Home Theatre HDMI CABLE, Cheap & expensive same quality?

kepco
post Dec 7 2008, 10:38 PM

108 posts

different HDMI version cater for different transfer speed (in lay man term). HDMI 1.3a being the highest transfer speed over non-HDMI 1.3a.

I think everyone agreed that HDMI is inter-changable with DVI (de-facto standard for computer monitor connection ), some one who still believe in expensive HDMI cable, can hook up the HDMI cable ( need two adapter ), then compared with RM10 DVI cable, see whether there is different or not. In PC, 30" monitor need 2xDVI cable instead one DVI cable, why, because more "digital" data need to transfer to support resolution of 2560x1600. ( so, 1920X1080 resolution is still at the bottom of transfer speed).

ar188 quoting good example, the different between USB 2.0 vs e-SATA is the transfer speed, but the "digital" content, a.k.a. "file" is the same after transferring. rclxms.gif

http://www.audioholics.com/education/displ...ng-hdmi-ver-1.3
kepco
post Dec 8 2008, 09:04 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(justone @ Dec 8 2008, 12:20 AM)
for cables, jz get the expensive ones(hdmi or others) when u had nth else to upgrade
lol..some time a man just have to made themselves happy...just like woman buying shoes.
kepco
post Dec 8 2008, 03:22 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 8 2008, 11:45 AM)
haha liddat also can wan ar?  biggrin.gif
like it or not, the "diameter" of Monster HDMI cables is still a wow factor, if someone not familiar with working of HDMI, the impression given by Monster HDMI cable is still impressive. Imagine we can speak loudly to our friend, 'hey, I just spend RM1K++ for this cable', I think the show off effect is the same as flashing a BMW car key at the bar counter.

gosh, sometime I wish i can do that...flashing a BMW car key. cool2.gif
kepco
post Dec 8 2008, 05:39 PM

108 posts

different diameter can be due to use in different material or just simply fall under the category of "the bigger the better".

haha...don't care whether is fully paid out or not, as long as I own a BMW flex.gif

okay, off topic...this is too far off, from HDMI to BMW... rclxub.gif
kepco
post Dec 9 2008, 03:00 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(pillage2001 @ Dec 9 2008, 08:25 AM)
Did we debate about signal integrity instead of the digital is digital thingy??? I think we did....not sure if it was in here.....Other than 1s and 0s, I think the signal integrity is an issue as well.....
if read previous post, signal integrity is discussed, such as:

1) when use long HDMI cable, choosing a HDMI cable need be consider due to signal loss. But as long as cheapo brand can show up sharp/clean picture, then is good to go.
2) Digital cable such as HDMI/DVI doesn't enhanced PQ/Audio unlike analog cable, other equipments such as whether we're using Plasma or LCD, better AV receiver, equipment setting is more prominent than digital cable itself.
3) Digital cable still go back to 0 and 1, is either we have it or don't have it, don't have complexity of analog world for multistage performance in PQ/Audio if different cable is used. (Signal Integrity)

kepco
post Dec 22 2008, 07:40 AM

108 posts

ar188, I solute for your patience. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
kepco
post Dec 22 2008, 06:08 PM

108 posts

no body said cable manufacturing is a simple process, the argument is whether when different price of HDMI cables having meet the same standard is it going to have different in PQ, example, RM100 HDMI ver 1.3 vs RM1000 HDMI ver 1.3 won't give PQ different.

If anyone care to read all the pages and understand simple english do realized that HDMI would have signal loss as well, if someone run it very long. Again, this is nothing to do with PQ.

for the example of the car, let look at this way, why do you think BMW selling Mini One more expensive than Honda, Toyota, Citroen, Renault 1.6 litre car. Is simple, low pricing could damage their branding strategy and their pricing in the market. Same goes to QED/Monster, just imagine if you buy Monster HDMI cable same price as said "Cap Ayam" HDMI cable, what kind of damage will do to thier other products line.

