Yes, it hard to find >30km route around my house, i got bored of driving to places to ride, after ride still need to drive is so dreadful…
This post has been edited by KenC: Mar 11 2018, 09:25 PM
Folding Bicycles V6, Folding bicycle discussion
Mar 11 2018, 09:24 PM
78 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
Look at it at another perspective, you get same workout with shorter distance and slower means safer…
Yes, it hard to find >30km route around my house, i got bored of driving to places to ride, after ride still need to drive is so dreadful… This post has been edited by KenC: Mar 11 2018, 09:25 PM |
Mar 11 2018, 09:56 PM
1,583 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: KEPONG |
Each bike has their purpose... Folding is made for convenience to have the ability to fold to a smaller size to fit for transport....
be it a car, MRT, train or bus.... If you dont want to fold or never take advantage of the folding... then there are other options.... huhu |
Mar 12 2018, 02:42 AM
But so many asking a small wheel recreational FB to beat RB in every aspect at a fraction of RB price… why ah?
Mar 12 2018, 06:38 AM
42 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
QUOTE(gck @ Mar 11 2018, 11:12 AM) that part i will never dispute, some folding rider is faster than road rider. 100% but at equal wattage equal cadence,equal gears, road bike 700c will be faster. so what i did was taking advantage of this as i am not a powerful rider, road give me easier ride easier effort. |
Mar 12 2018, 10:49 AM
261 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
QUOTE(KenC @ Mar 12 2018, 01:42 AM) But so many asking a small wheel recreational FB to beat RB in every aspect at a fraction of RB price… why ah? It's an open discussion. No harm to widen the scope of possibilities. whether we, as an individuality, are capable of it, is another matter. at JCR last year, there's one dude riding a java minivelo with a TT bar beating the crap out of many rb riders, all through the 160km distance, but rightly so, he was disqualified, because that event only allow rb and mtb so if the question is, which is faster, rb or fb (stock vs stock). RB. hands down. Can we build fb to go as fast as rb? Yes, it's very possible. Can you do it? Ask your leg. I couldn't, but i would try my best to be respectful to others who might have interest in it. Why not, right? |
Mar 12 2018, 02:46 PM
140 posts Joined: Nov 2010 From: ieypoh |
get a full sized folding bike if u wanna feel like one....
in this case, ![]() do question urself, bike only a medium. maybe it will help u around 30% in cycling, but another 70% is ur effort and leg. if u give peter sagan a cheap rm300 16" folding bike also i doubt u can beat him with 50k roadbike 🤔 dont upgrade ur ride, rides upgrade! |
Mar 12 2018, 04:55 PM
423 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Seoul |
QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Mar 12 2018, 02:46 PM) get a full sized folding bike if u wanna feel like one.... Spotted duraace c24, which one u recommend racing zero or DA24?in this case, ![]() do question urself, bike only a medium. maybe it will help u around 30% in cycling, but another 70% is ur effort and leg. if u give peter sagan a cheap rm300 16" folding bike also i doubt u can beat him with 50k roadbike 🤔 dont upgrade ur ride, rides upgrade! |
Mar 12 2018, 05:42 PM
Still it doesn't answer my question… why ppl keep comparing FD to RD and expect FD to beat the crap out of RB or else they will spit and bash on FB ?
This post has been edited by KenC: Mar 12 2018, 05:42 PM |
Mar 12 2018, 05:47 PM
423 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Seoul |
QUOTE(KenC @ Mar 12 2018, 05:42 PM) Still it doesn't answer my question… why ppl keep comparing FD to RD and expect FD to beat the crap out of RB or else the spit on FB? Aiseh..u know i know everybody know its all self ego and syok sendiri oni.Small wheel smoked big wheel.thats hell of achievementin fact i oso feel good when ppl compliment that i completed brm200 on 20inch |
Mar 12 2018, 06:04 PM
140 posts Joined: Nov 2010 From: ieypoh |
QUOTE(mizi28 @ Mar 12 2018, 04:55 PM) duraace c24 is an ultimate climbing wheelset. with my doppel weight around 15kg without wheelset, i adopt the duraace to maintain the weight not too heavy. besides, my duraace c24 is carbon rim with aluminium brake wall. the duraace still used traditional bearing and easy to service.where else, the racing zero for me a bit pricey than it should be but racing zero is one of the best all rounder wheelset. i would go for carbon rims instead of the racing zero. |
Mar 12 2018, 08:28 PM
1,874 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Malacca |
Couldn't wait myself and bought a java pro 3 in d end...
