1554 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

Ramjade
post Feb 13 2017, 03:31 PM

24,431 posts

QUOTE(phoenix24 @ Feb 13 2017, 03:21 PM)
Hi guys, I am new to unit trust investment. I plan to submit my account opening form at fsm by probably end of this month / 1st of next month.
I have RM24,000 to spare and here's my portfolio
affin hwang select bond fund - 40%
ponzi 2.0 - 25%
AMasia REITS - 15%
RHB Asian Income Fund - 20%

Any suggestion on improvement for what my portfolio is lacking?
Ya. Where's your developed market?
Also pick either Ponzi 2 or RHB Asian Income Fund
Avangelice
post Feb 13 2017, 03:40 PM

5,274 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Feb 13 2017, 03:31 PM)
Ya. Where's your developed market?
Also pick either Ponzi 2 or RHB Asian Income Fund
I think some of us are partly to be blamed for the onslaught of new members concentrating their entire portfolio into Asia ex Japan as we hardly talk about developed countries like US or Japan. I noticed the influx of new members with very Asian centric ports. its worrisome that the stuff we post here makes a huge impact
TSAIYH
post Feb 13 2017, 03:43 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Feb 13 2017, 03:40 PM)
I think some of us are partly to be blamed for the onslaught of new members concentrating their entire portfolio into Asia ex Japan as we hardly talk about developed countries like US or Japan. I noticed the influx of new members with very Asian centric ports. its worrisome that the stuff we post here makes a huge impact
Because they dont have sexy names like ponzi, or sexy fund managers like esther or selina or sook yee wub.gif laugh.gif
vincabby
post Feb 13 2017, 03:45 PM

664 posts

sure la we trash trump and the world going into recession, who wanna buy? ironic is we each are holding global holdings though we trash talk them to no end.
T231H
post Feb 13 2017, 04:40 PM

5,143 posts

hmm.gif I think the main culprit is FSM.... biggrin.gif
they have been saying 5 Stars Rating for Asia Pac
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...tarRatings.svdo

Asian Equities to Offer A 40% Potential Upside by End-2018
November 4, 2016
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...y-End-2018-7660

I am guilty too. mega_shok.gif

Avangelice
post Feb 13 2017, 04:56 PM

5,274 posts

Malaysia among countries that could be Trump’s next trade war targets

Screener
TheEdge Mon, Feb 13, 2017

(Feb 13): Malaysia, India, Indonesia and Vietnam have largely escaped US President Donald Trump’s glare on trade, but he may yet come looking. The US runs trade deficits with all of them, in some cases quite big ones.

Trump’s exit from the 12-nation Trans-Pacific Partnership, his attacks on the trade policies of Japan, China and South Korea, and a Republican push for tax reforms that would impose a levy on US imports from all countries are contributing to concerns that a protectionist era will hurt growth.

Countries that the US runs trade deficits with may be particularly vulnerable to attack. Peter Navarro, the head of Trump’s National Trade Council, and Commerce Secretary-nominee Wilbur Ross last year wrote a paper where they pinpointed America’s trade gaps as a cause for what they described as its “slow growth plunge.”

“Almost every country in Asia exports somewhere between an awful lot and a lot to the United States,” said Deborah Elms, executive director of the Asian Trade Centre, a Singapore-based consultancy. “Trade deficits are a problem. At any moment there could be an angry Donald Trump in your face or a Twitter coming your way. Have other countries woken up to this problem? Perhaps not.”

http://www.klsescreener.com/v2/news/view/191615

this may be the catalysts of a recession

This post has been edited by Avangelice: Feb 13 2017, 04:57 PM
vincabby
post Feb 13 2017, 05:04 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Feb 13 2017, 04:56 PM)

Screener
TheEdge Mon, Feb 13, 2017
(Feb 13): Malaysia, India, Indonesia and Vietnam have largely escaped US President Donald Trump’s glare on trade, but he may yet come looking. The US runs trade deficits with all of them, in some cases quite big ones.

Trump’s exit from the 12-nation Trans-Pacific Partnership, his attacks on the trade policies of Japan, China and South Korea, and a Republican push for tax reforms that would impose a levy on US imports from all countries are contributing to concerns that a protectionist era will hurt growth.

