31 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

Home Theatre HDMI CABLE, Cheap & expensive same quality?

ar188
post Dec 23 2008, 09:40 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(DigitalTech @ Dec 23 2008, 09:29 AM)
frankly, if one can afford to buy a good hdtv and player, I don't see why he/she not getting a better build cable to connect both. Don't forget that premium hdmi cables are high speed cable.

I am sure there's a differences between an cheap RM50 with RM500 cable. If you are seriously into audiophile, then you should get a better built quality cable to match your high performance TV and player. If you not into quality, then stick to al-cheapo cables.

Another example is, why would someone buy a BD player now which cost more than RM2k and also need to buy original bd for more than RM100? Because that person demand for quality goods in their life.

There's no wrong or right answer to this. It's all about individual preferences.

By the way, you don't need to pay through your nose to get a premium quality hdmi cable like Monster. Click here for more info:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/756138
if people want to buy expensive cables because it looks good and have good thick cable construction and use good quality materials by all means go ahead.. no arguement here.

the discussion here is that people think only expensive cables meets the HDMI 1.3 spec while cheap cables doesn't meet HDMI 1.3 spec.. because that's all you need to care about as far as digital cables are concern whether it meets the spec or not...

hence why we don't care about monster cable 2.0 USB cables if there is such a thing compared to normal freebie 2.0 cables. only the analog audio/video community will fall for these $$$ traps cos they don't understand digital concept at all...
aiman04
post Dec 23 2008, 09:53 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

ar188, don't bother, look at his sig. His a salesman. Would he say something that will hurt his sale? tongue.gif
nadky
post Dec 23 2008, 10:38 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 23 2008, 09:40 AM)

the discussion here is that  people think only expensive cables meets the HDMI 1.3 spec while cheap cables doesn't meet HDMI 1.3 spec.. because that's all you need to care about as far as digital cables are concern whether it meets the spec or not...
I agreed that both expensive and cheap hdmi cables would be able to meet HDMI 1.3 spec. The only difference between them are the quality of material used, construction method, speed of transfer, etc...
SUSMatrix
post Dec 23 2008, 10:45 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(nadky @ Dec 22 2008, 09:22 PM)
Just think about this, if you are a businessman, do you 1st invest a lot of money in research, manufacture and sell something that does not has demand? If expensive HDMI cable does not improve PQ and AQ I believe all cable manufacturers would not have their flagship cables.

There are always people who can afford expensive cable, to them, maybe 1k investment to have PQ increase by 10% would worth the money while to some others, it's totally a waste of money. So, it's subjective and whether you think you would want to spend that kind of money.
Ahh...that is not quite correct. All these luxurious thing are rather artificial demand created to sell to people. That's how business in the 21st century works. Like those MLM companies, they'll convince you that you'll die tomorrow if you don't consume their products. There's a lot of things in this world no one actually needs, but big companies thought up of the idea, dump in heavy investment on promotion to brainwash people to think you need it. Well, for most part, you don't.

Coming back to the topic, i still holds that digital is either it works or it don't. Nothing to affect picture quality. Sure, signals are still being sent as analog, but since it is view as digital format, example, where a high pulse exceeding upper limit regconized as '0' and a low pulse regconized as '1' and everything else in between are just thrown out as errors and will be asked for re-sent. So if you have a bad cable, there'll probably be loads of re-sending and thus affecting ur image with jittery or or some other artifacts which is immediately regconized.

And yes, i do agreed for long cable exceeding certain limit, a high quality cable is better as the risk of sending error is lower, but for most cases, most people HDMI cables will not exceed 3ft...so paying a few hundred bucks for 3 foot Monster cable is a monstrous joke.

Hey, i'm running on 5m HDMI and it works just fine, and i think i read somewhere the limit is 25m b4 u can see benefits of expensive cables.

Here's some good read

No difference at 13ft cable.

http://www.popularmechanics.com/technology...de/4235717.html

The Results
None of our editors could tell the difference. The fact is, HDMI is digital, meaning you either get the feed or you don’t. High prices and gimmicks like gold-plating don’t affect 1s and 0s. Our advice: Purchase your wiring online for cheap, and use the saved money to upgrade to a larger flat screen.
==========================================================
Ultimate 50ft cable test - with a very good unbiased conclusion.

http://gizmodo.com/gadgets/hdmi-cable-batt...-iii-282725.php

For the love of God, what does it all mean???
      I have to say I for one have learned a few things with all of this testing, and I hope you have too. The way I see it:

• It never pays to buy a Monster cable first. It doesn't even make sense to buy the "marked down" $50 cable you can buy if you don't want Monster. Go online, order your cables, and wait.

