31 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Home Theatre HDMI CABLE, Cheap & expensive same quality?

ar188
post Dec 21 2008, 10:52 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Dec 20 2008, 05:25 PM)
maybe it's just my mind trying to convince me,my 1st impression for QED HDMI-P 8m VS previous DENN 10m HDMI,there's definately some different,i see the colour is more saturated on QED,brightness/contrast/sharpness didnt notice any much different,maybe need to change spectacle  tongue.gif .

Dun shoot,i'm just getting the best i can afford now.  tongue.gif
it's always good to get decent cables.. if only for it's decent materials used and construction and physical ruggedness/long lastingness.
as mention before, digital cables do not have the ability to change the color/video characteristics of the video digital signal, only the ability to corrupt it in very abrupt manner flashes of white frames/sparklies purple video etc....
but of coz, this is engineering point of view,
subjectively people feel differently.. even blind A/B test with the same audio or video material can produce different remarks or choices...
myqd
post Dec 21 2008, 12:24 PM

2,247 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 21 2008, 10:52 AM)
it's always good to get decent cables.. if only for it's decent materials used and construction and physical ruggedness/long lastingness.
as mention before, digital cables do not have the ability to change the color/video characteristics of the video digital signal, only the ability to corrupt it in very abrupt manner flashes of white frames/sparklies purple video etc....
but of coz, this is engineering point of view,
subjectively people feel differently.. even blind A/B test with the same audio or video material can produce different remarks or choices...
ya,i agreed with u.Like u mentioned in another thread " Mind tricks? Doesn't matter, it makes me happy " thumbup.gif

Maybe i should take some pics for AB comparison like the other day see how. smile.gif

This post has been edited by myqd: Dec 21 2008, 12:28 PM
ar188
post Dec 21 2008, 01:44 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Dec 21 2008, 12:24 PM)
ya,i agreed with u.Like u mentioned in another thread " Mind tricks? Doesn't matter, it makes me happy thumbup.gif

Maybe i should take some pics for AB comparison like the other day see how. smile.gif
agreed, and it's also good to know that all the components including cables in the AV chain is decently built and good quality. since already paid 5 figures (for example for bd source/display/av amp speakers etc) no point not to spend few hundred on nice decent interconnects..
swine
post Dec 21 2008, 06:37 PM

157 posts

while choosing hdmi cable..some claim suppoting full HD, some are not? so gettting a fullHD hdmi wiser for future proof?
BeastX
post Dec 21 2008, 07:10 PM

Genomics Revolution; Proud to be a Scientist
5,987 posts

QUOTE(swine @ Dec 21 2008, 06:37 PM)
while choosing hdmi cable..some claim suppoting full HD, some are not? so gettting a fullHD hdmi wiser for future proof?
No difference, same amount of wires/connectors
robertngo
post Dec 21 2008, 08:27 PM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(swine @ Dec 21 2008, 06:37 PM)
why does HDMI cable material matter? the signal is digital not analog, it either transfer every bit perfectly or it does not work at all, have anyone really see a improvement using gold plated super expensive HDMI cable?
atomica
post Dec 21 2008, 09:04 PM

340 posts

any idea where i can get really short HDMI cables? less than 1m? don't want the wires to trail everywhere.
swine
post Dec 21 2008, 09:48 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(robertngo @ Dec 21 2008, 08:27 PM)
why does HDMI cable material matter? the signal is digital not analog, it either transfer every bit perfectly or it does not work at all, have anyone really see a improvement using gold plated super expensive HDMI cable?
somehow if a cable can support 1080i might not succed in 1080p
because the data send is twice the amount..
and therefore traffic congestion is there..so it is not that simple as u think just transfering 1,0 laugh.gif
maskedchan
post Dec 21 2008, 09:52 PM

6,022 posts

QUOTE(robertngo @ Dec 21 2008, 08:27 PM)
how about transfer speed?
dont that affected the quality?

i did see quite different improvement on color and more smooth if compare with gold plated with oem non-gold plated.

