Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

GymBoi
post May 16 2021, 10:14 PM

1,393 posts

Hi sifus, heard from my friend about SA then found this thread. I always try to research 1st before getting into anything I'm unsure so I planned to read everything here but lol really taking long time ... I read from page 1 to 157 already... wondering how much info is there haha..

Summary what I get is, go in, DCA, wait 5 years ... that's basically it right? haha ... I'll try to go tru all pages phew
GymBoi
post Jun 13 2021, 06:28 PM

1,393 posts

QUOTE(GymBoi @ May 16 2021, 10:14 PM)
Hi sifus, heard from my friend about SA then found this thread. I always try to research 1st before getting into anything I'm unsure so I planned to read everything here but lol really taking long time ... I read from page 1 to 157 already... wondering how much info is there haha..

Summary what I get is, go in, DCA, wait 5 years ... that's basically it right? haha ... I'll try to go tru all pages phew
Replying myself ... finally went through 700+ pages ... 80% talking about DCA vs lump sum lol ... Guess i'm ready to start small ...

This post has been edited by GymBoi: Jun 13 2021, 06:36 PM
GymBoi
post Jun 13 2021, 11:29 PM

1,393 posts

Ok set up everything liao ... want to download the app now .. just want to confirm with u all the app is by Asia Wealth Platform PTE LTD? Sounds Singaporean ... ya I know they are from SG but coz I'm on VPN so sometimes those region thing get messed up.. got MY and SG accounts right, just making sure not to download the wrong app .. thanks!
GymBoi
post Jun 16 2021, 11:04 PM

1,393 posts

Hi all, just wanna share my experience as new user seems like the process is much faster now. I read before ppl take up to 1 week or even more for initial deposit but I've got a nice experience.

Sunday - 1st time register / open account and deposit
Monday - Account transaction show deposit is processing
Tuesday - Account verified, portfolio investment complete, currency conversion complete, buy order processing
Wednesday (today) - Buy order complete

Not bad eh? But

1) I see i got another buy order processing today. 1 deposit 2 buy orders? Is it because they didn't fully fulfill my previous buy order? I screenshot yesterday processing and today completed is not the same, it's less.
2) Off topic question but why can't i subscribe to this thread lol ... i subscribe d don't get any notifications zz
GymBoi
post Jun 16 2021, 11:47 PM

1,393 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jun 16 2021, 11:26 PM)
1. yes, because prices fluctuate
icic ok thanks sifu! sry got another question i still dont quite understand. So i'm just planning to be lazy and just DCA weekly all the way. So what I need to do is.

1) Make standing instructions from my bank to JOMPAY weekly (Example rm100 per week)
2) In the app, need to set manual recurring deposit (only monthly available) as rm400?

I only have 1 portfolio,

3) so the app manual deposit actually for what? Just for reference? They will buy order for me weekly as I deposit right?
4) I will probably set everything up to run like 6 months, don't plan to touch anything. But let say 3 months later i get some bonus or what, feel like want to deposit more? example 200 for that ONE week only, what to do? Need cancel 1 & 2, do 1 time deposit, then set up 1 and 2 again?
GymBoi
post Jun 19 2021, 03:06 AM

1,393 posts

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Jun 17 2021, 12:11 AM)
1) Set your jompay instruction
2) Go to "Manual Deposit" and your manual monthly deposit in StashAway as EXACT AMOUNT of your instruction. example: it each jompay is RM100 per week, set monthly deposit as RM100. No worries about "going over" StashAway will simply follow your instructions on how to handle your deposit based on your instruction.
3) Manual one-time deposit is for people who do lump sum.
4) No need, just create a one-time deposit for the extra amount and deposit the extra. StashAway executes one-time deposits first before they execute monthly order. Ref-1 (for Jompay) will always remain the same for each account so you can even just use the saved "Favourite bill" in your banking site/app.
2) Really? Is that what you doing? Actually i already whatsapp SAMY before i posted and they tell me bank do 100/week... app do 400/month =.=
4) Thanks!!

QUOTE(xander83 @ Jun 17 2021, 03:57 AM)
They will split up to 3 buy orders especially volatile season like this week until it reduces to 1% cash holdings

Anyway I had the same experience just like you when my account was open on Friday and my buy order was completed on Tuesday all depends whether you register the onboarding process and account opening was smooth especially eKYC process is complete due with correct documentations

Anyway, you just missed out because you are buying on the peak on Tuesday
I see thanks for the split info .. for the peak yeah too bad haha anyway i just start small and just plan to DCA weekly for 10-20 years ... not gonna look at anything.. treat it as a forced savings since i have bad money management lol .. see money in bank want to use, better auto transfer away to SAMY

GymBoi
post Jun 26 2021, 12:46 PM

1,393 posts

Guys got a question, since I DCA weekly and the buy order will be weekly ... is there anywhere I can check total units and the average price or something? From the page I can see total units .... Price (which I think is the current price) and Value (which depends on how many units I have?) But can't seem to find my average buy price ..

