4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

New Proton Persona VVT 2016 - Official Thread V2, Its New, Its Refined, Its Safe ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

paganizonda
post Feb 27 2017, 10:33 PM

Hey guys, just got my persona cvt premium last week and the mileage now is 300km+ still breaking in carefully. When i'm driving on a bumpy road the centre dashboard will start to rattle, besides that on the day of the delivery itself the reverse camera was faulty. Sent to sc this morning and they cant fix the problem ask me go to proton sc at sungai besi to fix it. Besdies that the cvt is quite jerky at lowspeeds and sometimes it will jerk quite hard plus the throttle response delay isnt very pleasant especially when u are trying accelerate from standstill on a slope. Is this normal? But nonetheless its a quiet and comfortable car and im satisfied with it after upgrading it from a saga 1.3 FL 4 speed auto.
paganizonda
post Feb 28 2017, 01:34 PM

QUOTE(Lez Pall @ Feb 27 2017, 11:55 PM)
The CVT is clutch based so it requires engaging before the car moves which takes a few milliseconds. That and the throttle delay does need adapting to your driving style. It's normal though and more pronounced at traffic jams and standstill. I think the first page of this thread has the manual on how to adapt with the CVT.

Also, it's the first time I heard of the reverse cam issue with the Persona. Probably not a common problem though since I don't see it often with the Iriz.
Ah i see. Still not used to the throttle response haha but i guess only time will tell. Thanks for the tip. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
The reverse camera went into berserk mode when i put into reverse haha but sometimes it works perfectly fine.
And also this is the fuel consumption for around 60km+ driving 80% highway (85kmh cuz still breaking in) and 20% jam. So far so good cant wait to reach 1000k. Besides that i tried calling someone using the head unit in the car (bluetooth pairing with asus zenfone 2 ZE550Ml) and he said that i sounded like a robot and its not clear. I wonder where is the microphone in the car hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif

paganizonda
post Feb 28 2017, 02:15 PM

QUOTE(mywingame @ Feb 28 2017, 01:54 PM)
The car have good sound insulation, for the MIC you just shout like no one can hear you from outside and kasi Heavy Metal style
haha the louder i shout the the sound will become more blur
paganizonda
post Feb 28 2017, 05:22 PM

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Feb 28 2017, 04:31 PM)
I notice the exe variant HU got a small hole at the corner near to the driver side...not sure that is the mic or hole to poke for manual eject CD.
yea i noticed that as well! Will ask a technician about this at sc and update u guys on friday. Have any one been to proton sc at sungai besi chan sow lin? Hows the service there hmm.gif hmm.gif rclxm9.gif
paganizonda
post Feb 28 2017, 05:47 PM

QUOTE(zAciX @ Feb 28 2017, 05:36 PM)
PROTON EDAR JALAN CHAN SOW LIN?
I did my service there too, i told them there is rattling at my handbrake, after service the problem is still occuring...
bangwall.gif bangwall.gif bangwall.gif bangwall.gif My centre dashboard will rattle when im driving on a piece of bumpy road. Hope it doesn't get worse!
paganizonda
post Feb 28 2017, 05:48 PM

QUOTE(zAciX @ Feb 28 2017, 05:36 PM)
PROTON EDAR JALAN CHAN SOW LIN?
I did my service there too, i told them there is rattling at my handbrake, after service the problem is still occuring...
Oh and btw do u happen to know Mr Albert from proton edar chan sow lin?
paganizonda
post Feb 28 2017, 07:27 PM

QUOTE(cheeshong @ Feb 28 2017, 06:06 PM)
copied from the post for easier referencing

For head unit crackling sound especially during hot day can try to DIY this.

Insert 2 flat screw driver underneath and slowly pry it out. Apply force towards you and it will pop out.

Once pop out becareful not to pull the whole thing out as there is a cable connected to the front panel. Detach it.

Tape the surrounding area circled with electrical tape.

Some ppl who had rattling sound inside may open up to check. Mine no rattle so i didnt check further.

Once you're done. Push it back to snap back. Remember to put back the connector before snap back the panel.
Wow thanks for the tips!
paganizonda
post Feb 28 2017, 08:22 PM

QUOTE(oldgoat @ Feb 28 2017, 07:59 PM)
Sad to see you people got so many free gifts.

