Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V36, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!
dino89
Nov 4 2018, 09:14 PM
QUOTE(JohnLai @ Nov 4 2018, 09:03 PM) -.- rule no 1, you better know your unifi login and password before you try to update the firmware. Some firmware update from tplink tend to reset everything back to default/nothing. rule no 2, after you type in those pppoe login etc......SET THE DAMN VLAN at NETWORK ---> IPTV/VLAN correctly before complaining pppoe can't connect. Oh, you better update your firmware asap.  Win7 and openvpn. Why? Route command is quite useful. EDIT: Argh, damn forgot to multiquote No worries i have kept my unifi login and password  U mean at Network > IPTV need to change the mode to Malaysia-Unifi? I was stuck here yesterday wondering why i couldnt connect to internet although already follow all the steps
miloaisdino
Nov 4 2018, 09:14 PM
QUOTE(mylinear @ Nov 4 2018, 08:45 PM) Does it say somewhere that it is ok for family members? This is part of what the TOS says: 15. Prohibited Use 15.1 The Customer shall:- (vi) not share the unifi Service with any person including a company or corporation without the prior written approval of TM and shall use the unifi Service only for the purpose for which it is subscribed; (vii) not resell or sublet the unifi Service to any third parties without prior written consent from TM; and, ( for purpose it is subscribed, as line is residential, it is obvious that the reason is to share with family members as family members usually stay in the same house. if sharing with family members violates their tos, then tm has a responsibility to ensure fair administration of the clause on prohibited use due to the fact that virtually every subscriber does this lol This post has been edited by miloaisdino: Nov 4 2018, 09:18 PM
JohnLai
Nov 4 2018, 09:16 PM
QUOTE(dino89 @ Nov 4 2018, 09:14 PM) No worries i have kept my unifi login and password  U mean at Network > IPTV need to change the mode to Malaysia-Unifi? I was stuck here yesterday wondering why i couldnt connect to internet although already follow all the steps  Yes......so now you know the reason. Need to set VLAN tagging before the pppoe can connect. I assume you don't have problem reaching turbo speed on speedtest?
dino89
Nov 4 2018, 09:20 PM
QUOTE(JohnLai @ Nov 4 2018, 09:16 PM) Yes......so now you know the reason. Need to set VLAN tagging before the pppoe can connect. I assume you don't have problem reaching turbo speed on speedtest? I have not gotten the 10x Speed Boost I checked with TM, they also cant confirm when I will get the speed boost... Currently on 50Mbps Thank You Campaign 2017
radiohear91
Nov 4 2018, 09:38 PM
i still paying rm129 for 10mbps...
how to get 100mbps? help pls..
YoungMan
Nov 4 2018, 09:45 PM
QUOTE(radiohear91 @ Nov 4 2018, 10:38 PM) i still paying rm129 for 10mbps... how to get 100mbps? help pls.. Go to TMPoint to upgrade it. Same price, only contract restart. Otherwise can also try to call 100 like someone said earlier.
Yoooo
Nov 4 2018, 10:29 PM

I am thinking to switch from Maxis 10Mbps to Unifi 100Mbps.
May I know the procedure?
And whether the Unifi is stable?
My current Maxis is ride on TM infra, so far there is no problem from the beginning.
Thank you.
fruitie
Nov 4 2018, 10:43 PM
Rise and Shine
QUOTE(Yoooo @ Nov 4 2018, 10:29 PM) Hi, I am thinking to switch from Maxis 10Mbps to Unifi 100Mbps. May I know the procedure? And whether the Unifi is stable? My current Maxis is ride on TM infra, so far there is no problem from the beginning. Thank you. UniFi is stable. Go and register with agent or TM Point, wait for installation.
TSSilentVampire
Nov 4 2018, 10:43 PM
QUOTE(splinter @ Nov 4 2018, 08:53 PM) Tq so much. Yes bought dlink dir 867 few hours ago. Setup and boom, finally can fully ultilize. Good to hear that. QUOTE(Yoooo @ Nov 4 2018, 10:29 PM) Hi, I am thinking to switch from Maxis 10Mbps to Unifi 100Mbps. May I know the procedure? And whether the Unifi is stable? My current Maxis is ride on TM infra, so far there is no problem from the beginning. Thank you. Just go and apply in TMpoint. Unifi is very stable. Get your own router.
