10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V36, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!

JohnLai
post Nov 2 2018, 01:40 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(insidemycloset @ Nov 2 2018, 01:23 PM)
I see, I might get an asus too.
I'm already looking for a new one right now. I just wanted confirmation from DIR-850L turbo'ed users before I blindly buy a new one and turns out the problem is on unifi's end.
But damn. these router companies, advertising their 'gigabit' routers that can't even achieve 800mbps on wired connection puke.gif .
......You sure it is not your PC issue? The microcode or heat related issue?

I got one 850L and it can get 500Mbps just fine via wired.
JohnLai
post Nov 2 2018, 02:03 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Nov 2 2018, 01:58 PM)
As John said, it might not be related to router issue. Suggest u restart in safe mode with networking and rerun speedtest app. That's the quickest way to diagnose if it's a computer related microcode throttling or just a computer issue vs a router issue.

I am also limited by this microcode issue. 800Mbps but typically about 720Mbps using edge browser, 660-700Mbps using app or chrome browser. In safe mode with networking easily able to hit 820Mbps download and 220Mbps upload speeds.
Speaking of which.....how about your Alienware 15 R1?
Because you had updated the laptop to latest firmware which contain the problematic 0x24....., you have no choice but to disable spectre mitigations via registry method.

Renaming the mcupdate will not work for your case.
JohnLai
post Nov 2 2018, 02:11 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(insidemycloset @ Nov 2 2018, 02:05 PM)
wait what?

Yeah the PC i'm testing on is quite old, it's an i7 4770k sad.gif. But it's water cooled inside a mid tower case with 3 front intakes and 3 exhaust fans i'm sure it's not that hot inside if that's what you meant by heat.

I have no idea what microcode issue is, what is it? rclxub.gif
=.=...........you know what....let just move straight to the possible fix.....

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/40...rabilities-prot

CVE-2017-5715 (Spectre Variant 2)

To disable Variant 2: (CVE-2017-5715 – "Branch Target Injection") mitigation:

reg add "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Memory Management" /v FeatureSettingsOverride /t REG_DWORD /d 1 /f

reg add "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Memory Management" /v FeatureSettingsOverrideMask /t REG_DWORD /d 3 /f

To enable Variant 2: (CVE-2017-5715 – "Branch Target Injection") mitigation:

reg add "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Memory Management" /v FeatureSettingsOverride /t REG_DWORD /d 0 /f

reg add "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Memory Management" /v FeatureSettingsOverrideMask /t REG_DWORD /d 3 /f

reg add "HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Virtualization" /v MinVmVersionForCpuBasedMitigations /t REG_SZ /d "1.0" /f

First, open a command prompt, copy paste above, disable the spectre mitigation,reboot and rebenchmark.
You can always re-enable it again....in the future?
Reboot is mandatory.
JohnLai
post Nov 2 2018, 02:20 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Nov 2 2018, 02:16 PM)
Yeah...will need to get to registry fix as u recommended but hv not done so yet. The thing is for now I get max 200Mbps anyway for foreign sites and for local it's almost 700Mbps..I really don't see a need to fix it...need to get it done one of these days. There does seem to be some some throttling of speeds to US or EU..do u see the same?
I get around 150 - 250Mbps from my seedbox servers at EU (both servers can handle up to 1gigabit each) since last week.

Normally, I can get full 500Mbps when I got my turbo before. Oh well, still acceptable speed I guess.
JohnLai
post Nov 2 2018, 03:44 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(insidemycloset @ Nov 2 2018, 03:37 PM)
like you said, I went to safemode with network, the upload speed is always 204mbps.

ookla chrome 88mbps
tmspeedtest chrome 301mbps

ookla chromium 90mbps,
tmspeedtest chromium 302mbps

ookla opera 87mbps
tmspeedtest opera 302mbps

ALSO I tested my Cat5e cable too, switching ethernet ports with my Cat6 cable, same results.
I did a little bit of googlin and went through regedit, cpu-z validator. I don't have spectre mitigation enabled, It's not even patched cuz I never update my windows  sad.gif .

should I just give up and call TM to send their technician over? confused.gif
hmm.gif
Contact TM via live chat and ask the agent to 'refresh' your account.