Countries that the US runs trade deficits with may be particularly vulnerable to attack. Peter Navarro, the head of Trump’s National Trade Council, and Commerce Secretary-nominee Wilbur Ross last year wrote a paper where they pinpointed America’s trade gaps as a cause for what they described as its “slow growth plunge.”

“Almost every country in Asia exports somewhere between an awful lot and a lot to the United States,” said Deborah Elms, executive director of the Asian Trade Centre, a Singapore-based consultancy. “Trade deficits are a problem. At any moment there could be an angry Donald Trump in your face or a Twitter coming your way. Have other countries woken up to this problem? Perhaps not.”

http://www.klsescreener.com/v2/news/view/191615

this may be the catalysts of a recession
sell sell sell!
wengherng
post Feb 13 2017, 05:32 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Feb 13 2017, 03:31 PM)
very Asian centric portfolio.

almost all four funds target Asia ex Japan.

if Asian stocks go down your entire portfolio will follow suit.

if this is your intended purpose to ride the Asian wave then go for it. if you want to take advantage of a wide geographical region. remove rhb Asian income and split it to Manulife US and Manulife India.
Your statement got me thinking about my own portfolio.
Apparently, although not done consciously, my fund picks are all Asian-centric as well, ex-Japan.
Although, my investment in the Malaysian stock market is heavily biased to companies which have the majority of their sales revenue from US and other European countries.
Does that count?
sweat.gif
Avangelice
post Feb 13 2017, 05:52 PM

5,274 posts

QUOTE(wengherng @ Feb 13 2017, 05:32 PM)
Your statement got me thinking about my own portfolio.
Apparently, although not done consciously, my fund picks are all Asian-centric as well, ex-Japan.
Although, my investment in the Malaysian stock market is heavily biased to companies which have the majority of their sales revenue from US and other European countries.
Does that count?
sweat.gif
rest assured if this happens stocks like VS and classic scenic will be affected.
wengherng
post Feb 13 2017, 05:58 PM

1,865 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Feb 13 2017, 05:52 PM)
rest assured if this happens stocks like VS and classic scenic will be affected.
Probably......but if, for example, we have an Asian financial crisis like 1997 and the MYR tanks to the abyss while the US booms (however difficult to imagine), then at least Classic Scenic's revenues will soar......
Wishful thinking, I know.
rolleyes.gif
Avangelice
post Feb 13 2017, 06:02 PM

5,274 posts

QUOTE(wengherng @ Feb 13 2017, 05:58 PM)
Probably......but if, for example, we have an Asian financial crisis like 1997 and the MYR tanks to the abyss while the US booms (however difficult to imagine), then at least Classic Scenic's revenues will soar......
Wishful thinking, I know.
rolleyes.gif
problem is Asian financial crisis 2.0 will be triggered by protectionism coming from the US. my only hope is that when US becomes the paranoid tin foil hat neighbor, china will pick up where it left off. only problem is China is also a production country. how would it want to import our stuff.
LazyKurosaki
post Feb 13 2017, 06:55 PM

Master of Donut
1,139 posts

I planning to put my.first 1k saving into affin hwang select asia ex jpn quantum fund / TA Global Technology fund..subsequently I will add in rm 150-200 every month while continue to save money until enuf money den buy into diff fund..will it be a good choice? Just started working..not much spare to invest
T231H
post Feb 13 2017, 07:03 PM

5,143 posts

QUOTE(LazyKurosaki @ Feb 13 2017, 06:55 PM)
I planning to put my.first 1k saving into affin hwang select asia ex jpn quantum fund / TA Global Technology fund..subsequently I will add in rm 150-200 every month while continue to save money until enuf money den buy into diff fund..will it be a good choice? Just started working..not much spare to invest
you can try do RSP to cover most funds for your portfolio instead of having to start with just 2 funds.
try read this and contact FSM CIS or CS for further discussion on the T&C of RSP if you cannot get more from the RSP FAQs.

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/buyse...ntroduction.tpl

RSP FAQs
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/faq/0...avings-Plan-976

prince_mk
post Feb 13 2017, 07:42 PM

2,679 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Feb 13 2017, 02:21 PM)
Consider this thus, if you withdraw from KGF from your KWSP-MIS, it goes back to KWSP first. Then if you withdraw again from there to another UTMC, you will be levied another round of sales charge. Not a smart move!  shakehead.gif

This is what I have highlighted before and that is for KWSP - MIS participation, Kenanga is a poor option because amongst it KWSP-MIS approved UTF, only KGF is worthy of investment and not the other. As such Kenanga is a one trick pony and that is why I am reluctant to participate in it, even though KGF is a good fund. Sometimes we have to see in totality and not myopically.

