Folding Bicycles V6, Folding bicycle discussion

fatani
post Aug 22 2017, 03:41 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(gck @ Aug 22 2017, 12:42 PM)
i need curl, brompton is an status symbol and a bit not affordable to me.
Hope Curl will be below 5k that would be a sweet pricing spot.
I am waiting eagerly to buy one.
i'm hoping it's around 3-4k range. 5k is already near brommie's price territory. status symbol or not, it still screams quality in it's workmanship and the price of the used brommie doesnt drop too much. it has it's values.

brommies copies, when u see it in real life, really lacks in terms of finishing works and the folding capabilities is not as neat as the brommies. well, probably the curl will not fall in the same categories as those china copies anyway. chedech provides brommie carbon fame lookalike, but when you fold it, you cant roll it. and it lacks front fender too.

there's always pros and cons with these copies, with the most obvious pros is the price. it's either whether you can live with the cons.
fatani
post Aug 22 2017, 03:51 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Aug 22 2017, 01:13 PM)
i just checked,

on Nava bike thailand FB posted on 30 Jun,

they are taking orders for limited edition of Curl I8 for 35900 thai baht which roughly is 4.6++ K RM  biggrin.gif

and in singapore the price for this limited edition is 2600SGD which is about 8.181K RM .... rclxms.gif
8k? that's basically more expensive than 2017 B rclxub.gif doh.gif
fatani
post Aug 29 2017, 01:53 AM

261 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Aug 28 2017, 06:13 AM)
lets have some ride!
Me too. While i am in pd right now, took the chance to cycle around. I guess that's one of the advantages of having a foldie. You can basically take it anywhere you want, without taking too much space in your car, and you dont need a bike rack at your car too. biggrin.gif

fatani
post Aug 30 2017, 03:56 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(yothim @ Aug 30 2017, 11:11 AM)
thanks....so far, Java is the one with the best specs but concern is the seller. and/or after sales service. whatsapp seems like doesnt want to reply.

USJ Cycle - a little bit pricey but review/service seems to be good.
Elegant Bike - cheapest but review and replies seems to be slacking.
Kimbell Jaya - not sure the price but the review seems to be bad especially the service.
in terms of pricing, kimbell i think offer the cheapest folding bikes in klang valley. USJ Cycle is not a 'little' pricey, instead it's blardy expensive. biggrin.gif i bought my dahon speed at kimbell around 1.9k. usj price? rm2.6k! that's rm700 difference for THE SAME BIKE!..

for servicing, any LBS can do it for you. for simple tuning, normal rate is around rm20-30 oni. or for the cheaper option, learn to DIY. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by fatani: Aug 30 2017, 04:00 PM
fatani
post Sep 6 2017, 10:40 AM

261 posts

QUOTE(KenC @ Sep 6 2017, 02:41 AM)
Tern D9 comes with 52T 1x gives 28-93GI (gear inch), so 53T don't make much difference, a realistic 56T @11t will give approx 100GI would be nice, 60 is ideal but don't see them selling very often.
39T @36t will give about 21GI, can climb up a vertical wall liao tongue.gif
56/39 double chainring gives 21-100GI and more higher cadance workout wink.gif
I assume you consider 30km/h as "fast". If you want >40kmh, get a kapchai.
AFAIK, 56 kenot pair with 39. normally 56-46, 52-42, 52-36, 53-39, 60-53. donno for what reasons, just got the info from my mech friends. i could be wrong though. sweat.gif
fatani
post Sep 6 2017, 10:54 AM

261 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Sep 5 2017, 06:02 PM)
Climb hill and fast straight road.
11-36t is already more than enough to climb any hill..for many, 52-11 is already fast enough on the straight. 30++kmh is totally easily doable on the flat. my guess is, the reason why you felt it is not enough on the straight is due to the bigger jumps in the cassette. and why you felt it is not enough for climbing is probably because of the 52t chainring. yours is using MTB components. the cheaper option is as suggested by other forummers, upgrade to double chainring. IMO, 53-39 is already sufficient. to change the jumps ratio in the cassette, i guess there's no other options but to change to RB cassette, but then, you need different rd, shifters and probably chains as well (if u upgrade it to 10 speed). better change the whole groupset. biggrin.gif sweat.gif

one other option is, which is the cheapest of all and most probably has been said too many times, which is, ride more, and at the same time, before you know it, you'll be also upgrading your legs and lungs icon_rolleyes.gif

edit: wait, i just noticed. upgrading to double chainrings also means you need to add fd and shifter as well on your list. wink.gif