• Even if you're going for the long haul, try a cheaper cable from a reliable vendor first. Monoprice isn't the only one. During this process I've spoken with good people at FireFold, DataPro International, and others, and tested an assortment of discount products, with no noticeable problems. I am confident that, if a vendor has a solid return policy and satisfaction guarantee, you should feel free to buy even a super-long cable from a discount house. In the case of my 50-footer noise, a quick return would have been all that was required.

• Monster has a point about future-proofing. I have no doubt, given our testing, that Monster cables can outperform other cables in video formats that are not yet in use. What does this mean for a consumer? Does it make sense to spend $300 now on a 50-foot cable, assuming you will spend thousands to upgrade all of your video equipment around it in the next few years? Logic dictates that the answer is no.

• The only people who should buy Monster cable are people who light cigars with Benjamins. Fortunately for Monster, there are plenty of those people. They're not even suckers, they are just rich as hell, and want the best. This testing did not prove that Monster is not the best. It just proved that the best is, for the most part, unnecessary.

This was not the easiest task to undertake, and I appreciate everyone who helped out with encouragement, tips, wisdom and wild speculation. I hope it was both entertaining and educational. For me, if I never look at another cable it will be too soon.
This post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 23 2008, 11:05 AM
robertngo
post Dec 23 2008, 11:12 AM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(nadky @ Dec 23 2008, 10:38 AM)
I agreed that both expensive and cheap hdmi cables would be able to meet HDMI 1.3 spec. The only difference between them are the quality of material used, construction method, speed of transfer, etc...
HDMI licensing require company to make cable with lest them one pixel lost per billion during transmission. if you cable is not a fake, it will be make to comply with HDMI spec, there is not risk of performance degradation.
ar188
post Dec 23 2008, 11:19 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Dec 23 2008, 09:53 AM)
ar188, don't bother, look at his sig. His a salesman. Would he say something that will hurt his sale? tongue.gif
seriously I dun mind getting those branded cables.. it makes my setup looks nice and complete... thumbup.gif

but I never for 1second will accept the argument that any lesser priced good quality (no bells and whistles) plain 1.3 spec cable will not be able to pass thro HDMI 1.3 data properly and will result in data corruption of the video.
kepco
post Dec 23 2008, 03:57 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 23 2008, 11:19 AM)
seriously I dun mind getting those branded cables.. it makes my setup looks nice and complete...  thumbup.gif

but I never for 1second will accept the argument that any lesser priced good quality (no bells and whistles) plain 1.3 spec cable will not be able to pass thro HDMI 1.3 data properly and will result in data corruption of the video.
ar188, we're good friend (in educated way)...I've tons of ohmy.gif ohmy.gif ohmy.gif ohmy.gif from my friends when they look at my HTPC and the monster cables I used. flex.gif flex.gif flex.gif
htkaki
post Dec 23 2008, 10:58 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 23 2008, 11:19 AM)
seriously I dun mind getting those branded cables.. it makes my setup looks nice and complete...  thumbup.gif

erm... Taukeh, I am amazed by the amount of patience notworthy.gif that you have here trying to explain abt digital thingy rclxms.gif It is always good to share.

It is too hard to discuss any further. Btw, I have a few HDMI cables with me as I mentioned earlier. Audioquest HDMI, Giraffe HDMI, Panasonic original HDMI cable (1.3a), Pioneer freebie cable with nice cable jacket, Another one from Sharp, Another one cheap looking freebie cable from Panasonic, and 2 OEM China mari HDMI cable (5m & 10m). Oh yes, there is another one which has been given to a cust. Wireworld Chroma HDMI if my me didnt fail me sweat.gif Tried all these with my cheapo system.

Maybe my age is catching up with me blush.gif . My eyes didnt transmit any difference in PQ to my aging brain nor SQ to my ears.

Incidentally, there is a case with these few cheapo HDMI cables. Actually, it were meant to connect to the rows of LCD TVs in the shop. About half of them failed upon installation rclxub.gif . No signal. Upon checking, the installer bend these fragile cables to put it through the shelf doh.gif
ar188
post Dec 23 2008, 11:19 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(kepco @ Dec 23 2008, 03:57 PM)
ar188, we're good friend (in educated way)...I've tons of  ohmy.gif  ohmy.gif  ohmy.gif  ohmy.gif from my friends when they look at my HTPC and the monster cables I used.  
OMG from me also.. HTPC with Monster?? wah... rclxms.gif

as for me since 1990 already started using monster 300 and 400 series interconnects and also S-video 3meter cable to connect my LD player to my Yamaha DSP AV amp/TV.. so surely I know the importance of good analog signal interconnects.. but when it comes to digital cables that's another ballgame all together..

