371 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V36, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!

asellus
post Nov 4 2018, 07:17 PM

#gompusas
4,541 posts

QUOTE(cskean @ Nov 4 2018, 07:10 PM)
Is it even legal to do so in the 1st place?

If yes, will placing those dish near to where we stay, will affect our health?

What about the cost of building the setup? Worth the money saved for sharing?
Should be legal under MCMC rules, but not so sure about TM ToS.
Should not affect health in any way, a wifi bridge is basically no different than a wifi access point in how they works.
The cost can be high though, a 100Mbps half-duplex wifi bridge with self-installation may cost up to RM1k.

I have done several point-to-point wifi bridge setup, as long as there are not too much obstructions between the two points, doing a 100Mbps half-duplex bridge with Mikrotik SXT Lite5ac is pretty much doable.
miloaisdino
post Nov 4 2018, 07:19 PM

1,418 posts

QUOTE(asellus @ Nov 4 2018, 07:17 PM)
Should be legal under MCMC rules, but not so sure about TM ToS.
Should not affect health in any way, a wifi bridge is basically no different than a wifi access point in how they works.
The cost can be high though, a 100Mbps half-duplex wifi bridge with self-installation may cost up to RM1k.

I have done several point-to-point wifi bridge setup, as long as there are not too much obstructions between the two points, doing a 100Mbps half-duplex bridge with Mikrotik SXT Lite5ac is pretty much doable.
if its your family members, it should be within the tos
as for mcmc, as long the channel u use is meant for 'outdoor' use and transmit power is within acceptable threshold, it should be ok
th3game
post Nov 4 2018, 07:35 PM

235 posts

So it is doable la ya? Will survey things first..looks like can do biz here as so many students live near my area..hehe ( ͡° Íœ– ͡°)
cskean
post Nov 4 2018, 07:40 PM

2,551 posts

What is ToS?

dickybird
post Nov 4 2018, 07:42 PM

2,093 posts

QUOTE(cskean @ Nov 4 2018, 07:40 PM)
What is ToS?
Terms of service.

This project isn't financially feasible. Lol. How much will it cost and how long will it take to pay back? Smh
JohnLai
post Nov 4 2018, 07:44 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(th3game @ Nov 4 2018, 07:35 PM)
So it is doable la ya? Will survey things first..looks like can do biz here as so many students live near my area..hehe ( ͡° ͜� ͡°)
........Honestly.... I think you seriously misunderstood how wireless work..... sweat.gif

You can't profit from it.
dino89
post Nov 4 2018, 08:05 PM

Dino89 Trading
4,966 posts

Hi Sifus

Would like to ask does Unifi support ipv6? How to configure my internet to use ipv6? Currently using TP Link C2300 router

miloaisdino
post Nov 4 2018, 08:15 PM

1,418 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Nov 4 2018, 07:44 PM)
........Honestly.... I think you seriously misunderstood how wireless work..... sweat.gif

You can't profit from it.
unless yr contention ratio like fk brows.gif

for non wireless it should be profitable... but make the neighbours pay you for router equipment or charge them rental for it!

This post has been edited by miloaisdino: Nov 4 2018, 08:16 PM
JohnLai
post Nov 4 2018, 08:17 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(dino89 @ Nov 4 2018, 08:05 PM)
Hi Sifus

Would like to ask does Unifi support ipv6? How to configure my internet to use ipv6? Currently using TP Link C2300 router

Advanced --> IPV6 --> Internet Connection Type : PPPoE ---> Tick "pppoe same session with ipv4" ---> expand 'advanced' ---> Get ipv6 address : SLAAC ---> Prefix delegation : Enable --> DNS address : type in google or cloudflare ipv6 dns servers ip address here (optional) ---> SAVE ---> Moving to LAN---> Assigned type : SLAAC+Stateless DHCP --> SAVE

Reboot the router, wait 5 minutes, voila, done

dino89
post Nov 4 2018, 08:23 PM

Dino89 Trading
4,966 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Nov 4 2018, 08:17 PM)
Advanced --> IPV6 --> Internet Connection Type : PPPoE ---> Tick "pppoe same session with ipv4" ---> expand 'advanced' ---> Get ipv6 address : SLAAC ---> Prefix delegation : Enable --> DNS address : type in google or cloudflare ipv6 dns servers ip address here (optional) ---> SAVE ---> Moving to LAN---> Assigned type : SLAAC+Stateless DHCP --> SAVE
Reboot the router, wait 5 minutes, voila, done
Thanks! Will give it a go later and see
BTW possible to "undo" this and revert back to IPV4?
JohnLai
post Nov 4 2018, 08:25 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(dino89 @ Nov 4 2018, 08:23 PM)
Thanks! Will give it a go later and see
BTW possible to "undo" this and revert back to IPV4?
Just slide/swipe the IPv6 indicato left to disable it.
skylinelover
post Nov 4 2018, 08:31 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,251 posts