Interested in that coz trying to track abit on Yahoo finance like some ppl suggested before .. I know no need to be super accurate ... plan to just update biweekly or monthly but .. how to update ? I can change the units but the price how hmm ...

or no need to mafan update everything because the allocation by % is the same so just take the % as relative?
GymBoi
post Jun 26 2021, 11:22 PM

1,393 posts

QUOTE(blur19755 @ Jun 26 2021, 09:58 PM)
To know your average, you need to track every buy/sell in your portfolio on your own which can done via yahoo finance.
App itself doesn't show average price.
Got it thanks! Yeah that's what i doing now ... seems like have to key in new line for every buy/sell ... i thought can just maintain 1 line then just update the unit and price haha .. ok np .. thanks for sharing!

edit: Nice numbers btw rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by GymBoi: Jun 26 2021, 11:24 PM
GymBoi
post Jul 23 2021, 11:54 PM

1,393 posts

Anyone track with yahoo finance? How to set selling?
GymBoi
post Jul 24 2021, 12:10 AM

1,393 posts

QUOTE(pendekartauhu @ Jul 24 2021, 12:09 AM)
DLLM, ppl ask how to set selling in Yahoo Finance not sell in SA.
Thanks sweat.gif

I tried add lot - shares i put negative number ... macam weird weird 1
GymBoi
post Jul 24 2021, 12:20 AM

1,393 posts

hmm googled abit seems like no way to do that ... even put - shares .. the number of shares will be correct but the gains and all wont be accurate because the price will still fluctuate hmm

nvm ba just agak agak track only
GymBoi
post Jul 24 2021, 12:30 AM

1,393 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Jul 24 2021, 12:25 AM)
Go Silat yourself with lots of tofu instead  rclxms.gif

The question should ask properly whereby how track sellings on yahoo app instead not selling by itself because the question is segregated into 2 parts instead  rclxms.gif
Anyone track with yahoo finance? How to set selling?

Bro you quite special eh ... that's practically my question .. i don't know how u get selling on SA from ... i asking a innocent question suddenly i get blamed for not asking properly? lol

This post has been edited by GymBoi: Jul 24 2021, 12:31 AM
GymBoi
post Jul 25 2021, 12:21 AM

1,393 posts

QUOTE(blur19755 @ Jul 24 2021, 06:22 PM)
bro, u r actually did the right thing.
i was asking the same during the last re-optimization (may 2020), lazy to find back my old post.
Just ignore those etfs that 100% sold out, i know it looks weird but for those that remain like IJR or GLD it will reflect the correct amount of holding units

ps: managed to find the link i was once referred to
https://www.quora.com/How-do-I-update-my-st...of-the-shares-I

Thanks bro!
GymBoi
post Aug 24 2021, 10:13 PM

1,393 posts

BAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM
GymBoi
post Oct 31 2021, 01:15 AM

1,393 posts

QUOTE(adren1 @ Oct 30 2021, 11:53 PM)
Next week gain back 100 and go down again repeat so are we going to end at 0?
If u know that's gonna happen then of coz sell at 100, buy at 0, sell at 100, buy at 0, sell at 100, buy at 0 la ... keep repeat until u get rich ... easy
GymBoi
post Nov 1 2021, 11:50 PM

1,393 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Nov 1 2021, 09:32 AM)
here's the friday performance (note: I've not opened any thematic portfolio yet)

This is lump sum? I'm on 45% tech ... DCA since it started ... Yahoo total change 5.68% now ... TWR 2%
GymBoi
post Nov 18 2021, 03:26 PM

1,393 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Nov 18 2021, 10:00 AM)
Hello all, I have a question for all of you. (you may think this is out of place, but it's okay, we can explore in this viewpoint).

What keeps you awake at night? Would your investment in/via Stashaway be one of the reasons to keep you awake at night?

If yes, why so? what's your pain points about this Stashaway?
I'm a newbie but in my opinion, nothing should keep me awake at night? If it does that means I'm doing something I'm not supposed to do right.
GymBoi
post Nov 23 2021, 09:23 PM

1,393 posts

QUOTE(Syracuse @ Nov 23 2021, 08:13 PM)
I've just started investing on Stashaway since one week ago (risk index 14%), but it's pretty disheartening to see my funds continuously drop for the whole week with no signs of bouncing back to the positives.

I initially planned to use Stashaway as a invest-and-forget investment vehicle for the next 3-5 years, but the current trend makes me wonder whether my funds will disappear after 3-5 years. Perhaps I've just entered the market at the worst possible timing?
You are contradicting yourself. Make sure you know what u want
GymBoi
post Dec 16 2021, 12:08 AM

1,393 posts

Add 4 pages by tomorrow

ARKW can fight KWEB lol

This post has been edited by GymBoi: Dec 16 2021, 12:09 AM
GymBoi
post Jan 7 2022, 02:16 AM

1,393 posts

QUOTE(bcombat @ Jan 7 2022, 02:14 AM)

No bad
Ooo everyone here can go apply la ... seems like everyone is smarter than Stashaway here biggrin.gif

0.0435sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 06:36 PM