Added on December 21, 2008, 9:56 pm
QUOTE(swine @ Dec 21 2008, 09:48 PM)
somehow if a cable can support 1080i might not succed in 1080p
because the data send is twice the amount..
and therefore traffic congestion is there..so it is not that simple as u think just transfering 1,0 laugh.gif
agree...
even usb also 1,0..how come can data lost when transferring large amount data on usb..
i believe it will same concept apply to hdmi

This post has been edited by maskedchan: Dec 21 2008, 09:56 PM
ar188
post Dec 21 2008, 10:07 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Dec 21 2008, 09:52 PM)
agree...
even usb also 1,0..how come can data lost when transferring large amount data on usb..
if data is lost while transfering via USB, then the file becomes corrupted..

if you have a letter in word file transfered via corrupted USB link, I don't think suddenly a few new meaningful sentences or words will appear in your letter right?

most likely you get garbled ascii text or the word document refuse to open.

same with HDMI, if signal doesn't go thro properly then you get abrupt video frames error.. not suddenly it become "less" sharp picture or less contrast or reduced resolution... how come people still have those "analog Audio cable" mentality ar?

SUSMatrix
post Dec 21 2008, 10:10 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

I believe in cheap cables, it works very well for me.

Here, read this:

http://boardsus.playstation.com/playstatio...=828972#M828972

IMO, if you are running < 10m, you'll do fine for HDMI. I'm running a 5m cheap HDMI and it looks (and sounds) great. Now i'm looking for a cheap 5m optical cable...anyone got one?

btw, i remember i have a cheap optical and an expensive one i bought for my old xbox. Both was about 1m long. There's no difference at all when the sound comes out of my HT system!!

This post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 21 2008, 10:15 PM
kepco
post Dec 22 2008, 07:40 AM

108 posts

ar188, I solute for your patience. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
robertngo
post Dec 22 2008, 08:08 AM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Dec 21 2008, 09:52 PM)
how about transfer speed?
dont that affected the quality?

i did see quite different improvement on color and more smooth if compare with gold plated with oem non-gold plated.

Added on December 21, 2008, 9:56 pm

agree...
all usb cable at usb 1.0 transfer data at same speed the problem you have should be windows does not copy over some of the files due to timeout, have you see any god plated usb cable that said it is better at data transfer that normal cable? it make no sense because the same usb spec cable will have the same speed, so all HDMI 1.3 version cables should have the some transfer speed because they are same spec.

Added on December 22, 2008, 8:18 am
QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 21 2008, 10:07 PM)

same with HDMI, if signal doesn't go thro properly then you get abrupt video frames error.. not suddenly it become "less" sharp picture or less contrast or reduced resolution... how come people still have those "analog Audio cable" mentality ar?
Monster are depending on this mentality to make money.

This post has been edited by robertngo: Dec 22 2008, 08:18 AM
swine
post Dec 22 2008, 09:43 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(robertngo @ Dec 22 2008, 08:08 AM)
all usb cable at usb 1.0 transfer data at same speed the problem you have should be windows does not copy over some of the files due to timeout, have you see any god plated usb cable that said it is better at data transfer that normal cable? it make no sense because the same usb spec cable will have the same speed, so all HDMI 1.3 version cables should have the some transfer speed because they are same spec.

Added on December 22, 2008, 8:18 am
Monster are depending on this mentality to make money.
usb thumbdrive altot the same version..still can vary in speed..try diff brand u will find out soon..
so depends on the material used.. tongue.gif

i dun believe a cheap HDMI can support 1080p, the EYE diagrame normally use for the HDMI test explain everything..it will suffer data congestion..
actually many ppl againts monster because of ther superior pricing, but no ones deny thier quality (the hi end series)..den how about the QED, Audioquest, Wireworld..etc
ar188
post Dec 22 2008, 09:47 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(kepco @ Dec 22 2008, 07:40 AM)
ar188, I solute for your patience.  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
hehe! patience is a virtue mah.. tongue.gif

Added on December 22, 2008, 9:53 am
QUOTE(swine @ Dec 22 2008, 09:43 AM)
i dun believe a cheap HDMI can support 1080p, the EYE diagrame normally use for the HDMI test explain everything..it will suffer data congestion..
actually many ppl againts monster because of ther superior pricing, but no ones deny thier quality (the hi end series)..den how about the QED, Audioquest, Wireworld..etc
few pages back, there is a link on thereview of cables using super expensive tektronix equipment lent to by Monster cable to test the eye pattern...

interesting fact is all cheapo HDMI1.3 cables at below 3meter passes the test..

above that maybe 5-10meter range, maybe 1-2 cables begin to show the eye pattern collapsing (but still valid pattern) and still data integrity is intact (pass the test)... and this is with 1080p deep color signal.

and when the cables fail at higher test, the video show abrupt video symptoms not minor loss of detail or reduced contrast/sharpness etc..

so if HDMI cable not meet the spec then it should fail the video transmisson totally.. it's either you got a major problem which can notice immediately or not have any visible video problem. this is the Digital transmission characteristic..

