1032 Pages « < 723 724 725 726 727 > » Bottom

Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

honsiong
post Jun 15 2021, 06:34 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(Nshade @ Jun 15 2021, 06:07 PM)
Skip stashaway?

You mean, no point investing in SA now?
I will still use stashaway in my defensive portfolio along with EPF and endowus, but if Prosperus is good, I will go heavier on VWRA and skip stashaway, can save a lot of cost on pure equities portfolio.
coldbasecamp
post Jun 15 2021, 08:52 PM

235 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Jun 15 2021, 01:09 PM)
Take a longer view, recently Stashaway is underperforming SP500 due to KWEB. You can do backtest of a few years or you can see graph like this:
[attachmentid=10910134]

You can argue until the cows come home but to me, I take it as it will match SP500 eventually. Otherwise I will dump it.
what's the tool that you used to perform the backtesting as shown in your post?
katshi
post Jun 15 2021, 09:06 PM

24 posts

Hi all, I just started with stashaway with 22% SRI portforlio earlier this year around February. Recently i am thinking to increase my risk index as I plan to continue with stashaway for a longer term.

I've tried to look up at the different portfolios and allocation of 30% and 36%. Being not financially literate, I can't really tell the pros and cons of each allocation. 36% seems to reduce US exposure, ie XLV, and more on KWEB. From my understanding, KWEB has dropped since March.

In your opinion, do you think it is a good time to switch portfolio? Which one would be a better option as of now?
honsiong
post Jun 15 2021, 09:07 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(katshi @ Jun 15 2021, 09:06 PM)
Hi all, I just started with stashaway with 22% SRI portforlio earlier this year around February. Recently i am thinking to increase my risk index as I plan to continue with stashaway for a longer term.

I've tried to look up at the different portfolios and allocation of 30% and 36%. Being not financially literate, I can't really tell the pros and cons of each allocation. 36% seems to reduce US exposure, ie XLV, and more on KWEB. From my understanding, KWEB has dropped since March.

In your opinion, do you think it is a good time to switch portfolio? Which one would be a better option as of now?
Yes, if you really are not going to withdraw anytime soon, go higher risk.

You are not supposed to read into the allocations if you want to use the app the way they want you to.
jacksonpang
post Jun 15 2021, 10:14 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(coldbasecamp @ Jun 15 2021, 08:52 PM)
That's yahoo finance
lee82gx
post Jun 16 2021, 12:04 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(coldbasecamp @ Jun 15 2021, 08:52 PM)
Yahoo finance, if you enter you holdings in a portfolio, over time you will see a benchmark graph appear. But it takes time.
pinksapphire
post Jun 16 2021, 01:31 AM

1,264 posts

I did it...I've moved my StashAway app away from home screen (less drastic than deleting it as some suggested, lol)...and boy, it felt good...no temptation to click on it, stressed over it, whatever.

Let it autopilot top up every two weeks behind the scenes. Market up down, don't care for now since it's for long term. Those who got itchy hands, try it smile.gif
SUSxander83
post Jun 16 2021, 02:07 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(katshi @ Jun 15 2021, 09:06 PM)

36% has more on China’s Tech and EM while 30% has IVV and XLP to reduce the weightage on KWEB

It all depends on your conviction whether you are into China Technical or SnP500 with US Consumers Staples

All depends on which you believe is either inflation or reopening play hence which is GLD is the hedge that SA uses to reduce the volatility in either portfolio
coldbasecamp
post Jun 16 2021, 07:57 AM

235 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Jun 16 2021, 12:04 AM)
Yahoo finance, if you enter you holdings in a portfolio, over time you will see a benchmark graph appear. But it takes time.
meaning to say you regularly take a "snapshot" of portfolio allocations and manually entered it into Yahoo Finance?
lee82gx
post Jun 16 2021, 09:36 AM

I guess I'm special
3,117 posts

QUOTE(coldbasecamp @ Jun 16 2021, 07:57 AM)
meaning to say you regularly take a "snapshot" of portfolio allocations and manually entered it into Yahoo Finance?
Yes.

Actually doesn’t even have to be so regular. I just put in there to track the relative movement.
GymBoi
post Jun 16 2021, 11:04 PM

1,393 posts

Hi all, just wanna share my experience as new user seems like the process is much faster now. I read before ppl take up to 1 week or even more for initial deposit but I've got a nice experience.

Sunday - 1st time register / open account and deposit
Monday - Account transaction show deposit is processing
Tuesday - Account verified, portfolio investment complete, currency conversion complete, buy order processing
Wednesday (today) - Buy order complete

Not bad eh? But

1) I see i got another buy order processing today. 1 deposit 2 buy orders? Is it because they didn't fully fulfill my previous buy order? I screenshot yesterday processing and today completed is not the same, it's less.
2) Off topic question but why can't i subscribe to this thread lol ... i subscribe d don't get any notifications zz
honsiong
post Jun 16 2021, 11:26 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Jun 16 2021, 11:04 PM)
Hi all, just wanna share my experience as new user seems like the process is much faster now. I read before ppl take up to 1 week or even more for initial deposit but I've got a nice experience.