This post has been edited by fatani: Sep 6 2017, 02:19 PM
fatani
post Sep 6 2017, 02:21 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Sep 6 2017, 12:26 PM)
That's probably true  according to the spec sheet. This is because the front derailleurs can shift maximum 16 teeth difference on shifting, like 53/39 is a 14 teeth difference. So, it's OK. So if you have 56/39T , that's 17 teeth difference which is one teeth too many already. It might work but maybe not as smooth la. So, if it is 56 teeth chainring, it is better to pair  with 42 teeth smaller chianring which is quite common as the older triples uses it.
oh now i see it. thanks sifu, for mentioning the reasons behind it. cheers.gif
fatani
post Sep 13 2017, 11:33 AM

261 posts

Mine oso same like azam. But instead of pump, i prefer co2. Smaller. Stuffed em all in the bag (saddle bag, handlebar bag, tt bag). I dont bring wallet when cycling. Just important stuff like ic and a few rm, enough to pay for my food.
fatani
post Sep 19 2017, 04:39 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(gck @ Sep 19 2017, 10:37 AM)
Kimbell jaya, nice well stocked shop, been there a few times wanting to buy a bike.
However each time i went there i was always served by foreign worker, ask for explanation or price, he run upstairs to check with boss, every thing check with boss.
after a while i also give up..
to their credit the price is reasonable and the shop is well stocked.
i just hope that someone that can communicate well with me come and at least serve me..

okok,i complained too much
first time i went there, was entertained by local worker. he was patient with all of my questions. the boss oso answer some of the questions. i think his name is jimmy or something. it was during peak hours. they were having sales. lots of customers that time. i end up purchasing a bike. after a few months, found out my BB was damaged due the installation of the dahon roller stand using a different bolt, as instructed by jimmy (i still remember the foreign worker asking verfication whether can use those bolt or not, and his boss just say ya ya can can).

the 2nd time i went there, the experience is, pretty much like yours. instead this time, nobody even care to entertain me. even go ask jimmy few questions, (i was searching for an rb that time), but i got the so so replies, and he seems to give more attention on 2 of his other customers who edi purchase a couple of road bikes. other staff? didnt even bother.

with those 2 visits, has really lowered down my enthusiasm to do a third visit. they do have a wide range of choices for folding bikes, and with very competitive price too, but, i think that's is all about it with that shop.
fatani
post Oct 10 2017, 03:21 PM

261 posts

cap ayam fb

fatani
post Oct 20 2017, 08:43 AM

261 posts

QUOTE(lazyman@home @ Oct 19 2017, 04:58 PM)
oh? i thought u setup it like your tern, using all high end stuff. I saw a lot bike with 8 speed come with 11-32 cassette, while 9 speed and above, mostly with 11-28. Thinking of 8 speed 11-32, wonder if the gap is big between cogs..
it depends on what are you expecting from your ride. are u a speedy gonzalez or just normal santai2 kinda guy.

my dahon speed is using 11-32t 8 speed with 52/42 chainring. good for all terrain. i can still get good speed with it.
for faster group rides, i use my cap ayam bikes, 11-25 (sometimes 11-28) 10 speed with 53/39 chainring. why? i need those close ratio just to keep up with the rb in the groups. and lungs. and legs too rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by fatani: Oct 21 2017, 09:35 AM
fatani
post Oct 21 2017, 09:42 AM

261 posts

QUOTE(KenC @ Oct 20 2017, 12:23 PM)
Sifu Azam got strong legs, single speed also can handle. wink.gif

With 42/52T chainring and 11-32t, lowest gear 42/32 x 15 = 22.5 gear in, same as my lowest gear (36T chainring and 34t @451), which is just enough for this over aged obese Cyclist. the highest gearing gives 52/11 x 15 = 70.9gear in)
My 451 gets 97 gear inch with 52T, 11t. Don't have to spin like hamster on the flat and downhill. Usually 80~90rpm.
With 11-28t cassette, you really don't want to go below 20 gear in.  Meaning 39T chainring (20~53 gear inch ) goof for climb Cameron twice a week without coming down. Otherwise 42T to get 22.5 - 57 gear inch which you have to spin more than 140rpm to catch up with anyone else with Bigger wheel and double chainring.

