126 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

New Proton Persona VVT 2016 - Official Thread V2, Its New, Its Refined, Its Safe ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

cheeshong
post Mar 6 2017, 04:01 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(Ashhh @ Mar 6 2017, 03:17 PM)
I asked the Service Advisor when I tried to go for engine oil replacement @ 5K.
Their answer is that semi-synthetic engine oil can go max @ 10K ; while fully-synthetic can go beyond 10K.

Is this true, though?
Can anyone advise. Thanks  smile.gif
it's true. But practically, is not a good practice actually.
First thing, the oil is inside our engine, noone knows the oil's condition after x km of run. You can't drain and see, you can't suck it up and see, the only thing you can see the oil is from the dipstick. As the engine oil is the only lubricant that maintains the engine's lifetime, it's a better practice to change it earlier rather than using until the life span limit of the engine oil. If you want to take care of your car's heart, you are recommended to do oil change before even reaching the service mileage. For example , 500km before your next service date. Some say rugi to service earlier but long term, you prolong your engine's lifespan.
akariitagami
post Mar 6 2017, 04:28 PM

Anyone still got shift gear slow response issue for MT after more than 3k mileage?

nejordida
post Mar 6 2017, 04:34 PM

QUOTE(jlyeow @ Mar 6 2017, 12:24 PM)
Hi nejordida,

Finally someone from the same channel!  laugh.gif

This treble distortion issue started when I was still with my iPhone 5 (playing on the same HU as the current one). However I don't have the hissing noise when it's on AUX cable so I suspect it could be due to poor quality AUX cable, or probably it's picking up those electrical disturbances. I do get some alternator whining noise when the AUX cable is not properly plugged in (to either HU or phone) and what I'd do is just simply shove it in and give it a good left-right twist and it's good to go.

Whenever my phone is on AUX and charging cable simultaneously (via car charger), I do get very minimal electrical buzzing noise but as soon as the music plays through, that noise just doesn't bother me much.

Try get a decent AUX cable and see if it's still picking up the unwanted noises.

Cheers.  :thumbsup:
Hi jlyeow,
I tried with a different, better quality (Phillips) aux cable and now it sounds better than before.

Thanks buddy!
jlyeow
post Mar 6 2017, 05:02 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(nejordida @ Mar 6 2017, 04:34 PM)
Hi jlyeow,
I tried with a different, better quality (Phillips) aux cable and now it sounds better than before.

Thanks buddy!
Hi nejordida,

Good to hear that you've solved the AUX cable issue.

I read through several articles about the treble distortion issue via Bluetooth audio streaming. Some say you have to reduce the treble via the EQ in the phone setting. I have yet to try it hence I cannot comment much. Perhaps you can try it out? I'm gonna try mine this evening to see if it works.

Settings > Music > EQ > Treble Reducer

Good luck mate! wink.gif
Boss262
post Mar 6 2017, 06:17 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Mar 5 2017, 12:01 PM)
Yeah.. I do feel FC is getting better..

by the way how's the acceleration of the car? Is it linear now?
mine it's still as good as the day I changed the stop switch lamp  biggrin.gif
Still the same as ever but I actually grow accustomed to it and learn how to drive to prevent power lost smile.gif

QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Mar 5 2017, 06:34 PM)
Don't understand how you calculate it. How did you get the 34.28L? And how do you know 2 bars represent 11.428L? From my experience with a few cars, the fuel sensor and gauge are not linear actually. The first few bars will last longer than the last few.

Anyway to get an accurate calculation, why don't you just fill up full tank again? That would be your fuel consumed for 380KM.
It's just the same basic concept like fill in and drive till your tank is empty but mine I don't have the strength to continue driving.
For the calculation 2 bar = 11.428l, for general assumption 40l/7bar (fuel bar), I know sometimes the bar represent aren't not consistent and accurate
but hey we won't know the correct accuracy unless we zeroed the tank and fill in from the start and then zeroed it back, I'm pretty sure proton has done this thing for us.
We can actually assume 95% of the correct estimation. There are some correction, corrected on the previous calculation.