Added on December 22, 2008, 9:57 am
QUOTE(swine @ Dec 22 2008, 09:43 AM)
usb thumbdrive altot the same version..still can vary in speed..try diff brand u will find out soon..
so depends on the material used.. tongue.gif
yes, but if it's slower speed, then it's not rated at readyboost compliant 6MBps or it will just state as 3MBps write /rewrite etc..

if it's already compliant then it'll reach that speed.. unless it's fake.

so maybe the only logic for cheapo HDMI cables not performing is that maybe it's just a cheap 1st gen HDMI rebadged to 1.3 spec..

hehe!

This post has been edited by ar188: Dec 22 2008, 09:57 AM
maskedchan
post Dec 22 2008, 10:15 AM

6,022 posts

i have a two eom HDMI cable... one cannot even get signal 1080p signal on my ps3...

so for me...i still think cheapo hdmi cable is not up to par with a branded hdmi...

that is what i feel...
Goneraz
post Dec 22 2008, 12:51 PM

432 posts

??? what do you mean cant get 1080P signal? Any HDMI cable can transmit HD 1080p signal regardless. Can your tv support full hd? The more likely problem would be your setting. Also how do you know your tv are not getting 1080P?
1tinydino
post Dec 22 2008, 04:09 PM

14 posts

What Hifi Sound & Vision..on Why We're No 1:

WE'RE COMPLETELY IMPARTIAL
"Every verdict is that of the magazine, not of an advertiser or press officer. When we say something's good, it is"

Unless the entire world's HDMI's cable producer, QED, Monster, VDH, Chord etc etc etc pakat with reviewers like whathifi, what homecinema, sterophiles, cnet, bla bla bla to con consumers...then yes, there are difference between good and bad HDMI cables.

it doesn't mean cheap cables doesn't work, they do, to a certain extend...they probably offer you output...but you're then probably not getting the most out of your source and your display...as simple as that...

also it doesn't mean you should get the most expensive HDMI cables around...a decent one...to a layman's eyes & ears, differences are probably not very visible...but for pros, they make a mountain of difference...

a car is a car, whether it is a RM40k car or a RM400k car, both has got 4-wheels, both got a stering and most importantly, both can take you to A-B..but some ppl like to get from A to B feeling secured, ie, cars with Air-Bags, electronic stability controls, some like to feel more comfortable in the car if distance from A to B is 600miles...some like to use their notebook in the car, some like to watch DVD movies in the car...obviously, the RM40k car don't offer you this...so, there are differences between a RM40k car with a RM400k car...

for those who know & quoted digital bits is a lots of 0's and 1's...they probably don't know a voltage pulse is required to drives them to produce the bunch of 0's and 1's...there are differences when u measure the output of a cable at the end of it, when u inject a 5V pulse thru a low resistance cable and a high resistance cable (V=I*R) ...to make a cable low resistance, there are different manufacturing methods and its certainly more complex than simply putting a bunch of cables in a core...the way u arrange the conductors in a core, even the type of cables used matters...

during the high-time of copper trading, the LME (london metal exchange) rate for copper went up to about 75-80%...for a lot of ppl, that's a lot of margin to lost...so, some manufacturers in the south east asia, to save cost and remain competitive, instead of having pure copper conductors, they mixed it with steel and what-not...to bring down the cost of copper conductors...i know this because i'm an electronic & electrical graduate, and i'm in the electrical line...

obviously the metal-mixed copper conductor were a lot cheaper compared to the pure copper conductors, and the downside, they exhibits much lower current carrying capacity...test a 40kA fault current test on the similarly size pure & not pure copper conductor, pure conductos will pass test, while copper mixed steel conductor will burn...

so, my point is, there are differences between good & pricey cables, and cheap-er cables...otherwise, manufacturers like QED & Monster won't hv to sell their cables at a premium when they can sell it so much closer to cheap cables and make a huge profit out of volumes & not margins..

not to forget reviewers won't need to crack their heads to test and sample the cables they received...
mpyw
post Dec 22 2008, 04:22 PM

3,603 posts

CMY once offer me to take back a QED HDMI cable that are selling fro RM350 to test it on my system....they said if I cannot see any difference...take back the cable at no charge at all.....hmm.gif
htkaki
post Dec 22 2008, 04:26 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Dec 22 2008, 04:22 PM)
CMY once offer me to take back a QED HDMI cable that are selling fro RM350 to test it on my system....they said if I cannot see any difference...take back the cable at no charge at all.....hmm.gif

Taukeh, you should have taken it and test it out.

31 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0373sec    1.00    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:07 PM