Best option, stick with KGF. For fresh fund consider eastspring, AHAM, CIMB or RHB because they have greater options. Like a buffet dinner, macam-macam ada.

Xuzen

p/s My personal preference is Eastspring because it has a good mix of equity, balanced and fixed income fund available to KWSP-MIS participants.
Sifu Xuzen,

As for Eastspring, I will consider EASTSPRING INVESTMENTS GLOBAL LEADERS MY FUND for my next KWSP MIS.

And for CIMB, surely Titan.

I see your rationale too. Will keep the KGF as I will be double charge if sell and buy a new fund using EPF monies.

LazyKurosaki
post Feb 13 2017, 08:01 PM

Master of Donut
1,139 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Feb 13 2017, 07:03 PM)
you can try do RSP to cover most funds for your portfolio instead of having to start with just 2 funds.
try read this and contact FSM CIS or CS for further discussion on the T&C of RSP if you cannot get more from the RSP FAQs.

https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/buyse...ntroduction.tpl

RSP FAQs
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/faq/0...avings-Plan-976
Thanks but I dont.get what is RSP..issit we pay every month den FSM will use our money and invest in diff diff funds ?
MUM
post Feb 13 2017, 08:09 PM

14,963 posts

QUOTE(LazyKurosaki @ Feb 13 2017, 08:01 PM)
Thanks but I dont.get what is RSP..issit we pay every month den FSM will use our money and invest in diff diff funds ?
from that FAQs links.
Q: What is a Regular Savings Plan (RSP) and how do I apply?

A: A RSP is a monthly subscription plan that enables you to invest a fixed amount of money at regular intervals into a particular fund.

TSAIYH
post Feb 13 2017, 08:09 PM

1,166 posts

QUOTE(LazyKurosaki @ Feb 13 2017, 08:01 PM)
no, is you set up a auto debit instruction from FSM, you can set the amount you want to RSP into the fund you choose
contestchris
post Feb 13 2017, 08:10 PM

5,584 posts

QUOTE(phoenix24 @ Feb 13 2017, 03:21 PM)
Hi guys, I am new to unit trust investment. I plan to submit my account opening form at fsm by probably end of this month / 1st of next month.
I have RM24,000 to spare and here's my portfolio
affin hwang select bond fund - 40%
ponzi 2.0 - 25%
AMasia REITS - 15%
RHB Asian Income Fund - 20%

Any suggestion on improvement for what my portfolio is lacking?
1st of next month...if the positive vibes in Asia continue it would be about 2-2.5 mths from a constant bullish environment. Lots of things can change. I am NOT saying things will go downhill, but it's worth doing a research closer to the 1st of March, cause there are chances there will be a downturn then. There always is a downturn after a bullish run. The question is, when?

Also I definitely recommend some holdings outside of Asia - at least 20%. Something like CIMB Global Titans, TA Global Tech, TA European, RHB US Focus, Manulife US etc.
TSAIYH
post Feb 13 2017, 08:14 PM

1,166 posts

my gosh, the gain in kgf and kap chai sweat.gif and also ponzi 1 sweat.gif
contestchris
post Feb 13 2017, 08:18 PM

5,584 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Feb 13 2017, 08:14 PM)
my gosh, the gain in kgf and kap chai sweat.gif and also ponzi 1 sweat.gif
I think we should monitor their liquid assets...once it hits 8%, chances are they will stop rising so much. Currently most of the gains in Malaysia based on my observation is coming from local funds spending their liquid assets. The mean is usually 5-8% in "normal times", but at the end of Nov/Dec it was 20-30% in most local funds. So now the gains are coming as the local funds pour cash into the market. It's a dangerous scenario cause if this is not sustained and the market fundamentals do not improve then eventually we will be headed for another major drop as the foreign funds do profit taking.

This post has been edited by contestchris: Feb 13 2017, 08:18 PM

1554 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0183sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 02:04 PM