Fuel Estimation when fill in,

Before Travel
26.8l fuel refill
5.714 fuel left before refill (1 bar left)
______
32.514l total fuel

After Travel
32.514l total fuel
11.428l left after travel
______
21.086l Used

Distance Travel 380KM/21.086l fuel used.
18.024 KM/l

It's seems good to be true though, I'll tested it again this week, going back to perak again this week will record everything on paper.

davidletterboyz
post Mar 6 2017, 08:24 PM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(Boss262 @ Mar 6 2017, 06:17 PM)
Still the same as ever but I actually grow accustomed to it and learn how to drive to prevent power lost smile.gif
It's just the same basic concept like fill in and drive till your tank is empty but mine I don't have the strength to continue driving.
For the calculation 2 bar = 11.428l, for general assumption 40l/7bar (fuel bar), I know sometimes the bar represent aren't not consistent and accurate
but hey we won't know the correct accuracy unless we zeroed the tank and fill in from the start and then zeroed it back, I'm pretty sure proton has done this thing for us.
We can actually assume 95% of the correct estimation. There are some correction, corrected on the previous calculation.
Fuel Estimation when fill in,

Before Travel
26.8l fuel refill
5.714 fuel left before refill (1 bar left)
______
32.514l total fuel

After Travel
32.514l total fuel
11.428l left after travel
______
21.086l Used
Distance Travel 380KM/21.086l fuel used.
18.024 KM/l

It's seems good to be true though, I'll tested it again this week, going back to perak again this week will record everything on paper.
Too good to be true like I said the meter is not linear haha. But then I could be wrong because I don't own a Persona VVT yet. tongue.gif

Actually you don't need to empty the fuel tank to know how much you had used. Just fill up full tank and reset your trip mileage. On the next refill, fill up full tank again. The second refill volume is how much fuel you had used up in that trip. Divide your trip mileage with that volume = KM/L.

If you want even more accurate, make the fuel guns jump three times in each refill. tongue.gif at the same pump. tongue.gif
Chinifity
post Mar 6 2017, 09:09 PM

QUOTE(akariitagami @ Mar 6 2017, 04:28 PM)
Anyone still got shift gear slow response issue for MT after more than 3k mileage?
Any solution for it ?
paganizonda
post Mar 6 2017, 09:31 PM

QUOTE(drsmallkid @ Mar 2 2017, 11:41 PM)
I mean totaled fuel topped up is 42.39L, in multiple refueling la rclxs0.gif  for 450KM Odometer.
Back then in my saga fl if the petrol tank is full the fuel will leak out. Will this happen to my persona also? I will pump my car once my range says 50km with fuel indicator blinking and i always pump Rm75 which is 32.6L of fuel. How much more can i pump without spilling fuel out of the tank? If thats possible. hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif
paganizonda
post Mar 6 2017, 09:32 PM

QUOTE(lawtm @ Mar 4 2017, 01:30 PM)
Hi All. How much highest discount given by sc for Persona????
1.5k kawkaw for 2017 premium model
drsmallkid
post Mar 6 2017, 10:39 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(tokdukun @ Mar 6 2017, 05:00 PM)
1. Screen wash, petrol treatment not standard. Should opt out these two.

You oil 10W-40 or 10W-30? If 40, then it's old one, pricier. After this, insist the new one, your engine can take thinner 30 viscosity.

2. 10k, as per manual book say, mineral, semi, or full, all also 10k interval. Ignore the SC, they just want more money. I just serviced mine recently, despite using full synthetic, SC put sticker change at 5k  mad.gif
They gave you 10W-30? At what price?
Oh wait..fully syn is 5W-30? What price?
Why the heck do they give me an older/pricer engine oil!!?? ranting.gif
cheeshong
post Mar 6 2017, 10:48 PM

71 posts

QUOTE(drsmallkid @ Mar 6 2017, 10:39 PM)
why say 10w40 is "older" engine oil?
10w40 and 10w30 different in the viscosity. There's no "new" or "old" meaning here.

New cars should use thinner viscosity, preferably 5w30 / 10w30
tokdukun
post Mar 6 2017, 11:41 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(drsmallkid @ Mar 6 2017, 10:39 PM)
New range got mineral 15W-40 costs RM75 excl GST.

10W-30 semi should cost RM100 excl GST.

Full syn 5W-30 costs RM180 excl GST.

Make sure next time they give you Syntium SE with Cooltech feature.

