Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

Kadaj
post Apr 2 2021, 12:33 AM

584 posts

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Apr 1 2021, 06:54 PM)
Aiyah, people still trust established fund houses more mah. Those uncles and aunties out there would rather deal with the long timers XD especially if they're rich enough to get financial adviser/priority banking laugh.gif
I'm actually one of the old school person who only invest in stocks and UT before.
It takes a lot of time to read and digest news everyday to make decision and prediction for the future.

Is this SA robo-advisor a real thing? Can it make profit and bring fortune for me instead of lossing my money?
It is so much simple just to put money in it, no need to do anything else and it cause hesitation for me.

Is it a scam that someday I wake up in the morning, reading news about the company gone bankrupt and founders disappear with all investors' money?
Kadaj
post Apr 2 2021, 08:59 AM

584 posts

I think for stocks you can choose specific companies you want to invest.

For UTs you can choose specific UT that invest in certain country, sector, whether equities or bonds and etc.

For SA, it create a portfolio that mix equities, bonds, commodities and etc as a package. Less flexible like I want to invest more in Japan and I don't want to invest in commodities and so on.
Kadaj
post Apr 18 2021, 07:06 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(melz84 @ Apr 18 2021, 06:21 PM)
unfortunately they said they can't change mine to USD due to the DRB policy  cry.gif
Hmm.. I don't understand.
In what circumstances most of us trade in USD and you're in GBP? ohmy.gif
Kadaj
post Apr 19 2021, 08:55 AM

584 posts

QUOTE(jacksonpang @ Apr 18 2021, 10:42 PM)
when signing up SA, at part of domestic ringgit borrowing. if answer "I have more than 1 domestic ringgit borrowing" = GDP portfolio, otherwise it will be USD
I see. Thanks nod.gif
Kadaj
post Apr 22 2021, 04:26 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Apr 22 2021, 02:28 PM)
Second year anniversary using SA.

Looks good, mind sharing what RSI are you investing?
Kadaj
post Apr 27 2021, 08:09 PM

584 posts

That's the characteristic of investing in ETF.
In normal circumstances, it won't lose very much but also won't gain as much as stocks. It just average of hundred or thousand of stocks. Good thing is, the fee is lowest among UT and stocks. And you can sleep well at night.

Risk and return from high to low:
Stocks --> UT --> ETF --> Bonds --> MMF --> FD
Kadaj
post Apr 28 2021, 07:56 AM

584 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Apr 27 2021, 08:28 PM)
You missed out crypto and forex before stocks  rclxms.gif
Those two are extremely high risk for me and I consider it gamble rather than investment. sweat.gif
QUOTE(lee82gx @ Apr 27 2021, 08:37 PM)
Stocks is lowest cost for higher transaction amounts. It almost cost nothing to buy 🇺🇸 stocks.
If you're rich, SA fee reduce from 0.8% --> 0.2% too.
The rich get richer. laugh.gif
QUOTE(tiramisu83 @ Apr 28 2021, 12:56 AM)
somewhere i dont really agree on the bond..its return is worst than ETF and UT, in my case.. blink.gif
Bonds risk and return higher than MMF but lower than ETF. laugh.gif
Still it's just saying under normal circumstances.
If inflation and interest increase then bonds GG just like first quarter in year 2021.
Kadaj
post May 9 2021, 04:56 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ May 9 2021, 12:47 PM)
Sorry, please forgive my newbness. I get the KWEB part, but not the USD conversion side. Why it's affected by our strengthening of MYR?
You deposit in MYR, then SA convert MYR and invest in USD.

YOUR INVESTMENT IN USD.

So weaker USD = strengthen MYR.

USD 1 = MYR 4.20
USD 1 = MYR 4.15
USD 1 = MYR 4.10
USD 1 = MYR 4.05
USD 1 = MYR 4.00

When you withdraw investment and wanna convert to MYR, it's getting lesser.
This is the risk of FOREX.
Kadaj
post May 10 2021, 04:35 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ May 10 2021, 02:14 PM)
Thanks ChessRook and everyone for helping me understand this  wub.gif
Ya, I think so too, cuz if long term...then...let it be...we can't control everything. Even for shorter term, personally I will not think too much about that part too, but it's very useful to be aware of it and make better decisions.
Freddy just talked about USD depreciation risk recently.

Market Commentary: USD depreciation risk | Can you be "too" diversified?
Kadaj
post May 10 2021, 11:11 PM

584 posts

Falling from peak. SA better kick kweb out from portfolio.
US and allies keeping sanctions against China.
GG.
Kadaj
post May 15 2021, 11:21 PM

584 posts

But why can't they update automatically just using computer program system or even AI thing?

They still need human to key in data by hands nowadays? Holiday no people work so no update?

All system should work 7/24 non-stop and real-time nowadays.
Kadaj
post May 16 2021, 02:19 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ May 16 2021, 08:38 AM)
It is because they do not have the access directly to the trustee brokerage account during off Malaysia working hours

If you understand how trustee works then you know why you should buy ETFs directly

The lag in SA is noticeable because it involves brokerage, trustee and banks in order for them to work

The only for SA to have live data on markets they would have to get brokerage license which is difficult to get
I'm still finding another way and learning to invest in US market directly.