Got a feeling your account might be miscapped. It happens!
JohnLai
post Nov 2 2018, 10:21 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(cskean @ Nov 2 2018, 10:13 PM)
Guys, I have excess CAT6 cable which previous I bought to relocate my router on the 1st floor of my house.

I'm planning to relocate back my router to the ground floor living area. And I wanted to cut my existing CAT6 into shorter length.

Any idea where can I do so and how much is the charges like usually?

What is the correct term for such cutting services?
Crimping RJ45 cable and connector?
JohnLai
post Nov 2 2018, 11:46 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(cskean @ Nov 2 2018, 11:21 PM)
I think so, I went back to the shop at LYP who sold me the cable for such service. But they say didn't provide such service due to not free to do so~

Just wanna know roughly how much is the charges for such service? And is there any specific grade of connector to be used for CAT5E, CAT6 & CAT7? Or connector is standard among all type of LAN cables?
RJ45 connector itself is standard for all CAT5, 5e and 6. Nothing specific.

-.- The shop would rather ask you to buy new one. It brings more profit for the shop.
JohnLai
post Nov 2 2018, 11:58 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(cskean @ Nov 2 2018, 11:52 PM)
Then what am I going to do with my 20+meter of CAT 6 cable???

Hahahaha, wrap it on my router perhaps~
I don't know, buy a crimping tool (about RM25 for cheap one?) and rj45 connector (80 cent?) ?

Or go find other pc shop that offer crimping service? (If you can find one in first place.....)
JohnLai
post Nov 3 2018, 07:22 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(th3game @ Nov 2 2018, 06:11 PM)

gooding?
Err....here some bad news:
https://www.thestar.com.my/tech/tech-news/2...ed-budget-2019/
Partial exerpt:
The Government will also enforce Mandatory Standard on Access Pricing (MSAP) which is expected to push down the pricing of fibre broadband by at least 25% by the end of the year, although Communications and Multimedia Minister Gobind Singh Deo later clarified that his Ministry had already achieved that target. 

So....fark? No 25% discount on year end? ranting.gif

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Nov 3 2018, 06:14 PM)
Try with the C3150 when it arrives. You should get higher speed. You should use a Wifi Analyzer to determine which 2.4GHz channel you should be on, but if you can't be bothered, just set to auto is fine. Nope, try not to enable IPv6. It is not implemented as well as IPv4, so keep it switched off.
Good luck explaining to him why he can get 520Mbps in safe mode but only 300Mbps in normal boot mode. console.gif
JohnLai
post Nov 3 2018, 07:50 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

Sigh.....anyone can give me an idea on how to explain to my neighbours that there will be no 25% discount on year end and they still have to pay me same price as before?
JohnLai
post Nov 3 2018, 07:59 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 3 2018, 07:53 PM)
Why need to explain to your neighbours? You promised them something? Show your monthly bill, end of story. rclxms.gif

That's why moral of the story, don't share connection with others than your family. whistling.gif
Nope, never promised them anything, last time I wrote here about my neighbours requesting to pay less after they read about 25% discount in newspapers.

I think I better buy thestar newspaper and point it out to them. Don't know if they are willing to accept it....ain't my fault. The alternative is getting them to agree for downgrading to 100Mbps from 500Mbps.... innocent.gif
JohnLai
post Nov 3 2018, 08:02 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 3 2018, 08:01 PM)
Just ask them to register their own connection. Fussy people, you still want to share with them? If I were you, I won't consider at all.
I don't have much disposable income. sad.gif If it is up to me alone, I would downgrade to 100Mbps immediately.
JohnLai
post Nov 3 2018, 08:16 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 3 2018, 08:07 PM)
No, you have the option. RM 129 per month as disposable income also takde? Then you have a bigger issue. sweat.gif
Nee-chan, not everyone earn 20K per month. ~.~

JohnLai
post Nov 3 2018, 10:45 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(DoX @ Nov 3 2018, 09:44 PM)
hi guys.. i have question.. my pc card wifi is Atheros AR9287. is it can go 300mbps?
Oh? I have one of this.