Fuyoo… sifu Azamnecrone really spin like hamster ohmy.gif

This is the 1st time I do gear inch calculation on a 16in wheel, looking at these ridiculous numbers!  why wouldn't more ppl use internal gear hub on them? Really puzzled…
Wow. 80-90rpm. Ur cadence is way higher than mine. My comfortable rpm is only at 61. Highest is around 110+. But that's normally during steep climb on mtb. Higher cadence will surely shoot my heart rate way faster.hehe
fatani
post Oct 23 2017, 11:13 AM

261 posts

QUOTE(KenC @ Oct 21 2017, 03:11 PM)
80-90rpm is what I can sustain for 1-2hours, anything higher my heart rate will overshoot like mad. 61rpm is really nice for a while,but after 1 hour, I either die of boredom or cramp.
One is definitely not a competitive rider, just want to do aerobic exercise for 1~2 hours. And to do that 80-90rpm consistently over any sort of terrain works best. In my case, top speed is never a concern other than bragging on strava, but I always keep an eye on my average speed and minimum lapse time.(I.e. less stops and rest if I could help it tongue.gif ) which is important to get home before the gate is locked…

Ahhhh… now you know why enough low gear is important to me tongue.gif
QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Oct 21 2017, 06:59 PM)
how long can u will pedal ur bike speed above 35kmj?

thats why i adopt 53t with 11t on the rear. cadence around 110rpm or higher can get above 35kmh. internal hub maybe in future, but as for time being im comfort with external gear as i had many spareparts lying olat my house.

3-4hours pedalling with 80rpm and above for me no problem. i always target 90rpm most the time..this method will drop when i endurance climb such as fraser. usually when climbing i will maintain 65-80rpm but mostly i will get around 60-70rpm.

aiya, wanna go fast get motorcycle.. no need to pedal, just press the throthle laugh.gif
wow! really salute lah both of you guys! high cadence pedallers thumbsup.gif ..i know i cant do that. sweat.gif

most of the time (probably 70-80%), im always on 53-11/12, so 60-70 rpm has been the most comfortable pedalling efficiency for me. anything higher, i'll be kong immediately tongue.gif . average speed normally around 25kmh saja bye.gif
fatani
post Oct 31 2017, 02:47 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(dizismine @ Oct 31 2017, 09:08 AM)
Hello.
I am newbie in folding bike world and hook up with the foldie when I saw one.
I am thinking of looking for a foldie for myself but still not sure what are the thing that I should aware of. (still clueless of the terminology).
Anyway, I would say that my budget is about RM1K, looking for touring/long distance type, manageable going uphill and downhill. The 20" kinda catch my attention.
Any suggestion on the brand?
Thank you in advance.
hunt for a used dahon chromoly framed bike. really comfy for touring/long distance travelling. maybe need to increase your budget a bit. but it'll be well worth it.
fatani
post Nov 1 2017, 09:02 AM

261 posts

QUOTE(dizismine @ Oct 31 2017, 05:34 PM)
I see. Which dahon do you suggest?
I also saw some people use Java or Trinx but not sure about which. Thus asking otai here for info. Hehe.
Thank you for the info as I do not mind for a used one but unfortunately I am in Sarawak.
sifu azam basically already wrote what i want to reply. sweat.gif