Grey with yellow colour... Initial ride was okok only,feels the bike not that fast... Maybe is because my weight,and too long nv cycle and exercise... Will train myself to cycle start from around 1 hr per day,till my stamina is stable den maybe will join group cycle... Btw,is it normal for folding bike to have some ding ding,like brake cable hitting body sound,or some metal to metal hitting... And ngek ngek ngek like d body kena bend sound with folding bike? Both not alwaz,jz sometimes,maybe going over bumps... |
Mar 12 2018, 09:29 PM
1,583 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: KEPONG |
QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Mar 12 2018, 08:28 PM) Couldn't wait myself and bought a java pro 3 in d end... No such sound one wor.... maybe get some cable tie and tie up some loose endGrey with yellow colour... Initial ride was okok only,feels the bike not that fast... Maybe is because my weight,and too long nv cycle and exercise... Will train myself to cycle start from around 1 hr per day,till my stamina is stable den maybe will join group cycle... Btw,is it normal for folding bike to have some ding ding,like brake cable hitting body sound,or some metal to metal hitting... And ngek ngek ngek like d body kena bend sound with folding bike? Both not alwaz,jz sometimes,maybe going over bumps... |
Mar 12 2018, 10:49 PM
QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Mar 12 2018, 08:28 PM) Couldn't wait myself and bought a java pro 3 in d end... What is your weight?Grey with yellow colour... Initial ride was okok only,feels the bike not that fast... Maybe is because my weight,and too long nv cycle and exercise... Will train myself to cycle start from around 1 hr per day,till my stamina is stable den maybe will join group cycle... Btw,is it normal for folding bike to have some ding ding,like brake cable hitting body sound,or some metal to metal hitting... And ngek ngek ngek like d body kena bend sound with folding bike? Both not alwaz,jz sometimes,maybe going over bumps... How fast you consider fast? |
Mar 13 2018, 11:01 AM
36 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
ngek ngek lube all the folding parts.
it is frame flex. the reason why i am very careful when it comes to folding frame |
Mar 13 2018, 02:57 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
1,874 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Malacca |
I am 90++ kg...
178cm... Maybe i nv reali get into folding bike before,jz tried a few times with short period... Slow is like 1 paddle round is shorter compare to bigger bike,maybe still haven't biasa... Ok bro,lube with wd40? Or other type of oil? |
Mar 13 2018, 04:25 PM
QUOTE(mizi28 @ Mar 12 2018, 04:47 PM) Aiseh..u know i know everybody know its all self ego and syok sendiri oni.Small wheel smoked big wheel.thats hell of achievement that's a hell of an achievement indeed. it's a testimony from my friend who participated in the Johor Century Ride, and no, we don't know who the rider is. All that i know is, the rider is bloody fast, my friend couldn't keep up with him (he was on rb and he's by no means is weak as i personally know him), so.. in fact i oso feel good when ppl compliment that i completed brm200 on 20inch i apologised if my sharing is considered self ego and syok sendiri. i have stated previously, i myself are nowhere capable of riding with such intensity. but whether such riding are doable on a fb, i would still say yes. like azam said previously, it's all about the rider. and as someone else wrote before, get the gearing right, then u're good to go. congrats on your BRM200. that's one hell of an achievement too. peace |
Mar 13 2018, 04:31 PM
Mar 13 2018, 04:37 PM
QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Mar 13 2018, 02:57 PM) I am 90++ kg... Change gigantic chainring and you will make you small wheel become big wheel.178cm... Maybe i nv reali get into folding bike before,jz tried a few times with short period... Slow is like 1 paddle round is shorter compare to bigger bike,maybe still haven't biasa... Ok bro,lube with wd40? Or other type of oil? There… another guy expect small wheel same like big wheel… 90kg is light la… WD40 is not lube… it's actually anti-lube. Go Mr DIY to buy some real lube. |
Mar 17 2018, 10:18 AM
0 posts Joined: May 2010 |
Good day foldies!
I recently acquired myself a new Dahon Route as a birthday gift. Been riding 10-20km every weekend for past month and currently struck with a bad case of "upgradetitis" Could you guys show me the light and what is needed (including estimated price) to upgrade my bike from a 7 speed to 9? (possibly 10 if it's not too expensive) Also, do I need to change my crankset for the upgrade? Looking forward to your advice! Thanks a million Oh, here's my bike ![]() |
Mar 17 2018, 10:32 AM
Money is all you need
To have 9speed, you neeed new hubs. Usually a pair of new hubs are as expensive as a pair of new wheels. Hence majority replace their wheelset. Than you need shifters, rear derailleur and Cassatte for 9 speed. Before you buy Cassatte and rear derailleur, you need to ask yourself what gear range suits you best. Price varies widely. From 400 for wheelset to thousands. Group set from 100 to thousands.... This post has been edited by KenC: Mar 17 2018, 10:35 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0321sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:15 PM |