For HDMI, it's digital, each cable should be the same. Maybe look for material/built quality to last longer.
For analogue signals (composite, s-video, speaker cables), cable plays big role. This one don't get cap ayam one. It will affect you PQ/AQ.
Home Theatre HDMI CABLE, Cheap & expensive same quality?
Aug 19 2008, 05:23 PM
2,316 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
I think we talked about this millionth time already.
For HDMI, it's digital, each cable should be the same. Maybe look for material/built quality to last longer. For analogue signals (composite, s-video, speaker cables), cable plays big role. This one don't get cap ayam one. It will affect you PQ/AQ. |
Aug 20 2008, 07:01 AM
Yup, matrix. But for DTS-ES Discrete on DVD it is 6.1 with all discrete channel.
Aug 20 2008, 06:28 PM
RX is a lonely guy now. Don't try to upset him.
Aug 20 2008, 09:39 PM
Fentanyl, I bought my cables from FutureShop.co.uk, very good service, your order will be shipped the next day.
I've tried to order from Cable-Shop.co.uk, they took 3 to even process, by the fourth day, the transaction in my Paypal still pending. So I decided to cancel. ALPS2008, after you selected your shipping address outside of EU, the 17.5% VAT will be voided, so it will be cheaper. Before that, or before you login, the price is with VAT. |
Aug 20 2008, 09:47 PM
I'm using cap ayam HDMI cable bro. But analogue cables I try to get the best. I use this for my sub:
http://www.futureshop.co.uk/qed-qunex-silv...e-3m-p-874.html |
Aug 21 2008, 09:13 AM
I thought that Solehah is a she?
Aug 21 2008, 02:27 PM
I don't know, some posted here before saying it's a she, can't remember who. never mind lah.
Aug 21 2008, 10:03 PM
QUOTE(fentanyl @ Aug 21 2008, 07:53 PM) You are right! I ordered my cables yesterday and they are already dispatched today. Maybe I will order speaker cables from them someday but just wanna ask u. If they ask for quantity of cable, does it stand for pair or unit? Let's say I put 1, it means 1 unit or 1 pair? Yup, only one. But still cheap right? ![]() You'll receive your package within one week. My last order valued more than RM800, not tax or whatsoever. Just like Amazon UK, Royal Mail does excellent job. But it's more secured because this one you need to sign for it when it arrives. |
Aug 22 2008, 11:13 PM
Aug 27 2008, 08:06 AM
Aug 28 2008, 05:51 PM
Aug 29 2008, 06:52 PM
See? Got to sign for the package. So it's more secure, the posmen can't just leave it on the mailbox.
Nov 18 2008, 02:53 PM
Nov 18 2008, 05:59 PM
Nov 18 2008, 07:18 PM
QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Nov 18 2008, 07:10 PM) Search in ebay... I thought you meant an online retailer. Everybody knows eBay, and we all know we won't get the best price all the time. Usually the cheapest is around RM70-80. RM40-50 is very rare, and usually only low-rated titles. Even that link you provided will cost RM60 already.http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewI...em=300273681014 Another thing, be careful when buying BDs from UK, make sure it's region free before buying. |
Nov 19 2008, 09:50 AM
Guys, read through the pages of this thread. It has been discussed many, many times in this thread, and many other threads. Even in the Audiophilia Objective thread. HDMI is digital. Signal sent is in binary numbers of 0 and 1. Picture or audio quality will not be affected, either you get the signal or not. That's all. The only thing to look for is the physical built quality, durablility, etc.
If we're talking about analogue cables, then yes, different cable could actually bring some difference. What's still debatable is how much improvements each analogue cable can bring versus the price you pay. |
Nov 28 2008, 07:15 AM
You guys are taking advice from cable manufacturers/sellers. They wanna sell their cables!
Fine, in the end it's your money and your eyes/ears. If you can see/hear the difference, good for you. |
Nov 28 2008, 08:10 PM
Check my sig, I will buy the highest end stuff I can afford, and I'm still eager to upgrade. I'm willing to spend more on analogue cables, interconnects and speakers cables. But nope, sorry, not gonna waste on digital cables.
Search and research smartly, don't take everything the salesman telling you. Like I always say, in the end you'll be the one spending the money. Other than the internet, search and research hands-on where you can see and hear. We're here just to share knowledge and experience. |
Nov 29 2008, 08:02 PM
We all know how length can attenuate the signal (this can still be solved by using a booster actually).
Those expensive brands passed the 5m test probably because their cables uses better technology to maintain the bandwidth longer. However, all the expensive "high quality" brands still failed the test at 10m. So that’s about it. At standard 2m length, all of them, cheap or otherwise, passed the test. Now, anyone still want to RM1k for a 2m HDMI cables? PS: Everyone should know by now, there's no such thing as future-proof. We're already talking about a whole new digital display cable now, supposed to be capable of 2160p resolution, the DisplayPort. |
Dec 6 2008, 01:45 PM
QUOTE(myqd @ Dec 6 2008, 01:31 PM) so conclusion is if u need longer HDMI cable like 10m,it's better to choose GOOD HDMI then normal non-brand HDMI cable? The thing is a GOOD hdmi count on length so 10m easily cost u arround RM800-RM1000,so mind to share what's the 10m hdmi cable u guys using now ? I'm only using 2 and 3 meter HDMI cables only because I don't use a projector. Some forumers here use quite a reliable long one but really affordable. Htkaki should know it.This post has been edited by aiman04: Dec 6 2008, 01:46 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0288sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:15 AM |