just to add up a bit, i got an alu TRS Victor, which shares identical frame design with java fit, and a dahon speed. If for TOURING purpose, i'd pick the dahon anyday, anytime. put a brooks, double chainring, and off you go! Layannn.
fatani
post Nov 2 2017, 12:13 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(gck @ Nov 2 2017, 10:09 AM)
I cycle almost weekly to dragonback near bukit ramlee there.
i share with you my experience, first started on road bike, front 34t behind 28t, cannot make it up, need to stop a few times before can climb up.
Thereafter i change the to rear 34t front remain 34t, can make it already but also tiring, there i train for more than 1 year slowly i can climb with 34t front and behind 26t. Now I can go even lower than 26t but using 26t is effortless.
I don't have powerful legs nor light bike, my khs cheapest roadbike alone weight 10kg. the thing is it takes time to train up your leg, Last shah alam endurance ride, i see a lot of cervelo, sworks, bla bla all push up the same hill.
So no shortcut, one hill at a time,slowly you will conquer it all...
true that. Amen thumbup.gif

though i had a sinister satisfaction when i pass over those cervelo s works bla bla bla during events with my cheapo TRS foldy. it was like having a sinister laugh inside devil.gif . but still, i cant deny that i very much envy their bikes. will get one of those roadies once i have sufficient fund. wub.gif
fatani
post Nov 3 2017, 11:40 AM

261 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Nov 3 2017, 08:34 AM)
actually, how far can 7 speed go? i look at java and dahon, their 7 speed range easily cost 1k and above already
it can go as far as you can actually manage to paddle. what matter is not the number of speed it can gives you, but about the number of teeth in the cogs/cassette, and whether you can cope with the ratio it offers compared to your pedalling cadence.

eg : rb 11-25 10 speed has smaller ratio ratio than 11-28. close ratio. 11 speed add one more ratio, you get 1 extra smaller ratio. it wont matter to some people, but that extra teeth will make a difference when u are out for spirited ride/competing. that's why rb is using close ratio cassette, less time being a harmster, energy spent wisely on the road.

mtb use wider ratio cassette, and smaller chainrings due to the trail it's ridden. let's say. 11-36. that 36 is needed for steep climb. it wont be suitable for faster rides like rb, because it is not catered for that kind of rides. the groupset is designed so that rider may tackle any kind of trail or climbs they may encountered.

as for foldies, i have used both mtb and rb setups for cassette, 11-36/11-28/11-25. since we mostly ride on the road, the best for me is using close gear ratio. the number of speeds wont really matter much for my needs. my dahon still use 8 speeds 11-32 cassette, and my TRS using 10 speeds 11-28 cassettes. if i want faster ride, i use the bike with the 10 speed for the close ratio it offer, if i want a santai ride, that 8 speed is more than sufficient. both can easily be ridden for 100km no prob.
fatani
post Nov 3 2017, 11:42 AM

261 posts

QUOTE(gck @ Nov 3 2017, 10:14 AM)
I just got back from Lerun Warehouse sales.
Managed to catch one Tern P24 for RM300.
I am still in the state of shock as i type.
They claimed got defect but i cannot see any.
Even for parts it is worth it.
2 Schwalbe Marathon Tyres New
etc etc...
what?!!!! shocking.gif

sell to me rm350. rm50 profit thumbup.gif
fatani
post Dec 7 2017, 11:57 AM

261 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Dec 3 2017, 02:19 PM)
and since its 700c folding bike, i had to cycle with others roadbike. bad news is, i need to double my effort on pedalling to keep up with them since the bike nearly 15kg++ twice the weight of their bike laugh.gif

when it comes to flat, or a bit rolling i can keep up. climbing?hahahha.. need to push more on heavy bike laugh.gif
sometimes i add more weight on my dahon speed. 15kg more load on the rack (my son) and riding on dragonbacks. really good to train your legs. laugh.gif

p/s: i do find training with mtb helps strengthen my legs.

This post has been edited by fatani: Dec 7 2017, 11:59 AM
fatani
post Dec 14 2017, 11:24 AM

261 posts

Guilty as well. Bought ANOTHER folding bike last Saturday. Just this time, it's for my kid. Hook it up to my MTB, now i have a tandem..more excuses for me to ride more..hehe.. wife kenot complain anymore. kid is happy, im happy, wife also can get some time to rest at home while we were biking.so everybody happy..win2.heeeheee

This post has been edited by fatani: Dec 14 2017, 11:30 AM

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1137sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:00 AM