Best speed I can get without overlapping with other 2.4ghz channels ---> TM speedtest 157Mbps (Link speed 300Mbps)

Then again, I am using cable after getting turbo-ed.....
JohnLai
post Nov 4 2018, 12:08 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(mylinear @ Nov 3 2018, 11:43 PM)
This is what I was saying in my previous post. Prices has come down. Why are we expecting another 25% by year end? When Someone says something going to happen by year end, and it happens a few months before, it is done, not that there is yet some more to come, unless stated otherwise.

The new RM129 100M is the example. Most 100M users were on RM179-199 and above. If you switch to the new package, you are already getting a approx 25% discount.

If you did not promise anything, then what is the problem? If they think something which did not come true, how is it your fault? Its not like as if you are the one who decide on the package prices.
But the problem is the pricing on 500Mbps which was never revealed. Plus there are users paying RM179 for 300Mbps.

Official TM price from MCMC;
RM129 = 100Mbps
RM139 = 300Mbps
RM329 = 800Mbps

Neighbours insist wanna pay less by using that 25% discount crap from news. Let see what will happen after I informed them with the newspaper tomorrow. If they insists with their stance, then I shall downgrade and no longer share it with them. Very leceh one these guys. dry.gif

JohnLai
post Nov 4 2018, 12:44 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(dickybird @ Nov 4 2018, 12:24 AM)
Cut them off already! What shitty cheapskates they are!
QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Nov 4 2018, 12:28 AM)
Just tell them it doesn’t apply and show them the evidence. If they still don’t want to accept it, cut them off and let them install Unifi at their own place.
Couldn’t agre more with you.
QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 4 2018, 12:33 AM)
laugh.gif Are we still on this topic? laugh.gif
Please do yourself a favour and get rid of them. You shall live longer that way. laugh.gif
Technically I have one advantage over them........no more fiber port available for my houses district....... brows.gif
And honestly, as far as I know......other neighbours with their own unifi all downgraded to 100Mbps.

See how it goes tomorrow evening...... laugh.gif

I have nothing to lose by downgrading to 100Mbps ~.~

JohnLai
post Nov 4 2018, 12:48 AM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(DoX @ Nov 4 2018, 12:45 AM)
meant atheros ar9287  is 2.4ghz only?  hmm.gif
Yes.
2.4Ghz only. nod.gif

Mine in form of TP-Link TL-WN881ND PCIE x1.
JohnLai
post Nov 4 2018, 12:57 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

My neighbours were really funny. whistling.gif

The moment I pointed out to them using thestar newspaper, they seem to be 'shocked'.

They asked a lot about maxis RM89 30Mbps and TM RM79 30Mbps. I had to explain to them on TM 60gb quota.

Then I said, "K lah, if you guys don't wanna share anymore, good luck on getting new port for your own fiber. Our district doesn't have vacant fibre port anymore"

Cue further explaination.....

Considering House A neighbours only pay RM50 each for current unifi 500Mbps for me......(what....sharing with total 4 houses including mine)......3 of my neighbours household 'representative' agreed to continue sharing....

This evening = will hold meeting with House B neighbours..... sweat.gif
JohnLai
post Nov 4 2018, 01:31 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 4 2018, 01:14 PM)
I'm wondering how many people are using your connection? 20? Hope they don't do anything illegal and police comes knocking on your door.
Why do you think I have seedbox + vpn subscription? brows.gif

C1200/850L --->Custom routing server on I3-4330 (route to anonymous vpn server here)--->Gigabit switch---> LAN connections to 3 neighbours' router.

I have my household devices connected directly to C1200/850L. icon_rolleyes.gif
JohnLai
post Nov 4 2018, 01:42 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(solarmystic @ Nov 4 2018, 01:37 PM)
Holy shiet, a legit community Internet initiative lol.

How many other turbo'ed fellas are doing this I wonder.

Can make your own CyberCafe with that kinda speed.. I remember in the olden days most CC only had one or two bonded Screamyx ADSL lines with load balancers for 40-50 PCs...

Too bad CCs are now not really a thing anymore lol...
Actually this sharing stuff was suggested by TM agent (unofficially) cause there is no longer vacant fibre port..... mega_shok.gif
The only problem I have = C1200 legendary random reboot.

QUOTE(miloaisdino @ Nov 4 2018, 01:38 PM)
haha.. server in sg?
Nope, in France. laugh.gif That why I often ask here if anyone encounter slowndown to EU region from time to time.

10 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1926sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:52 PM