Haha nice laugh.gif rclxms.gif
mylinear
post Nov 4 2018, 08:45 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(miloaisdino @ Nov 4 2018, 07:19 PM)
if its your family members, it should be within the tos
as for mcmc, as long the channel u use is meant for 'outdoor' use and transmit power is within acceptable threshold, it should be ok
Does it say somewhere that it is ok for family members?

This is part of what the TOS says:

15. Prohibited Use
15.1 The Customer shall:-
(vi) not share the unifi Service with any person including a company or corporation without the prior written approval of TM and shall use the unifi Service only for the purpose for which it is subscribed;
(vii) not resell or sublet the unifi Service to any third parties without prior written consent from TM; and, (

dino89
post Nov 4 2018, 08:50 PM

Dino89 Trading
4,966 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Nov 4 2018, 08:25 PM)
Just slide/swipe the IPv6 indicato left to disable it.
Just finish setting up my ipv6
Thanks for the help!
splinter
post Nov 4 2018, 08:53 PM

New Kid In Town
2,120 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Nov 4 2018, 03:12 PM)
Nope. It will support 500Mbps only on wired LAN connection. TM won’t replace for you for free, and their stock router is crap anyway. I suggest getting a new router. See 1st page, 1st post, green text, for list of compatible routers and other general info.
Tq so much. Yes bought dlink dir 867 few hours ago. Setup and boom, finally can fully ultilize.
JohnLai
post Nov 4 2018, 08:55 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(dino89 @ Nov 4 2018, 08:50 PM)
Just finish setting up my ipv6
Thanks for the help!
Good to hear that.

As for the warning : console.gif
TP-Link has funny ipv6 behaviors.
If you modify any wifi settings (including guest), ipv6 will stop working for 30 minutes to 1 hour.
If you disconnect and reconnect pppoe via web interface, same as above.
If you mess with ANY setting that normally require connection restart.....well, unless if you wanna wait 100 minutes (as per radvd.conf).......better off reboot the router and wait 5 minutes for ipv6 to work......
dino89
post Nov 4 2018, 08:58 PM

Dino89 Trading
4,966 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Nov 4 2018, 08:55 PM)
Good to hear that.

As for the warning : console.gif
TP-Link has funny ipv6 behaviors.
If you modify any wifi settings (including guest), ipv6 will stop working for 30 minutes to 1 hour.
If you disconnect and reconnect pppoe via web interface, same as above.
If you mess with ANY setting that normally require connection restart.....well, unless if you wanna wait 100 minutes (as per radvd.conf).......better off reboot the router and wait 5 minutes for ipv6 to work......
Hah? How about updating router firmware sweat.gif
Just saw there is an update for my c2300 router
Doraku
post Nov 4 2018, 08:59 PM

Old threads digger
1,155 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Nov 4 2018, 01:31 PM)
Why do you think I have seedbox + vpn subscription? brows.gif

C1200/850L --->Custom routing server on I3-4330 (route to anonymous vpn server here)--->Gigabit switch---> LAN connections to 3 neighbours' router.

I have my household devices connected directly to C1200/850L. icon_rolleyes.gif
Woah what OS do you use for your routing server?
JohnLai
post Nov 4 2018, 09:03 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(dino89 @ Nov 4 2018, 08:58 PM)
Hah? How about updating router firmware sweat.gif
Just saw there is an update for my c2300 router
-.- rule no 1, you better know your unifi login and password before you try to update the firmware. Some firmware update from tplink tend to reset everything back to default/nothing.

rule no 2, after you type in those pppoe login etc......SET THE DAMN VLAN at NETWORK ---> IPTV/VLAN correctly before complaining pppoe can't connect.

Oh, you better update your firmware asap. yawn.gif

QUOTE(Doraku @ Nov 4 2018, 08:59 PM)
Woah what OS do you use for your routing server?
Win7 and openvpn. Why? blink.gif

Route command is quite useful.

EDIT: Argh, damn forgot to multiquote

This post has been edited by JohnLai: Nov 4 2018, 09:06 PM
JohnLai
post Nov 4 2018, 09:05 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

DELETE.

This post has been edited by JohnLai: Nov 4 2018, 09:06 PM

371 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top