Tuesday - Account verified, portfolio investment complete, currency conversion complete, buy order processing

Not bad eh? But

1) I see i got another buy order processing today. 1 deposit 2 buy orders? Is it because they didn't fully fulfill my previous buy order? I screenshot yesterday processing and today completed is not the same, it's less.
2) Off topic question but why can't i subscribe to this thread lol ... i subscribe d don't get any notifications zz
1. yes, because prices fluctuate

GymBoi
post Jun 16 2021, 11:47 PM

1,393 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jun 16 2021, 11:26 PM)
1. yes, because prices fluctuate
icic ok thanks sifu! sry got another question i still dont quite understand. So i'm just planning to be lazy and just DCA weekly all the way. So what I need to do is.

1) Make standing instructions from my bank to JOMPAY weekly (Example rm100 per week)
2) In the app, need to set manual recurring deposit (only monthly available) as rm400?

I only have 1 portfolio,

3) so the app manual deposit actually for what? Just for reference? They will buy order for me weekly as I deposit right?
4) I will probably set everything up to run like 6 months, don't plan to touch anything. But let say 3 months later i get some bonus or what, feel like want to deposit more? example 200 for that ONE week only, what to do? Need cancel 1 & 2, do 1 time deposit, then set up 1 and 2 again?
DragonReine
post Jun 17 2021, 12:11 AM

just another dog on the Internet
2,610 posts

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Jun 16 2021, 11:47 PM)
icic ok thanks sifu! sry got another question i still dont quite understand. So i'm just planning to be lazy and just DCA weekly all the way. So what I need to do is.

1) Make standing instructions from my bank to JOMPAY weekly (Example rm100 per week)
2) In the app, need to set manual recurring deposit (only monthly available) as rm400?

I only have 1 portfolio,

3) so the app manual deposit actually for what? Just for reference? They will buy order for me weekly as I deposit right?
4) I will probably set everything up to run like 6 months, don't plan to touch anything. But let say 3 months later i get some bonus or what, feel like want to deposit more? example 200 for that ONE week only, what to do? Need cancel 1 & 2, do 1 time deposit, then set up 1 and 2 again?
1) Set your jompay instruction
2) Go to "Manual Deposit" and your manual monthly deposit in StashAway as EXACT AMOUNT of your instruction. example: it each jompay is RM100 per week, set monthly deposit as RM100. No worries about "going over" StashAway will simply follow your instructions on how to handle your deposit based on your instruction.
3) Manual one-time deposit is for people who do lump sum.
4) No need, just create a one-time deposit for the extra amount and deposit the extra. StashAway executes one-time deposits first before they execute monthly order. Ref-1 (for Jompay) will always remain the same for each account so you can even just use the saved "Favourite bill" in your banking site/app.

This post has been edited by DragonReine: Jun 17 2021, 12:14 AM
SUSxander83
post Jun 17 2021, 03:57 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(GymBoi @ Jun 16 2021, 11:04 PM)

Not bad eh? But

They will split up to 3 buy orders especially volatile season like this week until it reduces to 1% cash holdings

Anyway I had the same experience just like you when my account was open on Friday and my buy order was completed on Tuesday all depends whether you register the onboarding process and account opening was smooth especially eKYC process is complete due with correct documentations

Anyway, you just missed out because you are buying on the peak on Tuesday
prophetjul
post Jun 17 2021, 07:27 AM

12,267 posts

Gold broke down last night. Not good for SA
Kadaj
post Jun 17 2021, 08:22 AM

584 posts

Federal Reserve officials signaled they expect to raise interest rates by late 2023, sooner than they anticipated in March, as the economy recovers rapidly from the effects of the pandemic and inflation heats up.

Their median projection showed they see lifting their benchmark rate to 0.6% from near zero by the end of 2023. In March they had expected to hold it steady through that year.

Fed officials also discussed an eventual reduction, or tapering, of the central bank’s bond-buying program, Chairman Jerome Powell said in a press conference Wednesday after the central bank’s two-day policy meeting. The timing of such a move remains uncertain, he added.

Stocks and bonds fell after a statement from the Fed and Mr. Powell’s press conference. The Dow Jones Industrial Average closed 0.8% lower and the 10-year Treasury yield rose to 1.569%, from 1.498% on Tuesday. Bond yields rise as prices fall.

The Fed’s change in tone and new forecasts were “a wake-up call to the market” about the central bank’s likely response to higher inflation, said Phil Orlando, chief equity-market strategist at investment manager Federated Hermes Inc.

Prompting the policy shift is a much stronger economic rebound and hotter inflation than the Fed anticipated just a few months ago.

https://www.wsj.com/articles/federal-reserv...021-11623777582

Not just stocks and bonds fell but also gold.

What else to invest in the near future since everything going to fall? confused.gif
DragonReine
post Jun 17 2021, 08:40 AM

just another dog on the Internet
2,610 posts

QUOTE(Kadaj @ Jun 17 2021, 08:22 AM)
Not just stocks and bonds fell but also gold.

What else to invest in the near future since everything going to fall?  :confused:
Depends lor, if you're doing this for long term (as you should) then take the fall as a windfall and shoot a few extra bullets.

Markets taking a hit is to be expected with the past trend of prices stabilizing and inflation risk. Once economy reopens in full it'll go up again. Just part of the market cycle.
honsiong
post Jun 17 2021, 11:05 AM

3,182 posts

It's very rare for everything to underperform cash holdings, like in 2018. Very rare, don't count on it.

Hell, cash SHOULD fall against other assets most of the time in history. That's why stashaway is safer than you think.
aerobowl
post Jun 17 2021, 11:59 AM

556 posts

recently stashaway seems not performed well, the graph is like flat line for months? even sp500 graph is looking better

1032 Pages « < 723 724 725 726 727 > » Top

0.3266sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 06:21 PM