This post has been edited by kepco: Dec 22 2008, 06:14 PM
kepco
post Dec 22 2008, 10:22 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(swine @ Dec 22 2008, 08:41 PM)
seriously a mini cooper will beat altis,civic flat..
mini cooper give u fun and more importantly the "sheer driving pleasure" by bmw
then the selling point is there, is just the consumer need those products or not.. tongue.gif
personally, I owned Monster's HDMI 1080p cable, I just don't see any PQ different between Monster's and those HDMI cable bundled with blu-ray player on my Pioneer 42" plasma. In fact, if anyone using HTPC, then there is others that can affect PQ, such as TV settings, choice of player, source etc.

Yes, if paid more for mini one driving pleasure, than we paid more for a reason, but we merely paid more for mini one just mere want to transport from point A to point B, a Perodua vehicle would just do the trick. Monster HDMI vs Chap Ayam fall under "just mere want to transport from point A to point B, a Perodua vehicle would just do the trick' category. We just want something adhere to the HDMI transfer speed, it just didn't add value beside than that.

kepco
post Dec 23 2008, 12:11 AM

108 posts

harvey selling Monster HDMI between RM800 to ~RM1600
kepco
post Dec 23 2008, 07:12 AM

108 posts

beside BD35, next one is Pioneer Kuro series.

Added on December 23, 2008, 7:23 am
QUOTE(samlee860407 @ Dec 23 2008, 12:13 AM)
for 2m and 3m only wo..... >.<
wonder why this thread is so hot.... rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by kepco: Dec 23 2008, 07:23 AM
kepco
post Dec 23 2008, 03:57 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 23 2008, 11:19 AM)
seriously I dun mind getting those branded cables.. it makes my setup looks nice and complete...  thumbup.gif

but I never for 1second will accept the argument that any lesser priced good quality (no bells and whistles) plain 1.3 spec cable will not be able to pass thro HDMI 1.3 data properly and will result in data corruption of the video.
ar188, we're good friend (in educated way)...I've tons of ohmy.gif ohmy.gif ohmy.gif ohmy.gif from my friends when they look at my HTPC and the monster cables I used. flex.gif flex.gif flex.gif
kepco
post Dec 24 2008, 04:30 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(myqd @ Dec 24 2008, 01:42 PM)
i think to buy or not to buy a expensive branded HDMI all still come back to our own decision.The decision u make depends on either u urself can "see or feel" the different,no matter it's real or just mind trick,as long as u urself can tell the different( even it might be just ur mind trick ),and if u can afford it now,i dun see any problem why shouldnt we cant get ourself a better HDMI cable smile.gif

as for me,i was using a 10m OEM HDMI < RM200 and frankly,sometimes during the BDs playback, i do feel the PQ can be better if i change to a better HDMI cable.Recently i bought a 8m QED HDMI cost few hundred rm and i actually found it change the PQ in term of colour saturation.I know some might said it's just my mind  tongue.gif ,ok,maybe it's,but i feel more comfortable with the new cable and i'm happy with it.So if spending few hundred ringgit in a decent HT system and can make myself happy,why not,right?  biggrin.gif

i'm thinking of taking pics with AB comparison these few days,everything same setting,including the camera.I wonder if there's different in PQ,will others say that's becos when process the pics,saved and post,it will affect diff PQ to both pics ?  hmm.gif  Or can anyone enlighten me how to make it "fair" if i want to take pics for the same scene,with diff HDMI cables? Thanks in advance.  thumbup.gif
and just look at your scene that you are familiar, for myself, I use two scene to tweak my system. One is Transformer where the air control tower glasses is shuttering, and the another one is from King Kong, where the Kong fight with dinosaur, there is a lot leaf moving here and their. (the Kong battle scene is the one that made me spend RM9K to get Kuro after compared with Samsung Plasma )

oh yeah, I trust you also, no need picture since you're not charging anything from the rest of us.

This post has been edited by kepco: Dec 24 2008, 04:32 PM

0.0207sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:29 PM