Must complain to Human Rights Agency. It is my Rights to also get those free rats and cicaks!

If wife complain about rattles, can tell her about those free rats - that will surely make her shut-up.

If gf complain about cicaks sound, tell her it's mating call - IF you want to be charged for verbal sexual harassment!

What I got free are those loud tyres sounds. Absolutely Free or it's included in the selling price?
Hey i have loud tyre noises too when driving on a patch of rough roads. isit becoz of the tyres? hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif
paganizonda
post Feb 28 2017, 09:04 PM

QUOTE(oldgoat @ Feb 28 2017, 08:47 PM)
The poster in the SC is out-of-date? Or is it lifetime warranty means only 10 years as per the small prints?

When I told my regular mechanic that I'm buying the new Persona, the first thing he mentioned is the power window problem. That is why I asked the Salesman.

The public impression on Proton cars is bad. Or is it just my opinion?
“A good reputation is hard-won and easily lost. But the lost reputation has invariably been given away by the actions of the holder, rather than been taken away by somebody else.”

- Colin Beveridge
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
paganizonda
post Mar 1 2017, 10:01 PM

QUOTE(oldgoat @ Feb 28 2017, 06:15 PM)
Mr Albert is the manager there. Friendly chap.
ah i see. gonna meet him on friday to fix the reverse camera
paganizonda
post Mar 6 2017, 09:31 PM

QUOTE(drsmallkid @ Mar 2 2017, 11:41 PM)
I mean totaled fuel topped up is 42.39L, in multiple refueling la rclxs0.gif  for 450KM Odometer.
Back then in my saga fl if the petrol tank is full the fuel will leak out. Will this happen to my persona also? I will pump my car once my range says 50km with fuel indicator blinking and i always pump Rm75 which is 32.6L of fuel. How much more can i pump without spilling fuel out of the tank? If thats possible. hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif
paganizonda
post Mar 6 2017, 09:32 PM

QUOTE(lawtm @ Mar 4 2017, 01:30 PM)
Hi All. How much highest discount given by sc for Persona????
1.5k kawkaw for 2017 premium model
paganizonda
post Mar 7 2017, 10:26 PM

QUOTE(skynet2020 @ Mar 7 2017, 10:19 PM)
sifu..what is the function of this car skid symbol ar..the light is always on whenever i on my car and when i press on the button also this symbol light still remain on..  confused.gif  confused.gif

U mean the light on the button or the light at the speedometer? The car skid symbol is the stability control if im not mistaken and its to help you gain back control of ur car when ur car loses traction/grip Under normal operating condition the stability control will not light up on the speedometer unless u turn it off. From the picture u posted it seems that everything is normal, stability control is not switched off. cool2.gif cool2.gif cool2.gif
paganizonda
post Mar 7 2017, 10:56 PM

QUOTE(skynet2020 @ Mar 7 2017, 10:42 PM)
i mean light at the button there..the light is like never off even when i press on the button...make me worried only not knowing it's on or off.. console.gif
hmmmm i think the light at the button will turn on when u turn on ur lampu kete. If u didnt on ur lampu kete but the light in the button is still on then i guess u have to send ur car to sc to let them check what is the problem rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
paganizonda
post Mar 7 2017, 10:58 PM

QUOTE(drsmallkid @ Mar 6 2017, 12:20 PM)
Just got my first 1000KM service, hopefully my fuel drinker of 8.6km/L gets better after this!!
1)Is all the items and pricing standard?
-Oil filter RM13.93
-ScreenWash 300ML RM6.69
-Petrol Treatment RM28
-Gasket-Plug-Oil-Drain RM3.05
-Petronas Semi (10W-40) 4Ltr RM118 (Shouldn't it be cheaper for Service Edar customer, RM100?)
Total RM169.67 + RM10.18GST = RM179.85

2)Shouldn't I service at 10k, 20k? How come they asked me to come back at 6k for service?
Im planning to send my car for the 1000k service. Where did you service your car and how long did it take to service your car? biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
paganizonda
post Mar 11 2017, 01:49 PM

QUOTE(cheeshong @ Mar 9 2017, 03:58 PM)
see my attached picture.
this is my FC. From last indicator, i pumped RM74 worth of fuel.
My driving style never exceeds 120km/h and mostly city driving. My RPM are most of the time, between 2000 - 2500 as this range of RPM allows adequate acceleration to the car. Although the picture shows that it hasn't reach the last bar of fuel, but from my experience, around 300km, the fuel indicator will lit, asking me to refuel. If RM74 runs for 300km, that's about RM0.25 for every single KM travelled. That's actually worse than my 2.0L 2008 Lancer GT. The second picture 7.7L/100km, although the figure is very good for me, but it's contradict to my actual spending and experience. The average FC is not accurate for my case.