QUOTE(cheeshong @ Mar 6 2017, 10:48 PM)
why say 10w40 is "older" engine oil?
10w40 and 10w30 different in the viscosity. There's no "new" or "old" meaning here.

New cars should use thinner viscosity, preferably 5w30 / 10w30
Find paul tan blog, late last year Proton launch with Petronas new Syntium SE (supposed to stand for Serviced at Edar as in Proton Edar) range with 3 choices I mentioned above. They're all API SN too. Also, they're said to only be available at Proton SC, so should not be that easily available outside.

10W-40 must be the older Syntium with API SM and no Cooltech feature.
TSzero5177
post Mar 7 2017, 12:21 AM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,553 posts

QUOTE(whatsup9891 @ Mar 6 2017, 12:42 PM)
Nearly come to my 1000km, any recommendation on service center around PJ or KJ?

form this tread Rate Your Proton Service Center

its look like Senaxis is good, anyone been there?

Can walk in or need appointment?
If you have any issue need them to attend, I would suggest COSE at Shah Alam, normal oil change, any service centre should be ok.

QUOTE(akariitagami @ Mar 6 2017, 04:28 PM)
QUOTE(Chinifity @ Mar 6 2017, 09:09 PM)
Any solution for it ?
I don't suffer such power lost anymore... acceleration is much linear now... some other part also due to I got accustomed to it on releasing the clutch for a more linear acceleration.. ofcourse if I release clutch too quick, I'll still feel the pull back, but this pull back also exist on my other ride if clutch released too quick. Atleast now going up hill I don't have to pedal down so much as compared to before I change the switch stop lamp rclxm9.gif

QUOTE(davidletterboyz @ Mar 6 2017, 08:24 PM)
Too good to be true like I said the meter is not linear haha. But then I could be wrong because I don't own a Persona VVT yet. tongue.gif

Actually you don't need to empty the fuel tank to know how much you had used. Just fill up full tank and reset your trip mileage. On the next refill, fill up full tank again. The second refill volume is how much fuel you had used up in that trip. Divide your trip mileage with that volume = KM/L.

If you want even more accurate, make the fuel guns jump three times in each refill. tongue.gif at the same pump. tongue.gif
There were twice where the fuel overflow at just 1st click even I fixed the nozzle gauge at lowest pressure... that's why I never use the 3 clicks method before on this car sweat.gif

This post has been edited by zero5177: Mar 7 2017, 12:23 AM
davidletterboyz
post Mar 7 2017, 09:28 AM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Mar 7 2017, 12:21 AM)

There were twice where the fuel overflow at just 1st click even I fixed the nozzle gauge at lowest pressure... that's why I never use the 3 clicks method before on this car  sweat.gif
In that case you just pump for 1 click in each refueling. tongue.gif The idea is just to get apple to apple comparison. Best is same station same pump. hahaha
itekderp
post Mar 7 2017, 04:07 PM

674 posts

Very interested in this car, sweet price for what you get. Now going through this thread.
alanyuppie
post Mar 7 2017, 04:14 PM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(itekderp @ Mar 7 2017, 05:07 PM)
Very interested in this car, sweet price for what you get. Now going through this thread.
Best bang for your ringgit, seriously.
hassansafdarali1
post Mar 7 2017, 05:54 PM

Hi Just Made an Emergency Chat Group for Our Community .

Please use it for emergencies and when you panic .

Request Senior Members to join as well .

https://chat.whatsapp.com/invite/9Dq6x6ILHWiFU3ZY0HLaP5
skynet2020
post Mar 7 2017, 06:18 PM

I have booked my first 1km service this saturday at SC.

May i know if there is any charges that i need to pay or is it going to be free service as per promotion when i bought the car - my SA told me i will got 2 years free service
tat3406
post Mar 7 2017, 07:08 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(skynet2020 @ Mar 7 2017, 06:18 PM)
I have booked my first 1km service this saturday at SC.

May i know if there is any charges that i need to pay or is it going to be free service as per promotion when i bought the car - my SA told me i will got 2 years free service
no need to pay anything if u have free services.
skynet2020
post Mar 7 2017, 07:44 PM

QUOTE(tat3406 @ Mar 7 2017, 07:08 PM)
no need to pay anything if u have free services.
Icic..thanks bro

126 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0239sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:43 AM