Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

coldbasecamp
post Mar 8 2021, 09:50 PM

235 posts

entered Stashaway to have more exposure in US ETF and diversify my overall investment portfolio.

It has gone down from 20% return to 3% return, my strategies with SA is if I got RM1,000, I will split to enter 4 times (250 * 4) to average down my risk.
coldbasecamp
post Jun 3 2021, 11:54 PM

235 posts

my portfolio finally green after many months. I am been investing proceeds from EPF's i-Sinar into Stashaway Core Portfolio.

Hope it outruns EPF return in longer run.
coldbasecamp
post Jun 6 2021, 07:24 PM

235 posts

QUOTE(nightzstar @ Jun 6 2021, 05:26 PM)
still thinking, but maybe as a starter, around 1000 and after that DCA and see how it goes. my target is those American/Europe ETF.
Stashaway don't let user to choose their preferred ETF, since technically their AI will buy different ETFs to make-up a "portfolio" for you.

coldbasecamp
post Jun 6 2021, 09:16 PM

235 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jun 6 2021, 08:48 PM)
StashAway has no AI inside.

All the portfolios are manually constructed, the only robo part is everytime you create new goal - the data you input determine which portfolio they recommend to you.
I always thought Stashaway is powered by AI insight + intervention of their investment team doh.gif doh.gif
coldbasecamp
post Jun 6 2021, 11:39 PM

235 posts

QUOTE(blackchides @ Jun 6 2021, 10:54 PM)
Definitely not AI, but there's an investment framework (ERAA) that processes certain economic indicators which the investment team will use to decide on portfolio allocation.
ya I thought the ERAA was AI based.

haiya if just another investment methodology, that was just marketing gimmick then.

may I introduce a new reply method: Point Oriented Replying Mechanism (PORM), where I will selectively reply on threads, nothing AI just my brain in working.

coldbasecamp
post Jun 15 2021, 08:52 PM

235 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Jun 15 2021, 01:09 PM)
Take a longer view, recently Stashaway is underperforming SP500 due to KWEB. You can do backtest of a few years or you can see graph like this:
[attachmentid=10910134]

You can argue until the cows come home but to me, I take it as it will match SP500 eventually. Otherwise I will dump it.
what's the tool that you used to perform the backtesting as shown in your post?
coldbasecamp
post Jun 16 2021, 07:57 AM

235 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Jun 16 2021, 12:04 AM)
Yahoo finance, if you enter you holdings in a portfolio, over time you will see a benchmark graph appear. But it takes time.
meaning to say you regularly take a "snapshot" of portfolio allocations and manually entered it into Yahoo Finance?
coldbasecamp
post Jun 17 2021, 04:49 PM

235 posts

QUOTE(aerobowl @ Jun 17 2021, 11:59 AM)
recently stashaway seems not performed well, the graph is like flat line for months? even sp500 graph is looking better
I have been putting it for 9 months, only earn RM 40 maximum. confused.gif
coldbasecamp
post Jun 18 2021, 10:44 AM

235 posts

QUOTE(Bendan520 @ Jun 18 2021, 10:35 AM)
Lol, I’ve put in for 12 months now, initially deposit is RM3,000

Last 1.5 months put in 22k in total, now earn RM4xx-6xx, it dropped yesterday.

Well said, SA is used for long term investing.. if you wanna time market by doing all this short term gesture, might as well go do intraday trading.
my initial deposit was 1k, then I DCA every few days. Currently standing around 3k.
hope eventually the SA will out run S&P 500 return.
coldbasecamp
post Jun 18 2021, 01:20 PM

235 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jun 18 2021, 11:07 AM)
In a very long run, stashaway should not outperform pure equities portfolio.
QUOTE(lee82gx @ Jun 18 2021, 11:20 AM)
the back test data does not support your hopes.
QUOTE(MUM @ Jun 18 2021, 11:21 AM)
if you want to have SA to beat S&P500,...just be prepared to be disappointed...

http://www.moneychimp.com/features/market_cagr.htm
can sifus share what is your investment goals when you started with Stashaway?

I started with SA (36% highest risk) was hope to beat EPF return (as I am using my i-Sinar money to invest) at minimum, and expect it to beat S&P500 (which I painfully learn today it is impossible bye.gif )

is Sifus treat SA as defensive portfolio in times of volatility like this?
coldbasecamp
post Jun 21 2021, 09:35 PM

235 posts

looks like market aren't doing well...
since it's StashAway I just leave it there, let the portfolio manager decide what's best for the portfolio
coldbasecamp
post Jun 21 2021, 11:53 PM

235 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jun 21 2021, 11:48 PM)
Dont just leave it there, stick to dollar cost averaging, deposit every week!
ya I'm being topping up every few days recently, hope I'm not catching a falling knife.
coldbasecamp
post Jun 22 2021, 08:44 AM

235 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jun 22 2021, 08:29 AM)
What's your risk index?
36% Risk Index.
coldbasecamp
post Jun 29 2021, 10:33 PM

235 posts

for me, the reason why I put in SA is I don't have time to monitor / time the market closely. I need some place to park my cash in long term (3~5 years tenure) and hope the return is good, as in beat EPF return.

no luck for me to time the market, and I find it tiring.

0.0523sec    1.00    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 01:09 PM