QUOTE(htkaki @ Dec 23 2008, 10:58 PM)
Btw, I have a few HDMI cables with me as I mentioned earlier. Audioquest HDMI, Giraffe HDMI, Panasonic original HDMI cable (1.3a), Pioneer freebie cable with nice cable jacket, Another one from Sharp, Another one cheap looking freebie cable from Panasonic, and 2 OEM China mari HDMI cable (5m & 10m). Oh yes, there is another one which has been given to a cust. Wireworld Chroma HDMI if my me didnt fail me  sweat.gif Tried all these with my cheapo system.
wah you got so many branded cables.. drool.gif
if got freebie you know who to pass to... brows.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Dec 23 2008, 11:24 PM
timothyy
post Dec 23 2008, 11:25 PM

Do Not Underestimate the "Pawa" of the Dark Side
4,504 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Dec 23 2008, 10:58 PM)
erm... Taukeh, I am amazed by the amount of patience  notworthy.gif  that you have here trying to explain abt digital thingy  rclxms.gif  It is always good to share.

It is too hard to discuss any further. Btw, I have a few HDMI cables with me as I mentioned earlier. Audioquest HDMI, Giraffe HDMI, Panasonic original HDMI cable (1.3a), Pioneer freebie cable with nice cable jacket, Another one from Sharp, Another one cheap looking freebie cable from Panasonic, and 2 OEM China mari HDMI cable (5m & 10m). Oh yes, there is another one which has been given to a cust. Wireworld Chroma HDMI if my me didnt fail me  sweat.gif Tried all these with my cheapo system.

Maybe my age is catching up with me blush.gif . My eyes didnt transmit any difference in PQ to my aging brain nor SQ to my ears.

Incidentally, there is a case with these few cheapo HDMI cables. Actually, it were meant to connect to the rows of LCD TVs in the shop. About half of them failed upon installation rclxub.gif . No signal. Upon checking, the installer bend these fragile cables to put it through the shelf  doh.gif
laugh.gif laugh.gif Ur eyes no problem la.
Well, I guess it is down to ego problem with some...
He! He! He!
If any of u try to do some reading in the electronic matter, you will know, at the end it doesn't matter whether RM30 or RM3000 HDMI.

But because some got high ego... no matter how, they got to fight back... why? Coz they rushed in and bought the RM3000... now need to justify to the wife... whistling.gif whistling.gif
htkaki
post Dec 23 2008, 11:29 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 23 2008, 11:19 PM)
wah you got so many branded cables..  drool.gif
if got freebie you know who to pass to...  brows.gif

Eh, I didnt give it to you? hmm.gif My mem really failing me tongue.gif Ok, noted. Previously, I have got 2 extra Audioquest HDMI cables. Given to a reg customer and another one to a big cust.

laugh.gif  laugh.gif  Ur eyes no problem la.

phew.... that's comforting enough. Less a worry for me wink.gif

This post has been edited by htkaki: Dec 23 2008, 11:30 PM
mys_terious
post Dec 24 2008, 12:57 AM

882 posts

1) Misleading or Not
For those of u who bought expensive hdmi cable there is nothing wrong with it. But for a noob like me who only relies on reviews and articles, until now i havent seen any articles by engineers (not your local hifi saleman) who state that super hi price hdmi cable give better pq. Then i see ppl here claiming it does. I am confused now. I have done a blind A/B blindtest between good built (not super branded) bluejeans hdmi cable with cap palang hdmi cables but no diff. I just wanna know the truth abt the performance (pq). Durability and built quality aside, just wanna know has any1 done a A/B blind test and can really tell the diff in pq. If there is a diff then i might consider investing more in hdmi cables. If there is none then pls dont mislead noobs like me saying it does.

2)Why cant i spend more on hdmi cables when i have spent so much on AV?

BEcoz i have other things to spend on like room acoustic, pj screen and bd player that will definitely IMPROVE the overall performance. So if a branded hdmi cable is only better in durability, carrying signal for a longer distance and looks better then its not for ppl like me.

My point is if a branded hdmi cables doesnt improve pq pls dont say so bcoz it will mislead newcomers who has ALOT of other things to spend on. If it does improve the pq then pls state the brand n model and which cap palang hdmi cable did u compare with and izt a blind A/B test (did u play the same movie for the test) bcoz alot of us will appreciate it

This post has been edited by mys_terious: Dec 24 2008, 01:21 AM
myqd
post Dec 24 2008, 01:42 PM