Just SA is the only channel regulated by SC Msia and easiest way to deposit fund that can invest in US market now.
It's my first time invest in ETF. Still learning.. rclxub.gif
Kadaj
post May 27 2021, 09:43 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ May 27 2021, 06:37 PM)
The buy price order are determined by the weightage of your portfolio because the markets are fluid hence if any additional cash deposits it will buy the most under weighted equities then only follows back by balancing based on asset allocation %

Fractional dividends are given based on unit holdings because if the unit holdings doesn’t meet the requirements of minimum units hence dividends will not be given out because fractional dividends are given to those with minimum requirements of unit holdings with at least 0.1 units

If you look at it those accounts less than USD500 chances are because the units are fractional dividends will not be given because it doesn’t meet the required minimum of usd0.01 and for example IVV at USD420 with 10% allocation in 30% SRI the unit holdings 0.1190 units with dividends of usd1 per unit the dividends are only is usd0.001190 hence doesn’t meet the required the ETFs to distribute back the dividends back to the holder
SA USD500, 30% SRI, 10% IVV at USD420
unit = 50/420 = 0.1190 which is more than 0.1 unit why are you saying it doesn't meet the min requirement?

also if $1 dividend per IVV unit, I should get 0.1190 unit x $1 = $0.1190
how do you get the usd0.001190?
Kadaj
post May 28 2021, 10:00 AM

584 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ May 28 2021, 03:21 AM)
0.1190 units based on dividends for fractional you don’t get full dividends by units but fractional dividends as per ETF makers hence you are only getting 0.23% dividends which is only 0.0002737 in additional units with the value of USD0.001190

It is however subject to whether SA will payout because they only will get full accumulated amounts of dividends which they will distribute unlike UT where by there is a mechanism to distribute the units itself while SA will have to figure it out on whether to pay based unit or not because the value is unless it reaches a minimum of USD0.01 then you will receive the dividends reflected in additional units being reinvested or park into the cash allocation
Sorry but I still don't get it and how do you pop up 0.23% and 0.0002737 in magic this time?
Can you show me the full calculation formula please?

I thought I should get 0.1190 unit x $1 = $0.1190? hmm.gif
Kadaj
post May 28 2021, 11:04 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ May 28 2021, 07:29 PM)
1/420*100% = 0.23%

0.1190*0.23% gives you the magical unit of 0.0002737

The dividends are giving out on monetary value but reinvested back into units from your holdings value hence you don’t get the full value of dividends unless you hold an actual unit of ETFs itself
Alright.
0.0002737 additional dividend unit x 420 IVV = $0.114954
How do you get the USD0.001190?
Kadaj
post Jun 10 2021, 08:38 PM

584 posts

Market commentary 08 June 2021 is released.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-uS0dYbtHQE
Kadaj
post Jun 17 2021, 08:22 AM

584 posts

Federal Reserve officials signaled they expect to raise interest rates by late 2023, sooner than they anticipated in March, as the economy recovers rapidly from the effects of the pandemic and inflation heats up.

Their median projection showed they see lifting their benchmark rate to 0.6% from near zero by the end of 2023. In March they had expected to hold it steady through that year.

Fed officials also discussed an eventual reduction, or tapering, of the central bank’s bond-buying program, Chairman Jerome Powell said in a press conference Wednesday after the central bank’s two-day policy meeting. The timing of such a move remains uncertain, he added.

Stocks and bonds fell after a statement from the Fed and Mr. Powell’s press conference. The Dow Jones Industrial Average closed 0.8% lower and the 10-year Treasury yield rose to 1.569%, from 1.498% on Tuesday. Bond yields rise as prices fall.

The Fed’s change in tone and new forecasts were “a wake-up call to the market” about the central bank’s likely response to higher inflation, said Phil Orlando, chief equity-market strategist at investment manager Federated Hermes Inc.

Prompting the policy shift is a much stronger economic rebound and hotter inflation than the Fed anticipated just a few months ago.

https://www.wsj.com/articles/federal-reserv...021-11623777582

Not just stocks and bonds fell but also gold.

What else to invest in the near future since everything going to fall? confused.gif
Kadaj
post Jun 17 2021, 07:08 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Jun 17 2021, 08:40 AM)
Depends lor, if you're doing this for long term (as you should) then take the fall as a windfall and shoot a few extra bullets.

Markets taking a hit is to be expected with the past trend of prices stabilizing and inflation risk. Once economy reopens in full it'll go up again. Just part of the market cycle.
QUOTE(honsiong @ Jun 17 2021, 11:05 AM)
It's very rare for everything to underperform cash holdings, like in 2018. Very rare, don't count on it.

Hell, cash SHOULD fall against other assets most of the time in history. That's why stashaway is safer than you think.
You're right.
Hope SA can safeguard our investment and yet bring us capital growth through all the economic cycles. thumbsup.gif
Kadaj
post Jul 5 2021, 05:29 PM

584 posts

Because some people had a good return portfolio before reoptimisation and they wanna keep that portfolio. Instead of SA selling their certain asset class and put money in KWEB which drag the performance of the portfolio after reoptimisation.
Kadaj
post Jul 5 2021, 10:16 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jul 5 2021, 06:08 PM)
KWEB at one time DOUBLED after the last reoptimisation.

TBH investing anytime after March 2020, it was hard to even lose money, except oil n gas.

nearly everyone wins last year, its hard to prove portfolio b4 reop outperforms after reop.
Yup. Last year very easy money.
This year gonna bumpy and uncertainty.

Just hope the re-balancing and re-optimizing thing improve and perform better since SA gonna force auto re-optimizing option on soon.
It's another test to SA.

0.4078sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:20 AM