There are 2 possible answer to this in my mind now:
1. ECU is not properly tweaked for FC
2. Power to weight ratio for Persona is bad because 1600cc need to pull a 1.2 tonne body. The more city driving (start and stop), the more fuel it burns.

It's very different from what Proton had advertised.

By the way, this is my Premium CVT
Those digital fuel range/fuel consumption estimator will never be 100% correct but the discrepancies wont be very obvious. In my opinion 7.7L/100km for city driving isnt that bad because every car will makan minyak during jam and i think 2000-2500 is abit heavy footed for me. Try and just hold the revs below 2k and let the car climb and i think its just that the fuel tank in the persona is really small with only 40L of fuel that makes it feel that the car makan minyak. Take the benz E200 2014 facelift for example and i know its like comparing between apples and oranges but just bear with me on this, the car can achieve 5.8l/100 km if driven at around 80kmh ish but when its super jam it can also go up to crazy 14L/100km. But the fuel tank is around 80L and highway driving itself the car is capable of doing 1k km of range. My point here is that 7.7L/100km for traffic jam/ city driving is not that bad and the fuel tank is just too small. Just my 2 cents rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
paganizonda
post Mar 11 2017, 01:52 PM

QUOTE(cktang @ Mar 10 2017, 11:08 AM)
Old persona are almost the same fc but u need to pay for the extra 10liter fuel. My std cvt best can go around 380km only 80% city driving from full tank to fuel light up. Average 7.3l/100km. Here are some tips i like to share maybe can help fellow cvt owner for better saving:

- Pump the front tyre 220 psi back 200 psi (70kg driver and 60kg front passenger). If back got passengers or luggage then back add 10~20 psi. Check tyre pressure every 2 weeks.

- Off the aircond when starting the car cold, jalan first and on the aircond when temperature indicator got 2 bar. Lower or off the aircond if not that hot.

- After release the brake from a full stop, let the car move a bit first before accelerate gradually. The key of cvt to save fuel are u need to control the gas pedal well at slow driving. If u press hard the gas pedal at wrong timing, u will tend to bring up the rpm  unnecessarily instead of moving the car faster.

Best fuel brand i tested is petronas 95 as it's give better power at low torque.
Speaking about fuel, have anyone tried other brands and found out that that particular brand of fuel is better than others? Im pumping shell ron 95 and i have no complains so far rolleyes.gif
paganizonda
post Mar 11 2017, 08:01 PM

QUOTE(skynet2020 @ Mar 11 2017, 04:12 PM)
Anyone know how to open this thing? I saw got one screw there for me to open.

Pretty sure u can open it but i wouldnt recommend u to do it. btw that whole part is so soft can bend it literally
paganizonda
post Mar 11 2017, 08:03 PM

QUOTE(cheeshong @ Mar 11 2017, 02:00 PM)
If I can really get 7.7L/100km I will be very happy lo.
I know the meter cluster is showing 7.7 but it's contradicting with my actually spending. In reality is like 12L/100km

But these few days I have tried driving below 2000rpm and it really helps to squeeze another 50km out from the fuel tank.
I guess this is something that need you accept
yaa just accelerate gently and the engine will sip less fuel
paganizonda
post Mar 12 2017, 08:52 PM

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Mar 12 2017, 07:30 PM)
For quiet and comfort you can try CC6, seen a lot good review about its quietness and comfort. But since this is not a performance tyre, don't expect for superior wet grip
the stock silverstone kruzer is super f****ing loud idk why. Anyone here finds out that the tyre noise of the persona is sooo loud? I think michelin primacy is pretty good too!

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0265sec    1.01    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 03:56 AM