Home Theatre HDMI CABLE, Cheap & expensive same quality?

nadky
post Nov 7 2008, 10:04 AM

117 posts

Try Nordost Wyrewizard or Nordost Silver Screen. Both have very good review. Wyrewizard is ard RM500 while Silver Screen is abt double of it..Significant increase in PQ anf AQ
nadky
post Nov 7 2008, 01:47 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(callmevil @ Nov 7 2008, 01:22 PM)
hehe i call bs on this..

What do u mean?
nadky
post Nov 7 2008, 04:57 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(99below0 @ Nov 7 2008, 04:34 PM)
I agree. Probably an optical illusion... smile.gif
well, check this out...

http://www.hometheaterhifi.com/volume_12_4...005-part-1.html

If you were to compare this to cheap HDMI, of course you would notice the difference. Seeing is believing while the reviews done by experts are complimentary.
nadky
post Nov 7 2008, 10:21 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(rthj @ Nov 7 2008, 05:04 PM)
according to your link...that wyrewizard is quite cheap for those long HDMI cables (10m and 15m)
that's the entry level HDMI from Nordost..It's of 22AWG compared to what we normally would have i.e 26 or 28AWG..

Of course it would not be the best but IMHO, it worth the money spend...

nadky
post Nov 8 2008, 11:51 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(cmw_kwl_6923 @ Nov 8 2008, 11:47 AM)
Brother, 10 feet or 10meter? 10 meter arround 30 feet leh! is that neccessary for the 14' x 11' room? blink.gif
It might be depending where he install the projector and where he place the amplifier...
nadky
post Nov 10 2008, 04:19 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(Darkkopi @ Nov 10 2008, 04:05 PM)
Yes I have, it not only affects HDMI cables, VGA, audio cables etc are also affected, when it's too long, the signal degrades hence if you are going to use such long wires, you need a signal booster.
Yes, you need signal booster unless the HDMI you bought has guarantee from manufacturer (which they normal will mentioned the longest length before signal will be lost) that there'll be no signal lost for certain length. If you exceed that length then you need a booster.
nadky
post Dec 22 2008, 09:22 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 22 2008, 07:22 PM)
just for clarity,.. accept what? that expensive cables does or doesn't make a difference compared to good but cost effective cables?
Just think about this, if you are a businessman, do you 1st invest a lot of money in research, manufacture and sell something that does not has demand? If expensive HDMI cable does not improve PQ and AQ I believe all cable manufacturers would not have their flagship cables.

There are always people who can afford expensive cable, to them, maybe 1k investment to have PQ increase by 10% would worth the money while to some others, it's totally a waste of money. So, it's subjective and whether you think you would want to spend that kind of money.
nadky
post Dec 23 2008, 08:56 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 22 2008, 09:57 PM)
yes, if it improves 10% of the quality then I would even buy them even if it costs 1k.. then that's where the reasoning breaks down, how can a digital cable improve anything? it's just a copper cable not a Hidef Video Processor.. (unlike analog AV cables which can degrade a analog audio/video signal)

still you don't get the gist of what I'm trying to say from a technical point of view.. the USD10 cable and the USD300 cable all pass the HDMI1.3 test.. using super precise  testing equipment loaned by monster cable themselves.

if you say, people want to spend on 1k cable just because they got money, go ahead, that's nothing wrong with that, just don't tell me that a lesser good quality cable won't pass the data thro properly. cos at the end of the day,
it's whether if the digital data goes thro 100% or it doesn't and if it doesn't, you will know it cos it will be abrupt.

it cant make it 5% better or 10% less from it's source to the TV..
why not you write to cable manufacturer who can answer your question? There's no point arguing. Everything sells for a reason.
nadky
post Dec 23 2008, 10:38 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 23 2008, 09:40 AM)

the discussion here is that  people think only expensive cables meets the HDMI 1.3 spec while cheap cables doesn't meet HDMI 1.3 spec.. because that's all you need to care about as far as digital cables are concern whether it meets the spec or not...
I agreed that both expensive and cheap hdmi cables would be able to meet HDMI 1.3 spec. The only difference between them are the quality of material used, construction method, speed of transfer, etc...

0.0323sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:04 PM