrust investigations into Alibaba and Meituan.

Over the weekend, China moved against two other companies that also recently listed in New York — Full Truck Alliance Co and Kanzhun Ltd
Investors are likely to take “a sell first, talk later approach” to limit policy risks in their portfolio, said Justin Tang, the head of Asian research at United First Partners in Singapore. Stock prices are likely to be driven by near-term sentiment swings as opposed to company fundamentals, Jian Shi
Cortesi, a Zurich-based fund manager at GAM Investment Management, wrote in an email.

To be sure, valuations may start to look attractive. Tencent, Alibaba and Baidu Inc — among the earliest Chinese tech companies to enter public markets and the biggest, trade at an average of 22 times forecasted earnings over the next 12 months. That compares with the 10-year average of 26 times, according to data compiled by Bloomberg.

“In case the market sentiment goes into extreme pessimism and we see the Hang Seng Tech Index down 20% from here, it could be a rare opportunity to buy some fast-growing Chinese internet companies at extremely attractive prices,” GAM’s Jian Shi said.

The Hang Seng Tech Index is down 31% from its February high. Investors in mainland China, who accounted for about a third of turnover in Tencent shares this year, turned net sellers of the stock in June.

“While the long-term future of Chinese tech remains, it will be caveat emptor for investors in the near term,” said United First’s Tang.
WhitE LighteR
post Jul 9 2021, 09:50 AM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

China n HK i heard near bear market already.

1032 Pages « < 740 741 742 743 744 > » Top

0.0353sec    0.75    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:04 AM