Doraku
Nov 4 2018, 10:57 PM
QUOTE(th3game @ Nov 4 2018, 06:21 PM) My own house and my inlaws house located 3km away driving distance. So in straight distance maybe about 2km. Plus my house located a bit higher ground compared to my inlaws. So my question is ...Is that possible if i can install a dish on my roof and beaming it towards my in laws house and provide them my Internet? My current plan is 500Mbps. Can save another subscription on my inlaw. Anyone?? you want to transmit wifi signal to your inlaw house that away like 3-5km? with a dish? you may get into trouble tho , Maximum transmit power for 2.4Ghz according to MCMC is 500miliwatt i dont know 100-500mw is enough for distance, around 3-5km?(i dont know much about wifi trasmit power lol). You may cause wifi interference to your neighbours and it maybe severe. are you really comfortable to let those wifi packet flying across your neighbourhood lol someone can attack your wifi using KRACK Vulnerability https://www.krackattacks.com/» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by Doraku: Nov 4 2018, 11:30 PM
mylinear
Nov 4 2018, 11:04 PM
QUOTE(miloaisdino @ Nov 4 2018, 09:14 PM) for purpose it is subscribed, as line is residential, it is obvious that the reason is to share with family members as family members usually stay in the same house. if sharing with family members violates their tos, then tm has a responsibility to ensure fair administration of the clause on prohibited use due to the fact that virtually every subscriber does this lol Of course it is obvious that family members in the same house can share the internet. We were talking about sharing with neighbours or a house far away. The service is for the subscribed residence. Not for other premises as I see it.
miloaisdino
Nov 4 2018, 11:12 PM
QUOTE(mylinear @ Nov 4 2018, 11:04 PM) Of course it is obvious that family members in the same house can share the internet. We were talking about sharing with neighbours or a house far away. The service is for the subscribed residence. Not for other premises as I see it. ya but i do remember the clause that it says that customer includes next of kin... "Customer" under this Agreement shall mean a natural person other than a minor and shall include corporate body, partnership, associations, company, government and/or non-government organisation whose application to enter into this Agreement is accepted by TM and shall include his successors and permitted assigns and is synonymous with the term "subscriber" or "applicant" wherever used in other correspondence or documents. This post has been edited by miloaisdino: Nov 4 2018, 11:12 PM
takemehomepls
Nov 4 2018, 11:13 PM

Hi all sifus here, I just got turbo-ed to 300mpbs. Is it possible to get a sifu to help me with entire setup from the existing Unifi router, LAN cable to wireless configuration to get optimal performance? Thank u.
TSSilentVampire
Nov 4 2018, 11:15 PM
QUOTE(takemehomepls @ Nov 4 2018, 11:13 PM) Hi all sifus here, I just got turbo-ed to 300mpbs. Is it possible to get a sifu to help me with entire setup from the existing Unifi router, LAN cable to wireless configuration to get optimal performance? Thank u. What is there to help? Get a good router from the list of supported routers on 1st page, 1st post, green text, and read ALL the green text there.
mylinear
Nov 4 2018, 11:19 PM
QUOTE(miloaisdino @ Nov 4 2018, 11:12 PM) ya but i do remember the clause that it says that customer includes next of kin... "Customer" under this Agreement shall mean a natural person other than a minor and shall include corporate body, partnership, associations, company, government and/or non-government organisation whose application to enter into this Agreement is accepted by TM and shall include his successors and permitted assigns and is synonymous with the term "subscriber" or "applicant" wherever used in other correspondence or documents. That is just the definition of customer in the agreement. It does not refer to who you can share the connection with in other residences. We know people do the sharing. I think we should also be responsible not to mislead others in thinking something is ok when it is not, or at least it is not clearly stated it is ok.
dayojah
Nov 4 2018, 11:29 PM
QUOTE(Yoooo @ Nov 4 2018, 10:29 PM) My current Maxis is ride on TM infra, so far there is no problem from the beginning. Thank you. How much TM copper is used? My place Maxis have put a fibre multiplexer in each block and just use TM copper for the last ~20m TM multiplexer is nearly 500m away, so speed is terrible.
miloaisdino
Nov 4 2018, 11:31 PM
QUOTE(mylinear @ Nov 4 2018, 11:19 PM) That is just the definition of customer in the agreement. It does not refer to who you can share the connection with in other residences. We know people do the sharing. I think we should also be responsible not to mislead others in thinking something is ok when it is not, or at least it is not clearly stated it is ok. the point is that according to my interpretation it is ok to let your family members use as your family is sort of the same customer but under no circumstances is sharing your connection with your neighbour within the tos im not misleading anyone
cskean
Nov 4 2018, 11:46 PM
Any advantage for ipv6 over ipv4?
digipaq
Nov 4 2018, 11:55 PM
QUOTE(th3game @ Nov 4 2018, 06:21 PM) My own house and my inlaws house located 3km away driving distance. So in straight distance maybe about 2km. Plus my house located a bit higher ground compared to my inlaws. So my question is ...Is that possible if i can install a dish on my roof and beaming it towards my in laws house and provide them my Internet? My current plan is 500Mbps. Can save another subscription on my inlaw. Anyone?? May consider Ubiquiti litebeam solution to extend your Ethernet connection to as far as 12km
cstkl1
Nov 5 2018, 08:44 AM
today biz line also got turboed. so dat completes da quadfecta.