2,247 posts

i think to buy or not to buy a expensive branded HDMI all still come back to our own decision.The decision u make depends on either u urself can "see or feel" the different,no matter it's real or just mind trick,as long as u urself can tell the different( even it might be just ur mind trick ),and if u can afford it now,i dun see any problem why shouldnt we cant get ourself a better HDMI cable smile.gif

as for me,i was using a 10m OEM HDMI < RM200 and frankly,sometimes during the BDs playback, i do feel the PQ can be better if i change to a better HDMI cable.Recently i bought a 8m QED HDMI cost few hundred rm and i actually found it change the PQ in term of colour saturation.I know some might said it's just my mind tongue.gif ,ok,maybe it's,but i feel more comfortable with the new cable and i'm happy with it.So if spending few hundred ringgit in a decent HT system and can make myself happy,why not,right? biggrin.gif

i'm thinking of taking pics with AB comparison these few days,everything same setting,including the camera.I wonder if there's different in PQ,will others say that's becos when process the pics,saved and post,it will affect diff PQ to both pics ? hmm.gif Or can anyone enlighten me how to make it "fair" if i want to take pics for the same scene,with diff HDMI cables? Thanks in advance. thumbup.gif
robertngo
post Dec 24 2008, 03:23 PM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Dec 24 2008, 01:42 PM)
i think to buy or not to buy a expensive branded HDMI all still come back to our own decision.The decision u make depends on either u urself can "see or feel" the different,no matter it's real or just mind trick,as long as u urself can tell the different( even it might be just ur mind trick ),and if u can afford it now,i dun see any problem why shouldnt we cant get ourself a better HDMI cable smile.gif

as for me,i was using a 10m OEM HDMI < RM200 and frankly,sometimes during the BDs playback, i do feel the PQ can be better if i change to a better HDMI cable.Recently i bought a 8m QED HDMI cost few hundred rm and i actually found it change the PQ in term of colour saturation.I know some might said it's just my mind  tongue.gif ,ok,maybe it's,but i feel more comfortable with the new cable and i'm happy with it.So if spending few hundred ringgit in a decent HT system and can make myself happy,why not,right?  biggrin.gif

i'm thinking of taking pics with AB comparison these few days,everything same setting,including the camera.I wonder if there's different in PQ,will others say that's becos when process the pics,saved and post,it will affect diff PQ to both pics ?  hmm.gif  Or can anyone enlighten me how to make it "fair" if i want to take pics for the same scene,with diff HDMI cables? Thanks in advance.  thumbup.gif
are the two HDMI cable you compare the same version and speed?
myqd
post Dec 24 2008, 03:43 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(robertngo @ Dec 24 2008, 03:23 PM)
are the two HDMI cable you compare the same version and speed?
emm....the OEM i dunno the spec as it doesnt come with box but the QED is 1.3 version,as stated in their website.The speed ma.......i not sure la,but the 8m HDMI is connected between my AVR and PJ,and between PS3 and AVR i'm using MP-Acoustic/Panasonic at the moment,might change to Chord since i just got it recently. smile.gif

mys_terious
post Dec 24 2008, 04:08 PM

882 posts

as for me,i was using a 10m OEM HDMI < RM200 and frankly,sometimes during the BDs playback, i do feel the PQ can be better if i change to a better HDMI cable.Recently i bought a 8m QED HDMI cost few hundred rm and i actually found it change the PQ in term of colour saturation.I know some might said it's just my mind  tongue.gif ,ok,maybe it's,but i feel more comfortable with the new cable and i'm happy with it.So if spending few hundred ringgit in a decent HT system and can make myself happy,why not,right?  biggrin.gif

i'm thinking of taking pics with AB comparison these few days,everything same setting,including the camera.I wonder if there's different in PQ,will others say that's becos when process the pics,saved and post,it will affect diff PQ to both pics ?  hmm.gif  Or can anyone enlighten me how to make it "fair" if i want to take pics for the same scene,with diff HDMI cables? Thanks in advance.  thumbup.gif
bro if u can get some1 to help u out by swapping the cables without telling u which is which then it would be good enuf.. repeat it for 10 times n match the result.. no need take pic la.. i will believe u
kepco
post Dec 24 2008, 04:30 PM

108 posts

and just look at your scene that you are familiar, for myself, I use two scene to tweak my system. One is Transformer where the air control tower glasses is shuttering, and the another one is from King Kong, where the Kong fight with dinosaur, there is a lot leaf moving here and their. (the Kong battle scene is the one that made me spend RM9K to get Kuro after compared with Samsung Plasma )

oh yeah, I trust you also, no need picture since you're not charging anything from the rest of us.

This post has been edited by kepco: Dec 24 2008, 04:32 PM
swaichia
post Dec 24 2008, 05:00 PM

511 posts

I'm getting 10m HDMi for rm530:
rx330
post Dec 24 2008, 05:11 PM

11,809 posts

macam macam ada......
anyway , this flat one not bad for me, cos i go thru the carpet ler... but too bad the price sad.gif

weird, u notice the word 1080i max?
swaichia
post Dec 24 2008, 05:16 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Dec 24 2008, 05:11 PM)
macam macam ada......
anyway , this flat one not bad for me, cos i go thru the carpet ler... but too bad the price sad.gif

weird, u notice the word 1080i max?
smile.gif isn't that the 1080i max is for 20m??? the one I get is 10m... shud be able to support 1080P...

31 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0268sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:59 PM