Home Theatre HDMI CABLE, Cheap & expensive same quality?

robertngo
post Dec 21 2008, 08:27 PM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(swine @ Dec 21 2008, 06:37 PM)
while choosing hdmi cable..some claim suppoting full HD, some are not? so gettting a fullHD hdmi wiser for future proof?
why does HDMI cable material matter? the signal is digital not analog, it either transfer every bit perfectly or it does not work at all, have anyone really see a improvement using gold plated super expensive HDMI cable?
robertngo
post Dec 22 2008, 08:08 AM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Dec 21 2008, 09:52 PM)
how about transfer speed?
dont that affected the quality?

i did see quite different improvement on color and more smooth if compare with gold plated with oem non-gold plated.

Added on December 21, 2008, 9:56 pm

agree...
even usb also 1,0..how come can data lost when transferring large amount data on usb..
i believe it will same concept apply to hdmi
all usb cable at usb 1.0 transfer data at same speed the problem you have should be windows does not copy over some of the files due to timeout, have you see any god plated usb cable that said it is better at data transfer that normal cable? it make no sense because the same usb spec cable will have the same speed, so all HDMI 1.3 version cables should have the some transfer speed because they are same spec.

Added on December 22, 2008, 8:18 am
QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 21 2008, 10:07 PM)

same with HDMI, if signal doesn't go thro properly then you get abrupt video frames error.. not suddenly it become "less" sharp picture or less contrast or reduced resolution... how come people still have those "analog Audio cable" mentality ar?
Monster are depending on this mentality to make money.

This post has been edited by robertngo: Dec 22 2008, 08:18 AM
robertngo
post Dec 23 2008, 11:12 AM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(nadky @ Dec 23 2008, 10:38 AM)
I agreed that both expensive and cheap hdmi cables would be able to meet HDMI 1.3 spec. The only difference between them are the quality of material used, construction method, speed of transfer, etc...
HDMI licensing require company to make cable with lest them one pixel lost per billion during transmission. if you cable is not a fake, it will be make to comply with HDMI spec, there is not risk of performance degradation.
robertngo
post Dec 24 2008, 03:23 PM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Dec 24 2008, 01:42 PM)
i think to buy or not to buy a expensive branded HDMI all still come back to our own decision.The decision u make depends on either u urself can "see or feel" the different,no matter it's real or just mind trick,as long as u urself can tell the different( even it might be just ur mind trick ),and if u can afford it now,i dun see any problem why shouldnt we cant get ourself a better HDMI cable smile.gif

as for me,i was using a 10m OEM HDMI < RM200 and frankly,sometimes during the BDs playback, i do feel the PQ can be better if i change to a better HDMI cable.Recently i bought a 8m QED HDMI cost few hundred rm and i actually found it change the PQ in term of colour saturation.I know some might said it's just my mind  tongue.gif ,ok,maybe it's,but i feel more comfortable with the new cable and i'm happy with it.So if spending few hundred ringgit in a decent HT system and can make myself happy,why not,right?  biggrin.gif

i'm thinking of taking pics with AB comparison these few days,everything same setting,including the camera.I wonder if there's different in PQ,will others say that's becos when process the pics,saved and post,it will affect diff PQ to both pics ?  hmm.gif  Or can anyone enlighten me how to make it "fair" if i want to take pics for the same scene,with diff HDMI cables? Thanks in advance.  thumbup.gif
are the two HDMI cable you compare the same version and speed?

0.0192sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:20 AM